DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 24-38) in the reply filed on May 04, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the method claims of Group II have been amended to specifically recite using the device of claim 24 of Group I. Accordingly. There is unity of invention between the method claims of Group II and the device claims of Group I, so that both groups should be examined in the application. This argument is found persuasive and claims 39-45 (the previously claim 46 of Group II has been canceled) of Group II are hereby rejoined and fully examined for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: a direction Q (figs. 1-2).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drawing of “strainer bars (claim 31”, “a recovery device (claim 32)”, “a housing or casing (claim 33)”, “an aspiration device (claim 34)”, “an inert gas supply (claim 35)”, “a trub shearing device (claim 36)”, “water cooled drives (claim 37)”, and “breaker rings and/or cake breaker (claim 38)” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
If claim limitations in this application that use the word "means" (or "step"), they are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, if claim limitations in this application that do not use the word "means" (or "step"), they are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-26, 32-34, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Borjesson et al. (hereinafter “Borjesson”) (US 2005/0160923 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Borjesson discloses a device for pressing configured as a screw press (1), comprising: a worm shaft (3); a pressing chamber (fig. 1) in which a pressed material or pressed cake is pressable by the worm shaft (3) (see para. 15); a strainer basket (see the drawing #1 below) that bounds the pressing chamber in a radial direction; and means for supplying (11) an extraction agent (see para. 22) into the pressing chamber, the extraction agent being a fat dissolver (see “a fat and/or protein dissolving washing agent” in para. 19 and 22).
Drawing #1:
Regarding claim 25, the device for pressing according to claim 24, wherein the means for supplying the extraction agent are configured to supply the extraction agent in a liquid state (see “liquid: in para. 16).
Regarding claim 26, the device for pressing according to claim 24, wherein the means for supplying an extracting agent includes an extracting agent source (10) and at least one extracting agent outlet (11) arranged so as to introduce the extracting agent into the pressing chamber (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 32, the device for pressing according to claim 24, further comprising a recovery device (see “recovered” in para. 21) for the extraction agent.
Regarding claim 33, the device for pressing according to claim 24, further comprising a housing or casing (5) that encapsulates the device for pressing in a gas-tight manner.
Regarding claim 34, the device for pressing according to claim 24, further comprising an aspiration device (4), which achieve a compression of a waste matter.
Regarding claim 39, a method for pressing, comprising the steps of:
introducing a pressed material (2) (see fig. 1) or a pressed cake through a feed opening (7) into a device according to claim 24 configured as a screw press (1);
transporting and pressing the pressed material or the pressed cake with the worm shaft through the pressing chamber so that a liquid is pressed out of the pressed material or the pressed cake, and the pressed liquid emerges from the pressing chamber through openings (40) (see para. 15);
providing an extraction agent from the means for supplying an extraction agent, wherein the extraction agent is a fat solvent (see para. 19 and 22);
supplying the extraction agent from the means for supplying the extraction agent into the press chamber in a liquid state (see para. 16, 19, 22); and
cooling the press cake and/or the pressed liquid with aid of the extraction agent and dissolving oil contained in the press cake (see “a fat and or protein dissolving washing agent” in para. 22), wherein the extraction agent with the dissolved oil emerges from the pressing chamber through openings and evaporates (see the last five lines of para. 15).
Claims 24-34, 36-40, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schulz (WO 2008/116457 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Schulz discloses a device for pressing configured as a screw press (fig. 1), comprising: a worm shaft (4, 7); a pressing chamber (22) in which a pressed material or pressed cake is pressable by the worm shaft (fig. 1); a strainer basket (2) that bounds the pressing chamber in a radial direction (fig. 1); and means for supplying (13-21) an extraction agent into the pressing chamber (fig. 1), the extraction agent being a fat dissolver (see “super critical carbon dioxide” in abstract, which is a fat dissolver).
Regarding claim 25, the device for pressing according to claim 24, wherein the means for supplying (13-21) the extraction agent are configured to supply the extraction agent in a liquid state (see page 5, second paragraph of the English translation).
Regarding claim 26, the device for pressing according to claim 24, wherein the means for supplying an extracting agent (13-21) includes an extracting agent source (13) and at least one extracting agent outlet (21) arranged so as to introduce the extracting agent into the pressing chamber (fig. 20).
Regarding claim 27, the device for pressing according to claim 26, wherein the means for supplying an extracting agent (13-21) further includes an extracting agent line (fig. 2) that connects the extracting agent source (13) to the at least one extracting agent outlet (21), and at least one of an extracting agent valve (17-20), an extracting agent pump (15) and a heat exchanger (16) that is arranged in a region of the extracting agent line (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 28, the device for pressing according to claim 26, wherein the at least one extraction agent outlet (21) is configured and arranged so that the extraction agent is introduced into the pressing chamber close to the worm shaft (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 29, the device for pressing according to claim 26, further comprising a sealed region arranged at least in a region (see a “region 24” between the left throttle (6) and the right throttle (6) in fig. 2) immediately adjacent to the extraction agent outlet (21) in a conveying direction.
Regarding claim 30, the device for pressing according to claim 29, wherein the sealed region is formed by a tube (2) that delimits the pressing chamber in the radial direction (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 31, the device for pressing according to claim 29, wherein the sealed region (24) is formed so that openings between strainer bars in the sealed region(24) are at least partially sealed (see “the extruder zone (24) is an extruder area in a closed strainer provided” on page 4, paragraph 6 of the English translation).
Regarding claim 32, the device for pressing according to claim 24, further comprising a recovery device (see “The extract dissolved in the supercritical carbon dioxide is recovered” on page 2, first paragraph of the English translation) for the extraction agent.
Regarding claim 33, the device for pressing according to claim 24, further comprising a housing or casing (fig. 2) that encapsulates the device for pressing in a gas-tight manner (see “gas -tight” on page 4, fifth paragraph, last line of the English translation).
Regarding claim 34, the device for pressing according to claim 24, further comprising an aspiration device (see a cooling section (30) on page 5, sixth paragraph of the English translation. With the aid of the cooling section (30), the pre-pressed material is exposed to the ambient air and thereby cooled).
Regarding claim 36, the device for pressing according to claim 24, further comprising a trub shearing device (7).
Regarding claim 37, the device for pressing according to claim 24, further comprising water-cooled drives (14) (see “The cooler (14) can be realized as a cold water” on page 5, second paragraph, last line of the English translation).
Regarding claim 38, the device for pressing according to claim 24, further comprising a cake breaker (7) for opening the pressed cake before the pressed cake leaves the device.
Regarding claim 39, Schulz discloses a method for pressing, comprising the steps of:
introducing a pressed material or a pressed cake through a feed opening (9) into a device according to claim 24 configured as a screw press (1) (fig. 2);
transporting and pressing the pressed material or the pressed cake with the worm shaft through the pressing chamber so that a liquid is pressed out of the pressed material or the pressed cake, and the pressed liquid emerges from the pressing chamber through openings (see page 4 of the English translation, starting from the second paragraph);
providing an extraction agent from the means for supplying an extraction agent, wherein the extraction agent is a fat solvent (see the rejection of claim 24 above);
supplying the extraction agent from the means for supplying the extraction agent into the press chamber in a liquid state (see the rejection of claims 24-25 above); and
cooling the press cake and/or the pressed liquid with aid of the extraction agent and dissolving oil contained in the press cake, wherein the extraction agent with the dissolved oil emerges from the pressing chamber through openings and evaporates (see a cooling process on page 4, paragraphs 3-5 of the English translation).
Regarding claim 40, the method for pressing according to claim 39, wherein the extraction agent is at least partially non-polar (see “carbon dioxide” in the abstract, CO2 is a nonpolar molecule).
Regarding claim 45, the method for pressing according to claim 39, including introducing the extraction agent into the pressing chamber at a temperature of less than 70°C (see page 3, paragraph 3, which discloses the press have a temperature of at most 55°C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz in view of Banke et al. (hereinafter “Banke”) (DE 10 2015 116 626 B3).
Regarding claim 35, the device for pressing according to claim 24, Schulz discloses the invention substantially as claimed as set forth above. Schulz does not disclose the device includes an inert gas supply.
Banke discloses a device for pressing configured as a screw press having inert gas supply (74) connected to a promotion line (72) of the system (see page 10, paragraph 7 of the English translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a promotion line of the extraction agent of Schulz with an inert gas supply, as taught by Banks, for safety reason.
Claims 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz.
Regarding claim 41, Schulz discloses the invention substantially as claimed as set forth above. Schulz discloses the extraction agent has a vapor pressure of 20-50 bar at a temperature up to 20°C (see page 4, paragraph 3 of the English translation). Schulz does not expressly disclose the extraction agent has a vapor pressure of 1.1 to 7 bar at a temperature of 60°C. As the Applicant has not set forth any criticality to the selection of a vapor pressure of 1.1 to 7 bar at a temperature of 60°C, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a vapor pressure of the extraction agent of Schulz of 1.1 to 7 bar at a temperature of 60°C, because such selection or determination would be the result of routine optimization and does not itself warrant patentability, as one would arrive at such optimization through routine engineering and design practice.
Regarding claims 42-43, as to the extracting agent has an enthalpy of vaporization of 280 kJ/kg to 400 kJ/kg at atmospheric pressure and a condensation temperature of between about 10°C and 40°C at atmospheric pressure. Schulz discloses the evaporation of the extraction agent is vented to the atmosphere (see page 2, paragraph 1 of the English translation), but Schulz does not expressly disclose an enthalpy of vaporization of 280 kJ/kg to 400 kJ/kg at atmospheric pressure and a condensation temperature of between about 10°C and 40°C at atmospheric pressure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the extraction agent of Schulz with an enthalpy of vaporization of 280 kJ/kg to 400 kJ/kg at atmospheric pressure and a condensation temperature of between about 10°C and 40°C at atmospheric pressure, because such selection or determination would be the result of routine optimization and does not itself warrant patentability, as one would arrive at such optimization through routine engineering and design practice.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz in view of Chen et al. (hereinafter “Chen”) (CN 107033059 A).
Regarding claim 44, the method for pressing according to claim 39, Schulz discloses the invention substantially as claimed as set forth above. Schulz discloses the extraction agent is super critical carbon dioxide (see the abstract). Schulz does not disclose the extraction agent is at least one of n-butane and isopentane.
Chen discloses that liquid butane is well known for dissolving fat (see page 3, paragraph 4 of the English translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use liquid butane as an extraction agent to dissolve oil in the press of Schulz, as taught by Chen, since both of the extraction agents (CO2 and butane) are old and well known in the art for dissolving oil and one ordinary skill in the art would have made a choice for convenience or economic reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. These prior arts disclose various screw presses having extracting agent (US 2009/0126583 A1 and 2006/0283799 A1).
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725