DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-20 and 22-24 of copending Application No. 18698095 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reason.
Regarding claims 1-10, the copending claims disclose the same coating composition as presently claimed except that the copending claims further disclose a steel sheet having one surface.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higai et al. (US 2004/0249036) in view of Hirasawa et al. (US 2018/0345317).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 9, Higai teaches a film of a coating on a metal sheet (0020), where the metal sheet is a steel sheet (0044), where the coating includes a thermoplastic resin having a glass transition point of more than 100⁰C, an acid value of 20-350mg-KOH/g (calculates to acid value/Tg of greater than 0 to 5; (0011)), and the thermoplastic resin is an acrylic resin (0023-0024), and further includes a polyethylene wax with a melting point of 100⁰C or more (0031, 0040).
Higai does not specifically teach an average particle diameter of ≤3.0 micron of the polyolefin wax.
Hirasawa is in the similar field of endeavor of a coated steel sheet including polyethylene wax and acrylic resin (Abstract) and teaches mean particle diameter of the polyethylene wax is preferably less than 1.0 micron (0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Higai to incorporate the particles size of Hirasawa. The motivation for doing so would have been to more uniformly distribute the wax in the film (0021) and provide the lubricating characteristics (0020), this provides the wear resistance of the coating film at room temperature as desired by Higai (0040).
Regarding claim 4, Higai in view of Hirasawa discloses the coating of claim 1, wherein Higai further teaches a coating including an acrylic resin, a metallic soap of metal stearate and an anti-galling agent (0011), where the anti-galling agent is contained at 0.5-40 mass% (0015), an organic lubricant of polyethylene wax of 0.5-5 weight% (0040) and the metal stearate is 0.5-30 weight % (0034), this calculates to a remaining 25-98.5 mass% of acrylic resin.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 5, Higai in view of Hirasawa discloses the coating of claim 1, wherein acrylic resin has a mass average molecular weight of 10,000 to 1,000,000 (0028).
Regarding claim 6, Higai in view of Hirasawa discloses the coating of claim 1, wherein acrylic resin is styrene acrylic resin (0024).
Regarding claims 7-8, Higai in view of Hirasawa discloses the coating of claim 1, wherein the anti-galling agent such as aluminum salt of phosphoric acid is contained at 0.5-40 mass% (0015).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higai et al. (US 2004/0249036) in view of Hirasawa et al. (US 2018/0345317) and further in view of Mori et al. (US 6797770).
Regarding claim 10, Higai in view of Hirasawa discloses the coating of claim 1 but is silent with respect to 1-10 mass% silica.
Mori is in the similar field of endeavor a coating composition that forms a film with a polyurethane resin (Abstract; Col. 1 Lns. 33-40) with polyolefin wax in the resin layer (Col. 3 Lns. 15-22) on a steel sheet (Col. 1 Ln. 23), and teaches including of 1-30 wt% silica (Col. 9 Lns. 8-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Higai to incorporate the silica of Mori. The motivation for doing so would have been the silica improves film strength and cohesion with the steel sheet (Col. 9 Lns. 16-18) and thereby and deliver the benefits imparted by the surface treatment (of press formability and anti-rust properties Higai 0001).
Conclusion
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787