Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-9, filed 6/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under the prior rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art due to amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 10, 12 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PIRCH et al. (US 20200314651 A1) in view of FAMULARI et al. (US 20160162706 A1) further in view of AGUILAR et al. (US 20080280617 A1).
Re claim 1. PIRCH discloses (abstract) a method for calibrating an environment (FIG.1-2A and 10), the method (FIG.2A – [0015-0017, 0120]) comprising:
monitoring ultra-wideband (UWB) signals [0025-0026, 0038] between a first device 205 and second device 230-240, wherein the first device is in a fixed location (doorway 205) and is associated with an access point (FIG.2A shows first device is placed near a doorway such that it is “associated with access point”), and wherein the second device (key devices 230-240) is portable [0040];
determining a reference temporal signature ([0116] i.e. trained with data sets collected –interpreted broadly to include any type of data relevant to a user identity/approach towards a door) associated with the first device based on the UWB signals ([0066-0067] – PACS neural network may be trained with the habits of each user to identify common user actions and sequences of actions that may be used to identify intended doorways and points of entry), wherein the reference temporal signature is indicative of intent to access a secure asset associated with the first device. ([0017, 0038, 0116-0117] – machine learning model to recognize how people may move and angles of their approach, when their intent is to enter the secure entry point); and
storing the reference temporal signature in a computer readable storage medium (FIG.11) [0023, 0054] (i.e. PACS is included in a host server, which implements a learning model [0046, 0055], which implicitly includes at least one storage medium).
[0017] In some cases, the systems and methods described herein can implement various approaches to detect intent of the user such that the entry point will open not only when the user with a proper credential is in a defined vicinity of the entry point, but also once it is adequately determined that the authenticated user intend to cross through the entry point. A challenge with performing preemptive credential verification may be identifying false positives which would result in releasing the secure entry mechanism when it should not be unlocked (e.g., false intent detection). This is potentially problematic as an unauthorized person may gain access to the entry. For example, an authorized person may be walking down a hallway and pass by a secure entry point. If the PACS were to mis-identify the person's approach to the secure entry point, the PACS may unlock the secure entry mechanism. The person may pass by the door while another person may enter through the secure entry point while the secure entry mechanism is unlocked.
[0116] The technique 1000 may, in determining the user intends to access the asset, include an operation to determine a probability the user intends to access the asset using the data set and a trained machine learning model. The trained machine learning model is trained with data sets collected from a plurality of users. The data sets may include movement data for the plurality of users within a range of the asset. The data sets may include movement data from the plurality of users. The information received from the wireless key device may include movement data of the user collected from an accelerometer of the wireless key device.
However, PIRCH fails to explicitly disclose:
storing the reference temporal signature with an identifier in a computer readable storage medium for subsequent comparison with a second temporal signature.
FAMULARI teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention, a data processing environment in which [0089] data comparison is performed (claim 11) using a reference data with a unique identifier in a database with a reference data. One of ordinary skill in the art understands that for the purpose of processing data signature comparison with reference data, a function of using an identifier as in FAMULARI would provide a means for the proper reference data to be identified [0021].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try using an identifier to properly label the reference temporal signature, given that plural data sets may be collected and processed in order to compare with appropriate reference temporal signature.
However, PIRCH and FAMULARI fails to explicitly disclose:
associating the reference temporal signature with at least one of the first device or the access point.
AGUILAR teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention, [0026] associating a temporary reference data with at least a location data.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had good reason to pursue the known options of associating the reference temporal signature data with at least access point data such as location for the purpose of properly labeling such data for future usage, such as during comparison operations between different types of data. It would require no more than "ordinary skill and common sense," to associating a reference temporal signature with at least one of access point data.
Re claim 2. PIRCH discloses [0021, 0026-0027, 0038, 0117] the method of Claim 1, wherein determining the reference temporal signature comprises determining a UWB measurement for each of a plurality of points along a path (FIG.1-4 – any path traveled by user carrying key device(s) towards a door) traversed by the second device based on the UWB signals, wherein the UWB measurement comprises at least one of:
a radial distance (D) measurement, angle of arrival (AoA) measurement [0051], signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) measurement, or line-of-sight (LoS) measurement.
Re claim 4. PIRCH discloses [0021, 0026-0027, 0038, 0117] the method of Claim 2, wherein the UWB measurement comprises a combination of at least two of:
a radial distance (D) measurement, angle of arrival (AoA) measurement, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) measurement, or line-of-sight (LoS) measurement.
Re claim 5. PIRCH discloses (FIG.1 [0021, 0026-0027, 0038, 0117]) the method of Claim 2, wherein the UWB measurements for the plurality of points along the path traversed by the second device are stored as the reference temporal signature.
Re claim 6. PIRCH discloses (FIG.1 [0021, 0026-0027, 0038, 0117]) the method of Claim 1, wherein determining the reference temporal signature comprises determining a plurality of different types [0115-0117] of UWB measurements for each of a plurality of points along a path traversed by the second device.
Re claim 7. PIRCH discloses (FIG.1 [0021, 0026-0027, 0038, 0117]) the method of Claim 6, wherein the plurality of different types of UWB measurements comprises at least two of:
a radial distance (D) measurement, angle of arrival (AoA) measurement, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) measurement, or line-of-sight (LoS) measurement.
Re claim 8. PIRCH discloses (FIG.1 [0021, 0026-0027, 0038, 0117]) the method of Claim 6, wherein a combination of the UWB measurements for the plurality of points along the path traversed by the second device are stored as the reference temporal signature.
Re claim 10. PIRCH discloses (FIG.1 [0054, 0066-0068, 0116-0117]) the method of Claim 2, further comprising initiating a training period prior to monitoring the UWB signals between the first and second devices, wherein determining a reference temporal signature associated with the first device is performed on detection of an access event corresponding to the secure asset during the training period. (i.e. training period during which user habits are processed and recorded for PACS neural network to store until needed later during user approach to door – FIG.1)
Re claim 12. PIRCH discloses (FIG.1-4) the method of Claim 2, wherein the path leads at least one of to or from the secure asset.
Re claim 24. PIRCH and FAMULARI and AGUILAR discloses (as applied for claim 1) a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising executable program code, that when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to:
monitor ultra-wideband (UWB) signals between a first device and second device, wherein the first device is in a fixed location and is associated with an access point and wherein the second device is portable;
determine a reference temporal signature associated with the first device based on the UWB signals, wherein the reference temporal signature is indicative of intent to access a secure asset associated with the first device; and
store the reference temporal signature with an identifier associating the reference temporal signature with at least one of the first device or the access point in the computer readable medium for subsequent comparison with a second temporal signature.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PIRCH et al. (US 20200314651 A1) in view of FAMULARI et al. (US 20160162706 A1) in view of AGUILAR et al. (US 20080280617 A1) and further in view of SALTER et al. (US 10043396 B2).
Re claim 9. However, PIRCH and FAMULARI and AGUILAR fails to explicitly disclose:
the method of Claim 2, wherein monitoring UWB signals between the first and second devices comprises instructing a user of the second device, via the second device, to traverse the path.
SALTER teaches (abstract) in similar field of invention, an automated door control system (FIG.1) wherein the concept (c.6, l.54-61) of instructing a user (passenger 18) to move closer to a door, or traverse a path towards the door, via a device (mobile electronic device 12) on a display so that user can be prompted to move closer to door for the purpose of properly detecting user mobile electronic device within an allowable distance.
The prior art of SALTER clearly teaches the known technique of instructing a user of the second device, via the second device, to traverse the path, towards a door for instance. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of instructing a user of a mobile device, via the mobile device, to traverse the path would have yielded predictable results and would have improved the ability for the control system to properly detect the user and their device from a closer range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CARLOS E. GARCIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2686
/Carlos Garcia/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686 8/10/2026