DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, as recited in claim 3, the “… the light reflected from the off-axis reflection diffraction optical element travels in a same direction as the traveling direction of the light incident from the light source.” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/18/2024, 2/20/2025, and 3/24/2025 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 4,981,332, of record) in view of Wood (US 4,669,810, of record).
Regarding Claim 1, Smith discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 1, display, Col. 2, lines 30-35) comprising:
a light source (Fig. 1, light source 11, Col. 2, lines 30-35);
a compensating diffraction optical element (Fig. 1, compensating hologram 13A, Col. 2, lines 39-45) that is configured to reflect a light incident from the light source (Fig. 1, compensating hologram 13A reflects light from light source 11 at an angle A, Col. 2, lines 39-45); and
a(n) reflection diffraction optical element (Fig. 1, image hologram 15A, Col. 2, lines 40-48) that is configured to reflect a light reflected from the compensating diffraction optical element to an outside of the display apparatus (Fig. 1, image hologram 15A reflects light at an angle of A’, Col. 2, lines 40-48),
wherein a light reflected from the reflection diffraction optical element travels in a direction parallel to a traveling direction of the light incident from the light source (Fig. 1, angle A and angle of A’ are equal, Col. 2, lines 49-60, which is the case when a transversal line passes two parallel lines and the alternate angles are equal).
Smith does not specifically disclose an off-axis reflection diffraction optical element.
However, Wood, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an off-axis reflection diffraction optical element (Col. 4, lines 10-23, Fig. 2, holographic optical element 12), for the purpose of redirecting image light away from the optical axis and towards the eye box of the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the display apparatus of Smith with an off-axis reflection diffraction optical element, of Wood, for the purpose of redirecting image light away from the optical axis and towards the eye box of the user.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 4,981,332, of record) in view of Wood (US 4,669,810, of record), further in view of Hua et al. (US 2021/0255464).
Regarding Claim 2, Smith in view of Wood discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the light source is a liquid crystal display (LCD) panel or an organic light emitting diode (OLED) panel.
However, Hua, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the light source is a liquid crystal display (LCD) panel or an organic light emitting diode (OLED) panel (Fig. 15A, micro display 1520 is an OLED, Paragraph 0058, lines 13-15), for the purpose of providing a wide emission angle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the display apparatus of Smith in view of Wood with the wherein the light source is a liquid crystal display (LCD) panel or an organic light emitting diode (OLED) panel of, Hua, for the purpose of providing a wide emission angle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claim 3, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a display apparatus including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the display apparatus is configured such that the light reflected from the off-axis reflection diffraction optical element travels in a same direction as the traveling direction of the light incident from the light source.
Specifically, with respect to claim 4, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a display apparatus including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the display apparatus is configured such that an angle difference of a light incident to the off-axis reflection diffraction optical element is different from an angle difference of the light reflected from the off-axis reflection diffraction optical element, and wherein the compensating diffraction optical element is configured to compensate so that the angle difference of the light reflected from the off-axis reflection diffraction optical element is equal to an angle difference of a light incident to the compensating diffraction optical element.
Specifically, with respect to claim 5, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a display apparatus including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the display apparatus is configured such that an angle of the light reflected from the off-axis reflection diffraction optical element differs depending on a wavelength of a light incident to the off-axis reflection diffraction optical element, and wherein the compensating diffraction optical element is configured to compensate so that the angle of the light reflected from the off-axis reflection diffraction optical element is equal to an angle of the light incident to the compensating diffraction optical element.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. McEldowney (US 10,712,576), Smith et al. (US 10,684,476), Smith et al. (US 2016/0109710), Cheng et al. (US 2020/0103654), Hua et al. (US 10,739,578), Hua et al. (US 2018/0045949), Cheng et al. (US 10,416,452), Cheng et al. (US 2016/0085075), Hua et al. (US 9,720,232), Hua et al. (US 2014/0361957), Cheng et al. (US 9,244,277), Cheng et al. (US 2013/0187836), Cheng et al. (US 9,239,453), and Cheng et al. (US 2014/0009845) are cited to show similar displays.
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872