DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were submitted on 5/13/24 and 10/23/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, it is unclear what “the RA resource set” in line 1 is referring to since there are one or more RA resource sets and a plurality of RA resource sets and at least one RA resource set.
Regarding claim 19, it is unclear what “the RA resource set” in line 2 is referring to since there are one or more RA resource sets and a plurality of RA resource sets and at least one RA resource set.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13, 16, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20240422826 by Turtinen et al. (hereinafter Turtinen).
Regarding claim 16, Turtinen teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (fig. 2 first device 110-1; ¶ 40, first device 110 is the terminal device; ¶ 35, a terminal device may also be referred to as…user equipment (UE); ¶ 118, device 600 may be provided to implement a communication device, for example, the first device 110), the UE comprising:
at least one transceiver (fig. 6, communication module 640; ¶ 119);
at least one processor (fig. 6, processor 610);
and at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising (fig. 6, memory 620 connected to processor 610; ¶ 121-129):
receiving information related to a plurality of random access (RA) resource sets (¶ 47, first device 110-1 may receive a resource configuration which indicates the set of resources from the second device 120; ¶ 4, a set of resources for the random access procedure; ¶ 25, singular forms “a”, “an” and “the” are intended to include the plural forms as well);
configuring one or more RA resource sets by excluding at least one RA resource set in which at least one potential feature field is included, from the plurality of RA resource sets (¶ 47, first device 110-1 determines 2030 a first subset of resources allocated for the first feature from a set of resources for the plurality of features; ¶ 49, first device 110-1 may determine 2040 a second subset of resources allocated for the second feature from the set of resources for the plurality of features; ¶ 51, first device 110-1 may determine 2050 a third subset of resources allocated for the third feature from the set of resources for the plurality of features; fig. 3d, shows first subset of resources 310 excluding resources such as third subset of resources 330; ¶ 46, the plurality of features may comprise one or more of: RedCap, SDT, CovEnh or slicing. It should be noted that the plurality of features can comprise other features. Examiner correspond resource(s) allocated for a feature and included in a subset of resources to the at least one potential feature field and correspond the first subset of resources to the one or more RA resource sets);
and performing a RA procedure based on the configured one or more RA resource sets (¶ 53, first device 110-1 can perform the random access procedure based on the first subset of resources).
Claim 11 recite similar limitations of claim 16 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 12, Turtinen teaches the method of claim 11, wherein performing the RA procedure comprises selecting a RA resource set from the configured one or more RA resource sets (Turtinen ¶ 53, first device 110-1 can perform the random access procedure based on the first subset of resources. Alternatively, the first device 110-1 can perform the random access procedure based on other resources in the set of resources excluded the first subset of resources. In view of “the configured one or more RA resource sets” being just the first subset of resources, this view makes this limitation effectively selecting the first subset of resources. As disclosed in ¶ 53 of Turtinen, the first device uses/selects the first subset of resources to have the random access procedure be based on instead of using, e.g., the second subset of resources); transmitting a RA preamble using the selected RA resource set (Turtinen ¶ 48, the first subset of resources may comprise a plurality of preambles. In this case, if the second device 120 receives a preamble in the plurality of preambles, the second device 120 may understand that the random access procedure is triggered by the first feature; ¶ 53, the first device 110-1 performs 2060 the random access procedure. In some example embodiments, the first device 110-1 can perform the random access procedure based on the first subset of resources; fig. 2, shows step 2060 having a transmission from first device 110-1 to second device 120).
Regarding claim 13, Turtinen teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the RA resource set is selected based on at least one feature for which the RA procedure is triggered, from the configured one or more RA resource sets (Turtinen ¶ 53, first device 110-1 can perform the random access procedure based on the first subset of resources. Alternatively, the first device 110-1 can perform the random access procedure based on other resources in the set of resources excluded the first subset of resources. In view of “the configured one or more RA resource sets” being just the first subset of resources, this view makes this limitation effectively selecting the first subset of resources based on at least one feature for which the RA procedure is triggered. As disclosed in ¶ 53 of Turtinen, the first device uses/selects the first subset of resources to have the random access procedure be based on instead of using, e.g., the second subset of resources; ¶ 48, the first subset of resources may comprise a plurality of preambles. In this case, if the second device 120 receives a preamble in the plurality of preambles, the second device 120 may understand that the random access procedure is triggered by the first feature), and wherein the at least one feature comprises at least one of Coverage enhancement (CE), Small Data Transmission by using a RA procedure (RA-SDT), Reduced Capability (RedCap) and Radio Access Network (RAN) slicing (Turtinen ¶ 55, the first feature can be the coverage enhancement).
Regarding claim 21, Turtinen teaches an apparatus for a user equipment (UE) (fig. 2 first device 110-1; ¶ 40, first device 110 is the terminal device; ¶ 35, a terminal device may also be referred to as…user equipment (UE); ¶ 118, device 600 may be provided to implement a communication device, for example, the first device 110), the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (fig. 6, processor 610);
and at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising (fig. 6, memory 620 connected to processor 610; ¶ 121-129):
receiving information related to a plurality of random access (RA) resource sets (¶ 47, first device 110-1 may receive a resource configuration which indicates the set of resources from the second device 120; ¶ 4, a set of resources for the random access procedure; ¶ 25, singular forms “a”, “an” and “the” are intended to include the plural forms as well);
configuring one or more RA resource sets by excluding at least one RA resource set in which at least one potential feature field is included, from the plurality of RA resource sets (¶ 47, first device 110-1 determines 2030 a first subset of resources allocated for the first feature from a set of resources for the plurality of features; ¶ 49, first device 110-1 may determine 2040 a second subset of resources allocated for the second feature from the set of resources for the plurality of features; ¶ 51, first device 110-1 may determine 2050 a third subset of resources allocated for the third feature from the set of resources for the plurality of features; fig. 3d, shows first subset of resources 310 excluding resources such as third subset of resources 330; ¶ 46, the plurality of features may comprise one or more of: RedCap, SDT, CovEnh or slicing. It should be noted that the plurality of features can comprise other features. Examiner correspond resource(s) allocated for a feature and included in a subset of resources to the at least one potential feature field and correspond the first subset of resources to the one or more RA resource sets);
and performing a RA procedure based on the configured one or more RA resource sets (¶ 53, first device 110-1 can perform the random access procedure based on the first subset of resources).
Regarding claim 22, Turtinen teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing at least one computer program comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations for a user equipment (UE) (fig. 6, memory 620 connected to processor 610; ¶ 121-129; fig. 2 first device 110-1; ¶ 40, first device 110 is the terminal device; ¶ 35, a terminal device may also be referred to as…user equipment (UE); ¶ 118, device 600 may be provided to implement a communication device, for example, the first device 110), the operations comprising:
receiving information related to a plurality of random access (RA) resource sets (¶ 47, first device 110-1 may receive a resource configuration which indicates the set of resources from the second device 120; ¶ 4, a set of resources for the random access procedure; ¶ 25, singular forms “a”, “an” and “the” are intended to include the plural forms as well);
configuring one or more RA resource sets by excluding at least one RA resource set in which at least one potential feature field is included, from the plurality of RA resource sets (¶ 47, first device 110-1 determines 2030 a first subset of resources allocated for the first feature from a set of resources for the plurality of features; ¶ 49, first device 110-1 may determine 2040 a second subset of resources allocated for the second feature from the set of resources for the plurality of features; ¶ 51, first device 110-1 may determine 2050 a third subset of resources allocated for the third feature from the set of resources for the plurality of features; fig. 3d, shows first subset of resources 310 excluding resources such as third subset of resources 330; ¶ 46, the plurality of features may comprise one or more of: RedCap, SDT, CovEnh or slicing. It should be noted that the plurality of features can comprise other features. Examiner correspond resource(s) allocated for a feature and included in a subset of resources to the at least one potential feature field and correspond the first subset of resources to the one or more RA resource sets);
and performing a RA procedure based on the configured one or more RA resource sets (¶ 53, first device 110-1 can perform the random access procedure based on the first subset of resources).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turtinen in view of US 20250016839 by Sebire et al. (hereinafter Sebire).
Regarding claim 15, Turtinen teaches the method of claim 11.
Although Turtinen teaches the plurality of RA resource sets, Turtinen does not explicitly disclose but Sebire in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the plurality of RA resource sets include at least one legacy feature field (¶ 83, a pool for a new feature… pools for existing (legacy) features; ¶ 27, different communication features (such as, Small Data Transmission, Reduced Capability, Coverage Enhancements and Slicing); ¶ 50, number of communication features and the corresponding pools of the resources is just an example, the first device 110 may also reserve other pools of resources for other communication features; ¶ 56, pools (for different features); ¶ 53, resources in pools of resources refer to the random access resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turtinen’s teachings with Sebire’s above teachings. The motivation is providing resources usage optimization (Sebire abstract). Known work in one field of endeavor (Sebire prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Turtinen prior art) based on design incentives (resources usage optimization) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the UE of claim 15, wherein performing the RA procedure comprises selecting a RA resource set from the configured one or more RA resource sets; transmitting a RA preamble using the selected RA resource set (claim 17 recite similar limitations of claim 12 and thus is rejected under similar rationale).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the UE of claim 15, wherein the RA resource set is selected based on at least one feature for which the RA procedure is triggered, and wherein the at least one feature comprises at least one of Coverage enhancement (CE), Small Data Transmission by using a RA procedure (RA-SDT), Reduced Capability (RedCap) and Radio Access Network (RAN) slicing (claim 18 recite similar limitations of claim 13 and thus is rejected under similar rationale).
Claim 20 recite similar limitations of claim 15 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turtinen in view of “RACH partitioning for Rel-17 features” by Ericssion (publicly available on 10/21/2021) (IDS filed 5/13/24).
Regarding claim 14, Turtinen teaches the method of claim 12, wherein, based on the RA procedure being triggered for two or more features, the RA resource set is selected from the configured one or more RA resource sets (Turtinen ¶ 53, first device 110-1 can perform the random access procedure based on the first subset of resources. Alternatively, the first device 110-1 can perform the random access procedure based on other resources in the set of resources excluded the first subset of resources. In view of “the configured one or more RA resource sets” being just the first subset of resources, this view makes this limitation effectively selecting the first subset of resources based on the RA procedure being triggered for two or more features. As disclosed in ¶ 53 of Turtinen, the first device uses/selects the first subset of resources to have the random access procedure be based on instead of using, e.g., the second subset of resources; ¶ 48, the first subset of resources may comprise a plurality of preambles. In this case, if the second device 120 receives a preamble in the plurality of preambles, the second device 120 may understand that the random access procedure is triggered by the first feature; ¶ 25, singular forms “a”, “an” and “the” are intended to include the plural forms as well).
Although Turtinen teaches the RA resource set (¶ 48, the first subset of resources may comprise a plurality of preambles), the two or more features, and based on the RA procedure being triggered for two or more features, the RA resource set is selected from the configured one or more RA resource sets, Turtinen does not explicitly disclose based on the RA procedure being triggered for two or more features, the RA resource set in which two or more feature fields corresponding to the two or more features are set to true is selected from the configured one or more RA resource sets the RA resource set.
Ericssion in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a RA resource set in which two or more feature fields corresponding to two or more features are set to true (section 2.1.2.1, an information element representing which features are indicated by a specific set of preambles should be defined…redcap ENUMERATED {true}…smallData ENUMERATED {true}…slicing ENUMERATED {true}…covEnh ENUMERATED {true}). By modifying Turtinen’s teachings of the RA resource set, the two or more features, and based on the RA procedure being triggered for two or more features, the RA resource set is selected from the configured one or more RA resource sets with Ericssion’s teachings of a RA resource set in which two or more feature fields corresponding to two or more features are set to true, the modification results in based on the RA procedure being triggered for two or more features, the RA resource set in which two or more feature fields corresponding to the two or more features are set to true is selected from the configured one or more RA resource sets the RA resource set.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turtinen’s teachings with Ericssion’s above teachings. The motivation is enabling early identification of a feature on a network side (Ericssion section 1). Known work in one field of endeavor (Ericssion prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Turtinen prior art) based on design incentives (enabling early identification of a feature on a network side) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turtinen and Sebire and in further view of “RACH partitioning for Rel-17 features” by Ericssion (publicly available on 10/21/2021) (IDS filed 5/13/24).
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches the UE of claim 15, wherein, based on the RA procedure being triggered for two or more features, the RA resource set is selected from the configured one or more RA resource sets (Turtinen ¶ 53, first device 110-1 can perform the random access procedure based on the first subset of resources. Alternatively, the first device 110-1 can perform the random access procedure based on other resources in the set of resources excluded the first subset of resources. In view of “the configured one or more RA resource sets” being just the first subset of resources, this view makes this limitation effectively selecting the first subset of resources based on the RA procedure being triggered for two or more features. As disclosed in ¶ 53 of Turtinen, the first device uses/selects the first subset of resources to have the random access procedure be based on instead of using, e.g., the second subset of resources; ¶ 48, the first subset of resources may comprise a plurality of preambles. In this case, if the second device 120 receives a preamble in the plurality of preambles, the second device 120 may understand that the random access procedure is triggered by the first feature; ¶ 25, singular forms “a”, “an” and “the” are intended to include the plural forms as well).
Although the combination teaches the RA resource set (Turtinen ¶ 48, the first subset of resources may comprise a plurality of preambles), the two or more features, and based on the RA procedure being triggered for two or more features, the RA resource set is selected from the configured one or more RA resource sets, the combination does not explicitly disclose based on the RA procedure being triggered for two or more features, the RA resource set in which two or more feature fields corresponding to the two or more features are set to true is selected from the configured one or more RA resource sets the RA resource set.
Ericssion in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a RA resource set in which two or more feature fields corresponding to two or more features are set to true (section 2.1.2.1, an information element representing which features are indicated by a specific set of preambles should be defined…redcap ENUMERATED {true}…smallData ENUMERATED {true}…slicing ENUMERATED {true}…covEnh ENUMERATED {true}). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the RA resource set, the two or more features, and based on the RA procedure being triggered for two or more features, the RA resource set is selected from the configured one or more RA resource sets with Ericssion’s teachings of a RA resource set in which two or more feature fields corresponding to two or more features are set to true, the modification results in based on the RA procedure being triggered for two or more features, the RA resource set in which two or more feature fields corresponding to the two or more features are set to true is selected from the configured one or more RA resource sets the RA resource set.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Ericssion’s above teachings. The motivation is enabling early identification of a feature on a network side (Ericssion section 1). Known work in one field of endeavor (Ericssion prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Turtinen prior art) based on design incentives (enabling early identification of a feature on a network side) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see form PTO-892.
/PETER P CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476