DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-11, and 14-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Specifically, lines 7-8 of claim 1 recite “said second portion being connected to said first axis of rotation” and lines 17-18 of claim 1 recite “a pulley mounted on said first axis of rotation”. The recited tangible structure, specifically, the second portion and pulley, are incapable of connection or mounting, respectively, to the intangible first axis, and thus claim 1 is indefinite.
Further, line 4 of the last paragraph of claim 1 recites “a segment” and line 6 of claim 1 also recites “a segment”. Since it is unclear whether the two recitations refer to the same segment or different segments, claim 1 is indefinite.
Also, in line 6 of the last paragraph of claim 1 recites “the ends”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9, 15-18, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogat (FR2339566) in view of Chaumontet (US20120012800).
1: Bogat discloses a multifunction device [Fig. 1] adapted to house at least one rope [13], comprising: a first fixed portion [1] comprising a main extension plate [see end of lead line from 1] and an abutment wall [5] which define a first passage [5a] for said rope [13]; a first axis of rotation [4a] constrained to said first portion [1] and extending along a first direction [4a]; a second portion [2] movable with respect to said first portion [1], said second portion [2] being connected to rotate between an open position [Fig. 1], wherein said rope [13] can be housed in or extracted from said multifunction device, and a closed position [see MT of Bogat at para. 0005: “A housing 2 which pivots around the axis 3a, fitted with a rust-proofing hook 10 and pierced at 7a at the anchoring eye 7 of the body I”] wherein said rope [13] is contained in said multifunction device; a second axis of rotation [3a] constrained to said first portion [1] and extending along a second direction [3a]; a movable cam [3] mounted on said second axis of rotation [3a] and configured to rotate around said second direction [3a] between an interference position [see MT of Bogat at para. 0005: “A partially notched self-locking cam 3 ensures the locking or sliding in case of over-linking, of the body I on the rope”] with said first passage [5a], wherein said cam [3] occupies at least partially said first passage [see above referenced MT of Bogat at para. 0005], and a free sliding position [Fig. 1], wherein said cam [3] does not interfere with said first passage [5a]; a pulley [4] mounted on said first axis of rotation [4a] to rotate around said first direction [4a]; and at least one first seat [7] on said first portion [1] and at least one second seat [7a] on said second portion [2], said at least one first seat [7] and at least one second seat [7a] being, at least when said second portion [2] is in the closed position [see above referenced MT of Bogat at para. 0005], at least partially coinciding to couple a first connector [see Figs. 2 and 4 of Bogat] to the multifunction device and being arranged along a segment joining said first axis of rotation and said second axis of rotation in an area comprised between two straight lines passing through the ends of a segment connecting said first axis of rotation and said second axis of rotation and perpendicular to said segment, wherein said at least one first seat and at least one second seat are positioned in a central portion of said segment which links said first axis of rotation and said second axis of rotation [see below annotated Fig. 1 of Bogat].
Bogat fails to disclose wherein said second portion [2] is connected to said first axis of rotation [4a] to rotate around said first direction [4a] between an open position, and a closed position. Bogat does disclose, however, wherein the second portion [2] is connected to a second axis of rotation [3a] to rotate around a first direction [3a] between an open position, and a closed position. Further, Chaumontet [see Fig. 1] teaches, in the context of multifunction devices having a pulley, a clamp, and seats that coincide when the device is in a closed position, wherein said second portion [19] is connected to said first axis of rotation [12] to rotate around said first direction [12] between an open position [Fig. 1], and a closed position [Fig. 7]. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein said second portion [2] is connected to said first axis of rotation [4a] to rotate around said first direction [4a] between an open position, and a closed position in the multifunction device disclosed by Bogat according to the teachings of Chaumontet in order to provide an alternative configuration for swivel opening the multi-function device to fit the rope into the first passage [5a] [see also Chaumontet at para. 0026: “second flange-plate 19 is swiveled to the open position to be able to fit the rope in groove 16 at the top part of rotary roller 13”].
2. Bogat in view of Chaumontet disclose the multifunction device according to claim 1, wherein said first portion [1] and said second portion [2], at least when said second portion [2] is in the closed position, define at least one, or a combination, of two or more of: a second passage [6] for said rope [13], said second passage [6] being opposite the first passage [5a] with respect to said second axis of rotation [3a, note that the first and second passages are on opposite sides of the second axis of rotation 3a]; a third passage [Fig. 5] closed for said rope between said cam and said pulley; and a fourth passage [Fig. 6] for said rope, said fourth passage being opposite said third passage with respect to said first axis of rotation [4a, note that the rope travels on opposite sides of the pulley 4, i.e., with respect to the first axis of rotation 4a].
5: Bogat in view of Chaumontet disclose the multifunction device according to claim 1, wherein said cam [3] comprises an increased friction surface [3d] adapted to contact said rope when said cam is in the interference position.
6: Bogat in view of Chaumontet disclose the multifunction device according to claim 1, wherein said cam [3] comprises a return element [12] configured to return said cam to the interference position [see MT of Bogat at para. 0005: “A spring 12 which forms an elastic link between the self-locking cam 3 and the housing 2”].
9: Bogat in view of Chaumontet disclose the multifunction device according to claim 1, wherein said at least one first seat [7] comprises at least one first hole and/or said at least one second seat [7a] comprises at least one second hole [see MT of Bogat at para. 0004: “The body I and the casing 2 are drilled with an anchoring eye respectively at 7 and 7a, intended to receive a carabiner 14 in itself known”].
15: Bogat in view of Chaumontet disclose the multifunction device according to claim 1 wherein said first portion [1] and second portion [2] comprise respective flaps [5, see lead line from 9] configured to close, with said cam [3], said second passage when said second portion is in the closed position.
16: The multifunction device according to claim 1, wherein said first portion and second portion comprise, at a perimeter edge, at least one indentation configured to house a further connector when said second portion is in the closed position [see indentation between call outs 1 and 5 in Fig. 1 of Bogat].
17: Bogat in view of Chaumontet disclose a method of configuring the multifunction device according to claim 1, comprising the steps of: opening said multifunction device by bringing said second portion to the open position; housing at least one safety rope in at least one passage comprised between said first portion and said second portion; and closing said multifunction device by bringing said second portion to the closed position, at least one passage being comprised between said first portion and said second portion [see Fig. 1 of Bogat].
18: Bogat in view of Chaumontet disclose the method according to claim 17, wherein said step of housing said safety rope comprises housing said safety rope in said first passage; said method further comprising a step of coupling a first connector to said multifunction device through said at least one first seat (6) and at least one second seat [see para. 0005 of Bogat: “an anchoring eye respectively at 7 and 7a, intended to receive a carabiner 14”].
21: Bogat in view of Chaumotet disclose the method according to claim 17, wherein said step of housing said safety rope in said multifunction device provides for housing said safety rope in a third passage closed between said cam and said pulley, said method further comprising a step of coupling a first connector [14] to said multifunction device (100) through said at least one first seat and at least one second seat [see Fig. 3 of Bogat].
22: Bogat in view of Chaumontet disclose the method according to claim 17, wherein said step of housing said safety rope in said multifunction device provides for housing a first branch of said safety rope in said first passage and a second branch of said safety rope in a third passage closed between said cam and said pulley, a load to be secured being positioned between said first branch and said second branch [see Fig. 5 of Bogat].
23: Bogat in view of Chaumontet disclose a system comprising: a device according to claim 1 [see above]; and at least one safety rope [13].
24: Bogat in view of Chaumontet disclose the system according to claim 23, further comprising at least one said first connector [14].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogat (FR2339566) in view of Chaumontet (US20120012800) and further in view of Siemer (US10995842).
4: Bogat in view of Chaumontet fails to disclose the multifunction device according to claim 3, wherein said restraining system comprises a spring-loaded button adapted to be operated to allow the second portion to switch from the closed position to the open position. Siemer teaches, in the context of pulleys with hinged side plates, wherein said restraining system [Siemer, Fig. 1, 14] comprises a spring-loaded button [20] adapted to be operated to allow the second portion to switch from the closed position to the open position [Siemer, col. 6, lines 9-23: “The lock 14 preferably has one or more interface components, such as interface component 20 (for example, a lever, slide, grip, or button). Each interface component is preferably accessible for user manipulation without requiring a tool (for example, by hand or finger only) and preferably, responsive to user manipulation of the interface component, initiates or actuates a corresponding action of the lock 14. The lock 14 is preferably configured to prevent initiation of the second action (see FIG. 5) before completion of the first action (see FIG. 4). The lock 14 is preferably biased (for example, spring biased) toward the locked configuration with no actions initiated as shown in FIG. 3, and, therefore, the configuration shown in FIG. 3 is referred to herein as the default locked configuration”]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein said restraining system comprises a spring-loaded button adapted to be operated to allow the second portion to switch from the closed position to the open position in the multifunction device disclosed by Bogat in view of Chaumontet according to the teachings of Siemer in order to allow for convenient opening and closing of the multifunction device [see col. 6, lines 9-16 of Siemer: “The lock 14 preferably has one or more interface components, such as interface component 20 (for example, a lever, slide, grip, or button). Each interface component is preferably accessible for user manipulation without requiring a tool (for example, by hand or finger only) and preferably, responsive to user manipulation of the interface component, initiates or actuates a corresponding action of the lock 14”].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogat (FR2339566) in view of Chaumontet (US20120012800) and further in view of Mauthner (US8733739).
7: Bogat in view of Chaumontet fail to disclose the multifunction device according to claim 1, wherein said cam comprises a manual control device configured to move said cam between said interference position and said free position. Mauthner (see Fig. 3) teaches, in the context of multifunction devices, wherein said cam [Mauthner, 20] comprises a manual control device [20a] configured to move said cam [20] between said interference position and said free position [Mauthner, col. 3, lines 11-12: “Rope clamp 20 has a lever 20a, a cam 20b, cam lever groove 20c and a cam pivot point 20d”]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein said cam comprises a manual control device configured to move said cam between said interference position and said free position in the multifunction device of Bogat in view of Chaumontet according to the teachings of Mauthner in order to provide “selective manual operation to assist in activation of said rope clamp” see Mauthner at col. 4, lines 54-55.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogat (FR2339566) in view of Chaumontet (US20120012800) and further in view of Stroshane (EP4212211).
8. Bogat in view of Chaumontet disclose the multifunction device according to claim 1, further comprising a first end stop [Chaumontet, Fig. 4, 25], configured to limit the rotation of the cam when it is in the interference position and constrained to said first portion and/or a second end stop [Chaumontet, Fig. 5, 26] configured to limit the rotation of the cam when it is in the free sliding position. Bogat in view of Chaumontet fail to disclose wherein the second stop is constrained to said second portion. Stroshane teaches alternate locations for a stop, see [0040]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included a second end stop constrained to the second portion in the multifunction device of Bogat in view of Chaumontet according to the teachings of Stroshane in order to apportion elements of the multifunction device more evenly to the first and second portions.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogat (FR2339566) in view of Chaumontet (US20120012800) and further in view of Munter (CH617096).
10: Bogat in view of Chaumontet disclose the multifunction device according to claim 9, wherein said at least one first seat [7] comprises at least one first hole and said at least one second seat [7a] comprises at least one second hole. Bogat in view of Chaumontet fail to disclose wherein said at least one first hole has an extension smaller than the at least one second hole. Munter teaches, in the context of multifunction devices, wherein said at least one first hole has an extension smaller than the at least one second hole [see Fig. 2 of Munter and MT of Munter on pg. 3, fifth paragraph: “The rope guide roller 11, consisting of the rope ring 9 and the perforated hub 10, is rotatably mounted in the bearing plate 6, with the perforation widening towards its two ends”]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein said at least one first hole has an extension smaller than the at least one second hole in the multifunction device disclosed by Bogat in view of Chaumontet according to the teachings of Munter “in order to create the largest possible bearing surface for the carabiner hook 12 guided through the perforation”, see MT of Munter at pg. 3, fifth paragraph.
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogat (FR2339566) in view of Chaumontet (US20120012800) and further in view of Hede (EP0803268).
11: Bogat in view of Chaumontet fail to disclose the multifunction device according to claim 1, wherein said at least one first seat and at least one second seat are arranged in a sub-area of said area comprised between said straight lines and two additional straight lines perpendicular to the aforesaid straight lines and tangent to said pulley. Hede teaches, in the context of pulley blocks with locking elements, wherein said at least one first seat and at least one second seat are arranged in a sub-area of said area comprised between said straight lines and two additional straight lines perpendicular to the aforesaid straight lines and tangent to said pulley [see below annotated Fig. 1 of Hede]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein said at least one first seat and at least one second seat are arranged in a sub-area of said area comprised between said straight lines and two additional straight lines perpendicular to the aforesaid straight linesand tangent to said pulley in the multifunction device of Bogat in view of Chaumontet according to the teachings of Hede in order to allow for the passage of a fastening carabiner [see MT of Heder, para. 0013].
14: Bogat in view of Chaumotet and further in view of Heder disclose the multifunction device according to claim 12, wherein said at least one first seat and at least one second seat are positioned at said first axis of rotation, said first axis of rotation being hollow, or at said second axis of rotation, said second axis of rotation being hollow [see above annotated Fig. 5 of Heder].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BAP/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634