DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
●a heater configured to heat the insertion space in claims 1 and 8
●a sensor configured to detect a low of air in claim 9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7, the term “close” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu (US 2018/0310614 A1).
Claim 1: Xu teaches an aerosol-generating device comprising:
●an upper body (comprising at least outer casing 105 and bottom end 103) having an
insertion space (comprising at least through passage 131) defined therein
●a heater (comprising at least heater 157 and heating element extension 159) configured to
heat the insertion space
●a seal (comprising (a) at least cover plate 119 and spring 121 and/or (b) seal layer attached to
bottom end 103/203) coupled to the upper body.
The seal is elastic (due to spring 121) and has a portion (a portion of cover plate 119 and spring 121 – and a portion of the seal layer) in contact with the upper body (at outer casing 105; sealing layer contacts by way of root portion). The portion of the seal in contact with the upper body and the upper body are integrally formed with each other and have a boundary therebetween (as illustrated in Figure 1B) (¶8 ¶s10-13 ¶s19-21 ¶24 ¶28 ¶41). Other locations within reference may be included in the above recited locations (paragraphs, drawing, abstract, claims) to demonstrate further the features in the reference as claimed in the instant claims.
Claim 1: with respect to claimed heater, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The instant specification teaches a structure for the heater to perform the claimed function. Xu teaches a structure for the heater to perform the same claimed function. Xu is thus considered to meet this limitation of the claim.
Claim 2: with respect to the claim limitation of “The aerosol-generating device according to claim 1, wherein the portion of the seal is fused to the upper body”, this limitation refers to how the portion of the seal and the upper body are integral and is not considered a structural limitation related to the claimed structure (aerosol-generating device).
Claim 3: with respect to the claim limitation of “The aerosol-generating device according to claim 2, wherein the seal is formed on the upper body through injection molding”, this limitation refers to how the portion of the seal and the upper body are integral and is not considered a structural limitation related to the claimed structure (aerosol-generating device).
Claim 5: Xu teaches the aerosol-generating device according to claim 1, further comprising: a lower body (comprising at least receiver mechanism 177/277) coupled to a lower portion of the upper body (Fig1A Fig1B) (¶26 ¶32).
Claims 6 and 7: Claim 6 – Xu teaches the aerosol-generating device according to claim 5, wherein an inner circumferential surface (bottom line: Fig1B annotated below) of an upper portion of the lower body surrounds an outer circumferential surface (top line) of the lower portion of the upper body, and wherein the seal (sealing layer) comprises a sealing ring coupled to the upper body (in that it is attached to the bottom end 103/203, of the upper body, forming a ring). The seal layer is within a gap between the outer circumferential surface of the lower portion of the upper body (and the upper body) and the inner circumferential surface of the upper portion of the lower body (and the lower body) (Fig1B annotated below). Claim 7 – Xu teaches the aerosol-generating device according to claim 5, wherein the seal is a lower seal in contact with a lower surface of the upper body and is within the gas (sealing) between the upper body and the lower body (Fig1B annotated below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, as applied to claims 1-3 and 5-7 above, and further in view of Li (CN 209546926).
Claim 4: Xu teaches the aerosol-generating device according to claim 2 – but does not teach a material for the upper body and the seal (i.e. that the upper body (outer casing 105) is plastic and that the seal (seal layer) is rubber).
Plastic outer casings (or housings) and seals of rubber, in the art of aerosol-generating devices, are both conventional and well-known – as illustrated by Li. Li teaches an electronic atomization device having a plastic housing 20 (pg9 ¶1) and seals of rubber (pg5 ¶7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have provided in Xu that the upper body (outer casing 105) is plastic and that the seal (sealing layer) is rubber in that both are conventional and well-known in the art – as illustrated by Li where it is obvious to replace one housing material and seal material (those of Xu – not specifically recited) with another art recognized alternative housing material and seal material (that of Li).
Prior Art of Record
The following prior art is made of record. Reevell teaches a two part aerosol-generating system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claim 8, the closest prior art of record to Xu, alone or in combination with the other prior art of record, does not teach or fairly suggest a lead wire extending from the heater to an interior of the lower body, wherein the lower seal has a connector hole configured such that the lower seal is open to allow the lead wire to pass therethrough.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claim 9, the closest prior art of record to Xu, alone or in combination with the other prior art of record, does not teach or fairly suggest a cartridge coupled to a side of the upper body and having a cartridge inlet at an upper portion of the cartridge; an extension portion extending from an upper portion of the side of the upper body to cover the upper portion of the cartridge, the extension portion having a sensing hole adjacent to the cartridge inlet; and a sensor disposed adjacent to the sensing hole and configured to detect a flow of air near the sensing hole, wherein the seal comprises an upper seal surrounding the sensor near the sensing hole and integrally formed with the extension portion.
Conclusion
/LINDA L GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745