DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-8 and 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/23/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-10 and species A, figs 1-5 and claims 1-3 and 9-10 in the reply filed on 4/23/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the X references in the search report do not read on the current claims. This is not found persuasive because of the rejection shown below with the reference Asahi that teaches all of the current claim limitations in claim 1.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cold air" in lines 5 and 8-9 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since cold air was not previously positively recited.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "guiding it" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since it is unclear what “it” is referring to. Is “it” referring to the heat exchanger inlet or the cold air?
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "if the closed heat exchanger is oriented such that…" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the outer surface area" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 9-10 are rejected as being dependent from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asahi, Takao et al. JP 07336076 hereinafter “Asahi”).
With respect to claim 1, Asahi discloses a cooling device for optical and/or electronic elements of an apparatus (Fig. 3 and Abstract), comprising; at least one vortex tube for generating cold air (Fig. 3, vortex tube 9), at least one air-to-air heat exchanger comprising at least one closed heat exchanger channel (Fig. 3, air-to-air heat exchanger 12), the air-to-air heat exchanger further comprising a heat exchanger inlet for receiving the cold air and guiding it into the at least one closed heat exchanger channel (See figure below. Fig. 3, inlet from 9 into 12), and a heat exchanger outlet for exhausting air from the at least one closed heat exchanger channel (See figure below. Fig. 3, outlet at the bottom of 12 that exhausts air towards the right of the figure), wherein the heat exchanger outlet is arranged below the heat exchanger inlet such that impurities and contaminations of the cold air are forced out through the outlet due to gravity and a pressure of the cold air (See figure below. Fig. 3, outlet at the bottom of 12 is below inlet at the top of 12 and is capable of the intended use limitations).
It is noted that the phrases “such that impurities and contaminations of the cold air are forced out through the outlet due to gravity and a pressure of the cold air” are statements of intended use and the structure as disclosed by the combined teachings are capable of performing the function. Further, the teachings disclose all of the structural features of the claim.
With respect to claim 2, Asahi discloses the cooling device according to claim 1 as discussed above. Asahi also discloses if the closed heat exchanger channel is oriented such that the heat exchanger outlet is at or below a lowest point of the closed heat exchanger channel, the heat exchanger inlet is at or above a highest point of the closed heat exchanger channel (See figure above. Inlet is above heat exchanger 12 and outlet is at a lowest point of the heat exchanger 12).
With respect to claim 9, Asahi discloses the cooling device according to claim 1 as discussed above. Asahi also discloses wherein a wall panel is provided between the at least one vortex tube and the at least one air-to-air heat exchanger (See figure below), and an inlet connection allows cold air from the at least one vortex tube to flow through the wall panel to the at least one air-to-air heat exchanger (Fig. 3, inlet connection between 9 and 12 passes through the wall panel).
With respect to claim 10, Asahi discloses the cooling device according to claim 9 as discussed above. Asahi also discloses wherein the wall panel comprises a recess for accommodating the at least one air-to-air heat exchanger (See figure above. Fig. 3, shows the wall panel is recessed from 1 to accommodate the heat exchanger 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahi, Takao et al. JP 07336076 hereinafter “Asahi”) in view of Ignjatovic et al. (US Publication No.: 2015/0184952 hereinafter “Ignjatovic”).
With respect to claim 3, Asahi discloses the cooling device according to claim 1 as discussed above. Asahi does not disclose wherein the at least one closed heat exchanger channel comprises a plurality of cooling ribs for increasing the outer surface area of the air-to-air heat exchanger.
Ignjatovic teaches added ribs to a heat exchanger housing that encloses a heat exchanger channel (Para 0051 and Figs. 6-8, housing 70 has ribs 74). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the heat exchanger of Asahi to have a housing with ribs as taught by Ignjatovic to aid in stiffening the housing for structural integrity (Para 0051).
Conclusion
/CLAIRE E ROJOHN III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763