DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 1-4,7 in the reply filed on 1/23/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 5 and 6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/23/26.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, lines 1 and 2, “for denture plate” should be –for a denture plate--.
In claim 7, lines 6 and 7, “for denture plate” should be –for the denture plate--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4,7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 13-18 render the claim indefinite. Specifically, the recitation in lines 15-16 of the thickness being “larger than a thickness of a corresponding standard tooth” is indefinite because there is no specificity as to exactly what the thickness of a corresponding standard tooth is. “Standard teeth” come in various sizes, dependent on many factors, including age of the patient. Therefore, one skilled in the art would not be able to determine the scope of this claim. The same indefiniteness applies to the recitation in lines 17-18, “substantially equal to a width of the standard tooth”.
Claim 2, lines 3-6 are unclear. Claim 3 recites “corresponding to”, which appears to suggest that the left and right central incisors, lateral incisors and cuspids were previously recited in claim 1. It is suggested that “corresponding to” be changed to –correspond to--. Similarly, it is also suggested that in line 5, “corresponding to” be changed to –correspond to--. Furthermore, in line 6, “are fixed” should be changed to –and are fixed--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klingenburg et al 20140317930.
With regard to claim 1, Klingenburg et al discloses a mill blank for dentures (see fig. 1 and 2) comprising a denture plate cutting part 3 made of a denture plate material; cut members 5 for front teeth each having a structure in which an artificial teeth cutting part (the occlusal part) made of an artificial tooth material (see paragraph 23) and a fixing part (the lower/root part) for fixing the artificial teeth cutting part to the denture plate cutting part 3 are connected (the occlusal part of the tooth is connected to the lower/root part); and molar members 5 (see molars) each having a structure in which an exposed part (the occlusal part) made of an artificial tooth material (see paragraph 23), having a standard molar shape, and requiring substantially no cutting (does not have to be cut, if desired so, see paragraph 18) and a fixing part (the lower part of each molar) for fixing the exposed part to the denture plate cutting part 3 are connected (the occlusal part of each molar is connected to the lower/root part), the cut members for front teeth 5 and the molar members 5 being fixed to the denture plate cutting part 3 while arranged to form standard arrangement patterns of respective corresponding teeth (see arrangement/pattern in figs 1 and 2), , and wherein the fixing parts (lower/root portion of each tooth) in the cut members for front teeth 5 are each connected to the cut member for front teeth so as not to be exposed to a surface (see paragraph 27 which discloses how the teeth 5 are “inserted” into the cutting part 3), when the artificial teeth cutting part in the cut member for front teeth 5 and the denture plate cutting part 3 are cut (milled). This occurs by virtue of the lower/root portions of the teeth being embedded in the denture plate cutting part 3 (“inserted”, paragraph 27). Since they are embedded in the denture plate cutting part 3, they are not exposed.
Klingenburg et al do not explicitly disclose wherein the artificial teeth cutting parts in the cut members for front teeth 5 each have a shape such that a thickness defined as a distance between a labial surface and a lingual surface of the artificial teeth cutting part is larger than a thickness of a corresponding standard front tooth, and a width defined as a distance between a mesial surface and a distal surface of the artificial teeth cutting part 5 is substantially equal to a width of the standard tooth.
However, in paragraph 22, Klingenburg et al discloses that the teeth 5 may be of “different sizes and have different factors”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled the art to form the artificial teeth cutting parts (occlusal part) in the cut members for front teeth 5 to have a thickness between the labial and lingual surfaces to be larger than a thickness of a corresponding standard front tooth, if one wished for the teeth to correspond to a particular patient that also has front teeth that are thicker than standard teeth, since Klingenburg et al recognizes that the teeth 5 may be of “different sizes and have different factors”. Similarly, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form the artificial teeth cutting part to have a width between a mesial and distal surface that is substantially equal to a width of a standard tooth, if one wished for the teeth to correspond to a particular patient that also has front teeth that have a width substantially equal to a width of a standard tooth, since Klingenburg et al recognizes that the teeth 5 may be of “different sizes and have different factors”.
With regard to claim 2, note that the mill blank is a mill blank for maxillary or mandibular dentures in which the cut members 5 for front teeth respectively correspond to left and right central incisors, lateral incisors, and cuspids and the molar members 5 respectively correspond to left and right first premolars, second premolars, first molars, and second molars (see fig. 1) and are fixed to the denture plate cutting part 3 while arranged to form a standard arrangement pattern of maxillary or mandibular teeth. See paragraph 16, last four lines.
With regard to claim 3, note that in the denture plate cutting part 3, areas of cervical parts in alveolar parts in which the molar members are fixed require substantially no cutting, and in the denture plate cutting part, interdental papillae are formed in alveolar parts in which the cut members for front teeth are fixed.
[AltContent: textbox (Interdental papillae)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cervical part of molar located in the alveolar part of the jaw does not require cutting.)]
With regard to claim 4, note that the denture plate cutting part 3 has a substantial disk shape having a recessed part or a lacking part for cutting amount reduction. See annotated figure below.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Recessed part)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Substantial disk part)]
With regard to claim 7, note that Klingenburg et al discloses a production method for dentures, the production method for dentures being a method of cutting a mill blank for a denture plate by a CAD/CAM technique (see paragraph 11) using three-dimensional shape data of an original denture whose shape is adjusted to fit a patient (see paragraph 11, “CAD/CAM data on the oral cavity of a patient”), to produce a denture having an identical or substantially identical shape with the shape of the original denture, wherein the mill blank for dentures according to claim 1 (as modified above, see above rejection of claim 1) is used as the mill blank for denture plate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772