Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee US20220357287.
With respect to independent claim 1, Lee discloses an inspection device 200 [Fig. 4] for scanning and inspecting an object 100 to be inspected, comprising: an inspection channel 220, wherein the object to be inspected enters and exits the inspection device through the inspection channel [paragraph 62]; an imaging system configured to scan and inspect the object to be inspected, and the imaging system comprises: a radiation source 230, 231 configured to generate a ray, wherein the radiation source is disposed on one side of the inspection channel, and the ray at least forms a main beam surface applicable to scan and inspect the object to be inspected [Fig. 4B]; and a detector 235, 236 configured to receive the ray passing through the object to be inspected, wherein the detector is disposed on the other side of the inspection channel to form an inspection region between the radiation source and the detector; and a posture adjustment structure 270 disposed in the inspection region and configured to adjust a posture of the object to be inspected located in the inspection region [Fig. 9 and paragraphs 82 and 84], wherein the object to be inspected comprises an inspection portion, the inspection portion has an inspection surface, and the posture adjustment structure is configured to position the object to be inspected and adjust the posture of the object to be inspected, so that the inspection surface and the main beam surface are in a same plane, and the ray only passes through the inspection portion in an imaging process [Fig. 10 and paragraphs 98 and 105].
With respect to claim 4, Lee discloses wherein the imaging system comprises a plurality of detectors 235, 236, the plurality of detectors are disposed opposite to the radiation source to form a plurality of main beam surfaces between the radiation source and the plurality of detectors, and the plurality of main beam surfaces are in the same plane [Fig. 4]; and the posture adjustment structure is configured to adjusts the posture of the object to be inspected, so that the inspection surface and the plurality of main beam surfaces are in the same plane [Fig. 10 and paragraphs 98 and 105].
With respect to claim 5, Lee discloses wherein the posture adjustment structure is configured to move the object to be inspected in a first direction, so that the object to be inspected has a plurality of inspection surfaces, wherein the first direction is parallel to a conveying direction of the object to be inspected [Fig. 9-10].
With respect to claim 6, Lee discloses wherein for each inspection surface, the posture adjustment structure is configured to position the object to be inspected is, so that the inspection surface and the main beam surface are in the same plane [paragraphs 101 and 107].
With respect to claim 12, Lee discloses wherein the inspection region comprises an entrance and an exit [Fig. 4B note: entering the inspection device then being inspected rotating around 220 then exiting]; the inspection device further comprises a first transmission mechanism 210, and the first transmission mechanism is disposed on a side of the entrance of the inspection region and configured to convey the object to be inspected to the inspection region [Fig. 4].
With respect to claim 14, Lee discloses wherein the imaging system comprises a plurality of radiation sources 230, 231 and a plurality of detectors 235, 236, the plurality of radiation sources are respectively disposed opposite to the plurality of detectors to form a plurality of source-detector assemblies [Fig. 4], a main beam surface is formed between the source and the detector of each source-detector assembly, and the main beam surfaces of the plurality of source-detector assemblies are located in the same plane [Fig. 4]; and the posture adjustment structure is configured to adjust the posture of the object to be inspected, so that the inspection surface and the main beam surfaces of the plurality of source-detector assemblies are in the same plane [Fig. 9-10 and paragraphs 98 and 105].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US20220357287 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gregerson et al. US20160331335.
With respect to claim 2, Lee discloses the device as recited above in claim 1. Lee fails to disclose wherein the imaging system is rotatable relative to the object to be inspected, so that the imaging system is configured to scan and inspect the object to be inspected at a plurality of angles.
Gregerson et al. discloses imaging system is rotatable relative to the object to be inspected, so that the imaging system is configured to scan and inspect the object to be inspected at a plurality of angles [paragraph 40 and Fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Gregerson et al. into the device of Lee to reduce the number of sources thereby reducing overall cost as implied by Gregerson et al..
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US20220357287 as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Yang et al. CN111665270.
With respect to claim 13, Lee discloses the device as recited above in claim 12. Lee fails to disclose wherein the first transmission mechanism comprises: a driving device; a lead screw connected to the driving device, wherein the lead screw is driven by the driving device; a first slide rail, wherein an extension direction of the first slide rail is parallel to an extension direction of the lead screw; and a sliding mechanism connected to the lead screw, wherein the lead screw is configured to drive the sliding mechanism to move, so that the sliding mechanism is configured to push the object to be inspected to slide on the first slide rail.
Yang et al. discloses wherein the first transmission mechanism comprises [Fig. 1 claiming drive mechanism]: a driving device 8; a lead screw 9 connected to the driving device, wherein the lead screw is driven by the driving device; a first slide rail 2, wherein an extension direction of the first slide rail is parallel to an extension direction of the lead screw; and a sliding mechanism connected to the lead screw, wherein the lead screw is configured to drive the sliding mechanism to move, so that the sliding mechanism is configured to push the object to be inspected to slide on the first slide rail. The transmission mechanism provides the benefit of adjusting the position of the object to be inspected along the channel, allowing the object to be scanned at different positions with little error in the intended position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Yang et al. into the device of Lee to improve positioning the object to be inspected as implied by Yang et al.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US20220357287 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Heuscher US20060159220.
With respect to claim 7, Lee discloses the device as recited above in claim 1. Lee discloses the first direction is parallel to a conveying direction of the object to be inspected [Fig. 9-10]. Lee fails to disclose wherein a ratio of a size of the detector in a first direction to a size value of the inspection portion in the first direction is in a range of 1 to 8.
Heuser et al. discloses a ratio of a size of the detector in a first direction to a size value of the inspection portion [paragraph 40]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaches of Heuser et al. into the size of the detector of Lee to improve resolution as taught by Heuser et al.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US20220357287 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matney et al. US20190317028.
With respect to claim 9, Lee discloses the device as recited above in claim 1. Lee fails to disclose wherein a focus size of the radiation source is less than or equal to 1 mm.
Matney et al. discloses a focus size of the radiation source is less than or equal to 1 mm [paragraph 35]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Matney et al. into the device of Lee to improve imaging as implied by Matney et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 15, and 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 9-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eisenberg et al. US20030128801 shows focal spot dithering [paragraph 78]
Seppi et al. US20080205583 shows an inspection system
Hoffman US20110080993 shows multi-section detector
Featonby et al., US20170122887 shows a scanning device
Neuser et al. US20210048397 shows multiple detector
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXANDER H. TANINGCO
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845