DETAILED ACTION
The claims dated 10/25/2024 are under consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1, 2, 3, 5-7, 9-10, 12, 14, 15, 17, 19, 20, 22, 23, 25, 27 and 29 in the reply filed on 6/29/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 30 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/29/2026.
Priority
The present application is a 371 national stage entry of PCT/EP2022/077537 (filed 10/4/2022), and claims benefit of UNITED KINGDOM 2114183.3 (filed 10/4/2021).
Priority is recognized.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification or the citation of references throughout the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892 or cited on a submitted IDS, they have not been considered.
Drawings
High resolution copies of the drawings may be accessed via PAIR/Patent Center Retrieval using the Supplemental Content tab.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted the claims introduce elements with the term “optional” or “optionally”. Claim scope is not limited by claim language that makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. MPEP 2111.04.
Claim 12 is interpreted as further limiting the elements that are “optionally” included in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites a result or property of the method of claim 1. It is unclear whether any additional elements or steps are required in order to achieve the recited result or confer the recited property.
Regarding claim 6, it is unclear based on the use of the passive voice whether the claim requires a further additional active method step of “observing the electrical or current effect associated with the target polymer before and/or after the electrical current or current effect associated with the polymer-guided effector protein”.
Regarding claim 14, the claim depends from claim 7 and recites “the polynucleotide-guided effector protein”. The recitation lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5-7, 9-10, 12, 14, 15, 17, 19, 20, 22, 23, 25, 27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Heron (US 2020/0024654 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 7 and 9, Heron teaches contacting a sample with a guide polynucleotide as a “guide polymer” that binds to: 1) a sequence in a target polynucleotide; and 2) a polynucleotide-guided effector protein. Heron further teaches the guide polynucleotide and polynucleotide-guided effector protein form a complex with any target polynucleotide present in the sample. See para. 8.
Heron further teaches contacting the sample with a membrane comprising a transmembrane pore (para. 8). The transmembrane pore is a biological pore (para. 319).
Heron further teaches applying a potential difference across the membrane (para. 8). Heron teaches measuring current as “one or more electrical measurements” (para. 368-369).
Heron further teaches monitoring for the presence or absence of an effect resulting from the interaction of the complex with the transmembrane pore to determine the presence or absence of the complex, thereby detecting the target polynucleotide in the sample.
Regarding claim 2, the claim does not specify any further limitations of claim 1 but rather recites a property or intended result. Heron anticipates claim 2 because it teaches all of the positively recited, active method steps of claims 1 and 2.
Alternatively, Heron measures “more complex” current levels in the form of current deflections (para. 66, 67 and 429). See also Figs. 39 and 40.
Regarding claim 5, the claim does not specify any further limitations of claims 1 and 2 but rather recites a property or intended result. Heron anticipates claim 5 because it teaches all of the positively recited, active method steps of claims 1, 2 and 5.
Alternatively, Heron measures “more complex” current levels in the form of current deflections (para. 66, 67 and 429), which are “inconsistent effects”. See also Figs. 39 and 40.
Regarding claim 6, the claim does not specify any further limitations of claims 1 and 2 but rather recites a property or intended result. Heron anticipates claim 6 because it teaches all of the positively recited, active method steps of claims 1, 2 and 6.
Alternatively, Heron measures multiple electrical or current effects before and after the electrical or current effect associated with the polymer-guided effector protein (Fig. 22 and 32; para. 50, 60 and 399, 406).
Regarding claim 10, Heron teaches the “guide polynucleotide” is a guide RNA and the “polynucleotide-guided effector protein” is an RNA-guided effector protein (para. 5).
Regarding claim 12, the claim further limits elements that are “optionally” included in claim 10. Heron anticipates claim 12 because it teaches all of the positively recited, active method steps of claims 1, 10 and 12.
Alternatively, Heron teaches the RNA-guided effector endonuclease is Cas or C2c2 or Cas9 (para. 147).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Heron teaches the “guide polynucleotide” is a guide RNA comprising a crRNA that binds to a sequence in the target polynucleotide and a tracrRNA (para. 159).
Regarding claim 17, Heron teaches one or more anchors are present on the guide polynucleotide or the polynucleotide-guided effector protein (para. 211). Heron teaches the anchor may be cholesterol (para. 212).
Regarding claims 19, 20 and 22, Heron teaches the claimed method elements as described in paragraph 429 and depicted in Figs. 39 and 40. See also paras. 90 and 91.
Regarding claim 23, Heron further teaches the method comprises determining the amount of the target polypeptide or one or more characteristics of the target polynucleotide (para. 101).
Regarding claim 25, Heron teaches the biological pore may be natural or derived from a transmembrane pore (para. 323-324).
Regarding claim 27, Heron teaches the biological pore may be artificial, such as a DNA origami pore (para. 319).
Regarding claim 29, Heron teaches membrane is preferably a solid state layer (para. 284) or a triblock copolymer (para. 285-286).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9-10, 12, 14, 15, 17, 19, 20, 22, 23 and 27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,739,379 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are sufficient broad so as to encompass the narrower embodiments of the ‘379 claims.
Claims 3, 25 and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,739,379 B2 in view of Heron (US 2020/0024654 A1).
The present claims differ from the ‘379 claims based on the limitations of claims 3, 25 and 29.
However, as noted in the 102 rejections above, these features are taught by Heron.
It would have been prima facie obvious to have included the elements of Heron in the methods of the ‘379 claims in order achieve the results of Heron.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/JOSEPH G. DAUNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682