DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 08/24/26 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu (CN 113593414, see machine translation) in view of Ogawa (KR 20200014222, cited by Applicant, see machine translation) in view of Inada (WO 2023013416, see machine translation, please note- Inada has a foreign priority date of 08/2021 and designates the US such that this foreign priority date is the effective filing date of Inada under 102(b)(1) and 102(d), see MPEP 2151) in view of Kim (U.S. 2017/0192462).
Regarding claims 1-10, 12-14, 16-19, Gu teaches an OLED display as in claim 16-17 (with cover plate/window 501, polarizer 401, touch sensor, and OLED layers 301-316, [0084]-[0086], note that the touch sensor is not illustrated but is disclosed as being between the OLED and upper layers, thus rendering obvious the sequence of claim 18) with a camera that is mounted under the display panel via an intervening support film (the present back plate film) so as to avoid a front camera punch hole in the display, as in claim 19 ([0045]-[0050], [0078]-[0082], FIG. 4 and 5, note that there is no hole in the display layer 30 in FIG. 4 and 5, but instead the corresponding area is very lightly shaded to indicate that portion of the display is transparent, not a hole).
Gu also teaches that the back plate film has a retardation layer with in plane and thickness retardation values overlapping the claimed ranges (based on the “first threshold”) and with an overlapping thickness, as in claims 2-4 ([0046]-[0048], [0054], [0057]). The above in plane and thickness retardation values of Gu overlap the claimed range but are not explicitly disclosed for 550 nm light. However, Gu discloses that these retardation values are selected based on interference improvement “in the visible light band” (inherently 380-750nm) which overlaps the claimed 550 nm light, such that it would have been obvious to have designed the retardation film with the retardation values of Gu for all wavelengths of light in the visible light band, including 550nm ([0034], [0049]) and thus arrive at the claimed retardation properties. This is further obvious in view of Ogawa which is also directed to optically functional (phase difference) film for a display based on visible light ([0002], [0040]) and confirms that 550 nm (within the visible band) is a known suitable wavelength for evaluating phase difference properties in such visible light display based applications ([0101]) such that use of 550 nm within the visible band (380-750nm) would have been obvious for the retardation values from Gu because Gu calls for their optical functionality within the visible band and Ogawa shows that 550 nm is a suitable representative wavelength for that visible band (550 is roughly midway between 380 and 750).
Gu also discloses an adhesive on the back plate film as well as protective film 3 and release film 4 contacting the adhesive 202 ([0070], with the protective film on the side opposite the adhesive 202, as in claim 8) but does not disclose the claimed type of adhesive or protective/release materials. The back plate film is applied to the display via an adhesive after the release layer is removed, as in claim 17.
However, Inada is also directed to protective films, release layers and adhesives for use in optically functional films for OLED displays, and discloses that a suitable protective film is PET attached to the film being protected via a pressure sensitive adhesive that may be acrylic with a curing agent (crosslinking catalyst), which is disclosed as a suitable adhesive for all adhesives in the overall laminate, and the release film may be PET with a silicone treatment, and with all the above layers have thicknesses overlapping the present claims, as in claims 6, 8-10, 12-14 ([0002], [0010]-[0013], [0045], [0047], [0051]-[0052], [0054]) such that it would have been obvious to have used the protective film with adhesive for the protective film in Gu because Inada teaches that the materials and thicknesses are suitable for providing the desired protective qualities and the adhesive allows the protective film to adhere to the optically functional (retardation) layer, and to have used the release film on the adhesive side of the optically functional layer (retardation) layer because Inada teaches that such materials provide suitable release qualities, and to have used the particular pressure sensitive adhesive from Inada for the above mentioned adhesive layers (i.e., between the protective film and the retardation layer and between the release layer and the retardation layer, as in claim 8-9) because Inada discloses that such adhesive materials and thicknesses provide suitable adhesion qualities. Modified Gu does not disclose the particular adhesive strength of the pressure sensitive adhesive as in claim 7, but the adhesive strength of the adhesive would have been obvious to adjust in order to optimize the degree of adhesion being provided. Inada also discloses that antistatic agents may be included in the pressure sensitive adhesive ([0052]) which would make the PSA between the protective film and the retardation film (the side opposite the adhesive and release layers) an antistatic film as in claim 5, with the degree of antistatic properties being obvious to adjust as part of optimizing the degree of static protections (antistatic properties further making the inclusion of antistatic agents into the above adhesive obvious to provide antistatic properties to Gu based on Inada).
Modified Gu does not explicitly disclose that the touch display with camera may be used in a “mobile phone” (as in claims 18-19) but one having ordinary skill in the art would have found this to be obvious (even in the absence of a published disclosure) in view of the proliferation of “smart phones” having touch displays and cameras as of effective filing date of the present invention. This is confirmed by Kim showing that such displays and cameras were known for use in mobile phones (see abstract, [0032]) such that it would have been obvious to have used the display from modified Gu in a mobile phone in order to apply the display to as many commercially viable products as possible).
Regarding claims 11 and 15, modified Gu teaches all of the above subject matter but does not disclose that the protective and release films have antistatic treatments on the opposite side as the adhesive, however, Ogawa is also directed to PET films on either side of an optically functional film for a display and teaches that such PET layers may have antistatic treatments on the side opposite the PSA in order to provide antistatic benefits such that it would have been obvious to have provided such antistatic layers in modified Gu in order to provide the corresponding antistatic benefits. Likewise, the degree of antistatic properties are obvious to adjust as part of optimizing the degree of static protection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
The previous 112 rejection is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The 550nm limitation is addressed in the new rejection above and this action is non-final.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose Applicant’s reported lack of image distortion effect, but this is not recited in the claims and the prior art discloses a lack of optical interference which seems equivalent to Applicant’s image distortion anyway.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787