DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 – 13 and 20 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 11 and 20 recites the broad recitation “at least 40 mJ”, and the claim also recites “at least 50 mJ” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Similarly, claims 12 and 21 recite “up to 220 mJ, up to 200 mJ, up to 180 mJ.” The limitation up to 180 mJ covers all the claimed ranges.
Similarly claims 13 and 22 recite “at least 20 Hz, at least 40 Hz” and at least 60 Hz” and “up to 6 kHz, up to 5.5 kHz, up to 5 kHz.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korea Atomic Energy Res (KR 2016 0008313 – in IDS, hereinafter “Korea”).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Korea discloses an intermediate storage unit (e.g. 17) for an ophthalmological laser therapy system with a power consumption of up to 1600 W (e.g. the ophthalmological laser therapy system is not positively recited. The device of Korea would be capable of working with an ophthalmological laser therapy system), the system comprising an electrical load element (e.g. 13), the intermediate storage unit being configured to cyclically (e.g. ¶ 18) provide an energy of at least 30 mJ, at least 40 mJ, or at least 50 mJ, for the electrical load element (e.g. ¶ 21, 22, 26).
Regarding claim 12, Korea discloses the intermediate storage unit is configured to cyclically provide an energy selected from a group consisting of up to 220 mJ, up to 200 mJ, up to 180 mJ, for the electrical load element (e.g. ¶ 18).
Regarding claim 13, Korea discloses a cyclical provision is effected at a frequency selected from a group consisting of at least 20 Hz, at least 40 Hz, and at least 60 Hz, wherein the cyclical provision is effected at a frequency selected from a group consisting of up to 6 kHz, up to 5.5 kHz, up to 5 kHz or both of the foregoing (e.g. ¶ 18).
Regarding claim 14, Korea discloses a capacitor, a battery or both (e.g. ¶ 26).
Regarding claim 15¸Korea discloses a cyclical provision of energy is effected for a load element having a cyclical power demand (e.g. ¶ 18-26).
Regarding claim 16, Korea discloses the load element comprises a beam offset unit, including a scanner and a scanner controller (e.g. ¶ 17-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 - 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledermann et al. (US PGPUB 2008/0269729) in view of Korea.
Regarding claims 17 – 25, Ledermann discloses an ophthalmological laser therapy system with a power consumption of up to 1600 W (e.g. ABSTRACT, ¶ 17), comprising an electrical load element (e.g. 1 in Fig. 1) and an intermediate storage unit (e.g. 4), but fails to teach that the intermediate storage unite is configured to cyclically provide an energy of at least 30 mJ, for the electrical load element.
Korea teaches it is known to use an intermediate storage unit as claimed and as discussed above. Furthermore, Korea teaches an energy supply unit configured as a wide-range power supply unit, and an interchangeable power supply system cable, via which the energy supply unit is electrically connectable to a local power supply system (e.g. ¶ 41).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the ophthalmological laser therapy system as taught by Ledermann with the intermediate storage unit as taught by Korea, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of using a suitable power buffer store in order to compensate for the power peaks that occur cyclically.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796