DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 10840243 A (CN ‘243).
CN ‘243 discloses an aqueous emulsion comprising an active component B at 18%, emulsifier, castor oil polyethyenoxy ether, and water (Embodiment 5). Component B can be selected from a short list of actives, including dichlobentiazox.
A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See MPEP 2131.02(II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 10840243 A (CN ‘243).
CN ‘243 is discussed above and further teaches the use of thickening agents and compositions comprising component B at up to 70wt%.
It would have been obvious to vary the thickening agent based on the intended use. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Further, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Here, the amount of each component appears to overlap the instantly claimed range.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagata et al (US2009/0137646) in view of Gold et al (US 2011/0105320).
Nagata et al teaches an aqueous suspension of agrochemical formulations comprising microbial agrochemicals, kraft lignin, and a vegetable oil or higher fatty acid derived from a vegetable oil (claims, ¶¶ 12, 13, 19-27, and Examples). It further teaches the amount of microbial agrochemical is present from 0.1 to 60 wt% (¶¶ 12 and 13). Castor oil can be the vegetable oil which is present from 0.1 to 30 parts by weight with respect to 1 part by weight the active (paragraphs 19-22). The viscosity of the formulation is adjusted by adding thickeners and/or water if necessary (¶ 26) to be used for soaking or spraying rice seed (¶ 27).
Nagata et al does not teach the use of dichlobentiazox as the active component.
Gold et al teaches dichlobentiazox was a known agricultural and horticultural microcode (¶¶ 45, 46, 50, and Example 1).
It would have been obvious to modify the formulation of the primary reference using known active agents suitable as an equivalent, such as disclosed by the secondary reference. See MPEP 2144.06(II).
Further, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Here, the amount of each component appears to overlap the instantly claimed range.
Finally, where thickeners and water are taught to modify the viscosity, it would have been obvious to vary the two in order to optimize the intended purpose, i.e. application and adherence to seeds. See MPEP 2144.05(II). As the purpose of the prior art appears to be the same as claimed in instant claim 12, it appears the optimization would result in the same viscosity ranges.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/697,608 (reference application) in view of CN 10840243 A or Gold et al (US 2011/0105320). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are directed to the same invention, except the active agent is generically claimed in ‘608. As such, the skilled artisan would look to CN ‘243 or Gold et al for known disease control actives, which include dichlobetiazox.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612