DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
An amendment responsive to the non-final Office Action dated September 3, 2025 was submitted on November 7, 2025. Claims 1, 3, 5-8 and 12 were amended. Claim 4 was canceled. Claims 16, 18 and 23 were previously canceled. Claims 1-3, 5-15, 17 and 19-22 are currently pending.
The amendments to claim 5 have overcome the objection to this claim (¶ 2 of the Office Action). This objection has therefore been withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 3, 6-9 and 12 have overcome the rejections of claims 3, 6-10 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) (¶¶ 4-6 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn.
The amendments to claim 1 have overcome the prior art rejections of claims 1-3, 5-15, 17 and 19-22 (¶¶ 11-42 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection of these claims have been made as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 13, 14 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0182764 A1) in view of either of Yang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0010735 A1) or Lin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0330504 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Noda ‘764 discloses an adhesive (Abstract of Noda, adhesive precursor composition) comprising: a crosslinked polymeric matrix ([0045] of Noda, composition is crosslinked product of polyfunctional acrylate oligomers and acrylate monomers and is therefore polymeric) formed by the copolymerisation of: a urethane acrylate polymeric material that has two or more acrylate end groups ([0020] of Noda, adhesive includes a polyfunctional acrylate oligomer such as a urethane acrylate oligomer; [0024] of Noda, suitable urethane acrylates include polymers with two or more acrylate end groups); and a polymeric or oligomeric crosslinker material having two or more acrylate end groups ([0045] of Noda, adhesive precursor composition includes a reactive diluent which facilitates termination and crosslinking of the polyfunctional acrylate; reaction would necessarily be a copolymerization of the two reactants; [0046] of Noda, suitable reactive diluents include hexanediol diacrylate and trimethylol propane triacrylate which compounds have at least two acrylate end groups).
Noda does not specifically disclose that the adhesive compositions are random block copolymers. Moreover, Noda discloses reacting the urethane acrylate oligomer with the reactive diluent but does not specifically disclose that the resulting copolymer is a random block copolymer. Noda, however, discloses polymerizing using a free radical initiator ([0058] of Noda). The resulting copolymer would necessarily be a random block copolymer since the terminal acrylate groups on the urethane acrylate polymer would necessarily randomly react with terminal acrylate groups on other urethane acrylate polymer molecules or with terminal acrylate groups on the crosslinker/reactive diluent.
Noda does not disclose that the adhesive compositions are photothermal compositions which comprise a photothermal agent, wherein the photothermal agent is dispersed within the crosslinked polymeric matrix. Noda, however, discloses that the adhesive is a reversible or temporary adhesive wherein heat is used to facilitate debonding of the adhesive ([0065] of Noda). Yang discloses a photothermal adhesive layer comprising a polymer and a light absorbing material wherein the adhesive comprises from about 5 to about 80 wt% of the light absorber ([0053] of Yang). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate from about 5 to about 80 wt% of the light absorber in the since Yang establishes that it was known to include light absorbers in such amounts in photothermal adhesive compositions ([0053] of Yang). Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2143 I A). The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art also would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Yang clearly teaches a light absorber content range (i.e., about 5 to about 80 wt%) that overlaps with that recited in claim 1 (i.e., 1 to 5 wt%) which would render the claimed range obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 2, Noda and Yang suggest that the photothermal agent is capable of absorbing light for heat generation to bring about adhesive release through thermal expansion and/or ablation. Moreover, Noda discloses achieving adhesive release through thermal expansion and Yang provides motivation to incorporate a photothermal agent into the adhesive to generate heat upon exposure to radiation (see analysis of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses that the photothermal agent is selected from one of more of the group consisting of a UV-absorbing photothermal agent, a multiwalled carbon nanotube (MWCNT), a single walled carbon nanotube (SWCNT), an MXene, a graphite, a graphene oxide, a liquid metal, and a carbon black ([0050] of Yang, light absorber can be graphite or carbon black; claim only requires one of the recited materials).
Regarding claim 5, Noda discloses that the urethane acrylate polymeric material that has two or more acrylate end groups is an aliphatic acrylate polymeric material that has two acrylate end groups ([0024] of Noda).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Noda discloses that the aliphatic acrylate polymeric material has formula II as recited in claims 6 or 7 ([0033] of Noda, aliphatic acrylate urethane material can be CN9004, CN9002 or CN3211 which have the recited structure).
Regarding claim 8, Noda does not specifically disclose that the urethane acrylate polymeric material that has two or more acrylate end groups has a number average molecular weight of greater than 20,000 Daltons. Noda, however, discloses that the polyfunctional acrylate oligomer (i.e., the urethane acrylate oligomer) can have a number average molecular weight of 2,000 to 70,000 ([0023] of Noda). Noda therefore clearly teaches a urethane acrylate number average molecular weight (Mn) range (i.e., >20,000 Da) that overlaps with that recited in claim 4 (i.e., 2,000 to 70,000) which would render the claimed range obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 9, Noda discloses that the polymeric or oligomeric crosslinker material having two or more acrylate end groups is selected from one or more of 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate, tetra(ethylene glycol) diacrylate, poly(trimethylolpropane triacrylate-co-ethylene dimethacrylate), poly(ethyleneglycol) diacrylate (PEGDA), poly(caprolactone) dimethacrylate and poly(propylene glycol) dimethacrylate ([0046] of Noda, reactive diluent can be hexanediol diacrylate; claim only requires one of the recited crosslinker compounds).
Regarding claim 13, Noda does no specifically disclose that the polymeric or oligomeric crosslinker material having two or more acrylate end groups is present in an amount of from 5 to 30 wt% relative to the total weight of the crosslinked polymeric matrix. Noda, however, discloses that the amount of reactive diluent is between 10 and 35 wt% of the adhesive precursor composition ([0048] of Noda). Noda therefore clearly teaches a wt% reactive diluent/crosslinker range (i.e., 10 to 35 wt%) that overlaps with that recited in claim 13 (i.e., 5 to 30 wt%) which would render the claimed range obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 14, Noda discloses that the photothermal adhesive is provided in the form of a film and/or the photothermal adhesive is transparent (FIG. 1, [0013] of Noda, adhesive composition #100 provided as a thin layer or film; claim only requires one of the recited characteristics).
Regarding claim 19, Noda and Yang suggest a method comprising: (i) adhering an object to be placed to a film of a photothermal adhesive ([0064] of Noda, adhesive applied to surface of first substrate), where the photothermal adhesive is as described in Claim 1 (see analysis of claim 1 above) to form an adhered object ([0064] of Noda, second substrate contacted with adhesive on first substrate and curing the adhesive to temporarily bond substrates together); and (ii) releasing the object from the film of photothermal adhesive, thereby causing thermal expansion or ablation of the film to effect release of the adhered object ([0064] of Noda, cured adhesive heated to cause thermal expansion to facilitate debonding).
Noda does not specifically disclose applying light from a light source to the film to cause thermal expansion. Noda, however, discloses that the adhesive is a reversible or temporary adhesive wherein heat is used to facilitate debonding of the adhesive ([0065] of Noda). Yang discloses a photothermal conversion layer comprising a resin and a light absorbing agent which absorbs light and converts the light to heat energy (i.e., a photothermal agent) ([0048] of Yang). According to Yang, the heat energy generated by the photothermal agent abruptly elevates the temperature of the layer ([0048] of Yang). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a photothermal agent to the composition of Noda and to apply light (i.e., radiant energy) to the adhesive to generate the heat required for debonding. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for the abrupt increase in temperature of the layer during debonding as taught by Yang ([0048] of Yang).
Noda also does not specifically disclose (ii) placing the adhered object at a desired site prior to debonding or that the method is a method of picking and placing an object. Noda, however, discloses that the method may further include conducting an industrial operation on the first or second substrates (e.g., etching, grinding, polishing or coating) after curing the adhesive precursor and before debonding ([0067] of Noda). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transfer the adhered substrates to a desired site (e.g., an etching or coating apparatus) for conducting the further industrial operation. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to facilitate carrying out the additional industrial operation as taught by Noda ([0067] of Noda).
Regarding claim 20, Yang discloses that that the photothermal agent is selected from one of more of the group consisting of a multiwalled carbon nanotube (MWCNT), a single walled carbon nanotube (SWCNT), an MXene, a graphite, a graphene oxide, a liquid metal, and a carbon black ([0050] of Yang, light absorbing agent can be carbon black or graphite; claim only requires one of the recited photothermal agents) but does not specifically disclose that the light source is an IR laser light source having a wavelength of from 500 to 1,080 nm or a laser having a wavelength of less than 500 nm. Yang, however, discloses that the wavelength of the radiation energy can be 300 to 11,000 nm ([0099] of Yang). Yang therefore clearly teaches a radiation energy wavelength range (i.e., 300 to 11,000 nm) that overlaps with the ranges recited in claim 20 (i.e., 500 to 1,080 nm or < 500 nm) which would render the claimed ranges obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 21, Yang does not specifically disclose the IR laser light source having a wavelength of from 500 to 1,080 nm or the laser having a wavelength of less than 500 nm has a pulse energy of from greater than 0 to 500 µJ. Yang, however, discloses that the amount of laser irradiation energy applied to the adhesive is absorbed by the light absorbing agent and converted into heat energy to trigger debonding ([0048] of Yang). Yang therefore establishes that the amount of laser energy applied to the bonded substrate is a variable which achieves a recognized result (i.e., generating thermal energy for debonding) ([0048] of Yang). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the amount of laser energy applied in the modified method, including providing a laser pulse energy of from greater than 0 to 500 µJ as recited in claim 21. Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, once a parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP §2144.05 II B).
Regarding claim 22, Yang does not specifically disclose that the light source is an UV light source having a wavelength of from 10 to 400 nm or a laser having a wavelength of less than 400 nm, provided that the photothermal agent is a UV-absorbing photothermal agent. Yang, however, discloses that the wavelength of the radiation energy can be 300 to 11,000 nm ([0099] of Yang). Yang therefore clearly teaches a radiation energy wavelength range (i.e., 300 to 11,000 nm) that overlaps with the ranges recited in claim 22 (i.e., 10 to 400 nm or < 400 nm) which would render the claimed ranges obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda in view of Yang as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Zhang (Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 109929504 A, cited in IDS submitted April 3, 2024, machine language translation provided in previous Office Action and cited below).
Regarding claim 9, Noda discloses that the polymeric or oligomeric crosslinker material having two or more acrylate end groups can be 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate ([0046] of Noda) but does not specifically disclose that the crosslinker material can be tetra(ethylene glycol) diacrylate, poly(trimethylolpropane triacrylate-co-ethylene dimethacrylate), poly(ethyleneglycol) diacrylate (PEGDA), poly(caprolactone) dimethacrylate and poly(propylene glycol) dimethacrylate. Zhang, however, discloses a urethane acrylate adhesive comprising a urethane acrylate oligomer and a high molecular weight acrylate monomer (Abstract of Zhang). According to Zhang, the acrylate monomer can be polyethylene glycol diacrylate or polypropylene glycol dimethacrylate ([0013] of Zhang). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use polyethylene glycol diacrylate or polypropylene glycol dimethacrylate as the crosslinker in the modified adhesive formulations since Zhang establishes that it was known to use these compounds as crosslinkers in urethane acrylate adhesives. Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2143 I A). The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art also would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses that the polymeric or oligomeric crosslinker material having two or more acrylate end groups is poly(ethyleneglycol) diacrylate (PEGDA) ([0013] of Zhang).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Zhang does not specifically disclose that the polymeric or oligomeric crosslinker material having two or more acrylate end groups has a number average molecular weight of from 200 to 1,000 Daltons as recited in claim 11 or that the polymeric or oligomeric crosslinker material having two or more acrylate end groups has a number average molecular weight of from 250 to 750 Daltons, such as from 400 to 600 Daltons as recited in claim 12. Zhang, however, discloses that the acrylate monomer has a number average molecular weight greater than 500 ([0012] of Zhang). Zhang therefore clearly teaches a acrylate monomer/crosslinker number average molecular weight (Mn) range (i.e., >500 Da) that overlaps with that recited in claims 11 and 12 (i.e., 200 to 1,000 Daltons or 250 to 750 Daltons) which would render the claimed ranges obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda in view of Yang and Bonardi et al. (“Thermal Initiators as Additives for Photopolymerization of Methacrylates upon Blue Light”, Coatings, 10, 478, May 15, 2020, cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 15, Noda discloses a method of forming a photothermal adhesive according to Claim 1, the method comprising the steps of: (a) providing a mixture comprising: a urethane acrylate polymeric material that has two or more acrylate end groups ([0020] of Noda); a polymeric or oligomeric crosslinker material having two or more acrylate end groups ([0045] of Noda); and a radical initiator ([0060] of Noda, thermal initiators such as azo, peroxide, persulfate and redox initiators may be incorporated into the adhesive).
Noda does not specifically disclose the mixture comprises a photothermal agent. Noda, however, discloses that the adhesive is a reversible or temporary adhesive wherein heat is used to facilitate debonding of the adhesive ([0065] of Noda). Yang discloses a photothermal conversion layer comprising a resin and a light absorbing agent which absorbs light and converts the light to heat energy (i.e., a photothermal agent) ([0048] of Yang). According to Yang, the heat energy generated by the photothermal agent abruptly elevates the temperature of the layer ([0048] of Yang). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a photothermal agent into the mixture of Noda. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for the abrupt increase in temperature of the layer during debonding (i.e., by applying radiation energy) as taught by Yang ([0048] of Yang).
Noda also does not specifically disclose (b) heating the mixture at a temperature of from 50 to 100 °C for a period of time to provide the photothermal adhesive. Noda, however, discloses that thermal initiators such as azo, peroxide, persulfate and redox initiators may be incorporated into the adhesive ([0060] of Noda) in addition to the photoinitiators ([0057] of Noda). Bonardi discloses the free radical polymerization of acrylate polymers wherein photopolymerization is used in the presence of a thermal initiator (Abstract of Bonardi). According to Bonardi, the exothermic reaction of the photopolymerization process decomposes the thermal initiator resulting in enhanced polymerization rates (Abstract of Bonardi). Also according to Bonardi, the resin was heated during photopolymerization to a temperature of 90 °C to decompose the thermal initiator (pg. 6, 1st full ¶ of Bonardi). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to heat the mixture in the modified process to 90 °C to decompose the thermal initiator in the modified mixture. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to decompose the thermal initiator as taught by Bonardi (pg. 6, 1st full ¶ of Bonardi).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda in view of Yang and Bonardi as applied to claim 15 above and further in view of Studer et al. (“Overcoming oxygen inhibition in UV-curing of acrylate coatings by carbon dioxide inerting, Part I”, Prog. In Org. Coat., 48, pp. 92-100, June 2003, cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 17, Noda does not disclose that the polymerisation occurs in a vessel without exposure to the ambient atmospheric conditions. Studer, however, discloses that molecular oxygen inhibits the photoinitiated polymerization of acrylate resins and that this effect can be eliminated by conducting polymerization in an inert atmosphere (Abstract of Studer). Studer also discloses conducting the reaction in a cell to allow polymerization to occur in a controlled atmosphere (pg. 93, right column of Studer). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to carry out the polymerization reaction in the modified process using a cell (i.e., a vessel) flushed with an inert gas. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow polymerization to occur in an inert atmosphere thereby eliminating the inhibiting effects of molecular oxygen as taught by Studer (Abstract of Studer).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered to the extent that they apply to the new grounds of rejection but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that Iwasawa fails to teach or reasonably suggest the claimed concentrations of photothermal agent (pg. 9, 2nd full ¶ of the amendment). The Office Action, however, is relying upon the newly cited Yang reference to address this limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER W. RAIMUND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER W RAIMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746