DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “disintegratable” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “disintegratable” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The cellulose ester composition is rendered indefinite.
The recitation of “disintegratable rate” in claim 1 is rendered indefinite. “Disintegratable rate” is a term which is not defined by the claim and the specification does not provide a standard for obtaining said “disintegration rate”, rendering the scope of the claim indefinite
Claim 5 contains the trademark/trade name Benzoflex, Admex, Scandiflex, Paraplex, and Resolflex. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a plasticizer and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 5 and 6 recites the limitation "said plasticizer" in claim 5, line 1-2, and claim 6, line 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8, 9, 10, and 11 recites the limitation "said branched, amorphous biofiller" in claim 8, line 2, claim 9, line 1-2, claim 10, line 1-2, and claim 11, line 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “about” in claim 10 and 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The amount of biofiller is rendered indefinite.
Claim 12 recites “the maximum thickness” which causes confusion. Does the thickness refer to the article? The examiner invites the applicant to clarify.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the plaque” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-4, 7, 13-14, and 16 are rejected for being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
An article comprising a disintegratable cellulose ester composition; wherein said cellulose ester composition comprises comprising
at least one biodegradable cellulose ester and
at least one biodegradable, branched starch;
wherein said branched starch has a degree of branching of 2 to 6;
wherein said cellulose ester composition has a disintegratable rate of 50% or more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-2, 4-11, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mayer et al. (US 5288318).
Regarding claim 1, Mayer et al. disclose in Example 1 an article comprising 1000 grams of cellulose acetate, 200 grams of corn starch, and 250 grams of triacetin [col 9, line 60-69; col 10, line 1-7], thereby reading on a biodegradable cellulose ester and at least one biodegradable, branched starch.
Mayer et al. is silent on the degree of branching as recited in the instant claim.
However, in view of the table in the instant specification, page 11, line 20-25, native corn starch has a degree of branching of 3.1, thereby lying within the claimed range. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found the degree of branching of the corn starch of Mayer et al. to be inherent.
Mayer et al. is silent on the cellulose ester composition has a disintegratable rate as recited in the instant claim.
In view of the substantially identical article comprising a cellulose ester composition of Mayer et al., the article comprising a cellulose ester composition of Mayer et al., will possess the claimed properties because disintegratable rate is an inherent property. Because the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to Applicant to show otherwise. (See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).)
Regarding claim 2, Mayer et al. disclose the cellulose ester of the article of Example 1 is a cellulose acetate [col 9, line 60-69; col 10, line 1-7], thereby reading on the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, Mayer et al. is silent on if the cellulose ester of the article of Example 1 is prepared by the process recited in the instant claim.
However, the present claims are product-by-process claims. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." (MPEP § 2113 (quoting In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).) If the prior art teaches the same product as the product formed by the process recited in the claims at issue, the claims are unpatentable. However, if the process of the claims at issue results in a product that is different from the product taught by the prior art, then the prior art does not teach the invention recited in the claims at issue.
Regarding claim 5, Mayer et al. disclose the article of Example 1 comprises triacetin [col 9, line 60-69; col 10, line 1-7], thereby reading on the plasticizer of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, Mayer et al. disclose the article of Example 1 comprises 17.2 wt% of triacetin plasticizer (calculated by 250/1450×100 =17.2 wt%, [col 9, line 60-69; col 10, line 1-7]), thereby lying within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 7, Mayer et al. disclose the article of Example 1 comprises are extruded and injection molded [col 9, line 60-69; col 10, line 1-7], thereby reading on the molded article instant claim.
Mayer et al. is silent on the cellulose ester composition is biodegradable or compostable as recited in the instant claim.
In view of the substantially identical article comprising a cellulose ester composition of Mayer et al., the article comprising a cellulose ester composition of Mayer et al., will possess the claimed properties because biodegradable and compostable are inherent properties. Because the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to Applicant to show otherwise. (See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).)
Regarding claim 8, Mayer et al. disclose the article of Example 1 comprise native corn starch [col 9, line 60-69; col 10, line 1-7], which has a degree of branching of 3.1 as discussed in the rejection for claim 1 above, thereby lying within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 9, Mayer et al. disclose the article of Example 1 comprises native corn starch [col 9, line 60-69; col 10, line 1-7], thereby reading on the instant claim.
Regarding claim 10 and 11, Mayer et al. disclose the article of Example 1 comprises 13.8 wt% of corn starch (calculated by 200/1450×100 =13.8 wt% [col 9, line 60-69; col 10, line 1-7]), which is interpreted as the biofiller, thereby lying within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 15 and 16, Mayer et al. is silent on the amount of plaque disintegrates of the article as recited in the instant claims.
In view of the substantially identical article comprising a cellulose ester composition of Mayer et al., the article comprising a cellulose ester composition of Mayer et al., will possess the claimed properties because disintegratable rate is an inherent property. Because the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to Applicant to show otherwise. (See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al. (US 5288318).
The article of claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 3, Mayer et al. is silent on the molecular weight of the cellulose acetate used in Example 1 and if the cellulose acetate is a cellulose diacetate as recited in the instant claim.
However, Mayer et al. broadly teach the cellulose acetate has a molecular weight of 28,000 to 62,000 Daltons (claim 1, [col 3, line 34-51], thereby lying within the claimed range. Mayer et al. further teach the cellulose acetate has a degree of acetyl substitution of 1.2 to 3.0 [col 4, line 28-43]. A cellulose acetate having a degree of acetyl substation of 2.0 is a cellulose diacetate, thereby reading on the instant claim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a cellulose diacetate having the molecular weight broadly taught by Mayer et al.
Regarding claim 13, Mayer et al. et al. disclose the article as rejected above.
While Mayer et al. do not disclose that the article is used in food service and grocery items, horticulture, agriculture, recreation, coatings, fibers, nonwovens, and home/office applications, it is noted that case law holds that "where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation." See Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al. (US 5288318) in view of Yi et al. (US 20070043149).
The article of claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 12, Mayer et al. do not teach the max thickness of the article as recited in the instant claim.
Yi et al. teach a biodegradable resin composition comprising a cellulose diacetate (claim 1). Yi et al. further teach the biodegradable resin composition are used to turn into films having a thickness of 300 µm [0047], equivalent to 12 mils and thereby lying within the claimed range. Mayer et al. is also concerned with a cellulose ester biodegradable compositions (claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form an article having the thickness as taught by Yi et al. with the article of Mayer et al. since both are related to cellulose ester compositions.
Regarding claim 14, Mayer et al. is silent on the article as recited in the instant claim.
Yi et al. teach the biodegradable resin composition is a mulching film among others (claim 9), thereby reading on the instant claim. Mayer et al. is also concerned with a cellulose ester biodegradable compositions (claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form an article having the thickness as taught by Yi et al. with the article of Mayer et al. since both are related to cellulose ester compositions.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 13-15 of copending Application No. 18698403 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications refer to cellulose ester compositions comprising at least one biodegradable cellulose ester and at least one biodegradable starch, wherein said branched starch has a degree of branch of 2 to 6; wherein said cellulose ester composition has a disintegratable rate of 50% or more.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-11 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5, 7-10, and 13-18 of copending Application No. 18698256 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications refer to cellulose ester compositions comprising at least one biodegradable cellulose ester and at least one biodegradable starch, wherein said branched starch has a degree of branch of 2 to 6; wherein said cellulose ester composition has a disintegratable rate of 50% or more.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3-6, 9, and 10-12 of copending Application No. 18698407 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications refer to cellulose ester compositions comprising at least one biodegradable cellulose ester and at least one biodegradable starch, wherein said branched starch has a degree of branch of 2 to 6; wherein said cellulose ester composition has a disintegratable rate of 50% or more.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763