DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 08/19/2026.
3. Claims 1-3, 7-8,17,19, 23, 29, 36, 39, 42, 46, 51,53, 56, 60, 64, 67-68, 70, 74, 79, 84, 87-88, 96, 98, 100,103,105,109-114, 117, 120-122 are pending. Claims 1-3, 7-8, 17, 109, 120-122 are under examination on the merits. Claims 2-3, 29, 113, 117 are amended. Claims 120-122 are newly added. Claims 4-6, 9-16, 18, 20-22, 24-28, 30-35, 37-38, 40-41, 43-45, 47-50, 52, 54-55, 57-59, 61-63, 65-66, 69, 71-73, 75-78, 80-83, 85-86, 89-95², 97, 99, 101-102, 104, 106-108, 115, 116, and 118-119 are previously cancelled. Claims 19, 23, 29, 36, 39, 42, 46, 51, 53, 56, 60, 64, 67-68, 70, 74, 79, 84, 87-88, 95-96, 98, 100,103,105,110-114 and 117 are withdrawn to a non-elected invention from further consideration.
4. The objections and rejections not addressed below are deemed withdrawn.
5. Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, thus claims -3, 7-8, 17, 109 stand rejected as set forth in Office action dated 04/29/2026 and further discussed in the Response to Arguments below.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 122 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 2. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 706.03(k).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Subject to the [fifth paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 USC 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of a previous claim. Applicant is required to cancel the claim, or amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, or rewrite the claim in independent form. Claim 7, as written, depends on claim 2, which recites “wherein said bismuth compound is selected from the group consisting of bismuth oxide, bismuth chloride oxide, bismuth sulfide, bismuth hydroxide, bismuth carbonate, bismuth silicate, bismuth subcarbonate, bismuth selenide, bismuth telluride, bismuth chalconides, bismuth fluoride, bismuth chloride, bismuth bromide, bismuth iodide, bismuth salts, bismuth complexes, bismuth alloys, bismuth vanadate, bismuth orthovanadate, bismuth vanadate molybdate, bismuth nitrate, bismuth manganese oxide, bismuth oxide iodide, bismuth oxide bromide, and combinations thereof”, however, based on the content of the claim 2, wherein said component (a) is bismuth oxide. Thus, claim 7 as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of a previous claim 2.
9. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 USC 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of a previous claim. Applicant is required to cancel the claim, or amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, or rewrite the claim in independent form. Claim 8, as written, depends on claim 2, which recites “wherein said cesium compound is selected from the group consisting of cesium chloride, cesium bitartrate, cesium halide, cesium polyhalide, cesium polyiodide, cesium oxide, cesium sulfide, cesium polysulfide, cesium carbonate, and combinations thereof; or wherein said barium compound is selected from the group consisting of barium sulfate, barium oxide, barium dithionate, and combinations thereof; or wherein said tungsten compound is selected from the group consisting of tungsten carbide, tungsten oxide, and combinations thereof; or wherein said aluminum compound is selected from the group consisting of aluminum oxide, aluminum sulfate, aluminum potassium sulfate, and combinations thereof; or wherein said lead compound is selected from the group consisting of lead salts, lead sulfate, lead chloride, lead bromide, lead oxide, lead iodide, and combinations thereof; wherein said silicon compound is selected from the group consisting of silicon dioxide, silica, fumed silica, silica gel, aerogel, precipitated silica, and combinations thereof”, however, based on the content of the claim 2, wherein said component (a) is bismuth oxide, and said component (b) is aluminum oxide. Thus, claim 8 as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of a previous claim 2.
10. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 USC 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of a previous claim. Applicant is required to cancel the claim, or amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, or rewrite the claim in independent form. Claim 17, as written, depends on claim 2, which recites “wherein said bismuth compound is selected from the group consisting of bismuth oxide, bismuth chloride oxide, bismuth sulfide, bismuth hydroxide, bismuth carbonate, bismuth silicate, bismuth subcarbonate, bismuth selenide, bismuth telluride, bismuth chalconides, bismuth fluoride, bismuth chloride, bismuth bromide, bismuth iodide, bismuth salts, bismuth complexes, bismuth alloys, bismuth vanadate, bismuth orthovanadate, bismuth vanadate molybdate, bismuth nitrate, bismuth manganese oxide, bismuth oxide iodide, bismuth oxide bromide, and combinations thereof, and said aluminum compound is selected from the group consisting of aluminum oxide, aluminum sulfate, aluminum potassium sulfate, and combinations thereof”, however, based on the content of the claim 2, wherein said component (a) is bismuth oxide, and said component (b) is aluminum oxide. Thus, claim 17 as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of a previous claim 2.
11. Claim 120 is rejected under 35 USC 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of a previous claim. Applicant is required to cancel the claim, or amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, or rewrite the claim in independent form. Claim 120, as written, depends on claim 2, which recites “wherein said component (a) is a bismuth compound and said component (b) is a compound selected from the group consisting of an aluminum compound, a lead compound, a silicon compound, and combinations thereof”, however, based on the content of the claim 2, wherein said component (a) is bismuth oxide, and said component (b) is aluminum oxide. Thus, claim 120 as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of a previous claim 2.
12. Claim 121 is rejected under 35 USC 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of a previous claim. Applicant is required to cancel the claim, or amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, or rewrite the claim in independent form. Claim 121, as written, depends on claim 2, which recites “wherein said component (b) is an aluminum compound”, however, based on the content of the claim 2, wherein said component (b) is aluminum oxide. Thus, claim 121 as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of a previous claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
14. Claims 1-3, 7-8, 17, 109, 120-122 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (Reversible photochromic photocatalyst Bi2O3/TiO2/Al2O3 with enhanced visible photoactivity: application toward UDMH degradation in wastewater, Journal of Environmental Science and Health, Part A, Toxic/Hazardous Substances and Environmental Engineering, Volume 55, 2020, Issue 3, Page 1-17, see IDS 04/03/2024, hereinafter “Zhou”).
Regarding claims 1-3,120-122: Zhou discloses a radiation-sensitive coating composition (Page 1, Abstract, lines 1-11; Page 2, Col. 2, 3rd para; Page 3, Col.2, 1st para) comprising a component (a) and a component (b), wherein said component (a) is a metal compound or a metalloid compound such as Bi2O3 , and said component (b) is at least one different metal compound or metalloid compound such as Al2O3 from the synthesis of Bi2O3/TiO2/Al2O3 (BTA) photocatalyst (Page 1, Abstract, lines 1-11; Page 2 Col. 2, 3rd para), wherein the catalyst exhibited markedly enhanced photocatalytic activity for the degradation of 1,1-Dimethylhydrazine (UDMH) waste water compared with conventional TiO2/Al2O3 (TA) catalysts under UV, visible and solar irradiation (Page 1, Abstract, lines 9-11).
It is submitted if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 7: Zhou discloses the radiation-sensitive coating composition (Page 1, Abstract, lines 1-11; Page 2, Col. 2, 3rd para; Page 3, Col.2, 1st para), wherein said component (a) is Bi2O3.
Regarding claim 8: Zhou discloses the radiation-sensitive coating composition (Page 1, Abstract, lines 1-11; Page 2, Col. 2, 3rd para; Page 3, Col.2, 1st para), wherein said component (a) is Bi2O3, and said component (b) is such as Al2O3. It is submitted that recited claim 8, further define the component (a) and component (b), and excludes any limitation to consider.
Regarding claim 17: Zhou discloses the radiation-sensitive coating composition (Page 1, Abstract, lines 1-11; Page 2, Col. 2, 3rd para; Page 3, Col.2, 1st para), wherein said component (a) is Bi2O3.
Regarding claim 109: Zhou discloses the radiation-sensitive coating composition (Page 1, Abstract, lines 1-11; Page 2, Col. 2, 3rd para; Page 3, Col.2, 1st para). It is submitted, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Since Zhou discloses a similar radiation-sensitive coating composition then the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Response to Arguments
15. Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive,
In response to the Applicant’s argument that the anticipation rejection should be withdrawn since the anticipation cannot be established by selectively extracting individual constituents from Zhou's ternary photocatalyst system while ignoring the remaining TiO2 component and the overall photocatalyst context.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The recited “Comprising” language leaves the claim open for the inclusion of unspecified ingredients even in major amounts, see Ex parte Davis et al., 80 USPQ 448 (PTO Ed. App. 1948). Also, the broad “comprising” and “containing” terminology do not exclude the presence of other ingredients such as TiO2 in the composition, unlike the narrow “consisting of” language, see Swain v.Crittendon, 332 F 2d 820,14 1 USPQ 8 11 (CCPA 1964).
In response to the Applicant’s argument that Zhou fails to disclose the radiation-sensitive coating composition.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhou discloses radiation-sensitive (Page 4, left Col. 2nd para, lines 1-5) coating composition (Page 3, right Col. 1st para, lines 1-6). Even if we assume that Zhou does not teach the radiation-sensitive coating composition, it is submitted if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The Applicant's argument regarding Anyumba’s reference is rendered moot since the claims rejection under Anyumba is deemed withdrawn.
16. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Del Sole can be reached on 571-272-1130. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Bijan Ahvazi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763
09/03/2026
bijan.ahvazi@uspto.gov