DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 03/10/2026, with respect to objections to the drawings and specification and rejections of claims 23-25 under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections to the spec and drawings and the rejections of claims 23-25 under 35 USC 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10-14 and 18-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 03/10/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-14 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ROUX (US-20230344311; previously cited).
Regarding claim 10, ROUX discloses an electric machine comprising:
a rotor 1 which is arranged on a rotor shaft 5; a stator 2; and
a flow element 10 which includes a collection structure configured to collect a fluid (para [0153]) discharged from the rotor shaft 5 and to direct the fluid into an inner space of the electric machine to a front side of the rotor 1 (Fig. 1) wherein the flow element 10 has a plurality of flow structures 20 disposed throughout a surface of the flow element 10 facing the rotor and configured to disrupt a fluid flow, each of the plurality of flow structures 20 having a rounded knob shape and being arranged in a predicted flow path (Fig. 11b).
Regarding claim 11, ROUX discloses the electric machine according to claim 10, wherein the flow element 10 is configured to direct the fluid to at least one stator winding 4 of the stator 2 (para [0118] and [0155] and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, ROUX discloses the electric machine according to claim 10, wherein the flow element 10 is arranged in a fluid flow which is discharged from the rotor shaft 5 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, ROUX discloses the electric machine according to claim 11, wherein the flow element 10 is arranged in a fluid flow which is discharged from the rotor shaft 5 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, ROUX discloses the electric machine according to claim 10, wherein the flow element 10 is in a form of an annular disk (Fig. 2, 5, 11b).
Regarding claim 21, ROUX discloses the electric machine according to claim 10, wherein the flow element 10 has at least one redirecting structure 12b which is configured to direct a redirectable fluid flow to at least one stator winding 4 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, ROUX discloses the electric machine according to claim 11, wherein the flow element 10 has at least one redirecting structure 12b which is configured to direct a redirectable fluid flow to at least one stator winding 4 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, ROUX discloses the electric machine according to claim 10, wherein a surface of the flow element 10 facing away from the rotor is configured as a smooth surface (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, ROUX discloses the electric machine according to claim 11, wherein a surface of the flow element 10 facing away from the rotor is configured as a smooth surface (Fig. 1, 10d).
Regarding claim 25, ROUX discloses the electric machine according to claim 12, wherein a surface of the flow element 10 facing away from the rotor is configured as a smooth surface (Fig. 1, 10d).
Regarding claim 26, ROUX discloses a flow element 10 which is configured to be arranged in an electric machine and to guide a fluid for the electric machine (para [0153]) the flow element 10 comprising: a collection structure 14 configured to collect a fluid discharged from a rotor shaft 5 and to direct the fluid into an inner space of the electric machine to a front side of a rotor 1 (Fig. 1); and a plurality of flow structures 20 disposed throughout a surface of the flow element 10 facing the rotor 1 and configured to disrupt a fluid flow, each of the plurality of flow structures 20 having a rounded knob shape and being arranged in a predicted flow path (Fig. 11b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROUX in view of PAL (US 20160172937).
Regarding claim 18, ROUX discloses the electric machine according to claim 10, wherein the flow element 10 has
at least one guide channel 52 which is configured to direct a fluid flow to a rotor (Fig. 1).
However, ROUX does not disclose the rotor having a winding.
PAL discloses an electric machine with a flow element (24, 36) configured to direct a fluid flow to a rotor winding 26 (see para [0020]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the electric machine of ROUX with a rotor having windings, similar to PAL.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to convert “mechanical energy into electrical energy, as is known by one of ordinary skill in the art” as taught by PAL (see para [0016]).
Regarding claim 19, ROUX discloses the electric machine according to claim 11, wherein the flow element 10 has
at least one guide channel 52 which is configured to direct a fluid flow to a rotor (Fig. 1).
However, ROUX does not disclose the rotor having a winding.
PAL discloses an electric machine with a flow element (24, 36) configured to direct a fluid flow to a rotor winding 26 (see para [0020]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the electric machine of ROUX with a rotor having windings, similar to PAL.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to convert “mechanical energy into electrical energy, as is known by one of ordinary skill in the art” as taught by PAL (see para [0016]).
Regarding claim 20, ROUX discloses the electric machine according to claim 12, wherein the flow element 10 has
at least one guide channel 52 which is configured to direct a fluid flow to a rotor (Fig. 1).
However, ROUX does not disclose the rotor having a winding.
PAL discloses an electric machine with a flow element (24, 36) configured to direct a fluid flow to a rotor winding 26 (see para [0020]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the electric machine of ROUX with a rotor having windings, similar to PAL.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to convert “mechanical energy into electrical energy, as is known by one of ordinary skill in the art” as taught by PAL (see para [0016]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20220360133-A1 Striedelmeyer plurality of flow structures 15,16 having a rounded knob shape and being arranged in a predicted flow path; US-20240235303-A1 PIEPER discloses a plurality of flow structures 51 having a rounded knob shape and being arranged in a predicted flow path.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834