Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (12,216,377).
With regards to claim 1, 10 Tsai teaches an optical modulator(Fig 1, 4) comprising: an optical splitter (Fig 1@11)configured to split input light into two light beams(Fig 1 Os1, Os2) ; a first arm and a second arm (Fig 1 121, 122) that are configured to modulate the two light beams by transmission data after split by the optical splitter(Fig 1 Om1, Om2); and an optical coupler configured to couple output light from the first arm and output light from the second arm( at a predetermined coupling ratio(Fig 1@13, a coupler inherently has a predetermined coupling ratio, see abstract splitting ratio) and generating an optical modulation signal(Fig 1 Oout), wherein the optical splitter, the first arm and the second arm, and the optical coupler are configured to operate as a Mach-Zehnder optical modulator(col. 2, lines 65-67 to col. 3, lines 1-3), and the coupling ratio is set in such a way as to apply predetermined pre-chirping to the optical modulation signal.( See abstract lines 9-15, combining ratio).
With regards to claim 2, Tsai teaches the optical modulator according to claim 1, wherein the optical modulator is a silicon optical modulator including an optical waveguide path formed of silicon as material (col. 3 lines 1-3).
With regards to claim 3, Tsai teaches the optical modulator according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined pre-chirping is applied in such a way that the modulation signal includes predetermined transmission quality (Col. 2 lines 13-23).
With regards to claim 4 Tsai teaches a control circuit configured to set the coupling ratio (Fig 4@14, col. 5 lines 42-61 also see claim 9, the ratio regulator functions as a controller).
With regards to claim 5, Tsai teaches wherein the control circuit controls the coupling ratio in such a way to improve the predetermined transmission quality (Col. 2 lines 13-23, col. 5 lines 62-67 to col. 6 lines 1-12)
With regards to claim 7, Tsai teaches the optical modulator wherein, a bias voltage of the first and second arm is selected in such a way that the optical modulation signal has higher positive dispersion tolerance (col. 4 lines 35-67 to col. 5 lines 1-11)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (12,216,377).
With regards to claim 6, Tsai does not specifically teach wherein the coupling ratio is set to 0.6:0.4, 0.9:0.1 or a value in between, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that it would not require undue experimentation to select these settings using the ration regulator.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (12,216,377). And further in view of Kaneoka et al. (20170293165)
With regards to claim 8, Tsai teaches a system comprising: an optical modulator and being configured to output an optical modulation signal to an optical transmission path(Fig 4) ; wherein the optical modulator includes an optical splitter configured to split input light into two light beams (Fig 4@11), a first arm and a second arm that are configured to modulate the two light beams by transmission data after split by the optical splitter(Fig 4@#121, 122), the optical coupler configured to couple output light from the first arm and output light from the second arm at a predetermined coupling ratio(Fig 4@13) and generating the optical modulation signal, and the control circuit configured to set the coupling ratio(Fig 4@14, rate regulator), wherein the optical splitter the first arm and the second arm, and the optical coupler are configured to operate as a Mach-Zehnder optical modulator(col. 2, lines 65-67 to col. 3, lines 1-3), the coupling ratio is set in such a way as to apply predetermined pre-chirping to the optical modulation signa.( See abstract lines 9-15, combining ratio), and the predetermined pre-chirping is applied in such a way that the optical modulation signal includes predetermined transmission quality. (Col. 2 lines 13-23).
Tsai fails to teach an optical transmitter including a modulator and a storage device configured to store a coupling ratio associated with dispersion of the optical transmission path and notify control circuit of the coupling ratio being stored, wherein the control circuit controls an optical coupler according to the coupling ratio notified by the storage device. Although Tsai teaches a coupling ration associated with dispersion of the transmission path and a rate regulator(controller), Tsai fails to teach a storage device to store a coupling ratio used by the controller to control the optical coupler. Kaneoka (Fig. 1) shows an optical transmitter including an MZM modulator a RAM and controller. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the RAM and control unit into Tsai in order to store preset coupling ratios (according to Fig 2, 3) in the RAM and use these preset values to control the optical coupler in a more faster and predictable way..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KENNETH N VANDERPUYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2634