DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 06/11/2026, claims 1-10 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jhunjhunwala et al. (WO 2019/027538 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2016/0295385 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Jhuajhuawala teaches a method for managing an emergency situation, implemented by a terminal (See Fig. 2: At block 210 in FIG. 2, the UE 105 detects an emergency condition. ¶ [0049]), the method including:
detecting an emergency situation (See Fig. 2: the UE 105 detects and triggers an emergency condition. ¶ [0049]);
establishing an emergency channel with an emergency call management gateway (See Fig. 2: see steps 215–220, UE 105 then performs actions to initiate an emergency call (i.e., setting up a call channel). At action 215, the UE attaches to the serving network 140 (e.g., by sending an Attach Request message to serving network 140) if the UE 105 is not already attached. The UE 105 and serving network 140 then establish an emergency packet data network (PDN) connection at action 220, ¶ [0050], ¶ [0061]-¶ [0063]), via an access point established for emergency calls (See Fig. 2: At actions 230 and 235, the UE 105 can attempt to establish an IMS emergency call with the PSAP 180 via the serving network 140 (i.e., access point). ¶ [0050]);
sending a short message service (SMS)-type emergency short message, in said emergency channel, to an emergency service center (See Figs. 2: At block 240, the UE 105 may detect a trigger condition, which can trigger the sending of the emergency SMS message from the UE 105 to the PSAP 180 (i.e., Emergency Service Center) at actions 245 and 250. ¶ [0051]-¶ [0054]).
Jhuajhuawala doesn’t explicitly provide the access point reserved for emergency calls and having an identifier recorded in the terminal.
However, Wang further states the access point reserved for emergency calls (Wang-See Fig. 8: see steps 801-804, In step S801, the UE initiates the Attach procedure for an emergency call by the transmission, to the eNodeB, of an Attach Request message with the “Attach Type” as “Emergency”. An emergency access point name may also be included in a PDN connectivity Request message and sent to the MME. In step S802…then for such an emergency call, an emergency access point name is selected/reserved which is associated with a PGW. In steps S803 and S804, the MME establishes an emergency call session with the PGW connected with the external network that is identified by the selected emergency access point name. See ¶ [0068) and ¶ [0084]); and having an identifier recorded in the terminal (Wang- See Figs. 2 and 4: The terminal device may locally store the selected access point name (i.e., storing ID for APN) associated with the external network providing the emergency call service. ¶ [0103]-[0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the access point reserved for emergency calls and having an identifier recorded in the terminal as taught by Wang to have incorporated in the system of Jhuajhuawala, so that it would provide that the terminal device may store the emergency access point name so as to facilitate continuity of an emergency communication session using network resources specifically associated with emergency-call service and potential handover from the untrusted non-3GPP based access network to a 3GPP based access network.. Wang: ¶ [0013] and ¶ [0030].
Regarding claim 2; Jhuajhuawala teaches the method for managing an emergency situation including obtaining an address of a proxy call session control function (P-CSCF) entity (See Fig. 2: UE 105 performs IMS emergency registration by sending a SIP REGISTER message to P-CSCF 325 through eNB 305, Serving Gateway 315 and PDN Gateway 320. The UE subsequently sends the emergency SMS in a SIP MESSAGE to P-CSCF 325 using the emergency PDN connection. See ¶¶ [0071], [0075]) of an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) network (See Fig. 2: The network element may be configured to comprise a Proxy Call Session Control Function (P-CSCF) or an Emergency Call Session Control Function (E-CSCF). ¶ [0011]), said emergency short message being sent to said address, via said emergency channel (See Fig. 2: ¶ [0010]).
Regarding claim 3; Jhuajhuawala teaches the method for managing an emergency situation including obtaining a standardized uniform resource locator (URL) corresponding to said emergency service center, said emergency data message being addressed to said standardized URL via said emergency channel (See Fig. 2: the emergency SMS message may include a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) (or possibly a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI)) that enables the PSAP to access data regarding the user. ¶ [0056]).
Regarding claim 4; Jhuajhuawala teaches the method for managing an emergency situation wherein said terminal is in a roaming situation and said access point (Wang: a serving MNO (e.g., an SLP in the serving MNO) could be configured with the IP addresses (e.g., address ranges) assigned by roaming partners, such as home network 385, in which case use of user plane (e.g., SUPL) location could still be possible. ¶ [0124]) and said gateway are located in a visited network by said terminal (Jhuajhuawala: The serving gateway 315 and PDN gateway 320 may provide IP based signaling and IP transport support for UE 105 - e.g. with PDN gateway 320 assigning an IP address for UE 105 and providing IP access to other entities in serving network 140 such as P-CSCF 325. ¶ [0062]).
Regarding claim 5; Jhuajhuawala teaches a method for processing an emergency call implemented by an emergency call management gateway (See Fig. 2: The serving network 140 to establish an emergency packet data network (PDN) connection at action 220, ¶ [0050]), the method comprising:
establishing an emergency channel with a terminal via an access point reserved for emergency calls (See Fig. 2: UE 105 then performs actions to initiate an emergency call. At action 215, the UE attaches to the serving network 140 (e.g., by sending an Attach Request message to serving network 140) if the UE 105 is not already attached. The UE 105 and serving network 140 then establish an emergency packet data network (PDN) connection at action 220, ¶ [0050] and ¶[0061]-[0063]);
receiving a short message service (SMS)-type emergency short message (See Fig. 2: At block 240, the UE 105 may detect a trigger condition, which can trigger the sending of the emergency SMS message from the UE 105 to the PSAP 180 (i.e., Emergency Service Center) at actions 245 and 250. ¶ [0051]) in said emergency channel (See Fig. 2: determining that the SMS is received through the same emergency PDN connection previously established to support the emergency call. See ¶ [0097]-[0098]); and
routing said emergency short message to an emergency service center via an IMS network (See Fig. 2: At block 240, the UE 105 may detect a trigger condition, which can trigger the sending of the emergency SMS message from the UE 105 to the PSAP 180 (i.e., Emergency Service Center) at actions 245 and 250. ¶ [0051], and see also ¶ [075-0078] for P-CSCF 325 and E-CSCF 330 of IMS 380 recognizing the message as an emergency SMS and transferring/routing the ESMS toward PSAP 180. The message proceeds through the IMS emergency architecture and ultimately to PSAP 180).
Jhuajhuawala doesn’t explicitly provide the access point reserved for emergency calls.
However, Wang further states the access point reserved for emergency calls (Wang-See Fig. 8: see steps 801-804, In step S801, the UE initiates the Attach procedure for an emergency call by the transmission, to the eNodeB, of an Attach Request message with the “Attach Type” as “Emergency”. An emergency access point name may also be included in a PDN connectivity Request message and sent to the MME. In step S802…then for such an emergency call, an emergency access point name is selected which is associated with a PGW. In steps S803 and S804, the MME establishes an emergency call session with the PGW connected with the external network that is identified by the selected emergency access point name. See ¶ [0068) and ¶ [0084]); and having an identifier recorded in the terminal (Wang- See Figs. 2 and 4: The terminal device may locally store the selected access point name associated with the external network providing the emergency call service. ¶ [0103]-[0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the access point reserved for emergency calls and having an identifier recorded in the terminal as taught by Wang to have incorporated in the system of Jhuajhuawala, so that it would provide that the terminal device may store the emergency access point name so as to facilitate continuity of an emergency communication session using network resources specifically associated with emergency-call service and potential handover from the untrusted non-3GPP based access network to a 3GPP based access network.. Wang: ¶ [0013] and ¶ [0030].
Regarding claim 6; Jhuajhuawala teaches a terminal comprising: at least one processor; at least one non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the at least one processor configure the terminal to:
detect an emergency situation (See Fig. 2: the UE 105 detects and triggers an emergency condition. ¶ [0049]);
establish an emergency channel with an emergency call management gateway (See Fig. 2: see steps 215–220, UE 105 then performs actions to initiate an emergency call (i.e., setting up a call channel). At action 215, the UE attaches to the serving network 140 (e.g., by sending an Attach Request message to serving network 140) if the UE 105 is not already attached. The UE 105 and serving network 140 then establish an emergency packet data network (PDN) connection at action 220, ¶ [0050], ¶ [0061]-¶ [0063]), via an access point established for emergency calls (See Fig. 2: At actions 230 and 235, the UE 105 can attempt to establish an IMS emergency call with the PSAP 180 via the serving network 140 (i.e., access point). ¶ [0050]);
send a short message service (SMS)-type emergency short message, in said emergency channel, to an emergency service center (See Figs. 2: At block 240, the UE 105 may detect a trigger condition, which can trigger the sending of the emergency SMS message from the UE 105 to the PSAP 180 (i.e., Emergency Service Center) at actions 245 and 250. ¶ [0051]-¶ [0054]).
Jhuajhuawala doesn’t explicitly provide the access point reserved for emergency calls, and having an identifier recorded in the terminal.
However, Wang further states the access point reserved for emergency calls (Wang-See Fig. 8: see steps 801-804, In step S801, the UE initiates the Attach procedure for an emergency call by the transmission, to the eNodeB, of an Attach Request message with the “Attach Type” as “Emergency”. An emergency access point name may also be included in a PDN connectivity Request message and sent to the MME. In step S802…then for such an emergency call, an emergency access point name is selected which is associated with a PGW. In steps S803 and S804, the MME establishes an emergency call session with the PGW connected with the external network that is identified by the selected emergency access point name. See ¶ [0068) and ¶ [0084]); and having an identifier recorded in the terminal (Wang- See Figs. 2 and 4: The terminal device may locally store the selected access point name associated with the external network providing the emergency call service. ¶ [0103]-[0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the access point reserved for emergency calls and having an identifier recorded in the terminal as taught by Wang to have incorporated in the system of Jhuajhuawala, so that it would provide that the terminal device may store the emergency access point name so as to facilitate continuity of an emergency communication session using network resources specifically associated with emergency-call service and potential handover from the untrusted non-3GPP based access network to a 3GPP based access network.. Wang: ¶ [0013] and ¶ [0030].
Regarding claim 7; Jhuajhuawala teaches an emergency call management gateway comprising: at least one processor; at least one non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the at least one processor configure the emergency call management gateway to:
establish an emergency channel with a terminal via an access point reserved for emergency calls (See Fig. 2: UE 105 then performs actions to initiate an emergency call. At action 215, the UE attaches to the serving network 140 (e.g., by sending an Attach Request message to serving network 140) if the UE 105 is not already attached. The UE 105 and serving network 140 then establish an emergency packet data network (PDN) connection at action 220, ¶ [0050] and ¶[0061]-[0063]);
receive a short message service (SMS)-type emergency short message (See Fig. 2: At block 240, the UE 105 may detect a trigger condition, which can trigger the sending of the emergency SMS message from the UE 105 to the PSAP 180 (i.e., Emergency Service Center) at actions 245 and 250. ¶ [0051]) in said emergency channel (See Fig. 2: determining that the SMS is received through the same emergency PDN connection previously established to support the emergency call. See ¶ [0097]-[0098]); and
route said emergency short message to an emergency service center via an IMS network (See Fig. 2: At block 240, the UE 105 may detect a trigger condition, which can trigger the sending of the emergency SMS message from the UE 105 to the PSAP 180 (i.e., Emergency Service Center) at actions 245 and 250. ¶ [0051], and see also ¶ [075-0078] for P-CSCF 325 and E-CSCF 330 of IMS 380 recognizing the message as an emergency SMS and transferring/routing the ESMS toward PSAP 180. The message proceeds through the IMS emergency architecture and ultimately to PSAP 180).
Jhuajhuawala doesn’t explicitly provide the access point reserved for emergency calls.
However, Wang further states the access point reserved for emergency calls (Wang-See Fig. 8: see steps 801-804, In step S801, the UE initiates the Attach procedure for an emergency call by the transmission, to the eNodeB, of an Attach Request message with the “Attach Type” as “Emergency”. An emergency access point name may also be included in a PDN connectivity Request message and sent to the MME. In step S802…then for such an emergency call, an emergency access point name is selected which is associated with a PGW. In steps S803 and S804, the MME establishes an emergency call session with the PGW connected with the external network that is identified by the selected emergency access point name. See ¶ [0068) and ¶ [0084]); and having an identifier recorded in the terminal (Wang- See Figs. 2 and 4: The terminal device may locally store the selected access point name associated with the external network providing the emergency call service. ¶ [0103]-[0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the access point reserved for emergency calls and having an identifier recorded in the terminal as taught by Wang to have incorporated in the system of Jhuajhuawala, so that it would provide that the terminal device may store the emergency access point name so as to facilitate continuity of an emergency communication session using network resources specifically associated with emergency-call service and potential handover from the untrusted non-3GPP based access network to a 3GPP based access network.. Wang: ¶ [0013] and ¶ [0030].
Regarding claim 9; Jhuajhuawala teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to implement the method wherein comprising:
detecting an emergency situation (See Fig. 2: the UE 105 detects and triggers an emergency condition. ¶ [0049]);
establishing an emergency channel with an emergency call management gateway (See Fig. 2: see steps 215–220, UE 105 then performs actions to initiate an emergency call (i.e., setting up a call channel). At action 215, the UE attaches to the serving network 140 (e.g., by sending an Attach Request message to serving network 140) if the UE 105 is not already attached. The UE 105 and serving network 140 then establish an emergency packet data network (PDN) connection at action 220, ¶ [0050], ¶ [0061]-¶ [0063]), via an access point established for emergency calls (See Fig. 2: At actions 230 and 235, the UE 105 can attempt to establish an IMS emergency call with the PSAP 180 via the serving network 140 (i.e., access point). ¶ [0050]);
sending a short message service (SMS)-type emergency short message, in said emergency channel, to an emergency service center (See Figs. 2: At block 240, the UE 105 may detect a trigger condition, which can trigger the sending of the emergency SMS message from the UE 105 to the PSAP 180 (i.e., Emergency Service Center) at actions 245 and 250. ¶ [0051]-¶ [0054]).
Jhuajhuawala doesn’t explicitly provide the access point reserved for emergency calls and having an identifier recorded in the terminal.
However, Wang further states the access point reserved for emergency calls (Wang-See Fig. 8: see steps 801-804, In step S801, the UE initiates the Attach procedure for an emergency call by the transmission, to the eNodeB, of an Attach Request message with the “Attach Type” as “Emergency”. An emergency access point name may also be included in a PDN connectivity Request message and sent to the MME. In step S802…then for such an emergency call, an emergency access point name is selected which is associated with a PGW. In steps S803 and S804, the MME establishes an emergency call session with the PGW connected with the external network that is identified by the selected emergency access point name. See ¶ [0068) and ¶ [0084]); and having an identifier recorded in the terminal (Wang- See Figs. 2 and 4: The terminal device may locally store the selected access point name associated with the external network providing the emergency call service. ¶ [0103]-[0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the access point reserved for emergency calls and having an identifier recorded in the terminal as taught by Wang to have incorporated in the system of Jhuajhuawala, so that it would provide that the terminal device may store the emergency access point name so as to facilitate continuity of an emergency communication session using network resources specifically associated with emergency-call service and potential handover from the untrusted non-3GPP based access network to a 3GPP based access network.. Wang: ¶ [0013] and ¶ [0030].
Regarding claim 10; Jhuajhuawala teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to implement the method wherein comprising:
establishing an emergency channel with a terminal via an access point reserved for emergency calls (See Fig. 2: UE 105 then performs actions to initiate an emergency call. At action 215, the UE attaches to the serving network 140 (e.g., by sending an Attach Request message to serving network 140) if the UE 105 is not already attached. The UE 105 and serving network 140 then establish an emergency packet data network (PDN) connection at action 220, ¶ [0050] and ¶[0061]-[0063]);
receiving a short message service (SMS)-type emergency short message (See Fig. 2: At block 240, the UE 105 may detect a trigger condition, which can trigger the sending of the emergency SMS message from the UE 105 to the PSAP 180 (i.e., Emergency Service Center) at actions 245 and 250. ¶ [0051]) in said emergency channel (See Fig. 2: determining that the SMS is received through the same emergency PDN connection previously established to support the emergency call. See ¶ [0097]-[0098]); and
routing said emergency short message to an emergency service center via an IMS network (See Fig. 2: At block 240, the UE 105 may detect a trigger condition, which can trigger the sending of the emergency SMS message from the UE 105 to the PSAP 180 (i.e., Emergency Service Center) at actions 245 and 250. ¶ [0051], and see also ¶ [075-0078] for P-CSCF 325 and E-CSCF 330 of IMS 380 recognizing the message as an emergency SMS and transferring/routing the ESMS toward PSAP 180. The message proceeds through the IMS emergency architecture and ultimately to PSAP 180).
Jhuajhuawala doesn’t explicitly provide the access point reserved for emergency calls.
However, Wang further states the access point reserved for emergency calls (Wang-See Fig. 8: see steps 801-804, In step S801, the UE initiates the Attach procedure for an emergency call by the transmission, to the eNodeB, of an Attach Request message with the “Attach Type” as “Emergency”. An emergency access point name may also be included in a PDN connectivity Request message and sent to the MME. In step S802…then for such an emergency call, an emergency access point name is selected which is associated with a PGW. In steps S803 and S804, the MME establishes an emergency call session with the PGW connected with the external network that is identified by the selected emergency access point name. See ¶ [0068) and ¶ [0084]); and having an identifier recorded in the terminal (Wang- See Figs. 2 and 4: The terminal device may locally store the selected access point name associated with the external network providing the emergency call service. ¶ [0103]-[0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the access point reserved for emergency calls and having an identifier recorded in the terminal as taught by Wang to have incorporated in the system of Jhuajhuawala, so that it would provide that the terminal device may store the emergency access point name so as to facilitate continuity of an emergency communication session using network resources specifically associated with emergency-call service and potential handover from the untrusted non-3GPP based access network to a 3GPP based access network.. Wang: ¶ [0013] and ¶ [0030].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, with regards to claims 1-10, have been fully considered but they are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn, and a New Ground of rejection has been made. Thus, the arguments are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gellens (US 2016/0029197 A1 to discuss Vehicle-Initiated Emergency Calls) and
Li et al (US 2014/0140268 A1 to discuss Intelligent Emergency Session Handling).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416