Claims 1-5 are presently pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicants’ Priority Document was filed on April 4, 2024.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In each of claims 2 and 5, a colon (“:”) should be added after “2.2 or more” .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 5 are indefinite because there are no numerical values or ranges for the variables “Y” and “Z” in the Equation 1-2 recited therein, nor are there numerical values or ranges for “y” and “z” (i.e., the biodegradability and the pulverization yield, respectively), from which “Y” and “Z” are respectively calculated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (KR 1014401486) in view of Yoshii et al. (JP 2001-002703, Applicants’ submitted art; English translation provided and relied upon).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Kang et al. teach a method for manufacturing an eco-friendly superabsorbent resin obtained by adding citric acid (CA) to carboxymethylcellulose (CMC), a cellulose derivative, and then irradiating it with radiation, and to a non-toxic biodegradable superabsorbent resin manufactured by said method. Kang et al. further teach a mixing ratio composed of 1-30% by weight of the carboxymethylcellulose, 1-30% by weight of the citric acid, and the balance water (40-98% by weight), as well as a preferred ratio of 10-13% by weight carboxymethylcellulose, 2-4% by weight of the citric acid, and the remainder water (83-88% by weight). See paragraphs [0001] and [0015]-[0025] of Kang et al., the latter of which teaches (a) irradiation is preferably done via electron beams, wherein the radiation dose is preferably 20 to 30 kGy, and most preferably 20 kGy, and (b) a step of drying the carboxymethylcellulose/citric acid gel following the irradiation.
Further regarding claim 1, and also regarding claim 4, Kang et al. teach an embodiment in which a paste comprising carboxymethylcellulose and citric acid is formed and irradiated with electron beams, wherein the irradiation dose is 10 kGy/scan, and scanned according to each dose so that the total irradiation dose became 0, 10, 20, 30, 50, and 100 kGy. The resultant gel is freeze-dried, cut into square shapes, and immersed in distilled water to dissolve uncrosslinked portions, followed by drying the undissolved portion at 37°C for 48 hours (“drying the irradiated mixture at 10 to 70°C”; “wherein the eco-friendly CMC polymer satisfies one or more of a time taken for drying of 30 to 85 hours…”). See paragraphs [0040]-[0043] of Kang et al.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, it is considered that because the drying temperature and time disclosed in Kang et al. reads upon the drying temperature recited in claim 1 ("10 to 70°C"), and because the method disclosed in this reference is comparable to Applicants' claimed method, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to reasonably expect said drying temperature to result in a temperature dependent utility value of the carboxymethylcellulose/citric acid gel (superabsorbent resin) obtained by the method disclosed in Kang et al. comparable to that instantly claimed, absent the showing of convincing evidence to the contrary.
Kang et al. do not explicitly teach or suggest the step of “pulverizing the dried mixture”, as recited in claim 1. However, this reference, at paragraphs [0036] and [0037], teaches the feasibility in the aforementioned carboxymethylcellulose/citric acid gel being environmentally friendly and non-toxic, as well as exhibiting high crosslinking, absorbency, and moisture retention. Said carboxymethylcellulose/citric acid gel can also be used in hospital supplies (sanitary mats, bandages, and wound protectants), cosmetics (cold packs, hot packs, deodorizers), and concrete inhalants, as well as in civil engineering materials (support materials and absorbent sacks), and for special purposes such as artificial snow, oil-water separators, and absorbent fibers.
From this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicants’ invention to modify the method disclosed in Kang et al. by incorporating therein a step of pulverizing the carboxymethylcellulose/citric acid gel, to prepare the carboxymethylcellulose/citric acid gel for use as, for example, support materials, absorbent fibers, hot packs, cold packs, etc.
Kang et al., while teaching the employment of carboxymethylcellulose, does not explicitly teach or suggest that the carboxymethylcelluose exhibits a viscosity of 1000 cps or more, as recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, Yoshii et al. teach the preparation of a cross-linked alkylcellulose derivative, wherein a raw material alkylcellulose derivative (e.g., a carboxyalkylcellulose) is mixed with water, and the resultant mixture is subjected to irradiation treatment with, for example, electron beams. Yoshii et al. further teach the feasibility in drying the crosslinked alkylcellulose derivative after irradiation treatment, wherein the drying conditions are not particularly limited. Yoshii et al. teach an embodiment in which a 20% by weight aqueous solution of carboxymethylcellose (CMC), said CMC having a viscosity of 3670 mPa-s (3670 cps) in a 10% by weight aqueous solution, is irradiated with doses ranging from 0 to 70 kGy. See paragraphs [0003], [0017]-[0020], [0025], and [0027] of Yoshii et al.
Additionally, Yoshii et al. teach that the cross-linked alkylcelluose derivative obtained by the aforementioned preparation has “properties such as water absorption, high gel strength, and/or biodegradability”, and that, by “utilizing these properties, they can be used not only in conventional applications listed in general literature and literature describing the prior art, but also in fields where even higher performance is required for those applications, and in superabsorbent resins such as those found in sanitary products and disposable diapers.” See paragraph [0026] of Yoshii et al.
Motivated by these references’ common teachings regarding the irradiation of carboxymethylcelluose with electron beams, as well as in the formation of superabsorbent resins as a result of said irradiation, it would have been obvious to modify the method disclosed in Kang et al. by incorporating therein a carboxymethylcellulose having a viscosity of 3670 mPa-s (3670 cps), as suggested by Yoshii et al.
Conclusion
/Patricia L. Hailey/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 August 27, 2026