DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 15-18, 20, 23, 24, 27, 28, and 31-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kindl (US 2781779 A), hereinafter Kindl, in view of Paller (US 20190242583 A1), hereinafter Paller.
Regarding claim 13, Kindl discloses a method of operating a dual circuit gas burner, the method comprising:
opening an outer burner gas path to permit a first gas flow to an outer burner ring of the dual circuit gas burner, wherein the opening of the outer burner gas path initiates a nonzero delay (“Fig. 8 is a view corresponding to Fig. 7 but showing the valve in the first "on" or "high heat" position, with the corresponding burner flame illustrated thereon” column 2, line 23 emphasis added and “the valve control stem and plug unit may be of the two piece type having a spring device therebetween and detent lock means whereby whenever the valve stem is turned to any predetermined position, such as to the position thereof shown in Fig. 8, the stem will automatically lock in that position until such time as the operator may manually depress the control handle inwardly of the stem to disengage the locking mechanism preliminary to further turning of the valve. Such an arrangement might be useful for example in order to hold the valve device in the position of Fig. 8 for a sufficient length of time to insure lighting of the gas issuing from the jets 26, as from a pilot light device stationed nearby. Thus, the possibility that the valve might be quickly turned through the position of Fig. 8 and to the position of Fig. 10 without lighting of the issuing gas, would be precluded” column 5, line 13. The applicant’s specification states “At a time t2, the predetermined period of time T has elapsed, which corresponds to a user rotating the control knob 103 beyond a predetermined position” paragraph [0071]. Thus, rotation of a control knob toward a predetermined position constitutes initiating a non-zero delay); and
in response to an expiration of the nonzero delay, opening an inner burner gas path to permit a second gas flow to an inner burner ring of the dual circuit gas burner (“Fig. 9 is a view corresponding to Figs. 7-8, but showing the unit in "second" or evenly distributed heating position” column 2, line 26 emphasis added. Reaching the predetermined position constitutes expiration of the non-zero delay).
Kindl does not disclose wherein the delay is programmed.
However, Paller teaches wherein the delay is programmed (“Notably, modulating valve 240 is capable of receiving control signals or otherwise being controlled from any suitable source. In this regard, according to one exemplary embodiment, modulating valve 240 is controlled by a separate input device positioned on control panel 170 of cooktop appliance 100. More specifically, for example, modulating valve 240 may be controlled using another control knob 172 or by touch screen interface 174. According to still another exemplary embodiment, controller 178 may be programmed to regulate modulating valve 240 according to a pre-programmed, time-dependent operating profile, e.g., associated with a particular cooking cycle or recipe” paragraph [0046]).
In view of Paller’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the delay is programmed as is taught in Paller, in the method disclosed by Kindl because Paller states that the pre-programmed valve may be associated with a particular cooking cycle or recipe. Therefore, including a programmed delay will simplify use by reducing user error.
Regarding claim 15, Kindl, as modified by Paller, discloses the method of 13, wherein at the expiration of the programmed delay, the outer burner ring is at a maximum operating power or at a programmed intermediate operating power (Figure 9 shows that the outer burner ring is at a predetermined intermediate operating power).
Regarding claim 16, Kindl, as modified by Paller, discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising varying a flow rate of the first gas flow to the outer burner ring during the programmed delay (“the various valve mechanisms of the device are adjustable so as to provide for fine regulations of the valve action” column 2, line 2).
Regarding claim 17, Kindl, as modified by Paller, discloses the method of claim 16, wherein varying the flow rate of the first gas flow comprises:
Increasing, during a first portion of the programmed delay, the flow rate of the first gas flow to the outer burner ring (During rotation of the valve to bring 68 and 70 into alignment).
Regarding claim 18, Kindl discloses a control unit for adjusting a gas flow to a dual circuit gas burner, the control unit including a gas valve unit (“the valve of the invention comprises a generally cylindrical body 60” column 3, line 17) comprising:
an outer burner gas path configured to adjustably supply a first gas flow to an outer burner ring of the dual circuit gas burner (“gas enters the inner bore of the plug and then passes through the hood 34 into the conduit 28 leading to the outer burner ports 26” column 3, line 53); and
an inner burner gas path configured to adjustably supply a second gas flow to an inner burner ring of the dual circuit gas burner (“the port portion 49 of the valve body is formed with peripherally spaced gas ports 78-79 leading from the tapered bore 62 of the body to a common port 80 which is in turn in communication with the conduit 45 leading to the central burner ports 40” column 3, line 40);
wherein the gas valve unit is configured to:
open the outer burner gas path to permit the supply of the first gas flow to the outer burner ring (“Fig. 8 is a view corresponding to Fig. 7 but showing the valve in the first "on" or "high heat" position, with the corresponding burner flame illustrated thereon” column 2, line 23 emphasis added); and
open the inner burner gas path to permit the supply of the second gas flow to the inner burner ring (“Fig. 9 is a view corresponding to Figs. 7-8, but showing the unit in "second" or evenly distributed heating position” column 2, line 26 emphasis added);
wherein opening the outer burner gas path initiates a nonzero delay, and wherein opening the inner burner gas path is responsive to an expiration of the delay (“the valve control stem and plug unit may be of the two piece type having a spring device therebetween and detent lock means whereby whenever the valve stem is turned to any predetermined position, such as to the position thereof shown in Fig. 8, the stem will automatically lock in that position until such time as the operator may manually depress the control handle inwardly of the stem to disengage the locking mechanism preliminary to further turning of the valve. Such an arrangement might be useful for example in order to hold the valve device in the position of Fig. 8 for a sufficient length of time to insure lighting of the gas issuing from the jets 26, as from a pilot light device stationed nearby. Thus, the possibility that the valve might be quickly turned through the position of Fig. 8 and to the position of Fig. 10 without lighting of the issuing gas, would be precluded” column 5, line 13. The applicant’s specification states “At a time t2, the predetermined period of time T has elapsed, which corresponds to a user rotating the control knob 103 beyond a predetermined position” paragraph [0071]. Thus, rotation of a control knob toward a predetermined position constitutes initiating a non-zero delay and reaching the predetermined position constitutes expiration of the non-zero delay).
Kindl does not disclose wherein the delay is programmed.
However, Paller teaches wherein the delay is programmed (“Notably, modulating valve 240 is capable of receiving control signals or otherwise being controlled from any suitable source. In this regard, according to one exemplary embodiment, modulating valve 240 is controlled by a separate input device positioned on control panel 170 of cooktop appliance 100. More specifically, for example, modulating valve 240 may be controlled using another control knob 172 or by touch screen interface 174. According to still another exemplary embodiment, controller 178 may be programmed to regulate modulating valve 240 according to a pre-programmed, time-dependent operating profile, e.g., associated with a particular cooking cycle or recipe” paragraph [0046]).
In view of Paller’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the delay is programmed as is taught in Paller, in the method disclosed by Kindl because Paller states that the pre-programmed valve may be associated with a particular cooking cycle or recipe. Therefore, including a programmed delay will simplify use by reducing user error.
Regarding claim 20, Kindl, as modified by Paller, discloses the control unit of claim 18, further comprising:
a control knob configured to be rotated between a plurality of positions, wherein a flow rate of the first gas flow is based on a position of the control knob and a flow rate of the second gas flow is based on the position of the control knob (Shown in outline in figure 1 attached to valve stem 65).
Regarding claim 23, Kindl discloses a dual circuit gas burner for a gas stove (“a gas range burner unit such as might be mounted within a gas range cabinet as indicated generally at 20 (Fig. 1). The burner unit is indicated generally at 22, and is illustrated to comprise a standard concentric two ring type burner” column 2, line 40), the dual circuit gas burner comprising:
a control unit comprising a gas valve unit (“the valve of the invention comprises a generally cylindrical body 60” column 3, line 17), wherein the gas valve unit comprises an outer burner gas path configured to adjustably supply a first gas flow (“gas enters the inner bore of the plug and then passes through the hood 34 into the conduit 28 leading to the outer burner ports 26” column 3, line 53) and an inner burner gas path configured to adjustably supply a second gas flow (“the port portion 49 of the valve body is formed with peripherally spaced gas ports 78-79 leading from the tapered bore 62 of the body to a common port 80 which is in turn in communication with the conduit 45 leading to the central burner ports 40” column 3, line 40);
an inner burner ring connected to the inner burner gas path of the gas valve unit and configured to receive the second gas flow from the inner burner gas path (“The burner device 22 is also formed centrally thereof with an upstanding cylindrical sleeve portion 36 (Fig. 3 ) into the top end of which is screwthreaded a cap screw 38; the cap screw 38 being axially bored as indicated at 39 and radially drilled as indicated at 40 to provide multiple radial ports therearound in open communication with the interior of the sleeve portion 36” column 2, line 65); and
an outer burner ring connected to the outer burner gas path and configured to receive the first gas flow from the outer burner gas path (“an annular chamber portion 24 topped by an annular cover plate 25 formed with radially directed ports 26” column 2, line 44),
wherein the gas valve unit is configured to:
open the outer burner gas path to permit the supply of the first gas flow to the outer burner ring (“Fig. 8 is a view corresponding to Fig. 7 but showing the valve in the first "on" or "high heat" position, with the corresponding burner flame illustrated thereon” column 2, line 23 emphasis added); and
open the inner burner gas path to permit the supply of the second gas flow to the inner burner ring (“Fig. 9 is a view corresponding to Figs. 7-8, but showing the unit in "second" or evenly distributed heating position” column 2, line 26 emphasis added);
wherein opening the outer burner gas path initiates a nonzero delay, and wherein opening the inner burner is responsive to an expiration of the delay (“the valve control stem and plug unit may be of the two piece type having a spring device therebetween and detent lock means whereby whenever the valve stem is turned to any predetermined position, such as to the position thereof shown in Fig. 8, the stem will automatically lock in that position until such time as the operator may manually depress the control handle inwardly of the stem to disengage the locking mechanism preliminary to further turning of the valve. Such an arrangement might be useful for example in order to hold the valve device in the position of Fig. 8 for a sufficient length of time to insure lighting of the gas issuing from the jets 26, as from a pilot light device stationed nearby. Thus, the possibility that the valve might be quickly turned through the position of Fig. 8 and to the position of Fig. 10 without lighting of the issuing gas, would be precluded” column 5, line 13. The applicant’s specification states “At a time t2, the predetermined period of time T has elapsed, which corresponds to a user rotating the control knob 103 beyond a predetermined position” paragraph [0071]. Thus, rotation of a control knob toward a predetermined position constitutes initiating a non-zero delay and reaching the predetermined position constitutes expiration of the non-zero delay).
Kindl does not disclose wherein the delay is programmed.
However, Paller teaches wherein the delay is programmed (“Notably, modulating valve 240 is capable of receiving control signals or otherwise being controlled from any suitable source. In this regard, according to one exemplary embodiment, modulating valve 240 is controlled by a separate input device positioned on control panel 170 of cooktop appliance 100. More specifically, for example, modulating valve 240 may be controlled using another control knob 172 or by touch screen interface 174. According to still another exemplary embodiment, controller 178 may be programmed to regulate modulating valve 240 according to a pre-programmed, time-dependent operating profile, e.g., associated with a particular cooking cycle or recipe” paragraph [0046]).
In view of Paller’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the delay is programmed as is taught in Paller, in the method disclosed by Kindl because Paller states that the pre-programmed valve may be associated with a particular cooking cycle or recipe. Therefore, including a programmed delay will simplify use by reducing user error.
Regarding claim 24, Kindl, as modified by Paller, discloses the dual circuit gas burner of claim 23, wherein the control unit further comprises a control knob configured to be rotated by a user between a plurality of positions, wherein a flow rate of the first gas flow is based on a position of the control knob and a flow rate of the second gas flow is based on the position of the control knob (Shown in outline in figure 1 attached to valve stem 65).
Regarding claim 27, Kindl discloses a gas stove (“a gas range burner unit such as might be mounted within a gas range cabinet as indicated generally at 20 (Fig. 1). The burner unit is indicated generally at 22, and is illustrated to comprise a standard concentric two ring type burner” column 2, line 40), comprising:
a dual circuit gas burner comprising:
a control unit, the control unit comprising a gas valve unit (“the valve of the invention comprises a generally cylindrical body 60” column 3, line 17) including an outer burner outlet gas path configured to adjustably supply a first gas flow (“gas enters the inner bore of the plug and then passes through the hood 34 into the conduit 28 leading to the outer burner ports 26” column 3, line 53) and an inner burner gas path configured to adjustably supply a second gas flow (“the port portion 49 of the valve body is formed with peripherally spaced gas ports 78-79 leading from the tapered bore 62 of the body to a common port 80 which is in turn in communication with the conduit 45 leading to the central burner ports 40” column 3, line 40);
an inner burner ring connected to the inner burner gas path of the gas valve unit and configured to receive the second gas flow from the inner burner gas path (“The burner device 22 is also formed centrally thereof with an upstanding cylindrical sleeve portion 36 (Fig. 3 ) into the top end of which is screwthreaded a cap screw 38; the cap screw 38 being axially bored as indicated at 39 and radially drilled as indicated at 40 to provide multiple radial ports therearound in open communication with the interior of the sleeve portion 36” column 2, line 65); and
an outer burner ring connected to the outer burner gas path and configured to receive the first gas flow from the outer burner gas path (“an annular chamber portion 24 topped by an annular cover plate 25 formed with radially directed ports 26” column 2, line 44); and
a plate including an upper surface, wherein the dual circuit gas burner is mounted on the upper surface of the plate (Shown but not labeled in figures 1 and 3);
wherein the gas valve is configured to:
open the outer burner gas path to permit the supply of the first gas flow to the outer burner ring, wherein opening the outer burner gas path initiates a nonzero delay (“Fig. 8 is a view corresponding to Fig. 7 but showing the valve in the first "on" or "high heat" position, with the corresponding burner flame illustrated thereon” column 2, line 23 emphasis added and “the valve control stem and plug unit may be of the two piece type having a spring device therebetween and detent lock means whereby whenever the valve stem is turned to any predetermined position, such as to the position thereof shown in Fig. 8, the stem will automatically lock in that position until such time as the operator may manually depress the control handle inwardly of the stem to disengage the locking mechanism preliminary to further turning of the valve. Such an arrangement might be useful for example in order to hold the valve device in the position of Fig. 8 for a sufficient length of time to insure lighting of the gas issuing from the jets 26, as from a pilot light device stationed nearby. Thus, the possibility that the valve might be quickly turned through the position of Fig. 8 and to the position of Fig. 10 without lighting of the issuing gas, would be precluded” column 5, line 13. The applicant’s specification states “At a time t2, the predetermined period of time T has elapsed, which corresponds to a user rotating the control knob 103 beyond a predetermined position” paragraph [0071]. Thus, rotation of a control knob toward a predetermined position constitutes initiating a non-zero delay); and
responsive to an expiration of the delay, open the inner burner gas path to permit the supply of the second gas flow to the inner burner ring (“Fig. 9 is a view corresponding to Figs. 7-8, but showing the unit in "second" or evenly distributed heating position” column 2, line 26 emphasis added. Reaching the predetermined position constitutes expiration of the non-zero delay).
Kindl does not disclose wherein the delay is programmed.
However, Paller teaches wherein the delay is programmed (“Notably, modulating valve 240 is capable of receiving control signals or otherwise being controlled from any suitable source. In this regard, according to one exemplary embodiment, modulating valve 240 is controlled by a separate input device positioned on control panel 170 of cooktop appliance 100. More specifically, for example, modulating valve 240 may be controlled using another control knob 172 or by touch screen interface 174. According to still another exemplary embodiment, controller 178 may be programmed to regulate modulating valve 240 according to a pre-programmed, time-dependent operating profile, e.g., associated with a particular cooking cycle or recipe” paragraph [0046]).
In view of Paller’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the delay is programmed as is taught in Paller, in the method disclosed by Kindl because Paller states that the pre-programmed valve may be associated with a particular cooking cycle or recipe. Therefore, including a programmed delay will simplify use by reducing user error.
Regarding claim 28, Kindl, as modified by Paller, discloses the gas stove of claim 27, wherein the control unit comprises a control knob configured to be rotated by a user between a plurality of positions, wherein a flow rate of the first gas flow is based on a position of the control knob and a flow rate of the second gas flow is based on the position of the control knob (Shown in outline in figure 1 attached to valve stem 65)
Regarding claim 31, Kindl, as modified by Paller, discloses the method of claim 13, wherein opening the outer burner gas path comprises opening one or more first valves, and wherein opening the inner burner gas path comprises opening one or more second valves (A valve is “a device for controlling the passage of fluid or air through a pipe, duct, etc.” [google]. Therefore, 68 and 75 may be considered separate valves).
Regarding claim 32, Kindl, as modified by Paller, discloses the method of claim 16, wherein varying the flow rate of the first gas flow comprises adjusting an opening state of a control valve along the outer burner gas path (Figures 8 and 9).
Regarding claim 33, Kindl, as modified by Paller, discloses the method of claim 13.
Kindl, as modified by Paller, does not explicitly disclose wherein the programmed nonzero delay is 3 to 20 seconds. However, it has been held that “[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP §2144.05(II)(A) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Although, it has been further held that "[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result, before determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. Refer to MPEP §2144.05(II)(B)(quoting In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In this case, Kindl discloses a delay such that “the possibility that the valve might be quickly turned through the position of Fig. 8 and to the position of Fig. 10 without lighting of the issuing gas, would be precluded,” but does not specifically recite 3-20 seconds. Achieving 3-20 seconds is a results-effective variable because if the time is too short the gas may fail to ignite. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the delay, because the selection of delay to achieve ignition constitutes the optimization of design parameters, which fails to distinguish the claim.
Regarding claim 34, Kindl, as modified by Paller, discloses the method of claim 17, wherein varying the flow rate of the first gas flow further comprises:
decreasing, during a second portion of the programmed delay, the flow rate of the first gas flow to the outer burner ring (Further rotation of the valve from the figure 8 configuration decreases the alignment of 68 and 70).
Regarding claim 35, Kindl, as modified by Paller, discloses the method of claim 34, wherein the first portion of the programmed delay is a longer time duration than the second portion of the programmed delay (“the valve control stem and plug unit may be of the two piece type having a spring device therebetween and detent lock means whereby whenever the valve stem is turned to any predetermined position, such as to the position thereof shown in Fig. 8, the stem will automatically lock in that position until such time as the operator may manually depress the control handle inwardly of the stem to disengage the locking mechanism preliminary to further turning of the valve. Such an arrangement might be useful for example in order to hold the valve device in the position of Fig. 8 for a sufficient length of time to insure lighting of the gas issuing from the jets 26, as from a pilot light device stationed nearby. Thus, the possibility that the valve might be quickly turned through the position of Fig. 8 and to the position of Fig. 10 without lighting of the issuing gas, would be precluded” column 5, line 13. The first time duration includes the time for bringing the passages 68 and 70 into alignment and this unlocking).
Regarding claim 36, Kindl, as modified by Paller, discloses the method of claim 17, wherein increasing the flow rate of the first gas flow to the outer burner ring occurs until a power output of the outer burner ring is at a maximum (The power output of the outer burner ring is at maximum when the passages 68 and 70 are brought into full alignment as in figure 8).
Claims 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kindl, in view of Paller, and further in view of Luis Alonso (US 20210199303 A1), hereinafter Luis Alonso.
Regarding claim 37, Kindl, as modified by Paller, discloses the control unit of claim 18, wherein the outer burner gas path comprises:
a control valve configured to adjust a flow rate of the first gas flow (Figure 8).
Kindl, as modified by Paller, does not disclose:
an off/on valve configured to permit or block the first gas flow; and
the control valve connected in series with the off/on valve.
However, Luis Alonso teaches
an off/on valve configured to permit or block the first gas flow (“The safety electrovalve 4 is a safety element that closes the gas passage in the event of an accidental extinguishing of the flame of the gas burners 1 that allows a free exit of the gas” paragraph [0089]); and
the control valve (3) connected in series with the off/on valve (Figure 1).
In view of Luis Alonso’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include an off/on valve as is taught in Luis Alonso, in the control unit disclosed by Kindl because Luis Alonso states that the valve is a safety valves that prevents the escape of unignited gas. Therefore, including the valve of Luis Alonso will improve safety in Kindl.
Regarding claim 38, Kindl, as modified by Pallas and Luis Alonso, discloses the control unit of claim 37, wherein the control valve is configured to adjust the flow rate of the first gas flow during the programmed nonzero delay (“Fig. 8 is a view corresponding to Fig. 7 but showing the valve in the first "on" or "high heat" position, with the corresponding burner flame illustrated thereon” column 2, line 23 emphasis added).
Regarding claim 39, Kindl, as modified by Pallas and Luis Alonso, discloses the control unit of claim 37, wherein the control valve is configured to increase, during a first portion of the programmed delay, the flow rate of the first gas flow to the outer burner ring (By bringing 68 and 70 into alignment), and decrease, during a second portion of the programmed delay, the flow rate of the first gas flow to the outer burner ring (Further rotation of the valve decreases the alignment of 68 and 70).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Clauss (EP 2312212 A2) teaches inner and outer burner rings controlled by separate valves in line with an off/on valve. Compare figure 2 to applicant’s figure 3.
Gunnewijk (WO 2012099474 A1) “In Figure 6 a wok pan 61 is placed above the gas burner assembly 1 . The burner base 15 is controlled in such a way that gas is only supplied to the simmer burner ring 4” and “Figure 7 shows the same gas burner assembly 1 and burner base 15 as in Figure 6, but here the outer ring valve 20, see Figure 2, is opened. This results in flames 72 directed outwards and mainly heating the outer region of a frying pan 71” page 7
Kamal (US 20060051718 A1) “main burner 56 and simmer burner 58 are concentric with respect to each other. The simmer burner 58 is located below main burner 56. The diameter of a circumference along which the ports 126 of simmer burner 58 are situated is greater than the diameter a circumference along which the ports 116 of main burner 56 lie” paragraph [0029] and “both main and simmer burners 56 and 58 are operable simultaneously when the main burner 56 is operated at levels above the simmer range” paragraph [0034]
Caloca (US 20220018534 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762