DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 55, 63-64, 73 and 76 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 55, the limitations “(i) storing a gas mixture substantially comprising carbon dioxide and oxygen; and (ii) providing a portion of said gas mixture from (iii) to the said closed system combustion stage,” should read “(iii) storing a gas mixture substantially comprising carbon dioxide and oxygen; and (iv) providing a portion of said gas mixture from (iii) to the said closed system combustion stage.” In claims 63-64 and 76, “the sealed tent” should read “the at least one sealed tent” for consistency. In claim 73, the “multi-panelled” and “near end” should read multi-panelled and near end.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “algae separation system” in claim 75.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 52, 55, 59, 66, 73-74 and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claims 52 and 55 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 55 recites the limitation "said closed algae growth and oxygen generation stage" in line 3-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 59 recites the limitation "said closed algae growth and oxygen generation stage" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 66 recites the limitation "a multi-panelled sealed tent" in line 3. It is unclear if the multi-panelled sealed tent is an element of the plurality of sealed tents recited earlier in the claim or are tents.
Claim 73 recites the limitation "the spacing" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 73 recites the limitation "wherein the spacing between each light diffusion (LO) device is commensurate with variable algae density along the "multi-panelled sealed tent" as defined by a determined profile of algae density, resulting from a seed concentration at a "near end" of the multi-panelled sealed tent and a harvestable concentration at the "far end" of the multi-panelled sealed tent." It is unclear as to the structure being claimed by said limitation.
Claim 74 recites the limitation "the spacing" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 74 recites the limitation "wherein the spacing between each light diffusion (LO) device is determined by the maximum light pathway distance from the side of the light diffusion device into the liquid algae growth medium for the determined algae density at that proximate area along the multi-panelled sealed tent." It is unclear as to the structure being claimed by said limitation.
Claim 76 recites the limitation "said closed algae growth and oxygen generation stage" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 52-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tronstad (already of record, GB 2492239-A) in view of Wilkerson et al (US 2009/0148931; hereinafter “Wilkerson”) and Ratjen (DE 10-2009-022754-A1; with English translation).
Regarding claim 52, Tronstad discloses a system comprising: (a) a closed system combustion stage for combusting a fuel and producing an off gas containing carbon dioxide and a nitrogen containing gas including Nox (see FIG. 4: oxy-fuel power plant);and (b) an algae growth and oxygen generation stage for receiving said off gas generated in the closed system combustion stage wherein said algae growth and oxygen generation stage through the action of algae: (i) converts said carbon dioxide to a chemical product, and oxygen; and (ii) provides a gas stream to the closed system combustion stage, said gas stream substantially comprising a mixture of algal produced oxygen in major proportion and carbon dioxide and nitrogen containing gas including NOx from said off gas in minor proportion (FIG. 4: algae cultivation PBR; the PBR of Tronstad is structurally the same as the instant algae growth and oxygen generation stage and thus considered to fully capable of performing the recited functions)wherein the algae growth and oxygen generation stage comprises at least one container containing a growth medium for the algae (see FIG. 4: algae cultivation PBR); and wherein said at least one container communicates with the closed system combustion stage for delivery of off gas containing carbon dioxide to the at least one sealed container and further communicates with the closed system combustion stage for providing said gas stream substantially comprising a mixture of algal produced oxygen in major proportion and carbon dioxide and nitrogen containing gas including NOx in minor proportion to said closed system combustion stage (as shown in FIG. 4, the PBR is in communication with the oxy-fuel power plant for exchanging gases therebetween). Tronstad does not explicitly disclose wherein the wherein the algae growth and oxygen generation stage comprises at least one sealed tent. Wilkerson discloses that photobioreactors can take a variety of shapes, sizes and structural configurations ([0110]). Ratjen discloses a photobioreactor that has a sealed tent shape (FIG. 1; [0018], [0039]). In view of Wilkerson and Ratjen, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the algae growth and oxygen generation stage comprising at least one container of Tronstad to comprise a sealed tent shape as disclosed by Ratjen (FIG. 1; [0018], [0039]), because Wilkerson discloses that photobioreactors can take a variety of shapes, sizes and structural configurations ([0110]). Regarding the limitation “said at least one sealed tent providing an extended and elongated route for circulation of gas over algae growth medium in said at least one sealed tent,” the algae growth and oxygen generation stage (PBR) of Tronstad is structurally the same as the instant algae growth and oxygen generation stage and thus considered to fully capable of performing said limitations. Furthermore, it is noted that the recitations of functional language "e.g., for generating and using carbon dioxide; for receiving said off gas generated in the closed system combustion stage; providing an extended and elongated route for circulation of gas over algae growth medium in said at least one sealed tent; for delivery of off gas containing carbon dioxide to the at least one sealed tent; for providing said gas stream substantially comprising a mixture of algal produced oxygen in major proportion and carbon dioxide and nitrogen containing gas including NOx in minor proportion to said closed system combustion stage" are drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114). The prior art discloses all of the structural features of the claimed system and thus since the structure is the same, the claimed functions are apparent.
Regarding claim 53, modified Tronstad does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one sealed tent includes a plurality of sealed tents. Wilkerson further discloses wherein a plurality of photobioreactors can be coupled together to form a multi-photobioreactors ([0106]). In view of Wilkerson, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Tronstad to comprise a plurality of sealed tents, because Wilkerson discloses that a plurality of photobioreactors can be coupled together to form a multi-photobioreactors ([0106]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of increasing the throughput of the system. Further, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Tronstad to comprise a plurality of sealed tents, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP § 2144.04 VI. B.).
Regarding claim 54, modified Tronstad discloses wherein said at least one sealed tent is a multi-panelled sealed tent (see FIG. 1 of Ratjen).
Regarding claim 55, it is noted that the off gas containing carbon dioxide, Nox and components selected from the group consisting of carbon monoxide, SOx, minerals and acid gases are material worked on and not elements of the claimed system. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2115. Further, modified Tronstad discloses wherein said closed algae growth and oxygen generation stage contains a gas comprising a mixture of carbon dioxide and oxygen (see FIG. 4, which shows the PBR includes carbon dioxide and oxygen gases). Regarding the limitation "said closed algae growth and oxygen generation stage: (i) consuming at least a portion of the off gas components as a nutrient; (ii) converting said carbon dioxide to a chemical product, and oxygen; (i) storing a gas mixture substantially comprising carbon dioxide and oxygen; and (ii) providing a portion of said gas mixture from (iii) to the said closed system combustion stage,” the algae growth and oxygen generation stage (PBR) of Tronstad is structurally the same as the instant algae growth and oxygen generation stage and thus considered to fully capable of performing said limitations.
Regarding claim 56, it is noted that the gas from said closed system combustion stage is material worked on and not an element of the claimed system. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2115. Furthermore, the closed algae growth and oxygen generation stage is structurally the same as the instant algae growth and oxygen generation stage and thus considered to fully capable of utilizing NOx gases as nitrogen fertiliser in the closed algae growth and oxygen generation stage.
Regarding claim 57, it is noted that the chemical product is material worked on and not an element of the claimed system. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2115.
Regarding claim 58, it is noted that the algal produced oxygen in major proportion and carbon dioxide and nitrogen containing gas including NOx in minor proportion is material worked on and not an element of the claimed system. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2115. Further, modified Tronstad discloses wherein said closed algae growth and oxygen generation stage contains a gas comprising a mixture of carbon dioxide and oxygen (see FIG. 4, which shows the PBR includes carbon dioxide and oxygen gases).
Regarding claim 59, it is noted that the gas mixture is material worked on and not an element of the claimed system. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2115.
Regarding claim 60, modified Tronstad discloses a carbon dioxide balancing system for balancing carbon dioxide generation from upstream carbon dioxide generation stages with carbon dioxide requirements in the process for organism growth to produce biomass, said carbon dioxide balancing system including a carbon dioxide storage means for storing carbon dioxide generated by the closed system combustion stage in excess of the required carbon dioxide uptake rate of the carbon dioxide respiring algae (space defined between the lower surface of the cover and culture medium surface; see FIG. 1 of Ratjen).
Regarding claim 61, modified Tronstad discloses wherein said at least one sealed tent comprises a liquid algae growth medium bearing algae (FIG. 4: PBR includes culture medium and algae), an outlet for harvesting algae biomass into a collector (FIG. 4). Modified Tronstad does not explicitly disclose flowing from one end of the sealed tent. However, it would have been intrinsic in the system of modified Tronstad to have employed algae introduction means for introducing algae into the PBR of Tronstad.
Regarding claim 62, modified Tronstad discloses wherein said at least one sealed tent comprises a light source (see FIG. 4 of Tronstad), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the light source includes a light diffusion (LO) subsystem to expose organisms at depth to light energy. Wilkerson further discloses the use of a light diffusion (LO) subsystem to expose organisms at depth to light energy with photobioreactor (illumination system including a plurality of light-diffusing structures; [0102], [0106], [0114]-[0115], [0141], [0196]). In view of Wilkerson, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the light diffusion subsystem of Wilkerson with the system of modified Tronstad to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of providing light to the desired depth within the at least one tent and thereby enhancing the algae culturing process.
Regarding claim 63, modified Tronstad discloses wherein said at least one sealed tent comprises algae (FIG. 4: PBR includes culture medium and algae). Modified Tronstad does not explicitly disclose wherein said sealed tent has a supply of seed algae at one end. However, it would have been intrinsic in the system of modified Tronstad to have employed a supply of seed algae at one end of the at least one tent for the purpose of introducing algae into the PBR.
Regarding claims 64-65, it is noted that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Therefore, the limitations “wherein circulation of water through the sealed tent provides a progression of algae density from seed density at the one end of the sealed tent to harvestable density at the other end; wherein recirculated water from harvested algae from one end of the sealed tent contains a portion of the harvested algae as seed algae delivered to the other end of the sealed tent” fail to define additional structural elements to the system. Because the prior art discloses the structural elements of claim 64, the claim is obvious over the prior art. See § MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 66, modified Tronstad discloses wherein the light diffusion subsystem comprises one or more sealed transparent and impervious (to water and air) light diffusion (LO) device(s) elongated within the panels of a multi-panelled sealed tent (see [0102], [0106], [0114]-[015], [0141] [0196]; FIGS. 1, 3, 5 and 20 of Wilkerson).
Regarding claim 67, modified Tronstad discloses wherein parallel aligned light diffusion (LO) devices are secured in each panel in a manner that forces the flow of liquid algae growth medium across the top of one light diffusion (LO) device and below an adjacent light diffusion (LO) device (see, e.g., FIG. 20 of Wilkerson, which discloses a plurality of light diffusion devices immersed in the fluid within the photobioreactor that allows flow of liquid algae growth medium across the top of one light diffusion (LO) device and below an adjacent light diffusion (LO) device).
Regarding claims 68-71, modified Tronstad discloses wherein light diffusion (LO) devices in the form of adjacent and parallel sealed containers are constructed to secure, optionally by tethers or braces, one sealed container to the floor of the multi-panelled sealed tent and submerged below the water level of the liquid algae growth medium and the adjacent sealed container is floated above the surface of the liquid algae growth medium (see FIGS. 1, 3, 5 and 20 of Wilkerson, which discloses a plurality of light diffusion devices immersed in the fluid within the photobioreactor (e.g., FIG. 20)).
Regarding claim 72, modified Tronstad discloses wherein width of a light diffusion (LO) device about the surface of the liquid algae growth medium is of sufficient width to capture light that the average Photosynthetically Active Radiation (PAR) emitted through the sides of the light diffusion (LO) device is at an average sufficient light intensity suitable for growing algae (see [0141] of Wilkerson).
Regarding claim 73, modified Tronstad discloses a spacing between each light diffusion (LO) device (see, e.g., FIGS. 5 and 20 of Wilkerson). Regarding the limitation “the spacing is commensurate with variable algae density along the "multi-panelled sealed tent" as defined by a determined profile of algae density, resulting from a seed concentration at a "near end" of the multi-panelled sealed tent and a harvestable concentration at the "far end" of the multi-panelled sealed tent,” it is to be noted that the alge is material worked on and not an element of the claimed system (see MPEP § 2115).
Regarding claim 74, modified Tronstad discloses a spacing between each light diffusion (LO) device (see, e.g., FIGS. 5 and 20 of Wilkerson). Further, Applicant is reminded that the alge is material worked on and not an element of the claimed system (see MPEP § 2115).
Regarding claim 75, modified Tronstad discloses wherein materials within the PBR are removed from the algae including protein rich biomass, algae oil and cellulose biomass (see FIG. 4). Modified Tronstad does not explicitly disclose an algae separation system to separate algae from water, optionally when the algae form a predetermined volume in water at the end of the closed sealed tent(s) at which the algae are harvested. Modified Tronstad does disclose, in another embodiment, the use of algae separation system (page 7 of Tronstad). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed an algae separation system with the system of Tronstad for the purpose of separating components from the algae in the PBR, as disclosed by Tronstad (page 7).
Regarding claim 76, modified Tronstad discloses all of the structural features of the claimed sealed tents and thus considered to be fully capable meet the limitation “increasing or reducing the number of operational sealed tents operational in the closed algae growth and oxygen generation stage controls oxygen concentration in the gas stream directed to the closed system combustion stage.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schaefer et al (US 8,642,326) disclose a system comprising photobioreactor and one or more light sources arranged to an upper and lower portions of the photobioreactor.
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799