Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There is no antecedent basis for “said plasticizer” of claim 5 which depends from claim 1. It is not clear if claim 1 requires plasticizer or not from the language of claim 5 or if claim 5 is intended to merely add plasticizer to claim 1 but claim 1 does not require plasticizer. This lack of clarity carries to the claims depending on claims 1 and 5.
Claim 5 contains the trademark/trade names Scandiflex, Admex, Benzoflex plasticizer series, Paraplex plasticizer series, and Resolflex series of plasticizers. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe plasticizers which are not specifically described and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
The instant claim 1 does not end with a period. It is not clear if other material is intended to be added to claim 1 due to the lack of the period or if the period was inadvertently not recited. The lack of clarity extends to the claims depending on claim 1 for this reason also. See MPEP 608.01(m) Form of Claims [R-10.2019].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 4-7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. No. 6200404 Andersen et al.
Andersen discloses a biodegradable starch-bound sheet comprising cellulose ester as an auxiliary polymer, waxy corn starch and a plasticizer at columns 7, 8, 9, and 15 and claims 1, 14, 17, and 45. The disclosed sheet is not structurally different than the instantly claimed tow band and therefore falls within the scope of the instantly claimed tow band.
Andersen does not disclose the instantly claimed degree of branching of a branched starch and a disintegrable rate of cellulose acetate composition.
According to the instant specification, page 11, lines 8-13, waxy cornstarch, waxy potato starch, and native starches of Andersen, column 15, lines 41, 45, and 47-51 have the instantly claimed degrees of branching of the instant claims 1 and 9.
The source of the cellulose of the instant claim 4 is not seen as distinguishing the instantly claimed products from that of Andersen. Insufficient particulars are recited to give such a distinction.
Andersen, discloses the particulars of the instant claims 5 and 7. Note Andersen claim 46.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instantly claimed invention to use the instantly claimed degree of branching of a branched starch and disintegrable rate of cellulose acetate composition in the sheets of Andersen because Andersen encompasses using the instantly claimed starches to make their biodegradable sheets and setting the degradation rate to the desired rate is within the skill of the ordinary skilled artisan to optimize the disintegrable rate or to choose its desired value from the particulars of Andersen given the ingredients and amounts thereof of Andersen which affect this particular property. See MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions [R-01.2024], particularly paragraph II.
Andersen does not disclose the amounts of the instant claims 6 and 11-12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instantly claimed invention to use the instantly claimed amounts of the instant claims 6 and 11-12 in the compositions of Andersen because Andersen encompasses such amounts by not limiting the amounts of these ingredients and the amounts of these ingredients would have been expected to give only predictable results to the final compositions of Andersen.
5. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. No. 6200404 Andersen et al. in view of WO 2021-150541 Shih et al.
The disclosure of Andersen of paragraph 4 above is repeated here in its entirety.
Shih discloses using the particulars of the instant claim 2 in similar inventions as those of Andersen at paragraphs [0007] and [0019].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instantly claimed invention to use the instantly claimed DS/AGU of the instant claim 2 in the inventions of Andersen because they would have been expected to contribute the same properties to the inventions of Andersen that they give to the inventions of Shih.
Andersen does not disclose the molecular weights of the instant claim 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instantly claimed invention to use the molecular weights of the instant claim 3 in the inventions of Andersen because they are disclosed by Shih at page 8, lines 24-30, which encompasses the molecular weights of the instant claim 3, and these molecular weights give only predictable properties such as predictable modulus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instantly claimed invention to use the recycled materials according to the instant claim 4, noting the teachings of Shih, as the materials of Andersen because Shih teaches the use of recycled materials in such compositions and recycling is common practice for saving resources.
Andersen does not teach the particulars of the instant claim 8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instantly claimed invention to use the particulars of the instant claim 8 in the inventions of Andersen because Shih (paragraph [0022])and Andersen (columns 18-19 and claims 15 and 17) encompass using such ingredients in similar inventions as those of Andersen and their use in Andersen would have been expected to give the same properties they give to the inventions of Shih to the sheets of Andersen.
Conclusion
/PATRICK D NILAND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762