DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “Um” should be defines as “eigenvector”, and “[0; 2π[“ should be “[0; 2π]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 11-20, the phrase "possibly" in claim 11, line 4, renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention or just an optional, non-binding possibility.
Regarding claims 11-20, "H" in claim 11, line 9, is not defined renders the claims indefinite.
Claims 11-20 recite the limitation "the number of samples" in claim 11, line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11-20 recite the limitation "the number of antennas" in claim 11, line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11-20 recite the limitation "the eigenvalues" and "the useful" in claim 11, line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11-20 recite the limitation "the presence" in claim 11, line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11-20 recite the limitation "the noise subspace" and "the noise space" in claim 11, line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 12, 14 and 15, the phrase "preferably" in claim 12, line 4, renders the claims indefinite because it fails to clearly define the boundaries of the invention.
Claims 14 and 15 recite the limitation "the B directions" in claim 14, line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 17-19, the phrase "making it possible" in claim 17, lines 3 and 4, renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention or just an optional, non-binding possibility.
Claims 17-19 recite the limitation "the thus detected directions" in claim 17, lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 18, the phrase "making it possible" in claim 18, line 2, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention or just an optional, non-binding possibility.
Regarding claim 19, the phrase "making it possible" in claim 19, lines 2 and 3, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention or just an optional, non-binding possibility.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (“Flexible GPS Receiver for Jammer Detection, Characterization and Mitigation using a 3D CRPA”, ION GNSS 19th International Technical Meeting of the Satellite Division, September 26-29, 2006, pages 189-200).
In view of the 112, 2nd paragraph rejection above, the claims are broadest reasonable interpreted by the examiner, and the following rejection.
Regarding claim 11, Wilson et al. disclose a method for processing a radio navigation signal coming from a satellite received by a radio navigation receiver comprising several receiving antennas, each antenna being configured to receive signals coming from a satellite of interest, of at least one jammer and possibly at least another satellite in given directions (see abstract, page 189), the method comprising steps of: detecting from the signal received by each antenna, at least one direction of a jamming signal (Detecting Interference DOA section, page 191); attenuating the detected jamming signal in the detected direction (Mitigation Interferences section, page 192; and Nuller/Beamformer Module section, page 195); wherein detecting the direction of a jamming signal comprises the steps of: determining a covariance matrix function of the signals received by each antenna; carrying out a singular value decomposition of the covariance matrix (MUSIC Algorithm section , page 191); comparing the eigenvalues together so as to detect the presence of at least one jammer (MUSIC Algorithm section , page 191); determining an indicator function of a direction of arrival θ comprised between [0; 2π], the indicator being a function of a scalar between a spatial signature model of a jammer S(θ) and UHM which corresponds to the noise subspace of the noise space resulting from the decomposition, UHM and S(θ) being orthogonal for a jammer in the direction θ (MUSIC Algorithm section , page 191); a jammer being present in the direction θ for which the indicator is lower than a given threshold (MUSIC Algorithm section , page 191). Wilson et al. do not explicitly disclose the formulas for the covariance matrix function and singular value decomposition (SVC) of the covariance matrix as specified in the claim. However, Wilson et al. disclose obtaining a data matrix, calculating and using the SVC of the data matrix, partition eigenvector subspace into two orthogonal subspaces to determine direction of the jamming signal (see MUSIC Algorithm section, page 191). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the formulas to of the covariance matrix function and the SVC to the method of Wilson et al. as system design preference for serving the same function as to obtain the data matrix and determine the SVC for detecting direction of jamming signal.
Regarding claim 20, Wilson et al. disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code instructions for implementing a method according to claim 11 (see the rejection of claim 11 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cookman et al. (US 2023/035272 A1) disclose a jamming signal detection control method includes: receiving, at a satellite positioning signal receiver, one or more satellite positioning signals; determining, at the satellite positioning signal receiver, one or more quality metric values based on the one or more satellite positioning signals; determining, at the satellite positioning signal receiver, whether the one or more quality metric values are indicative of jamming; and activating, at the satellite positioning signal receiver and in response to the one or more quality metric values being indicative of jamming, a jammer detection technique to determine whether a jamming signal is received by the satellite positioning signal receiver.
Velicer et al. (US 7,233,284 B2) teach a handheld GPS jammer locator for locating a GPS jamming signal generated by a jammer; the handheld GPS jammer locator has two modes of operation, a amplitude mode and a difference finding mode; the amplitude measures the strength of an incoming GPS jamming signal and the difference finding mode determines the direction of the incoming jamming signal.
Revol (US 10,330,791 B2) discloses a method for locating a jamming source based on detected powers received by at least one receiver of signals from the satellite navigation system on board a carrier, by estimation, for each satellite, of the power of the noise at the output of each receiver according to the bearing and distance with respect to the carrier, a calculation of the sum of estimated powers, and extraction of the local maxima in terms of bearing and distance by using a synthetic aperture antenna carrying out a coherent integration of received signals in the direction of each bearing angle by using the known movement of the carrier, in which estimation of the power of the noise at the output of each receiver uses a plurality of coherent integrators and non-coherent integrators, with durations matched to the transit time of a source in the beam of the antenna for various distances for the non-coherent integrators.
/QUOCHIEN B VUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645