DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)/second paragraph
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a weight ratio of the polyol and polyisocyanate “components” which is vague because it is unclear if this corresponds to the weight ratio of polyol and polyisocyanate compounds or if it also encompasses other ingredients (e.g., if a solvent or other non-polyol, non-isocyanate compounds are included in one of the two “components,” are they included in the weight ratio?). It would appear remedial to recite the weight ratio in terms of the polyol and polyisocyanate (without “component”).
Claim 13 recites various terms already recited in claim 1 with “a” instead of “the” which makes the claim have vague antecedent basis.
The rest of the rejected claims not specifically addressed above are rejected because they depend from one of the claims specifically addressed above and therefore include the same indefiniteness issue(s) via their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah (U.S. 2016/0144603) in view of Susano (U.S. 2002/0143102).
Regarding claims 1-4, 7-13, Shah teaches an article (as in claim 12) comprising a blown (as in claim 9, though this is an immaterial product by process limitation, [0051]) PE laminate comprising sealant, core and skin layers (as in claim 4, [0044]), with optional antioxidants (as in claim 8, [0030]) and no fatty acid derivatives required (as claimed), that is metallized on the skin layer (as in claim 3, with metals overlapping claim 10, and an optical density overlapping claim 7, [0047]-[0048]), and then adhered (as in claim 13) with a generic urethane adhesive ([0058]) to a PET or PP (i.e., entirely PP as in claim 11, [0045]) film.
Shah does not disclose the particular urethane adhesive, however, Susano discloses a two part solvent born ([0042]) urethane adhesive suitable for bonding metal/metalized layers and PET/PP materials ([0043]) that comprises a polyester polyol with aromatic repeating units for heat resistance (such that the amount of such aromatic units in the polyester polyol is obvious to adjust to within the claimed range as part of optimizing heat resistance, [0025]) and with an overlapping MW ([0038]) and inherently having two terminal OH groups based on the disclosed polyester polyol forming reactants (i.e., diols and dicarboxylic acids, [0024]-[0025]), as well as a polyisocyanate (e.g., TDI, as in the present application, [0016]) that is combined with the polyol at a stoichiometric ratio ([0040], which results in the claimed weight ratio, as in claim 2, because the polyol has an overlapping MW compared to the present invention and an overlapping number of OH groups per molecule, such that providing a stoichiometric equivalent of the much lower MW TDI would require a much higher weight of the polyol relative to the TDI, as in the present application), such that the urethane adhesive of Susano would be obvious to use as the urethane adhesive called for in Shah because it provides adhesion between the two substrates used in Shah and prevents spoilage ([0009]).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah (U.S. 2016/0144603) in view of Susano (U.S. 2002/0143102), as applied to claim 1, in view of Pellingra (U.S. 2005/0238874).
Regarding claims 5-6, modified Shah teaches all of the above subject matter but does not disclose the sealant additives of claims 5-6, however, Pellingra teaches that such additives were known to be useful in PE sealant layers for slip/low friction and to prevent blocking, such that it would have been obvious to have included such additives, and adjusted their relative amounts to within the claimed ranges in order to optimize slip and blocking properties, respectively, as processing aids as taught by Pellingra ([0068]).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/698,564 (the copending application) in view of Shah (U.S. 2016/0144603). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims are substantially the same except that the secondary substrate is different in the copending application, however, Shah (citations above) shows that the presently claimed second substrate materials were known and obvious alternatives to the secondary substrate in the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787