Claim Interpretation
The Examiner would like to note that the method steps of claim 22 do not have to be given weight because there is no functional relationship between the medium and the computer (see MPEP 2111.05(III) titled MACHINE-READABLE MEDIA). The non-transitory storage medium serves as a support for the data (i.e. the bit stream) which is not used by the computer for any other purpose. The non-transitory storage medium is merely serving as support for data created by the generating steps.
The Examiner recommends adding instructions stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium which cause a processor to generate a bitstream.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by of Zhang et al. (U.S. 2021/0076043), hereinafter Zhang ‘043.
Regarding claim 22, Zhang ‘043 discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a bit stream (Zhang claim 20), wherein the bit stream comprises: an encoded run length value; wherein the encoded run length value is generated by: predicting attribute information and generating a residual, quantizing the residual, performing run length encoding on the quantized residual to generate a run length value, and for each run length value, selecting an entropy encoding strategy corresponding to the run length value to perform entropy encoding; wherein the encoded run length value is decoded according to a set threshold (see claim interpretation section above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9 and 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flynn et al. (U.S. 2021/0319593), hereinafter Flynn in view of Zhang et al. (CN 112565734A), hereinafter Zhang. Zhang was cited in the Applicant’s IDS dated 4/3/24. The machine translation of Zhang used for the citations below has been attached as an NPL. A foreign copy of Zhang with translated Abstract was provided by the Applicant on 4/3/24. Flynn was cited in the Applicant’s IDS dated 10/14/25.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Flynn discloses a method and a first communication node, comprising:
one or more processors (Flynn [0013]); and
a storage apparatus configured to store one or more programs (Flynn [0013]),
wherein when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs cause the one or more processors to perform a method (Flynn [0013] and fig. 11);
wherein the method comprises:
predicting attribute information and generating a residual (Flynn [0059]);
quantizing attribute information (Flynn fig. 8, #810);
performing run length encoding on the quantized residual to generate a run length value (Flynn fig. 8, #828);
for each run length value, selecting an entropy encoding strategy corresponding to the run length value to perform entropy encoding on the run length value (Flynn [0139]); and
processing the encoded run length value (Flynn [0139]).
Flynn does not explicitly disclose quantizing the residual.
However, Zhang teaches quantizing the residual (Zhang [0014] and claim 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Flynn’s method with the missing limitations as taught by Zhang to reduce the size of the code stream and improve coding performance as a result (Zhang Abstract and [0051]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 2, Flynn in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the entropy encoding strategy corresponding to the run length value to perform entropy encoding on the run length value comprises:
determining the entropy encoding strategy according to a quantization parameter corresponding to the run length value (Zhang [0085]) and a quantization parameter threshold (Zhang [0083]); and
performing the entropy encoding on the run length value according to the entropy encoding strategy (Zhang [0085]).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Flynn in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 2, wherein determining the entropy encoding strategy according to the quantization parameter corresponding to the run length value and the quantization parameter threshold comprises:
in response to the quantization parameter corresponding to the run length value being greater than the quantization parameter threshold, selecting a first entropy encoding strategy (Zhang [0083]); and
in response to the quantization parameter corresponding to the run length value being less than or equal to the quantization parameter threshold, selecting a second entropy encoding strategy (Zhang [0083]),
wherein the first entropy encoding strategy is different from the second entropy encoding strategy (Zhang [0083]).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Flynn in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 2, wherein in a case where a plurality of quantization parameter thresholds exist (Zhang [0082]), determining the entropy encoding strategy according to the quantization parameter corresponding to the run length value and the quantization parameter threshold comprises:
determining a threshold range where the quantization parameter corresponding to the run length value is located according to the quantization parameter corresponding to the run length value and the quantization parameter threshold (Zhang [0082]-[0083]); and
determining the entropy encoding strategy according to the threshold range where the quantization parameter corresponding to the run length value is located (Zhang [0082]-[0083]).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, Flynn in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the entropy encoding strategy corresponding to the run length value to perform entropy encoding on the run length value comprises:
determining the entropy encoding strategy corresponding to the run length value according to the run length value and a run length value threshold (Flynn [0123]); and
performing the entropy encoding on the run length value according to the entropy encoding strategy (Flynn [0123]).
Regarding claim 8, Flynn in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 7, wherein determining the entropy encoding strategy corresponding to the run length value according to the run length value and the run length value threshold comprises:
in response to the run length value being greater than the run length value threshold, selecting a third entropy encoding strategy (Flynn [0123] and fig. 4C); and
in response to the run length value is less than or equal to the run length value threshold, selecting a fourth entropy encoding strategy (Flynn [0123] and fig. 4C),
wherein the third entropy encoding strategy is different from the fourth entropy encoding strategy (Flynn [0123] and fig. 4C).
Regarding claim 9, Flynn in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 7, wherein in a case where a plurality of run length value thresholds exist (Flynn [0109]), determining the entropy encoding strategy corresponding to the run length value according to the run length value and the run length value threshold comprises:
determining a threshold range where the run length value is located according to the run length value and the run length value threshold (Flynn [0123] and fig. 4C); and
determining the entropy encoding strategy corresponding to the run length value according to the threshold range where the run length value is located (Flynn [0123] and fig. 4C).
Regarding claim 12, Flynn in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the entropy encoding strategy is a single entropy encoding method or a combination of a plurality of entropy encoding methods, and the entropy encoding strategy corresponding to the run length value is selected according to at least one of runtime or compression efficiency, wherein the runtime is at least one of runtime of the entropy encoding or runtime of entropy decoding (Flynn [0015] and [0081]).
Regarding claim 13, Flynn in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the entropy encoding strategy is a single entropy encoding method or a combination of a plurality of entropy encoding methods, and the entropy encoding strategy corresponding to the run length value is selected according to runtime of the entropy encoding or entropy decoding and compression efficiency of the entropy encoding or entropy decoding (Flynn [0015] and [0081]).
Regarding claim 14, Flynn in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the attribute information is attribute information of one partition or all to-be-encoded attribute information, and attribute information in different partitions uses a same encoding strategy or different entropy encoding strategies (Zhang [0051]).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Flynn in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein processing the encoded run length value comprises:
generating a file based on the encoded run length value and storing the file; or
generating a code stream based on the encoded run length value and transmitting the code stream (Flynn figs. 11 and 12B).
Regarding claim 16, Flynn discloses a point cloud decoding method, comprising:
acquiring an encoded run length value (Flynn [0010]);
decoding the encoded run length value (Flynn [0010], [0128] and fig. 5, #504) according to a set threshold (Flynn [0109]); and
processing the decoded run length value (Flynn [0010], [0127] and Abstract);
wherein the encoded run length value is generated by: predicting attribute information and generating a residual, quantizing the residual, performing run length encoding on the quantized residual to generate a run length value, and for each run length value, selecting an entropy encoding strategy corresponding to the run length value to perform entropy encoding (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, Flynn discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the encoded run length value is acquired from a file or a code stream (Flynn [0127] and figs. 11 and 12B).
Regarding claim 18, Flynn discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the set threshold comprises at least one of a quantization parameter threshold or a run length value threshold (Flynn [0123]), and the set threshold is a preset threshold (Flynn [0123]); or the set threshold is parsed out from encoded point cloud data that comprises the encoded run length value; or the set threshold is acquired from one of a sequence header, an attribute header, an attribute slice header, or attribute information (Flynn [0123] and [0077]).
Regarding claim 20, Flynn discloses a second communication node, comprising:
one or more processors (Flynn [0013]); and
a storage apparatus configured to store one or more programs (Flynn [0013]),
wherein when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs cause the one or more processors to perform (Flynn [0013] and [0053]) the method of claim 16 (see claim 16).
Regarding claim 21, Flynn in view of Zhang teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor (Flynn [0013]), causes the processor to perform the method of claim 1 (see claim 1).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flynn in view of Zhang as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. 2021/0076043), hereinafter Zhang ‘043.
Regarding claim 5, Flynn in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the quantization parameter threshold is a preset value; or the quantization parameter threshold is encoded in encoded data; or the quantization parameter threshold is transmitted in an out-of-band manner (Zhang [0083]).
The same motivation for claim 1 applies to claim 5.
Flynn does not explicitly disclose wherein the quantization parameter threshold is placed in one of a sequence header, an attribute header, an attribute slice header, or attribute information.
However, Zhang ‘043 teaches wherein the quantization parameter threshold is placed in one of a sequence header, an attribute header, an attribute slice header, or attribute information (Zhang ‘043 [0220]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Flynn in view of Zhang with the missing limitations as taught by Zhang ‘043 to add greater flexibility in threshold signaling as a result of being able to signal the threshold in multiple locations (Zhang ‘043 [0220]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flynn in view of Zhang as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Zou et al. (U.S. 2015/0373340), hereinafter Zou.
Regarding claim 10, Flynn in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the run length value threshold is a preset value; or the run length value threshold is encoded in encoded data; or the run length value threshold is transmitted in an out-of-band manner (Flynn [0123]).
Flynn does not explicitly disclose wherein the run length value threshold is placed in one of a sequence header, an attribute header, an attribute slice header, or attribute information.
However, Zou teaches wherein the run length value threshold is placed in one of a sequence header, an attribute header, an attribute slice header, or attribute information (Zou [0131]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Flynn in view of Zhang with the missing limitations as taught by Zou to add greater flexibility in threshold signaling as a result of being able to signal the threshold in multiple locations (Zou 0131]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/15/26 in regards to the previously presented portions of the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pgs. 9-12 of the Applicant’s Response, the Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach the selecting step of claim 1, which has now been amended into all independent claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the current claim language “for each run length value, selecting an entropy encoding strategy corresponding to the run length value to perform entropy encoding on the run length value”, Flynn teaches selecting an encoding context for encoding run-length values (Flynn [0139]). As a result, each run length value has a separate encoding context. Therefore, Flynn meets the limitations of claim 1 as currently written.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW K KWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482