DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goto 2020/0166163.
In regard to claim 1, discloses an oil-well metal pipe, comprising:
a pipe main body including a first end portion 5 and a second end portion 8;
wherein:
the pipe main body includes:
a pin 6 formed at the first end portion, and
a box 7 formed at the second end portion (see paragraph 51);
the pin includes:
a pin contact surface including an external thread part 4;
the box includes:
a box contact surface including an internal thread part 7:
the oil-well metal pipe further comprising:
a resin coating on or above at least one of the pin contact surface and the box contact surface, the resin coating containing:
an epoxy resin: 40.0 to 97.0 mass% (see claim 13),
a magnesium silicate hydroxide powder: 3.0 to 50.0 mass% (see paragraph 43, which lists talc as one of the solid lubricant powders and talc is magnesium silicate hydroxide and also see claim 13), and
a rust preventive pigment in the range of 1 to 30 mass% (see paragraph 81 and paragraph 83 where it states that the rust additive is preferably in the range of 2 to 10 mass%) and
satisfying Formula (1): (Cw+Cf+Cg)/(Cmg +CTiO2+ Csi) ≤ 0.28 (1) (Cw, Ce and Cg are all 0 values and 0/Cmg is ≤ .28)
where, in Formula (1), a content in mass% of the wax is substituted for Cw, a content in mass% of the fluorine-based additive is substituted for Cr, a content in mass% of the graphite is substituted for Cc, a content in mass% of the magnesium silicate hydroxide powder is substituted for Cag, a content in mass% of the TiO2 is substituted for Crioz, and a content in mass of the silane coupling agent is substituted for Csi.
Goto discloses that the solid lubricating powder can be selected from one or more types of material (see claim 19), but does not positively recite that the solid lubricant contains a wax, fluorine based additive or graphite. So, Goto discloses a solid lubricant powder that could only consist of talc and the rust preventive. In this circumstance, the values for Cw, Cf and Cg are all 0 values and the numerator of the equation would be 0, and 0/Cmg is ≤ .28.
In regard to claim 2, wherein: the pin contact surface further includes a pin sealing surface 10 and a pin shoulder surface 11, and
the box contact surface further includes a box sealing surface 13 and a box shoulder surface 12.
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abe et al. 2023/0312946.
In regard to claim 1, discloses an oil-well metal pipe (see figs. 5-8), comprising:
a pipe main body including a first end portion and a second end portion;
wherein:
the pipe main body includes:
a pin 10A formed at the first end portion, and
a box 10B formed at the second end portion;
the pin includes:
a pin contact surface including an external thread part 41;
the box includes:
a box contact surface including an internal thread part 51:
the oil-well metal pipe further comprising:
a resin coating on or above at least one of the pin contact surface and the box contact surface, the resin coating containing:
an epoxy resin: 40.0 to 97.0 mass% (see claim 3),
a magnesium silicate hydroxide powder: 3.0 to 50.0 mass% (see paragraph 111 and claim 11, which lists talc as one of the solid lubricant powders and talc is magnesium silicate hydroxide and also see claim 13),
a rust preventive pigment in the range of 1 to 30 mass% (see paragraph 165 where it states that the rust additive is preferably in the range of 5 to 30 mass%) and
satisfying Formula (1): (Cw+Ce+Cg)/(Cmg +CTiO2+ Csi) ≤ 0.28 (1) (Cw, Ce and Cg are all 0 values and 0/Cmg is ≤ .28)
where, in Formula (1), a content in mass% of the wax is substituted for Cw, a content in mass% of the fluorine-based additive is substituted for Cr, a content in mass% of the graphite is substituted for Cc, a content in mass% of the magnesium silicate hydroxide powder is substituted for Cag, a content in mass% of the TiO2 is substituted for Crioz, and a content in mass of the silane coupling agent is substituted for Csi.
Abe et al. discloses that the solid lubricating powder can be selected from one or more types of material (see claim 11), but does not positively recite that the solid lubricant contains a wax, fluorine based additive or graphite. So, Abe et al. discloses a solid lubricant powder that could only consist of talc and the rust preventive. In this circumstance, the values for Cw, Cf and Cg are all 0 values and the numerator of the equation would be 0, and 0/Cmg is ≤ .28.
In regard to claim 2, wherein: the pin contact surface further includes a pin sealing surface 42 and a pin shoulder surface 43, and
the box contact surface further includes a box sealing surface 52 and a box shoulder surface 53.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Goto and Abe et al. fail to disclose one of the groups consisting of Ti02, wax, fluorine-based additive, graphite, or rust preventative or color pigment. The Examiner disagrees, as Goto and Abe et al. disclose a rust preventive pigment, as described in further detail above. Therefore the rejections have been maintained.
Conclusion
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679