DETAILED ACTION
Notice on Prior Art Rejections
Status of Claims
3. This Office Action is in response to the applicant's arguments/remarks filed December 26, 2025. Claims 3-5 are added. Claims 1-2 are amended. Claims 1-5 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
4. Objection. Applicant's arguments/amendments filed December 26, 2025 regarding the objection have been fully considered. Applicant's arguments/amendments are persuasive. Accordingly, the objection is withdrawn.
5. 35 USC § 103 rejection. Applicant's arguments/amendments filed December 26, 2025 regarding the 35 USC § 103 rejection have been fully considered. Applicant's arguments/amendments are not persuasive. Accordingly, the 35 USC § 103 rejection is maintained.
The applicant argues that “the applied art does not teach or suggest that the controller controls the electric motor so that a torque rate in the region on the negative side of the torque is smaller than the torque rate in the region on the positive side of the torque, the torque rate being a change rate of the torque per unit time, as recited in Claim 1.”
Pursuant to MPEP 2131 Anticipation — Application of 35 U.S.C. 102 (a), (b), and (e), “"A claim is anticipated only if each and every element as set forth in the claim is found, either expressly or inherently described, in a single prior art reference." Verdegaal Bros. v. Union Oil Co. of California, 814 F.2d 628, 631, 2 USPQ2d 1051, 1053 (Fed. Cir. 1987). >"When a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art." Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001).”
Pursuant to MPEP 2144.01 Implicit Disclosure, “[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) …; In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976) (Reference disclosure of a compound where the R-S-R¢ portion has "at least one methylene group attached to the sulfur atom" implies that the other R group attached to the sulfur atom can be other than methylene and therefore suggests asymmetric dialkyl moieties.).”.
Pursuant to MPEP 2111 Claim Interpretation; Broadest Reasonable Interpretation, “The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims must also be consistent with the interpretation that those skilled in the art would reach. In re Cortright, 165 F.3d 1353, 1359, 49 USPQ2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1999)”
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitations argued by the applicant are inherently described in a single prior art reference. The prior art reference discloses that the controller controls the electric motor so that a torque rate in the region on the negative side of the torque is smaller than the torque rate in the region on the positive side of the torque, the torque rate being a change rate of the torque per unit time, as recited in Claim 1 (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 8, “target torque determiner which determines a target torque of the electric motor by correcting the basic target torque by at least the down-slope road regeneration correction amount; and a motor controller which controls the energization of the electric motor such that the electric motor generates an output torque of the target torque”). In other words, the controller is being able to control the torque rate and set it to a plurality of values in both the negative and positive sides. Since the limitations of the claims required a torque control in those regions, it is safe to say that the prior art reference either expressly or inherently described these limitations. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Therefore, for the above reasons, the examiner maintains rejection over claims 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Saitoh et al, US 2009/0112386, hereinafter referred to as Saitoh.
Regarding claim 1, Saitoh discloses a vehicle control device configured to control an automobile traveling with an electric motor as a power source, the vehicle control device comprising (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 64, 60, 59, 58, 57, 56,54, “an electric vehicle 1 according to the present embodiment (hereinafter referred to simply as "the vehicle 1" in most cases) is equipped with an electric motor 2 serving as a traveling motive power source”)
a controller configured to control the electric motor (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 66, 88, 64, 60, 59, 58, 57, 56,54, 65, “The motor control unit 6 is an electronic circuit unit which includes mainly a microcomputer. The motor control unit 6 receives a target torque of the electric motor 2 from the vehicle control unit 5 and a detection value of a rotational speed of the output shaft 2a of the electric motor 2 (hereinafter referred to as "the motor rotational speed") from the rotational speed sensor 15 provided in the electric motor 2”),
wherein when a torque of the electric motor decreases from a region on a positive side of the torque in a direction in which the torque of the electric motor accelerates the automobile to a region on a negative side of the torque in a direction in which the torque of the electric motor decelerates the automobile (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 102, 77, 66, 88, 64, 60, 59, 58, 57, 56,54, 65, 61, “the accelerator (gas) pedal sensor 13 detects the amount of depression on the accelerator (gas) pedal (not shown) of the vehicle 1 (hereinafter referred to as "the accelerator (gas) pedal manipulated variable"), and outputs the detection value to the vehicle control unit 5 as the detection data on the operational state of the accelerator (gas) pedal. The brake pedal sensor 14 detects a depressing force applied to the brake pedal (not shown) of the vehicle 1 (hereinafter referred to as "the brake pedal manipulated variable") and outputs the detection value to the vehicle control unit 5 as the detection data on the operational state of the brake pedal”),
the controller controls the electric motor so that a torque rate in the region on the negative side of the torque is smaller than the torque rate in the region on the positive side of the torque, the torque rate being a change rate of the torque per unit time (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 150, 151, 152, 148, 149, 146, 145, 143, 144, 130, 82, 86, 74, 79, 72, 69, 73, 71, “The basic target torque Trs is determined such that it becomes a drive torque (>0) when the operational state of the accelerator (gas) pedal is the ON state. The basic target torque Trs as the drive torque is basically determined such that it provides a larger drive torque as the accelerator (gas) pedal manipulated variable increases or the vehicle speed increases. Further, if the operational state of the accelerator (gas) pedal is the OFF state, then the basic target torque Trs is determined such that it becomes a regenerative torque ( <0) corresponding to an engine brake.”).
Regarding claim 2, Saitoh discloses the vehicle control device according to claim 1, wherein when the torque of the electric motor decreases from the region on the positive side of the torque to the region on the negative side of the torque, the controller controls the electric motor so that the torque rate decreases as the torque approaches 0 in the region on the positive side of the torque, and the torque rate increases as the torque approaches 0 in the region on the negative side of the torque (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 150, 151, 152, 148, 149, 146, 145, 143, 144, 130, 82, 86, 74, 79, 72, 69, 73, 71, “The basic target torque Trs is determined such that it becomes a drive torque (>0) when the operational state of the accelerator (gas) pedal is the ON state. The basic target torque Trs as the drive torque is basically determined such that it provides a larger drive torque as the accelerator (gas) pedal manipulated variable increases or the vehicle speed increases. Further, if the operational state of the accelerator (gas) pedal is the OFF state, then the basic target torque Trs is determined such that it becomes a regenerative torque ( <0) corresponding to an engine brake.”).
Regarding claim 3, Saitoh discloses the vehicle control device according to claim 1, wherein the controller controls the electric motor based on a torque rate map, the torque rate map defining a torque rate that is a rate of change of torque per unit time, based on the rotational speed of the electric motor and a torque of the electric motor (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 150, 151, 152, 148, 149, 146, 145, 143, 144, 130, 86, 74, 79, 72, 69, 73, 71, 82, “the basic target torque Trs is determined according to the map from the detection values (current values) of the vehicle speed and the accelerator (gas) pedal manipulated variable.”).
Regarding claim 4, Saitoh discloses the vehicle control device according to claim 3, wherein the torque rate fluctuates in a stepwise manner on the torque rate map (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 150, 151, 152, 148, 149, 146, 145, 143, 144, 130, 86, 74, 79, 72, 69, 73, 71, “the basic target torque determiner 21 determines the basic target torque Trs on the basis of the detection values (current values) of received vehicle speed and accelerator (gas) pedal manipulated variable according to a preset map, which specifies the relationship among vehicle speeds, accelerator (gas) pedal manipulated variables, and basic target torques.”).
Regarding claim 5, Saitoh discloses the vehicle control device according to claim 3, wherein when the torque of the electric motor decreases from the region on the positive side of the torque to the region on the negative side of the torque, an intermediate region in which the torque rate fluctuates from a large value to a small value is close to a region where the torque rate approaches 0 (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 102, 77, 66, 88, 64, 60, 59, 58, 57, 56,54, 65, 61, “the accelerator (gas) pedal sensor 13 detects the amount of depression on the accelerator (gas) pedal (not shown) of the vehicle 1 (hereinafter referred to as "the accelerator (gas) pedal manipulated variable"), and outputs the detection value to the vehicle control unit 5 as the detection data on the operational state of the accelerator (gas) pedal. The brake pedal sensor 14 detects a depressing force applied to the brake pedal (not shown) of the vehicle 1 (hereinafter referred to as "the brake pedal manipulated variable") and outputs the detection value to the vehicle control unit 5 as the detection data on the operational state of the brake pedal”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS A MARTINEZ BORRERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665