DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art, alone or in combination, does not disclose the room heating device wherein in the event that an amount of air conveyed by the conveying device is below a set value during the preparatory step, the control unit controls the drain valve such that liquid flows out of the medium tank via the liquid outlet or controls the air valve such that air enters the medium tank via the air inlet or the control unit closes the supply valve.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/290,893 (US 2024/0247836) (reference application) in view of Paine (US 2010/0004786). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of US 2024/0247836 discloses Regarding claim 1:
A device for heating room air and a liquid, comprising an energy unit (Line 3), a heat exchanger (Line 3, heat transfer device), a medium tank (Line 3, medium container), a medium line (Line 4,), a conveying device (Line 4) and a control unit (Line 4), wherein the energy unit (Line 11) generates thermal energy, wherein the heat exchanger transfers the thermal energy generated by the energy unit to the room air and the liquid (Lines 12-14), wherein the medium tank serves to take up liquid and air, (Lines 15-16) wherein the medium line serves to conduct liquid and air, wherein the heat exchanger and the medium line are configured and arranged relative to each other such that the heat exchanger transfers thermal energy to liquid present in the medium line (Lines 18-21), wherein the conveying device serves to move liquid and air from the medium tank to the medium line (Lines 22-25), wherein the control unit controls the conveying device (Line 26-27), wherein in the event that the device is intended to heat only room air in an air mode, the control unit controls the conveying device in a preparatory step such that the conveying device moves air from an air cushion in the medium tank through the medium line (Line 29-32), but does not disclose that the control unit monitors a pumping behavior of the conveying device.
However, Paine (US 2010/0004786) discloses a control system for a water heater (Abstract) wherein the control unit monitors a pumping behavior of the conveying device (Claim 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to in the process of controlling the pump include monitoring its characteristics to ensure that the pump is performing as desired.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation located in claim 1 are: conveying device and energy unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The term, control unit, does not have any structural features enumerated in the written disclosure of the invention.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term, control unit, does not have any structural features enumerated in the written disclosure of the invention and so the Office unsure as to exactly what it is.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the air inlet” should be “and air inlet”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Consadori et al. (US 2019/0212033).
Regarding claim 1, Consadori (C) discloses a device for heating room air and a liquid (100, Abstract, Figure 7), comprising an energy unit (275), a heat exchanger (250), a medium tank (200, i.e., radiator), a medium line (138), a conveying device (170, i.e., pump) and a control unit (350), wherein the energy unit generates thermal energy ([0208]), wherein the heat exchanger transfers the thermal energy generated by the energy unit to the room air and the liquid ([0210,0242]), wherein the medium tank serves to take up liquid and air (radiators contain both), wherein the medium line serves to conduct liquid and air (contents of the radiator), wherein the heat exchanger and the medium line are configured and arranged relative to each other such that the heat exchanger transfers thermal energy to liquid present in the medium line, wherein the conveying device serves to move liquid and air from the medium tank to the medium line, wherein the control unit (controls the conveying device), wherein in the event that the device is intended to heat only room air in an air mode, the control unit controls the conveying device in a preparatory step such that the conveying device moves air from an air cushion in the medium tank through the medium line ([0210-0211]), and wherein the control unit (350) monitors a pumping behavior of the conveying device ([0224], whether the pump is on or off). As a clarification, because the radiator’s contents comprise air and water any mode of heating will have some air entrapped therewithin and thus pumped through the heating system, regardless of the name of the step.
Regarding claim 9, Consadori (C) discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein in the event that the device is intended to heat only liquid or liquid and room air, the control unit (350) controls the conveying device (170) such that liquid flows out of the medium tank (200) to the medium line (138), and from the medium line to the medium tank ([0210-0211]). As a clarification, because the radiator’s contents comprise air and water any mode of heating will have some air entrapped therewithin and thus pumped through the heating system, regardless of the name of the step.
Regarding claim 10, Consadori (C) discloses the device according to claim 9 , further comprising a fan (325) for conveying the room air from the air inlet to the air outlet ([0307-0308]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Consadori et al. (US 2019/0212033) in view of Crowne et al. (US 2018/02999315).
Regarding claim 3, Consadori (C) discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein an air valve is assigned to the air inlet , and wherein the air valve is configured such that the air valve opens the air inlet for air when a pressure in the medium tank is below a pressure of the air outside the medium tank .
However, Crowne (Cr) discloses a liquid measuring system (Abstract), wherein an air valve (12, i.e., vent, Figure 1A) is assigned to the air inlet, and wherein the air valve is configured such that the air valve opens the air inlet for air when a pressure in the medium tank (10) is below a pressure of the air outside the medium tank ([0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to control pressure of the expansion tank to avoid reverse flow of liquid due to negative pressure within the tank.
Regarding claim 4, Consadori (C), as modified, discloses the device according to Claim 3,wherein the air valve (12) is configured as a ventilation valve ([0014]).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Consadori et al. (US 2019/0212033) in view of Chandler, JR. (US 2017/0197854).
Regarding claim 7, Consadori (C), as modified, discloses the device according to claim 1, but not that the control unit monitors the pumping behavior of the conveying device in that the control unit evaluates a current consumption of the conveying device.
However, Chandler (Ch) discloses a water management system (Abstract), wherein the control unit (248) monitors the pumping behavior of the conveying device (240, i.e., pump) in that the control unit evaluates a current consumption of the conveying device ([0150]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to monitor the current consumption to discern if it is functioning properly.
Regarding claim 8, Consadori (C), as modified discloses the device according to claim 7,wherein the control unit (248) evaluates a decrease in the current consumption of the conveying device (240) as meaning that the conveying device conveys air ([0150], the change in viscosity of the medium pumped will affect the current draw of the pump).
Conclusion
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 ***
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762