CTNF 18/698,347 CTNF 85298 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 2, 6-10, 14-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (US 2021/0377856) in view of Park (IEEE 802.11-21/287r5) Regarding Claims 1, 9 and 16, Chu teahes method of a first device, comprising: performing a configuration operation of one or more enhanced multi-link single radio (EMLSR) links among multiple links with a second device (¶ [0061], see specifically bitmap). performing a reception standby operations operation in the one or more EMLSR links (¶ [0014], see specifically wake time); receiving a control frame from the second device in a first EMLSR link among the one or more EMLSR links (¶ [0067], see specifically control frames.); and Chu fails to explicitly teach exchanging a data frame with the second device in the first EMLSR link where the control frame is received Park teaches exchanging a data frame with the second device in the first EMLSR link where the control frame is received (page 8, see specifically transmit or receive frames.) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to exchange data frames in the system of Chu as taught by Park. The motivation is that Park is a standardization document in 802.11 wifi, and it would therefore be obvious to make the system of Chu able to exchange data frames across the link where the control packet is received as following the 802.11 standard provides greatly improved industrial applicability. Regarding Claims 2, 10 and 17, Chu teaches wherein the performing of the configuration operation comprises: transmitting, to the second device, a first frame including a bitmap indicating the one or more EMLSR links (¶ [0061], see specifically bitmap).; and receiving a second frame including the bitmap from the second device (¶ [0061], see specifically bitmap). Regarding Claim 6, Chu teaches the control frame is a multi-user (MU)-request to send (RTS) frame, a clear to send (CTS) frame, which is a response frame to the MU-RTS frame, is transmitted to the second device, and the data frame is exchanged received after transmission of the CTS frame (¶ [0067], see specifically RTS/CTS). Regarding Claim 7 and 14, Chu teaches the data frame includes reconfiguration information of at least one EMLSR link, and the at least one EMLSR link indicated by the reconfiguration information is different from the simultaneous reception standby links one or more EMLSR links according to the configuration operation (¶ [0066] – [0067], see specifically setup frame and announced) Regarding Claim 8 and 15, Chu teaches transmitting, to the second device and in the first EMLSR link, a reception response frame for the data frame; and performing a reception standby operation in the at least one EMLSR link indicated by the reconfiguration information after transmission of the reception response frame (¶ [0068], see specifically poll frame. NOTE: using a poll frame would indicate an expected response.) Regarding Claim 20, Chu teaches the processor further causes the first device to perform: transmitting, to the second device and in the first EMLSR link, a reception response frame for the data frame (¶ [0068], see specifically poll frame. NOTE: using a poll frame would indicate an expected response.); and performing a reception standby operation at least one EMLSR link indicated by reconfiguration information after transmission of the reception response frame, the reconfiguration information being included in the data frame (¶ [0068], see specifically poll frame. NOTE: using a poll frame would indicate an expected response.);, wherein the at least one EMLSR link indicated by the reconfiguration information is different from the one or more EMLSR links according to the configuration operation (¶ [0068], see specifically poll frame. NOTE: using a poll frame would indicate an expected response.) 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-5, 11-13, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (US 2021/0377856) in view of Park (IEEE 802.11-21/287r5) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2023/0224989) . Regarding Claims 3, 11 and 18, Chu fails to explicitly teach before performing the configuration operation, performing a traffic identifier (TID)-to-link mapping operation with the second device, wherein a frame received in the first EMLSR link has a first TID mapped to the first EMLSR link Kim from the same or similar field of endeavor before performing the configuration operation, performing a traffic identifier (TID)-to-link mapping operation with the second device, wherein a frame received in the first EMLSR link has a first TID mapped to the first EMLSR link (¶ [0150], see specifically set in advance and TID). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to add the TID mapping in the system of Kim to the system of Chu. The motivation is that it allows the system to better organize and balance different traffic loads across different links. Regarding Claim 4 and 12, Chu fails to explicitly teach a TID-to-link remapping operation is performed in the configuration operation, or a default link mapping is configured in the configuration operation Kim from the same or similar field of endeavor a TID-to-link remapping operation is performed in the configuration operation, or a default link mapping is configured in the configuration operation (¶ [0150], see specifically TID mapping negotiation.) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to add the TID mapping in the system of Kim to the system of Chu. The motivation is that it allows the system to better organize and balance different traffic loads across different links. Regarding Claim 5, 13 and 19, Chu fails to explicitly teach a frame transmittable and receivable in the first EMLSR link is indicated by the TID-to- link remapping operation or the default link mapping Kim from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a frame transmittable and receivable in the first EMLSR link is indicated by the TID-to- link remapping operation or the default link mapping (¶ [0150], see specifically set in advance and TID). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to add the TID mapping in the system of Kim to the system of Chu. The motivation is that it allows the system to better organize and balance different traffic loads across different links. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ROBERT M MORLAN whose telephone number is (571)270-5674. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 10 AM - 4PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hadi Armouche can be reached at 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. ROBERT M. MORLAN Primary Examiner Art Unit 2409 /ROBERT M MORLAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/698,347 Page 2 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/698,347 Page 3 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/698,347 Page 4 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/698,347 Page 5 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/698,347 Page 6 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/698,347 Page 7 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/698,347 Page 8 Art Unit: 2409