DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/03/2024 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Interview Summary
The Attorney Thomas Palisi confirmed that the amendment claim set filed 04/03/2024 should be examined in the interview conducted on 12/08/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fastening device” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the charging position corresponding to a position in which the iron would be unstable without said magnetic attraction device”. It is unclear the iron is stable or unstable without said magnetic attraction device. For the benefit of applying art, the limitation is interpreted that the charging position corresponding to a position in which the iron is unstable without said magnetic attraction device.
Claim 4 recites “the magnetic attraction device is connected to the first part and in the second part of the hydraulic connector”. It is unclear the magnetic attraction device is formed in the second part or the magnetic attraction device is connected to the second part. For the purpose of applying art, the magnetic attraction device is interpreted to be connected to the first part and to the second part of the hydraulic connector.
Claim 6 recites “the rear part” in line 5. It is unclear the Applicant wants to mention the rear cantilever part of the housing or a rear part of the iron. For the purpose of applying art, the rear part is interpreted as the rear cantilever part of the housing.
Claim 10 recites “the rear cantilever rear part of the iron”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 10 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim 8 upon which it depends as the limitations recited in claim 10 are already recited in claim 7.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwami (US 5315773).
Regarding claim 1, Iwami teaches an ironing appliance comprising: a cordless iron (fig. 5, ironing head 4) including: a soleplate (fig. 5, sole 30) with an ironing surface configured to contact a clothing article and a charging base (fig. 5, housing 5); a hydraulic connector including a first part (fig. 5, valve 45) attached to the charging base and a second part (fig. 5, valve 38) attached to the iron; and a magnetic attraction device (fig. 6a, magnet 47 and reed switch 46) configured to generate a force connecting the first part and the second part of the hydraulic connector (column 6, lines 4-13, the reed switch is operated by the magnet 47, which generates a magnetic force to detect if the valve 38 is connected to the valve 45).
Regarding claim 4, Iwami teaches the magnetic attraction device is connected to the first part and in the second part of the hydraulic connector (fig. 10, when the ironing head is connected to the ironing apparatus, the magnetic attraction device (47, 46) is connected to the first part (45) and in the second part (38) of the hydraulic connector).
Regarding claim 6, Iwami teaches the iron includes a housing positioned above the soleplate (fig. 5), the housing including a rear cantilever part extending behind the soleplate, wherein the second part of the connector is mounted on the rear part of the iron (annotated fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 7, Iwami teaches the second part of the hydraulic connector is mounted on a lower surface of the rear cantilever part (annotated fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 8, Iwami teaches the appliance further comprises an electrical connector including a first part (terminals 44) attached to the charging base and a second part (annotated fig. 8 below) attached to the iron.
Regarding claim 9, Iwami teaches the second part of the electrical connector is positioned above the second part (38) of the hydraulic connector when the iron is resting on the soleplate (annotated fig. 8 above).
Regarding claim 10, Iwami teaches the second part of the hydraulic connector is mounted on a lower surface of the rear cantilever part (annotated fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 11, Iwami teaches the base includes a lower surface configured to rest on the worksurface (fig. 5) and wherein the first part (45) of the hydraulic connector is positioned at a top of an access ramp (fig. 5) slopes toward the lower surface, the access ramp configured to transition the iron from the base to the work surface by sliding the iron along the access ramp (fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwami (US 5315773), as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of WO2017/144798 (hereinafter WO’798).
Regarding claim 2, Iwami teaches the force generated by the magnetic attraction device provides a stable equilibrium of the iron in a charging position (fig. 6a, when the pins 42 are connected to the terminals 44) in which the iron is hydraulically connected to the base by the hydraulic connector (fig. 6a, when the valve 38 is connected to the valve 45) and the soleplate is in contact with ambient air (fig. 6a, there is space between the sole 30 and the ironing head rest 17).
Iwami does not clearly teach the charging position corresponding to a position in which the iron would be unstable without said magnetic attraction device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, WO’798 teaches the magnetic attraction device comprises two magnets (75, 85) integrated into the first and second parts (7, 8) of the connector, the magnetic attraction force generated by the two magnets (75, 85) attracting the first and second parts (7, 8) against each other. These magnets (75, 85) are sized to generate a magnetic attraction force which ensures that the iron remains balanced in the charging position, the charging position being a naturally unstable position of the iron on the base so that it would automatically tip forward in the absence of the magnets (75, 85). (fig. 2, machine translation, para. [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Iwami with the magnetic attraction device as taught by WO’798 for the benefit of providing a good connection of the iron on the base when the iron is brought close to the charging position and avoiding a significant rise in the temperature if the iron remains long in the position (WO’798, machine translation, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Iwami teaches the charging base is configured to rest on a work surface (fig. 6a, the bottom surface of the housing is configured to rest on a surface), and wherein, in the charging position, the ironing surface is sloped at an angle relative to the work surface (fig. 6a, ironing surface is sloped relative to the horizontal surface).
Iwami does not teach the angle between 00 and 450.
However, WO’798 teaches the angle is between 00 and 450 (machine translation, para. [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the ironing surface of Iwami sloped at an angle between 00 and 450 as taught by WO’798 for the benefit of allowing for optimized ergonomics of use, the slight inclination of the iron in the charging position preventing significant twisting of the user's wrist during the operation of connecting and/or disconnecting the iron (WO’798, machine translation, para. [0013]).
Regarding claim 5, Iwami does not teach the first part and the second part of the hydraulic connector include at least one ring shaped permanent magnet.
However, WO’798 teaches the magnetic attraction device is at least one ring shaped permanent magnet (machine translation, para. [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the magnetic attraction device of Iwami with ring shaped permanent magnets as taught by WO’798 for the benefit of providing a good connection of the iron on the base when the iron is brought close to the charging position and avoiding a significant rise in the temperature if the iron remains long in the position (WO’798, machine translation, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, Iwami does not teach the base includes a fastening device configured to be stabilize the work surface.
However, WO’798 teaches the base includes a fastening device (fastening flange 29) configured to be stabilize the work surface.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Iwami with a fastening device as taught by WO’798 so that the base is immobilized on the worktop (WO’798, machine translation, para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 13, Iwami teaches the base includes a power cable (fig. 10, cord).
Iwami does not clearly teach a plug for electrical connection to a household power supply network.
However, WO’798 teaches a plug for electrical connection to a household power supply network (machine translation, para. [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Iwami with a plug as taught by WO’798 for the benefit of providing power supply for the ironing system by connecting the plug to a domestic electrical network (WO’798, machine translation, para. [0033]).
Regarding claim 14, “the work surface is an ironing board” is an intended use of the invention. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In this case, the ironing appliance of the modified structure Iwami-WO’798 is capable of being used with an ironing board.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/UYEN T NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3732