Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 05/15/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 30-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 19-24 and 28-29 are provisionally rejected (the withdrawn claims will be examined if rejoined) on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15-20 and 22-23 of copending Application No. 18698318 (reference application) in view of Pearce (US20170362900A1).
The difference between the instant applicant and the reference application is that the reference application only requires two drilling segments, and the instant application claims require three.
Pearce teaches a drilling shaft having two (Figure 7) or three (Figure 19) drilling segments that are equally spaced from one another about the circumference of the tool and have the required shape/configuration as claimed in the independent claims (See rejection of Claim 19 below under 35 USC 102).
US App 18698316 (instant application)
US App 18698318 (reference application)
19. A drill bit comprising:
a drilling shaft having a cylinder with a longitudinal axis, wherein the cylinder has, in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, an outside diameter, an inside diameter and a shaft width, and a plurality of drilling segments spaced apart from one another in a circumferential direction and fastened by an underside to the drilling shaft, wherein the plurality of drilling segments include a first drilling segment with a first inner lateral surface having a first inner distance from the longitudinal axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, a second drilling segment with a second inner lateral surface having a second inner distance from the longitudinal axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, and a third drilling segment with a third inner lateral surface having a third inner distance from the longitudinal axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the first inner distance varying between a first maximum value and a first minimum value and having precisely one first absolute minimum value over the circumference of the first drilling segment, the second inner distance being greater than or equal to the first absolute minimum value over the circumference of the second drilling segment, and the third inner distance being greater than or equal to the first absolute minimum value over the circumference of the third drilling segment.
15. A drill bit comprising: a drilling shaft having a cylinder with a longitudinal axis, wherein the cylinder has, in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, an outside diameter, an inside diameter and a shaft width, and two drilling segments spaced apart from one another in a circumferential direction and fastened by an underside to the drilling shaft, wherein the two drilling segments include a first drilling segment with a first inner lateral surface having a first inner distance from the longitudinal axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, and a second drilling segment with a second inner lateral surface having a second inner distance from the longitudinal axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the first inner distance varying between a first maximum value and a first minimum value and having precisely one first absolute minimum value over the circumference of the first drilling segment, the second inner distance being greater than or equal to the first absolute minimum value over the circumference of the second drilling segment.
20. The drill bit as recited in claim 19 wherein the first inner distance has two first maximum values over the circumference of the first drilling segment, wherein the first absolute minimum value is arranged between the first maximum values in the circumferential direction.
16. The drill bit as recited in claim 15 wherein the first inner distance has two first maximum values over the circumference of the first drilling segment, wherein the first absolute minimum value is arranged between the first maximum values in the circumferential direction.
21. The drill bit as recited in claim 19 wherein the first inner distance follows, over the circumference of the first drilling segment, a strictly monotonic profile in the region of the first absolute minimum value.
17. The drill bit as recited in claim 15 wherein the first inner distance follows, over the circumference of the first drilling segment, a strictly monotonic profile in the region of the first absolute minimum value.
22. The drill bit as recited in claim 21 wherein the second inner distance varies between a second maximum value and a second minimum value and has precisely one second absolute minimum value over the circumference of the second drilling segment.
18. The drill bit as recited in claim 17 wherein the second inner distance varies between a second maximum value and a second minimum value and has precisely one second absolute minimum value over the circumference of the second drilling segment.
23. The drill bit as recited in claim 22 wherein the second inner distance has two second maximum values over the circumference of the second drilling segment, wherein the second absolute minimum value is arranged between the second maximum values in the circumferential direction.
19. The drill bit as recited in claim 18 wherein the second inner distance has two second maximum values over the circumference of the second drilling segment, wherein the second absolute minimum value is arranged between the second maximum values in the circumferential direction.
24. The drill bit as recited in claim 22 wherein the second inner distance follows, over the circumference of the second drilling segment, a strictly monotonic profile in the region of the second absolute minimum value.
20. The drill bit as recited in claim 18 wherein the second inner distance follows, over the circumference of the second drilling segment, a strictly monotonic profile in the region of the second absolute minimum value.
28. The drill bit as recited in claim 19 wherein the first inner lateral surface is formed as a portion of a first cylinder, the second inner lateral surface is formed as a portion of a second cylinder, and the third inner lateral surface is formed as a portion of a third cylinder.
22. The drill bit as recited in claim 15 wherein the first inner lateral surface is formed as a portion of a first cylinder, and the second inner lateral surface is formed as a portion of a second cylinder.
29. The drill bit as recited in claim 28 wherein the first cylinder has a first base surface differing from a circular shape, or the second cylinder has a second base surface differing from a circular shape, or the third cylinder has a third base surface differing from a circular shape.
23. The drill bit as recited in claim 22 wherein the first cylinder has a first base surface differing from a circular shape, or the second cylinder has a second base surface differing from a circular shape.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-29 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites “the circumference”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-29 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pearce (US20170362900A1).
Claim 19
Pearce teaches a drilling shaft (20) having a cylinder (Figure 3) with a longitudinal axis (12), wherein the cylinder has, in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, an outside diameter (Figure 3 shows the shank (20) has an outer diameter.), an inside diameter (Figure 3 shows an interior space defined by an inside diameter.) and a shaft width (The shaft width is the difference between the inner and outer diameters.), and a plurality of drilling segments (Figure 19 shows three drilling segments (234A/B/C).) spaced apart from one another in a circumferential direction (Figure 19) and fastened by an underside to the drilling shaft (Figure 17 shows the underside of the segments (234) is secured to the shaft (220).), wherein the plurality of drilling segments include a first drilling segment with a first inner lateral surface having a first inner distance from the longitudinal axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, a second drilling segment with a second inner lateral surface having a second inner distance from the longitudinal axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, and a third drilling segment with a third inner lateral surface having a third inner distance from the longitudinal axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (Figure 19 shows a plan/top down view of the drilling segments where the inner surfaces have a distance to the center (210).), the first inner distance varying between a first maximum value and a first minimum value and having precisely one first absolute minimum value (274) over the circumference of the first drilling segment, the second inner distance being greater than or equal to the first absolute minimum value over the circumference of the second drilling segment, and the third inner distance being greater than or equal to the first absolute minimum value over the circumference of the third drilling segment. (Figure 19 shows that the drilling segments (234) make up portions of a cylinder. The circumference of each of the segments extends between the edges (236 to 238). The minimum value of the segment is located at the medial edge (274). Each of the segments (234) has a location where a second/third inner distance is greater than or equal to the medial edge (274) distance.)
Claim 20
Pearce teaches the drill bit as recited in claim 19 wherein the first inner distance has two first maximum values over the circumference of the first drilling segment, wherein the first absolute minimum value is arranged between the first maximum values in the circumferential direction. (Figure 19 shows the cross section of the segments (234) is such that there are two maximum values at 236 and 238, and that the minimum value (274) is located between the locations of the maximum values.)
Claim 21
Pearce teaches the drill bit as recited in claim 19 wherein the first inner distance follows, over the circumference of the first drilling segment, a strictly monotonic profile in the region of the first absolute minimum value. (The term monotonic is interpreted as value either increasing or decreasing constantly. Figure 19 shows that the location of the minimum value(s) (274) is curved such that there is not a significant area of constant value for the inner distance.)
Claim 22
Pearce teaches the drill bit as recited in claim 21 wherein the second inner distance varies between a second maximum value and a second minimum value and has precisely one second absolute minimum value over the circumference of the second drilling segment. (Figure 19 shows that the drilling segments (234) make up portions of a cylinder. The circumference of each of the segments extends between the edges (236 to 238). The minimum value of the segment is located at the medial edge (274). The maximum value is located at the edges (236, 238).)
Claim 23
Pearce teaches the drill bit as recited in claim 22 wherein the second inner distance has two second maximum values over the circumference of the second drilling segment, wherein the second absolute minimum value is arranged between the second maximum values in the circumferential direction. (Figure 19 shows the cross section of the segments (234) is such that there are two maximum values at 236 and 238, and that the minimum value (274) is located between the locations of the maximum values.)
Claim 24
Pearce teaches the drill bit as recited in claim 22 wherein the second inner distance follows, over the circumference of the second drilling segment, a strictly monotonic profile in the region of the second absolute minimum value. (The term monotonic is interpreted as value either increasing or decreasing constantly. Figure 19 shows that the location of the minimum value(s) (274) is curved such that there is not a significant area of constant value for the inner distance.)
Claim 25
Pearce teaches the drill bit as recited in claim 22 wherein the third inner distance varies between a third maximum value and a third minimum value and has precisely one third absolute minimum value over the circumference of the third drilling segment. (Figure 19 shows that the drilling segments (234) make up portions of a cylinder. The circumference of each of the segments extends between the edges (236 to 238). The minimum value of the segment is located at the medial edge (274). The maximum value is located at the edges (236, 238).)
Claim 26
Pearce teaches the drill bit as recited in claim 25 wherein the third inner distance has two third maximum values over the circumference of the third drilling segment, wherein the third absolute minimum value is arranged between the third maximum values in the circumferential direction. (Figure 19 shows the cross section of the segments (234) is such that there are two maximum values at 236 and 238, and that the minimum value (274) is located between the locations of the maximum values.)
Claim 27
Pearce teaches the drill bit as recited in claim 25 wherein the third inner distance follows, over the circumference of the third drilling segment, a strictly monotonic profile in the region of the third absolute minimum value. (The term monotonic is interpreted as value either increasing or decreasing constantly. Figure 19 shows that the location of the minimum value(s) (274) is curved such that there is not a significant area of constant value for the inner distance.)
Claim 28
Pearce teaches the drill bit as recited in claim 19 wherein the first inner lateral surface is formed as a portion of a first cylinder, the second inner lateral surface is formed as a portion of a second cylinder, and the third inner lateral surface is formed as a portion of a third cylinder. (The cross sectional view as shown in Figure 19 teaches that the drilling segments make up portions of cylinder(s) (See annotation below), and therefore the inner surfaces are formed of portions of said cylinder(s).)
Claim 29
Pearce teaches the drill bit as recited in claim 28 wherein the first cylinder has a first base surface differing from a circular shape, or the second cylinder has a second base surface differing from a circular shape, or the third cylinder has a third base surface differing from a circular shape. (Applicant does not assign “base surface” an item number nor call out what the base surface is in the drawings. There are multiple surfaces on the drilling segments (234) that are not circular and can qualify as a “base surface” due to the broad nature of the claim and lack of explicit illustration in the application.)
Claim 36
Pearce teaches the drill bit as recited in claim 19 wherein the first drilling segment, second drilling segment and third drilling segment are of identical design. (Figure 19 shows the shape/size of the drilling segments (234) is equal. ¶0092 teaches the height can be equal. ¶0121 teaches the angles used on the drilling segments can be equal. ¶0054 teaches a length measurement of the inner surfaces of the segments (34) can be equal.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Form.
Document
Date
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US20170362900A1
2016-03-03
Figure 3 teaches a drilling shaft (20) that is a cylinder having an axis (12) and includes an inner and outer diameter. There are a plurality of drilling segments (234A/B/C in Figure 15) that are spaced apart from one another. The drilling segments have inner lateral surfaces that include a varying distance to the central axis (See Figure 19). The distance includes a single absolute minimum (at the tip of the triangular shape) and two maximums at either end. The inner surface of each segment consistently slopes towards the maximum from the minimum area. Each of the drilling segments (234A/B/C) make up portions of a cylindrical cross sections, such that the inner surfaces make up parts of this cross section.
US20050084349A1
2002-12-28
Figure 1-5 show a drilling shaft (10) having an inner and outer diameter and an axis. There are a plurality of drilling segments (30) spaced apart around the central axis. The drilling segments have an absolute minimum distance from the central axis and multiple maximum distances (Figure 5).
US20200040663A1
2018-08-02
Figures 1-2 show a drilling shaft (1) that has inner and outer diameters and an axis. There are a plurality of drilling segments (portions of item 2) that are spaced apart (choosing individual segments around the circumference) around the central axis. The drilling segments have an absolute minimum flanked by two absolute maximums and the distance consistently slopes between the two (See Figure 2).
US20100329805A1
2010-06-24
Figure 2 teaches a drilling shaft (52 and 53) having an inner and outer diameter and an axis. There are a plurality of drilling segments (54) spaced apart around the central axis. The drilling segments have an absolute minimum flanked by two absolute maximums. (See Figure 2)
US4189015A
1978-08-21
Figures 3-4 teach a drilling shaft (30) that has an inner and outer diameter and a longitudinal axis. The drill bit includes a plurality of drilling segments (34) spaced apart around the central axis. The drilling segments have an absolute minimum and maximum where the inner surface consistently slopes between the two (See Figure 4).
US6564887B2
2001-06-25
Figure 1 teaches a drill shaft (10) that includes an inner and outer diameter and an axis. The drill includes a plurality of drilling segments (30) that are spaced apart around the central axis. The drilling segments include an absolute minimum flanked by two maximums and slope consistently between the two. (See Figure 2e)
US20030141115A1
2002-12-12
Figure 1 teaches a drill shaft (2) that includes an inner and outer diameter and an axis. The drill includes a plurality of drilling segments (6) that are spaced apart around the central axis. The drilling segments include an absolute minimum and a maximum and slope consistently between the two. (See Figure 2)
US20160354846A1
2016-06-02
Figure 3 teaches a drill shaft having spaced drill portions (42) that have a minimum and maximum distance from the central axis and form a conical shape. (Figure 3)
US5676501A
1996-01-27
Figure 14 teaches a drill shaft having spaced drill portions (21-23) that are a varying distance from the central axis of the shaft. Each “portion” can refer to a group of three where the grouped cutting elements have a minimum distance flanked by two maximum distances, with a constant slope in between.
US20070227521A1
2006-11-16
Figure 9A-9B teach a drill shaft (300) having a plurality of spaced drill portions (100) including a varying distance between the drill portion and the central axis (See Figure 9A).
US20150021099A1
2013-07-18
Figures 5-6 teach a drill shaft (218, 220) that has spaced drill portions (230). The drill portions have a varying spacing from the central axis of the cavity of the drill shaft. The varying spacing changes from a minimum to two maximums in a constant manner.
US3353526A
1964-10-12
Figure 6 teaches a drill shaft (26) that includes drill portions (portions of 28) that have a varying spacing from the central axis of the drill tube such that the drill portions include a minimum and maximum distance location.
US3382743A
1965-12-08
Figures 1 and 2 teach a drill tube (15) having drill portions (portions of 17) that include varying spacing from the central axis of the drill tube such that the drill portions include a minimum and maximum distance location.
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726