DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1-3 are objected to because the drawings lack legends which are deemed to be necessary, or the provided legends in the drawings are illegible. According to 37 CFR 1.84(o), suitable legends may be required by the examiner where necessary for understanding of the drawing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “the remote device”, however, there is a lack of antecedent basis for this term.
Claim 15 further recites both “cyclically” and “in real time”. It seems that a value is sent either on an interval basis or retrieved in real time, it isn’t clear how both are possible.
Claim 17 recites calculating the battery discharge time interval “at a predetermined residual” and “based on a last received value of the parameter”. It isn’t clear how both of these options can be true, since the battery discharge time interval should be calculated either on the basis of reaching the predetermined percentage or on the basis of the interval. Claim 18 is indefinite for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16, 18-19 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thannhuber US PGPUB 2020/0389036 in view of Fieldbinder et al. US PGPUB 2022/0102995.
Regarding claim 15, Thannhuber discloses a recharging apparatus for electrically charging an electric battery [fig. 1, 1] comprising:
a battery charger device [fig. 1, charging device 6; par. 44], an electronic control and command unit galvanically connected to the battery charger device [fig. 1, charging device and controller 10; pars. 61, 66 & 69], and
a wireless transmitter operationally connected to the electronic control and command unit [pars. 28-29, 61 & 65-66; fig. 1, communication device 4 (which also may be of the charger, par. 66],
wherein the electronic control and command unit is configured to monitor a value indicative of an operating parameter of the battery when said battery is connected to the battery charger device and to send said value via the wireless transmitter [par. 60 & 66; charging device (with control 6) may have the communication device which transfers the monitored state of charge to the server 8 when the battery pack 2/3 is connected, which sends it to a remote device 9],
wherein the electronic control and command unit is configured to send the value indicative of the operating parameter to the remote device [pars. 65-66], and
wherein the remote device is configured to monitor the received operating parameter value and to display the received operating parameter [fig. 1, a remote device 9 with a display (a smart phone) receives the SOC from the server and displays it; pars. 45-47 & 64-66], wherein the electronic control and command unit is configured to send the value indicative of the operating parameter to the remote device in real time during battery recharging [pars. 7, 13, 31 & 43-44, the user can view the state of charge “at any time”].
Thannhuber does not explicitly disclose sending the value cyclically.
However, Fieldbinder discloses a power tool with battery monitoring which sends the value cyclically [pars. 102 & 132].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thannhuber to further include sending the value cyclically for the purpose of alerting the user, as taught by Fieldbinder (par. 132).
Regarding claim 16, Thannhuber discloses wherein the operating parameter of the battery is at least one between a parameter indicative of the battery temperature and a parameter indicative of the battery charge percentage [par. 60; state of charge].
Regarding claim 18, Thannhuber discloses wherein the operating parameter monitored by the electronic control and command unit is the parameter indicative of the battery charge percentage [par. 60], and wherein the remote device is configured:
to calculate a battery discharge time interval at a predetermined residual percentage based on a last received value of the parameter indicative of the charge percentage [par. 34, 36 & 67; remaining operating time (discharge time interval) is calculated based on various charge percentages and types of devices to be use the device and displayed based on the state of charge], to connect to an additional remote weather forecasting device [par. 32], to monitor the status of the weather forecast for a next day [par. 32 & 63; monitor future dates and determine best weather for lawn mowing], said status being between cloudy, rainy and sunny [par. 32 & 63, weather conditions], and to generate an alert signal when the forecast status for that next day is cloudy or sunny and when the residual charge expected for that day is less than a predetermined percentage [par. 32 & 63; combining the weather with the state of charge to indicate via push notification (alert) if the battery should be charged for an upcoming lawn mowing].
Regarding claim 19, Thannhuber discloses wherein the operating parameter monitored by the electronic control and command unit is the parameter indicative of the battery temperature [par. 31] and the remote device is configured to generate an alert signal when the value of the parameter indicative of the temperature exceeds a predetermined threshold value [par. 31 & 64; errors based upon temperature].
Regarding claim 24, Thannhuber discloses wherein the alert signal is a string of characters indicative of the problem detected [pars. 32 & 64; errors, weather conditions or state of charge] and/or in which it is suggested how to avoid a possible problem [pars. 31 & 64; temperature problems (suggesting to lower the temperature)],
wherein the remote device comprises a digital calendar software [par. 32, electronic diary], and
wherein the remote device is configured to save the string of characters in said digital calendar software as a reminder [par. 31-32; reminder/push notification].
Regarding claim 25, Thannhuber discloses wherein the remote device can be configured to calculate a time interval based on the value of the operating parameter [pars. 34, 36 & 67; remaining charging or operating time based on the state of charge]
or to use a preset time interval, after which it generates the alert signal [pars. 34, 36 & 67; the user is notified of the remaining operating time].
Regarding claim 26, Thannhuber discloses a kit comprising an electric tool, provided with an electric battery adapted to power the electric tool, and the recharging apparatus according to claim 15 for electrically recharging said electric battery [pars. 3, 11, 32, 34, 36 & 45; lawn mower with battery and charger].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thannhuber US PGPUB 2020/0389036 in view of Fieldbinder et al. US PGPUB 2022/0102995, and further in view of Martinsson US PGPUB 2019/0372370.
Regarding claim 17, Thannhuber discloses wherein the operating parameter monitored by the electronic control and command unit is the parameter indicative of the battery charge percentage [par. 60], and wherein the remote device is configured to calculate a battery discharge time interval at a predetermined residual percentage based on a last received value of the parameter indicative of the charge percentage [par. 34, 36 & 67; remaining operating time (discharge time interval) is calculated based on various charge percentages and types of devices to be use the device and displayed based on the state of charge]
Thannhuber does not explicitly disclose selectively generating an alarm signal based on at least said discharge time interval.
However, Martinsson discloses a power tool with battery monitoring that selectively generates an alarm signal based on at least said discharge time interval [pars. 10 & 19].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thannhuber to further include selectively generating an alarm signal based on at least said discharge time interval for the purpose of informing the user about the battery life, as taught by Martinsson (pars. 10 & 19).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thannhuber US PGPUB 2020/0389036 in view of Fieldbinder et al. US PGPUB 2022/0102995, and further in view of Karner et al. US PGPUB 2019/0036178.
Regarding claim 21, Thannhuber discloses wherein the electronic control and command unit is configured to detect the value of the parameter indicative of the battery temperature while recharging and to send the detected value to the remote device [par. 31, 64 & 66; temperature is detected by the battery and transmitted to server via the charger (the alternative option, par. 6), thus when it is connected the data is detected and transmitted].
Thannhuber does not explicitly disclose wherein the remote device is configured to calculate the average or median temperature while recharging the battery and to generate a preset alert signal when the calculated average or median temperature exceeds a predetermined threshold value.
Thannhuber does not explicitly disclose the parameter is cyclically detected and sent.
However, Karner discloses a battery charging system wherein the remote device is configured to calculate the average or median temperature while recharging the battery and to generate a preset alert signal when the calculated average or median temperature exceeds a predetermined threshold value [pars. 4-6 & 34; if average temperature exceeds some threshold an alert/warning is sent, the monitor circuit may be remote] and the parameter is cyclically detected and sent [par. 42].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thannhuber to further include wherein the remote device is configured to calculate the average or median temperature while recharging the battery and to generate a preset alert signal when the calculated average or median temperature exceeds a predetermined threshold value and the parameter is cyclically detected and sent for the purpose of warning a user and updated the data, as taught by Karner (pars. 4-6, 34 & 42).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20 and 22-23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 20, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “wherein the remote device is configured to generate a preset alert signal when the temperature, in a predetermined time interval starting from the moment in which the battery is connected, exceeds a predetermined threshold value” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 20.
With respect to claim 22, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “wherein the remote device is configured to store the values of the operating parameter during each connection of the battery to the battery charger device, to calculate a median or average value of the operating parameter based on the values acquired during a first set of connections of the battery to the battery charger device, and to generate an alert signal when the average or median value of the operating parameter in a successive connection of the battery deviates from the calculated average or median value by more than a predetermined percentage value” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 22.
With respect to claim 23, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “wherein the remote device can be configured to calculate a time interval lapsed between two successive moments in which the battery has reached a predetermined charge percentage, to repeat this calculation for a predetermined number of successive recharges of the battery, to calculate an average value of the time intervals lapsed between two successive moments in which the battery has reached a predetermined charge percentage of the predetermined number of successive recharges and to generate an alert signal based on this average time interval between two successive moments in which the battery has reached a predetermined charge percentage” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Clarke US PGPUB 2017/0331162 discloses a battery state detection method for a power tool.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859