DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a national stage entry under 35 USC 371 of PCT/US2022/077586, filed
05 October 2022. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for benefit under 35 USC 119(e) to US Provisional Application No. 63252520, filed 05 October 2021.
However, the Examiner notes that US Provisional Application No. 63252520 fails to disclose the sequences of at least SEQ ID NOs: 100, 102, 106, 114, 118, 119, and 122-126, with the first recitation of those sequences instead being in PCT/US2022/077586. As these sequences are recited within independent claim 90, the effective filing date of the instant invention is 05 October 2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, encompassing claims 90-96 in the reply filed on 21 July 2026 is acknowledged. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Accordingly, claims 97-109 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
In addition, Applicant’s election of 3xcore3_eGHT_453m (SEQ ID NO: 104) for the species of enhancer is acknowledged. However, the Examiner hereby withdraws the species election required in the Restriction Requirement filed 21 May 2026.
Therefore, claims 90-109, of record 13 June 2025, are pending. Claims 97-109 are withdrawn for reading on non-elected inventions. Prosecution on the merits commences for claims 90-96.
Specification
The substitute Specification filed 04 April 2024 is acknowledged and entered into the application file. However, the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The clean version of the substitute Specification filed 04 April 2024 retains revision markings, specifically within Paragraph [0001].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 91 and 94-95 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 91: The instant claim is objected to for reciting “a fluorescent protein or neurotransmitter” instead of “a fluorescent protein or a neurotransmitter”, or the like.
Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 94: The instant claim is objected to for reciting “wherein the artificial expression construct comprises or encodes a skipping element” instead of “wherein the artificial expression construct further comprises or encodes a skipping element”, as it is an additional component of the artificial expression construct.
Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 95: The instant claim is objected to for reciting “a T2A peptide, P2A peptide, E2A peptide, F2A peptide, or an internal ribosome entry site (IRES)” instead of “a T2A peptide, a P2A peptide, an E2A peptide, a F2A peptide, or an internal ribosome entry site (IRES)”, or the like.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 90-96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 90: The instant claim recites the limitation “an enhancer having the sequence of 3xcore3_eHGT_453m (SEQ ID NO: 104), eHGT_023m (SEQ ID NO: 2), 3xCore-eHGT_023h v3 (SEQ ID NO: 26), eHGT_181h (SEQ ID NO: 8), eHGT_023h v2 (SEQ ID NO: 4), eHGT_356h (SEQ ID NO: 10), eHGT_467m (SEQ ID NO: 18), eHGT_483m (SEQ ID NO: 19), eHGT_796h (SEQ ID NO: 22), eHGT_588m (SEQ ID NO: 24), eHGT_007m (SEQ ID NO: 13), eHGT_589m (SEQ ID NO: 100), eHGT_963m (SEQ ID NO: 102), 3xcore2_eHGT_387m (SEQ ID NO: 106), eHGT_882m (SEQ ID NO: 114), MGTE122 (SEQ ID NO: 118), MGTE146 (SEQ ID NO: 119), 3xcore_MGT_E116 (SEQ ID NO: 122), MGT_E150 (SEQ ID NO: 123), eHGT_1032h (SEQ ID NO: 124), eHGT_1027h (SEQ ID NO: 125), or eHGT_1027m (SEQ ID NO: 126)”. The scope of the claim is indefinite, as it is unclear if the parenthetical language is required by the claim, or is instead optional. Therefore, since the recitation of the parenthetical language is being treated as exemplary language, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Instant claims 91-96 are included in the rejection because they depend from instant claim 90 and fail to correct the deficiencies of the parent claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
For the sake of compact prosecution, the instant claim is interpreted as requiring the associated sequence identifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 90-96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ting et al (WO 2020/168279 A2, of record on IDS filed 04 April 2024). It is of note that although Ting et al share joint inventors and a common assignee/applicant with the instant application, Ting et al is published greater than one year prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention and constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) at a minimum.
Ting et al disclose artificial expression constructs for selectively modulating gene expression in selected central nervous system cell types, wherein the artificial expression constructs comprise an enhancer, a promoter, and a coding sequence of either a fluorescent protein or a neurotransmitter (Abstract; Paragraphs [0009], [0036]-[0040], [0048]-[0051], [0054], [0138]).
As such, Ting et al disclose an artificial expression construct embodiment named CN1259 comprising an enhancer having the sequence of eHGT_023h, a minBGlobin promoter, and a SYFYP2 fluorescent protein (Paragraphs [0007], [0018], [0030], [0034], [0130], [0138]; Figures 21A, 22). Ting et al further disclose that the CN1259 artificial expression construct comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 54, which has 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 4 (Paragraph [0030]; Figure 22). See sequence alignment at the end of document.
Ting et al further disclose that the artificial expression constructs are comprised within a viral vector having a capsid protein that can cross the blood-brain barrier, including PHP.eB (Paragraphs [0007], [0009], [0027], [0034]-[0036], [0064]-[0095], [0138]).
Ting et al further disclose that the artificial expression construct further comprises a skipping element, wherein the skipping element is P2A, T2A, E2A, F2A, or an internal ribosome entry site (Paragraphs [0030], [0060], [0138]; Figure 22).
Accordingly, Ting et al anticipate the claims as follows:
Regarding claims 90-91: Ting et al disclose an artificial expression construct comprising an enhancer having the sequence of eHGT_023h, a minBGlobin promoter, and a SYFYP2 fluorescent protein (claim 91), wherein the artificial expression construct comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 54. As the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 54 has 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 4, this therefore reads on the artificial expression construct of instant claim 90.
Regarding claims 92-93 and 96: Following the discussion of claim 90, Ting et al further disclose that the artificial expression constructs are comprised within a viral vector (claim 96) having a capsid protein that can cross the blood-brain barrier (claim 92), including PHP.eB (claim 93). This therefore reads on the artificial expression construct of this instant claims.
Regarding claims 94-95: Following the discussion of claim 90, Ting et al further disclose that the artificial expression construct further comprises a skipping element (claim 94), wherein the skipping element is P2A, T2A, E2A, F2A, or an internal ribosome entry site (claim 95). This therefore reads on the artificial expression construct of this instant claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 90-96 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 59-65 of copending Application No. 18/717907 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims anticipate the instant claims.
Copending claim 59 is directed to an artificial expression construct comprising (i) an enhancer selected from SEQ ID NO 5, SEQ ID NO 6, SEQ ID NO: 62, SEQ ID NO: 63, SEQ ID NO: 64, SEQ ID NO: 65, SEQ ID NO: 66, SEQ ID NO: 67, SEQ ID NO: 68, SEQ ID NO: 69, SEQ ID NO:70, SEQ ID NO: 71, SEQ ID NO: 2, SEQ ID NO: 61, or SEQ ID NO 4 or a sequence having at least 95% sequence identity to the sequence as set forth in any of SEQ ID NOs: 2, 4-6, or 61-71 and having a same enhancer activity as SEQ ID NOs: 2, 4-6, or 61-71, wherein the same enhancer activity comprises selective expression within layer 4 or layer 5 intratelencephalic (IT) neurons; (ii) a promoter; and (iii) a coding sequence.
This therefore anticipates the artificial expression construct of instant claim 90, as the enhancer of copending claim 59 having a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 62 is identical to the enhancer having a sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 13. See sequence alignment below.
With that, copending claims 60-65 directly teach the limitations of instant claims 91-96.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
The Examiner notes that the originally elected enhancer species of 3xcore3_eGHT_453m having a required sequence of SEQ ID NO: 104 is free of the art.
Conclusion
/ALYSSA G WESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
Sequence Alignment
Query Match 100.0%; Score 633; Matches 633; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GCGTCCCTAAGCTGAGCTGAGACGTTTTAGTTATAAATGGCTTCTGTGCTTAGCAATCTG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9 GCGTCCCTAAGCTGAGCTGAGACGTTTTAGTTATAAATGGCTTCTGTGCTTAGCAATCTG 68
Qy 61 CTCTTTTTATTCCCGTGTGGACTTTCCCTAGCTCTGGCCTTATGCTGCACTAGAAAAGAT 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 69 CTCTTTTTATTCCCGTGTGGACTTTCCCTAGCTCTGGCCTTATGCTGCACTAGAAAAGAT 128
Qy 121 TTAGCAAGGGGAGAGGAAGCAGCCTTCCTTACATAACTGGCCTCTTGTGAAAGGGAGCAG 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 129 TTAGCAAGGGGAGAGGAAGCAGCCTTCCTTACATAACTGGCCTCTTGTGAAAGGGAGCAG 188
Qy 181 CTGCTTGGTGGAAAAAGACATTCCCCTCCATGCATCCCTCTCCTTCTGCCTCTGGGGGTT 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 189 CTGCTTGGTGGAAAAAGACATTCCCCTCCATGCATCCCTCTCCTTCTGCCTCTGGGGGTT 248
Qy 241 GCAGCTTGAGTCAGAACCAGGACCATTTAACTCCAACCTTTGAGGAAGAGACGCACCCTG 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 249 GCAGCTTGAGTCAGAACCAGGACCATTTAACTCCAACCTTTGAGGAAGAGACGCACCCTG 308
Qy 301 GCCCCAGCCACGCCTGTTAGAATCTTCCTAGCTGAGTGACACAGTGACACTCAGCCTCAG 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 309 GCCCCAGCCACGCCTGTTAGAATCTTCCTAGCTGAGTGACACAGTGACACTCAGCCTCAG 368
Qy 361 TTTCTCTGTAAACAAAATGAAGATAAGAGAGCCGACGAGGATGAAATGGAATAACACACC 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 369 TTTCTCTGTAAACAAAATGAAGATAAGAGAGCCGACGAGGATGAAATGGAATAACACACC 428
Qy 421 GTGCGGTGCCTGGTACAGAGTGAGCCCCAGAACTGTTGACGCGGCCTCCTTGTGGCTGTC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 429 GTGCGGTGCCTGGTACAGAGTGAGCCCCAGAACTGTTGACGCGGCCTCCTTGTGGCTGTC 488
Qy 481 TGGCTTGACCCGGAGTGACTCTGCCTCCCAGTTCTCCGGGATGGGAAGGTGATCCCTGTT 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 489 TGGCTTGACCCGGAGTGACTCTGCCTCCCAGTTCTCCGGGATGGGAAGGTGATCCCTGTT 548
Qy 541 TGAGATACCAATTTATAAGAAACCGAGCCCGGGAGCTATTTAGAGGTGAGGTGATAAACC 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 549 TGAGATACCAATTTATAAGAAACCGAGCCCGGGAGCTATTTAGAGGTGAGGTGATAAACC 608
Qy 601 AGGAGGCCGGCTCCTTCATCCCGGTCATCACGA 633 (INSTANT SEQ ID NO: 4)
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 609 AGGAGGCCGGCTCCTTCATCCCGGTCATCACGA 641 (TING ET AL SEQ ID NO: 54)
Query Match 100.0%; Score 508; Matches 508; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 CTGGTAGAGTGGCAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAAAAGGAAACGCTAGAAAAGCTGAGCTGCAAGC 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 CTGGTAGAGTGGCAGAGAGAGAGAGAGAAAAGGAAACGCTAGAAAAGCTGAGCTGCAAGC 60
Qy 61 CCAGGCTGCCATTTGAAAGAGCAGTTGAGGAAGATCTGAATGAAAAACTCTGCAAATTTA 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 CCAGGCTGCCATTTGAAAGAGCAGTTGAGGAAGATCTGAATGAAAAACTCTGCAAATTTA 120
Qy 121 TGCTAATTGTGTTCAGTTCCATGAGTTTCATCCCATTGAGTGGGAGCCAGGCCACCTGAT 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 TGCTAATTGTGTTCAGTTCCATGAGTTTCATCCCATTGAGTGGGAGCCAGGCCACCTGAT 180
Qy 181 TGCTTCTCCTTTTGGTAAAGAACATCTCAGATGAACCAGCTGTCATGGACATGGTTCAGA 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 TGCTTCTCCTTTTGGTAAAGAACATCTCAGATGAACCAGCTGTCATGGACATGGTTCAGA 240
Qy 241 AAATTGGCCCTAAAAAGAAACCTGGGCCATCTGTGTGTGCTGTTCTATTCATAGGATGCC 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 AAATTGGCCCTAAAAAGAAACCTGGGCCATCTGTGTGTGCTGTTCTATTCATAGGATGCC 300
Qy 301 CTCCAAATCACATATTTCTATTAGGAACCTCACAGCAAGGGCCTCTACCATGGGAGCAAT 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 CTCCAAATCACATATTTCTATTAGGAACCTCACAGCAAGGGCCTCTACCATGGGAGCAAT 360
Qy 361 AGAGAACATTGGTCATCATCATCTATTGCACTCCCTTGGGGTGGGAGTGCTGTGATTTCT 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 AGAGAACATTGGTCATCATCATCTATTGCACTCCCTTGGGGTGGGAGTGCTGTGATTTCT 420
Qy 421 AGCAAAGAGAACTCAGGGCTGAGGTAGATAACAAAGACAACTTGGAATGTCTAACGTGAG 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 AGCAAAGAGAACTCAGGGCTGAGGTAGATAACAAAGACAACTTGGAATGTCTAACGTGAG 480
Qy 481 GAAGCATCCTTCTCTTCCTTTTGCTTTG 508 (INSTANT SEQ ID NO: 13)
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 GAAGCATCCTTCTCTTCCTTTTGCTTTG 508 (18/717907 SEQ ID NO: 62)