Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 3, 2025 and January 30, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10, 11, 13, 19, 20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent 20210349773A1, hereinafter, “Gusat” et. al.
Regarding claim 1, 10, and 19, Gusat discloses the following as claimed:
A class boundary detection apparatus (Fig. 1; par. 0008), a control method executed by a computer (claim 16), and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program that causes a computer to execute the computer program product
comprising: at least one memory that is configured to store instructions (Fig. 1, 101; par. 0041);
and at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions (Fig. 1) to:
acquire target time-series data that is time-series data to be analyzed (Fig. 1, “time series”; pars. 0041-42);
extract a plurality of pieces of extracted time-series data from the target time-series data and calculate a similarity between reference time-series data representing class boundaries of two different classes and each piece of the extracted time-series data (pars. 00043-45);
and detect a class boundary represented by the reference time-series data from the extracted time-series data having the calculated similarity equal to or more than a threshold, wherein the reference time-series data includes, after a tail portion of time-series data belonging to a preceding class indicated by the class boundary, a head portion of time-series data belonging to a subsequent class indicated by the class boundary (pars. 0057, 0062 e.g., “measurand” within a “time window” is construed as class boundary; “set of time series” establishes tail/head portion of time-series data belonging to a measurand(s)).
Regarding claim 2, 11, 20, Gusat discloses the class boundary detection apparatus according to claim 1, the control method according to claim 10, and non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 19, wherein the calculation of the similarity includes calculating a similarity between a feature value of the reference time-series data and a feature value of the extracted time-series data as the similarity between the reference time-series data and the extracted time-series data (Gusat [0062] similarity techniques for comparing pair wise the values of every measurand of the second group with all measurands of the third group).
Regarding claim 4, 13, and 22, Gusat discloses the class boundary detection apparatus according to claim 1, control method according to claim 10, and the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 19, wherein the calculation of the similarity further includes calculating a similarity with each piece of the extracted time-series data for each piece of the reference time-series data corresponding to each of a plurality of types of class boundaries, and the detection of the class boundary further includes detecting, from the extracted time-series data in which the similarity with the reference time-series data is equal to or more than a threshold, a class boundary of a type corresponding to that reference time-series data ([0068] where a threshold is calculated from the similarity techniques described to identify the root cause of the anomaly).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 6, 12, 14, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gusat (US Patent 2021/0349773 A1) in view of Cooper et. al. (US Patent 2006/0107216 A1).
Regarding claim 3, 12, and 21, Gusat discloses the class boundary detection apparatus according to claim 2, the control method according to claim 11, and the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 20. However, Gusat fails to disclose wherein the target time-series data is video data that is a sequence of video frames, the feature value of the extracted time-series data indicates a feature value of each frame constituting the extracted time-series data, and the calculation of the similarity further includes calculating, for each video frame constituting the extracted time-series data, a feature value that indicates an image feature of the video frame and data indicating a posture of a predetermined object included in the video frame.
Cooper et. al. teaches wherein the target time-series data is video data that is a sequence of video frames, the feature value of the extracted time-series data indicates a feature value of each frame constituting the extracted time-series data, and the calculation of the similarity further includes calculating, for each video frame constituting the extracted time-series data, a feature value that indicates an image feature of the video frame and data indicating a posture of a predetermined object included in the video frame (Cooper et. al. Figure 1, [0008] where media that can be videos are segmented and analyzed to determine segment boundaries).
It is key to the claimed invention that the time-series data analyzed is video data. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Gusat with the teachings of Cooper et. al. so that video data is analyzed for boundary determination.
Regarding claim 5 and 14, Gusat discloses the class boundary detection apparatus according to claim 1 and the control method according to claim 10. However, Gusat fails to disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions further to: a verification unit configured to determine whether two class boundaries adjacent to each other detected from the target time-series data are consistent with each other; and correct a class boundary when it is determined that two class boundaries adjacent to each other are not consistent with each other.
Cooper et. al. teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions further to: a verification unit configured to determine whether two class boundaries adjacent to each other detected from the target time-series data are consistent with each other; and correct a class boundary when it is determined that two class boundaries adjacent to each other are not consistent with each other (Cooper et. al. [0038] where neighboring kernels are compared within a subset to determine a boundary).
The claimed invention emphasizes that the video segments are compared in terms of similarity, especially with neighboring time frames. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Gusat and the teachings of Cooper et. al. to include neighboring video frame comparisons for similarity to allow for a more robust performance of the class boundary device for video boundary delineation.
Regarding claim 6, Cooper et. al. further teaches the class boundary detection apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the correction of the class boundary further includes, for each of the two class boundaries determined not to be consistent with each other, comparing degrees of similarity between frames in the extracted time-series data in which the class boundary is detected and the reference time-series data corresponding to a type of the class boundary between a portion before the class boundary and a portion after the class boundary, and determining that there is an error in the class boundary when a difference therebetween is equal to or more than a threshold ([0040] where an integer parameter is used as a threshold determination for a boundary or non-boundary classification).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 15, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not disclose the claimed invention as recited in dependent claims 7-9, 15, and 23.
Conclusion
/JESSICA YIFANG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2668 January 23, 2026
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668