DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 10, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first aqueous material" in the second line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 introduces an aqueous material, but it is not clear if this aqueous material is the “first” aqueous material to which claim 4 refers.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 USC 112(b) because it depends on claim 4.
Claims 10 and 12 recite the limitation "the aqueous lithium-bearing material" in claim 10 line 2, claim 12 line 2, and claim 12 line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 10 and 12 depend on claim 1 which introduce an aqueous material, but it is not clear from the claim as worded whether this material is the lithium-bearing material or if this material becomes the lithium-bearing material at some stage. This antecedent basis issue appears to be an artifact from the dependence of claims 10 and 12 on now-cancelled independent claim 6 in the PCT application for which the present application is a national stage entry.
Claim 16 claims “a third inertial density sensor is coupled to the lithium concentrate to determine lithium concentration of the lithium concentrate”. Claim 16 depends on claim 15. Claim 15 claims “a third inertial density sensor is used to determine a third density of the eluent, a fourth inertial density sensor is used to determine a fourth density of the lithium extract”. Claim 15 depends on claim 14 which claims “a first inertial density sensor coupled to the aqueous lithium-bearing material” and “a second inertial density sensor is coupled to the lithium-depleted material”. Within the specification, a fourth inertial density sensor 424 is coupled to the lithium product, which the specification indicates as a lithium concentrate product of a concentrator (paragraph [0055] of the specification as filed). The specification indicates a fifth inertial density sensor 426 can be coupled to the eluent [0056] and a second inertial density sensor 416 is coupled to the lithium extract [0052]. The specification indicates an optional third inertial density sensor 420 can be coupled to the aqueous lithium-bearing material [0054], and a first inertial density sensor 414 is coupled to the lithium-depleted material [0052]. The specification clearly shows and discloses that the five sensors are different sensors ([0052-55], Fig. 4). In designating both the sensor coupled to the lithium concentrate and the sensor used to determine a third density of the eluent as a “third inertial density sensor” claim 16 indicates that these are the same sensor. It is not clear how the third sensor of claim 16 is coupled to both the lithium concentrate and the eluent, particularly considering the specification discloses these as different sensors. If the “third” sensor of claim 16 is intended as a different sensor from the “third” sensor of claim 15, on which claim 16 depends, please change the designation of one of the “third” sensors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, and 12-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jariwala (US20210246529) in view of Henry (US20140202238). Jariwala and Henry are both cited in the IDS filed January 15, 2025. Jariwala was published prior to the earliest effective filing date of the present application and names at least one inventor who is not listed as an inventor of the present application.
Regarding claim 1, Jariwala discloses a method (abstract, [0002], [0010], [0038], Figs. 2A-4). Jariwala discloses detecting a first concentration of an aqueous material using a concentration sensor (Lithium sensors coupled to the brine feed line [0045], [0095]). Jariwala discloses performing an operation on the aqueous material to change a lithium concentration of the aqueous material (separates lithium from other non-lithium species, at least in part, to facilitate lithium recovery [0038], [0042], [0045]). Jariwala discloses after performing the operation, detecting a second concentration of the aqueous material using a concentration sensor (lithium sensor coupled to lithium-depleted effluent lines [0045]). Jariwala discloses comparing the first concentration with the second concentration, and determining a change in concentration of lithium in the aqueous material based on the comparison (detect lithium increase in the lithium-depleted effluent, provide lithium concentration information for use in process control [0045]).
Jariwala does not disclose that the first and second sensors are inertial density sensors which measure density.
Henry teaches determining concentrations of components in a multiphase flow [0002]. Henry teaches detecting a first density of an aqueous material (mixture which includes water flows through a flowmeter into a separation vessel [0015-16], combination flowed through second flowmeter 106 [0017], [0020], second flowmeter 106 transmits density, mass flow rate, and volumetric flow rate values to the computer system [0022], Fig. 1). Henry teaches performing an operation on the aqueous material to change a constituent concentration of the aqueous material (in separation vessel 114 [0015-17], Fig. 1). Henry teaches after performing the operation, detecting a second density of the aqueous material using an inertial density sensor (Once the constituents have been separated, pure HF mix (that includes HF, water, and ASO) flows through a conductivity sensor and transmitter 118, the first flowmeter 108, and a pressure sensor and transmitter 120, which collectively can measure parameters--conductivity, density [0018], [0020]). Henry teaches that the sensors to measure density are Coriolis meters [0016], [0046]. A Coriolis flowmeter which measures density is an inertial density sensor. Henry teaches comparing the first density with the second density; and determining a change in concentration of lithium in the aqueous material based on the comparison [0016], [0022]. Henry teaches that the taught systems for density measurement can be simple--mere lengths of pipes--in comparison to other systems that can be used to perform similar operations [0007].
Both Jariwala and Henry teach methods comprising measuring flow properties of an aqueous feed, performing action to change the composition of the feed, and measuring properties of the resulting fluid following a process to change the composition. Both Jariwala and Henry further teach controlling system parameters based on the measured properties.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide inertial density sensors to measure density as the sensors to measure flow properties disclosed by Jariwala [0045] because Henry teaches that such density sensors are simple in comparison to other sensors, and that such sensors can effectively provide measurements by which system parameters determining concentration can be adjusted [0007], [0015-22], [0046]. Jariwala is broadly open to appropriate sensors for measuring properties of flow systems [0045], and in view of Henry [0007], [0015-22], [0046], such inertial density sensors would predictably be effective in measuring system parameters for controlling processes that separate constituents from mixtures comprising water. Henry teaches that the sensors measure changes in concentration [0019], [0063], and Jariwala discloses applying measurements from sensors to control system parameters based on concentration [0045]; therefore, in applying the sensors taught by Henry [0015-22], it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to control system parameters to some extent based on changes in concentration which are in some way based on measurements from the inertial density sensors taught by Henry [0015-22].
Regarding claim 2, Jariwala discloses that sensors may measuring flowrate [0045]. Henry teaches that the sensors relied upon above measure mass flow rate (mass flow) (abstract, [0015], [0019-20]). As Henry teaches that the sensors taught by Henry, applied above measure mass flow rate, application of such sensors would detect mass flow rate of the aqueous material using those sensors.
Regarding claim 3, Henry teaches that the sensors of the method disclosed by Jariwala in view of Henry, applied above are Coriolis sensors [0016], [0046].
Regarding claim 4, Jariwala teaches applying measurements from sensors to determine lithium concentration (provide lithium concentration information for use in process control [0045]). Henry teaches that applying measurements of the sensors to determine concentration of the feed material using a calibration relation with measurements from multiple sensors [0019], [0063]. Jariwala discloses applying measurements from sensors to control feed conditions and discloses lithium concentration as a result measured [0045]. In order to apply the sensors taught by Henry in the process disclosed by Jariwala in view of Henry, applied above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the measured results to determine the concentration of feed material by calibration, as taught by Henry for such sensors [0019], [0063]. As the feed material disclosed by Jariwala comprises lithium [0038], [0040-41], [0045], such calibration would determine a concentration of lithium.
Regarding claim 5, Henry teaches applying the determining by calibration to determine all constituents of the feed [0019], [0063]. Jariwala further discloses applying measurements from sensors to determine non-lithium species (multiple ions) of the aqueous material [0045]. In applying the sensors taught by Henry, as applied to claim 1 above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to determine concentration of non-lithium species in the aqueous material disclosed by Jariwala because Henry teaches applying such sensors for determining species in the feed material [0019], [0063] and Jariwala discloses controlling the concentration of species, including non-lithium species in the feed material [0045].
Regarding claim 10, Jariwala discloses varying a flow rate of the aqueous lithium-bearing material based on the comparison of the measured sensors [0045], [0049].
Regarding claim 12, Jariwala teaches that both the concentration of non-lithium and lithium constituents of the aqueous material affect operations [0045]. Jariwala teaches applying measurements from sensors to determine lithium concentration (provide lithium concentration information for use in process control [0045]). Henry teaches that applying measurements of the sensors to determine concentration of the feed material using a calibration relation with measurements from multiple sensors [0019], [0063], and Henry teaches applying density measurements to control parameters [0015-22]. As both Jariwala [0043], [0045] and Henry [0017-19], [0063] teach determining concentration based on measurements from concentration and density, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to determine a lithium concentration of the aqueous material disclosed by Jariwala, applied above to some extent based on the density and concentration measurements (including measurements of non-lithium species) of the sensors taught by Henry in the process disclosed by Jariwala in view of Henry, applied above.
Regarding claim 13, Jariwala discloses a method (abstract, [0002], [0038], Figs. 2A-2B). Jariwala discloses that the method comprises extracting lithium from an aqueous lithium-bearing material (lithium-bearing brine stream) in an extraction stage (resin unit 202) to form a lithium extract (lithium-bearing effluent 214) (abstract, [0002], [0038-39]). Jariwala discloses transforming the lithium extract into a lithium product in a processing stage (third process 104) [0027], [0043], [0051]. Jariwala discloses using a sensor to control operation of the extraction stage [0045].
Jariwala does not disclose that the sensor is an inertial density sensor.
Henry teaches determining concentrations of components in a multiphase flow [0002]. Henry teaches detecting a first density of an aqueous material (mixture which includes water flows through a flowmeter into a separation vessel [0015-16], combination flowed through second flowmeter 106 [0017], [0020], second flowmeter 106 transmits density, mass flow rate, and volumetric flow rate values to the computer system [0022], Fig. 1). Henry teaches performing an operation on the aqueous material to change a constituent concentration of the aqueous material (in separation vessel 114 [0015-17], Fig. 1). Henry teaches after performing the operation, detecting a second density of the aqueous material using an inertial density sensor (Once the constituents have been separated, pure HF mix (that includes HF, water, and ASO) flows through a conductivity sensor and transmitter 118, the first flowmeter 108, and a pressure sensor and transmitter 120, which collectively can measure parameters--conductivity, density [0018], [0020]). Henry teaches that the sensors to measure density are Coriolis meters [0016], [0046]. A Coriolis flowmeter which measures density is an inertial density sensor. Henry teaches comparing the first density with the second density; and determining a change in concentration of lithium in the aqueous material based on the comparison [0016], [0022]. Henry teaches that the taught systems for density measurement can be simple--mere lengths of pipes--in comparison to other systems that can be used to perform similar operations [0007].
Both Jariwala and Henry teach methods comprising measuring flow properties of an aqueous feed, performing action to change the composition of the feed, and measuring properties of the resulting fluid following a process to change the composition. Both Jariwala and Henry further teach controlling system parameters based on the measured properties.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide inertial density sensors to measure density as the sensors to measure flow properties in the extraction stage disclosed by Jariwala [0045] because Henry teaches that such density sensors are simple in comparison to other sensors, and that such sensors can effectively provide measurements by which system parameters determining concentration can be adjusted [0007], [0015-22], [0046]. Jariwala is broadly open to appropriate sensors for measuring properties of flow systems [0045], and in view of Henry [0007], [0015-22], [0046], such inertial density sensors would predictably be effective in measuring system parameters for controlling processes that separate constituents from mixtures comprising water.
Regarding claim 14, Jariwala discloses that the extraction stage uses a solid lithium-selective medium (resin bed 206) to withdraw lithium ions from the aqueous lithium-bearing material to form a lithium-depleted material [0038-39]. Jariwala discloses that the sensor coupled to the aqueous lithium-bearing material to determine measurements of the aqueous lithium-bearing material (Lithium sensors coupled to the brine feed line [0045], [0095]). Jariwala discloses a sensor coupled to the lithium-depleted material to determine measurements of the lithium-depleted material (to the lithium-depleted effluent [0045]). Jariwala does not disclose that the sensors are inertial density sensors which measure density; however, considering the teachings of Henry for inertial density sensors in separation processes [0015-22], as applied to claim 13 above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to supply the aqueous material supply and lithium depleted material sensors as inertial density sensors. Henry teaches measuring densities and applying the result to determine concentration [0019], [0063], and Jariwala teaches controlling operation of the extraction stage based on measurements from the sensors [0045]; therefore, a process wherein some values in measured densities between the aqueous lithium-bearing material and the lithium-depleted material, and therefore any difference in such densities, is to some extent used to control operation of the extraction stage, in the method disclosed by Jariwala, in view of Henry, applied above.
Regarding claim 15, Jariwala discloses that the extraction stage uses an eluent (flush water) to remove the lithium ions from the lithium-selective medium to form the lithium extract [0043]. Jariwala discloses a sensor to determine a density of the lithium-extract (coupled to the lithium bearing effluent line [0045]). Considering the teachings of Henry for inertial density sensors [0015-22], as applied to claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art at the time of filing, to provide the sensor coupled to the lithium extract as an inertial density sensor.
Jariwala does not disclose a sensor to measure properties of the eluent, but Jariwala discloses controlling the flow rate of the eluent to affect the concentration of lithium [0040]. Considering Jariwala discloses applying measurements of sensors to control flow rate [0045]; Jariwala discloses that eluent flow affects lithium concentration [0040], and Henry teaches that inertial density sensors are effective at measuring flow [0015-22] and calibrating concentration from measured densities [0019], [0063], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to measure the density of the of the eluent with an inertial density sensor. Jariwala [0045] and Henry [0015-22], [0063] both teach controlling process parameters based on comparisons of sensor measurements; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to some extent control the operation of the extraction system of the process disclosed by Jariwala by some reference to the densities measured by the sensors coupled to the eluent and extract, and therefore in some way dependent on the difference in densities between the eluent and extract.
Regarding claim 16, Jariwala discloses that the processing stage includes a concentrator that removes water from the lithium extract to form a lithium concentrate (abstract, [0034], [0052]). Jariwala disclose that the concentration of lithium in the lithium concentrate is at the lithium solubility limit [0052]. Considering Jariwala discloses applying the sensors to measure lithium concentration [0045], Jariwala discloses setting a limit on the lithium concentrate [0052] and Henry teaches that inertial density sensors are effective in monitoring, calibrating, and controlling concentrations of streams in processes that change constituent concentrations [0007], [0015-22], [0063], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to couple an inertial density sensor to the lithium concentrate in order to control the concentration of lithium in the lithium concentrate.
Regarding claim 17, Jariwala discloses a method of extracting lithium (abstract, [0002], [0038-39], Figs. 2A-2C). Jariwala discloses providing an aqueous material containing lithium (lithium bearing brine stream) to a direct lithium extraction unit (resin unit 202) [0038-39]. Jariwala discloses extracting lithium from the aqueous material containing lithium using a lithium-selective medium (resin bed 206) to yield a lithium extract (lithium-bearing effluent 214) and a lithium-depleted material (lithium-depleted brine) [0038-39]. Jariwala discloses determining concentration measurements of the aqueous material containing lithium using a sensor and concentration measurements of the lithium-depleted material using a sensor [0045]. Jariwala discloses comparing the concentration measurements and operating the direct lithium extraction unit based on the comparison [0045].
Jariwala does not disclose that the sensors are inertial density sensors which measure density.
Henry teaches determining concentrations of components in a multiphase flow [0002]. Henry teaches detecting a first density of an aqueous material (mixture which includes water flows through a flowmeter into a separation vessel [0015-16], combination flowed through second flowmeter 106 [0017], [0020], second flowmeter 106 transmits density, mass flow rate, and volumetric flow rate values to the computer system [0022], Fig. 1). Henry teaches performing an operation on the aqueous material to change a constituent concentration of the aqueous material (in separation vessel 114 [0015-17], Fig. 1). Henry teaches after performing the operation, detecting a second density of the aqueous material using an inertial density sensor (Once the constituents have been separated, pure HF mix (that includes HF, water, and ASO) flows through a conductivity sensor and transmitter 118, the first flowmeter 108, and a pressure sensor and transmitter 120, which collectively can measure parameters--conductivity, density [0018], [0020]). Henry teaches that the sensors to measure density are Coriolis meters [0016], [0046]. A Coriolis flowmeter which measures density is an inertial density sensor. Henry teaches comparing the first density with the second density; and determining a change in concentration of lithium in the aqueous material based on the comparison [0016], [0022]. Henry teaches that the taught systems for density measurement can be simple--mere lengths of pipes--in comparison to other systems that can be used to perform similar operations [0007].
Both Jariwala and Henry teach methods comprising measuring flow properties of an aqueous feed, performing action to change the composition of the feed, and measuring properties of the resulting fluid following a process to change the composition. Both Jariwala and Henry further teach controlling system parameters based on the measured properties.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide inertial density sensors to measure density as the sensors to measure flow properties disclosed by Jariwala [0045] because Henry teaches that such density sensors are simple in comparison to other sensors, and that such sensors can effectively provide measurements by which system parameters determining concentration can be adjusted [0007], [0015-22], [0046]. Jariwala is broadly open to appropriate sensors for measuring properties of flow systems [0045], and in view of Henry [0007], [0015-22], [0046], such inertial density sensors would predictably be effective in measuring system parameters for controlling processes that separate constituents from mixtures comprising water. Henry teaches that the sensors measure changes in concentration [0019], [0063], and Jariwala discloses applying measurements from sensors to control system parameters based on concentration [0045]; therefore, in applying the sensors taught by Henry [0015-22], it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to control system parameters to some extent based on changes in concentration which are in some way based on measurements from the inertial density sensors taught by Henry [0015-22].
Regarding claim 18, Henry teaches that the sensors coupled to different streams are separate sensors (first, second, and third flowmeters [0015], Fig. 1). As Henry teaches separate, individual sensors as effective for determining concentration [0019], [0063], in providing the inertial density sensors taught by Henry, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the sensors coupled to the individual streams in the process disclosed by Jariwala in view of Henry, applied to claim 17 are separate, individual sensors. Separate individual sensors meet the limitation wherein the sensors used to measure densities of different streams are different sensors.
Regarding claim 19, Jariwala discloses that operating the direct lithium extraction unit based on comparing sensor measurements comprises controlling flow rate or composition of the aqueous material containing lithium [0045].
Regarding claim 20, Jariwala discloses that operating the direct lithium extract unit comprises discontinuing flow of the aqueous material containing lithium at a time determined based on the concentration [0040], [0049] and after discontinuing flow of the aqueous material, flowing an eluent to the direct lithium extraction unit to yield the lithium extract [0040], [0049]. Considering Jariwala discloses this controlling step occurs when stream reach a concentration [0040] ,[0049], Jariwala discloses that the sensors measure concentration to control flow in process steps [0045] and Henry teaches that a comparison in measured densities to calibrate concentration [0019] [0063] in a steps which control process flow parameters [0015-22], it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to flow the eluent disclosed by Jariwala in view of Henry, applied above, in response to a comparison in measurements from density sensors.
Regarding claim 21, Jariwala discloses further processing the lithium extract in a process to remove water to form a lithium concentrate [0034], [0052]; therefore, the lithium extract disclosed by Jariwala [0038-40], [0043] is an aqueous material of the direct lithium extraction. One of the sensors disclosed by Jariwala in view of Henry, applied to claim 17 is an inertial density sensor coupled to the lithium extract.
Regarding claim 22, Jariwala discloses operating the direct lithium extraction unit based on measurements from the sensor couple lithium extract [0045].
Regarding claim 23, Jariwala discloses that operating the direct lithium extraction unit comprises regenerating the lithium-selective medium based on the concentration of lithium [0040], [0049]. Considering Jariwala discloses regenerating the material based on concentration [0040] [0049]; Jariwala discloses measuring lithium concentration with sensors [0045], and Henry teaches comparing measurements of the sensors to determine concentration and control process parameters based on a comparison of system measurements [0015-22]j, [0063], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to refresh the lithium-selective material of the method disclosed by Jariwala in view of Henry, applied above, to some extent based on a comparison of densities measured by the sensors disclosed by Jariwala in view of Henry.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20100206789 discloses an apparatus for removing water from solution (Title, [0001]). The reference discloses using Coriolis sensors to monitor mass and density changes in real time, which the reference teaches as advantageous over sampling [0075], [0078]. The reference discloses controlling operations based on the measured concentration [0010].
US20120312126 discloses a method, comprising: extracting lithium from an aqueous lithium-bearing material in an extraction stage to form a lithium extract; transforming the lithium extract into a lithium product in a processing stage; and using a sensor to control operation of the extraction stage (Fig. 1, [0043-44], [0049]).
/SEAN P. O'KEEFE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/ SPE, Art Unit 1738