DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 7, 10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 5 each recite the limitation "the filaments of the intermediate layer" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. There is no reference to “a filament” or “a plurality of filaments” for the intermediate layer from claim 1, which would have given proper antecedent basis to the limitation in question. Upon further consideration, claim 3 is noted as requiring “the intermediate layer [comprising] a spacer fabric and forms a pile filament structure consist[ing] of a plurality of filaments.” Therefore, the examiner suspects the intent of the applicant was to have claims 4 and 5 each depend from claim 3, which would overcome this rejection.
Claims 7 and 14 each recite “the functional material in the cover layer is 20% to 60% or 30% or 40% or 50%.” However, the scope of the claims is unclear because there is no basis recited for these percentages.
Claims 10 and 15 each recite “wherein a basis weight of at most 400 g/sqm to 600 g/sqm or 485 g/sqm or 550 g/sqm is provided.” However, the scope of the claim is unclear because the claims fail to identify what feature has the claimed basis weight. Upon further consideration, the instant application, as originally filed, recites (see paragraphs [0023] – [0024]) an analogous basis weight in reference to the overall textile. To further prosecution, the examiner is going to interpret the intent of the applicant was to have this portion of the claims as “where the textile has a basis weight of at most 400 g/sqm to 600 g/sqm or 485 g/sqm or 550 g/sqm is provided” and will be examined on the merits as such.
Claim 16 is included in this rejection based on its dependency from claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2008/149127 A1 (hereinafter “Lamb”), and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0247096 (hereinafter “Woodbridge”).Regarding claims 1 and 2 Lamb teaches a fabric (textile) comprising a first layer (cover layer) 2, a second layer (carrier layer) 3, and an intermediate layer (intermediate layer) 7 between the first or inner layer 2 and the second or outer layer 3 (abstract; page 2, 5th paragraph; and page 5, 2nd full paragraph and last paragraph), which corresponds to a carrier layer with an inner side T, an intermediate layer, and a cover layer with an inner side D, wherein the intermediate layer is arranged between the carrier layer and the cover layer and is connected to the inner side T of the carrier layer and is connected to the inner side D of the cover layer. Lamb teaches the first or inner layer (cover layer) 2 includes a phase change material (functional material) (hereinafter “PCM”) that provides a cooling effect by storing and releasing heat by changing the PCM from a solid to a liquid phase and vice versa, and comprises a fabric (base material formed as a yarn or as a fiber) (paragraph bridging pages 4-5; page 5, 1st full paragraph; and page 6, 2nd paragraph). Lamb does not explicitly teach the PCM (functional material) is formed as a yarn or as a fiber having a cooling medium as a further component embedded in said yarn or fiber, which is integrated in the cover layer. Woodbridge teaches a laminate comprising a PCM which acts as a temperature moderator by storing heat by causing a change in the state or phase of the material, for example from a solid to a liquid (paragraph [0071]). Woodbridge teaches the PCM may be applied to suitably absorbent fibers; such as, any synthetic or natural fiber able to absorb the PCM, where the PCM layer may thus be a layer of absorbent fibers bearing PCM (paragraph [0082]), which corresponds to the PCM (functional material) is formed as a yarn or as a fiber which has a cooling medium as a further component embedded therein and being integrated in a layer. Lamb and Woodbridge are analogous inventions in the field of PCMs. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to substitute the PCM of the first or inner layer (cover layer) 2 of Lamb with the PCM absorbed fiber of Woodbridge motivated by the desire to form a conventional PCM for implementing a cooling effect mechanism in a layer of a laminate, comprising a PCM absorbed fiber (functional material formed of a yarn or fiber having a cooling medium as a further component embedded therein) known in the art as being functionally equivalent and predictably suitable for use in forming such a PCM component. See MPEP §2144.06(II). The combination of Lamb and Woodbridge corresponds to the claimed feature requiring the functional material formed as a yarn or fiber having a cooling medium as a further component embedded which is integrated in the cover layer.Regarding claim 6 In addition, Lamb teaches the fabric construction is relatively light in weight (page 2, 2nd paragraph). Lamb also teaches the intermediate layer (intermediate layer) 7 provides the fabric with impact resistance (page 3, last paragraph). Lamb does not explicitly teach the intermediate layer has a basis weight of at most 200 g/m2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine an appropriate basis weight for the intermediate layer using nothing more than routine experimentation to achieve a desired balance between a reduction of weight of the fabric construction and sufficient impact resistance of the intermediate layer. It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art unless such a range is shown to be critical. Please see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).Regarding claim 7 In addition, Lamb teaches the PCM (functional material) acts to absorb, store and release heat (paragraph bridging pages 4-5). The combination of Lamb and Woodbridge does not explicitly teach the proportion of the PCM (functional material in the cover layer) is 20% to 60% or 30% or 40% or 50%. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine an appropriate proportion of the PCM (functional material) in the first layer (cover layer) 2, from the combination of Lamb and Woodbridge, using nothing more than routine experimentation to achieve a desired heat absorbing capacity of the first layer (cover layer) 2. It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art unless such a range is shown to be critical. Please see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).Regarding claim 8 Regarding the heat capacity of the PCM (functional material), although the prior art does not explicitly disclose the PCM (functional material) has a specific heat absorption of at least 50 J/g, the claimed property is deemed to naturally flow from the structure in the prior art since the combination of Lamb and Woodbridge teaches an invention with an identical and/or substantially identical structure and/or chemical composition as the claimed invention. See MPEP §2112.Regarding claim 9 In addition, Lamb teaches the fabric construction is relatively light in weight (page 2, 2nd paragraph). Lamb also teaches the PCM in the first or inner layer (cover layer) 2 acts to absorb, store and release heat (paragraph bridging pages 4-5). Lamb does not explicitly teach the first or inner layer (cover layer) 2 has a basis weight of at most 230 g/sqm to 290 g/sqm or 250 g/sqm or 270 g/sqm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine an appropriate basis weight for the first or inner layer (cover layer) 2 using nothing more than routine experimentation to achieve a desired balance between a reduction of weight of the fabric construction and sufficient heat absorbing capacity of the first layer (cover layer) 2. It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art unless such a range is shown to be critical. Please see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).Regarding claim 10 In addition, Lamb teaches the fabric (textile) construction is relatively light in weight (page 2, 2nd paragraph). Lamb also teaches the intermediate layer (intermediate layer) 7 provides the fabric with impact resistance (page 3, last paragraph), the PCM in the first or inner layer (cover layer) 2 acts to absorb, store and release heat (paragraph bridging pages 4-5), and the second layer (carrier layer) 3 absorbs moisture to maintain the comfort of a user (page 4, 6th paragraph; and abstract). Lamb does not explicitly teach the fabric (textile) has a basis weight of at most 400 g/sqm to 600 g/sqm or 485 g/sqm or 550 g/sqm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine an appropriate basis weight for each of: the intermediate layer (intermediate layer) 7; the first or inner layer (cover layer) 2; the second layer (carrier layer) 3; and the resulting overall fabric (textile) using nothing more than routine experimentation to achieve a desired balance between: a desired reduction of the weight of the fabric construction; and sufficient impact resistance, heat absorbing capacity, and moisture absorption of the fabric (textile). It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art unless such a range is shown to be critical. Please see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 11 In addition, Lamb teaches the fabric (textile) may be made up into (a use of the textile for the manufacture of) an item selected from the group comprising an item of apparel, footwear, insoles, fashion or clothing accoutrements, duvets, bedding, mattresses, pillows, mattress pads, sleeping bags, protective item of clothing, a shoe insole, a helmet for use in sport, a seat cover, a protective jacket, a kerchief, a pair of gloves, tights, underclothes, a pair of socks, a headband, a wrist band, and the like (page 1, 1st paragraph; and page 3, 3rd paragraph).
Claims 3-5 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamb and Woodbridge as applied to either claim 1 or 2 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0062964 (hereinafter “Heiner”).Regarding claims 3, 4 and 12 The limitations of claims 1 and 2 have been set forth above. In addition, Lamb teaches the intermediate layer (intermediate layer) 7 is impact resistant so that on impact, the force of a blow is absorbed and is not transmitted to a wearer (page 5, last paragraph). Lamb does not explicitly teach: the intermediate layer (intermediate layer) 7 is designed as a spacer fabric and forms a pile filament structure consisting of a plurality of filaments arranged at a distance "a" with a longitudinal axis L, which are aligned with respect to the longitudinal axis L in a direction Q transverse to the inner side T and transverse to the inner side D; and the filaments of the intermediate layer form an angle β with the inner side T and/or with the inner side D, with 80° < β < 100°. Heiner teaches a knitted spacer fabric 10 comprising a first layer 11, a second layer 12, and connection threads (plurality of filaments) 21 which connect the first and second layers 11, 12 arranged at a distance from one another in a height direction H (layer designed as a spacer fabric and forms a pile filament structure consisting of a plurality of filaments) (abstract; and Figures 3-4). Heiner teaches the number and arrangement of the connection threads 21 per unit of area in a plane spanned by the longitudinal direction L and the transverse direction Q can vary in order to achieve the desired compressive strength of the knitted spacer fabric in the height direction H (paragraph [0043]). Heiner also teaches the density and arrangement of the spacer/connection threads can be varied in order to adjust the compressive strength of the spacer fabric (paragraph [0019]). Heiner illustrates the connection threads (plurality of filaments) 21 are arranged at a distance with a longitudinal axis, which are aligned with respect to the longitudinal axis in a direction transverse (angle of 90°) to upper and lower surfaces of the spacer fabric 10 (same orientation as an inner side T and an inner side D) (Figures 3-4), where also corresponds to the filaments of the intermediate layer forming an angle β with the inner side T and/or the inner side D, with β = 90°, which falls within the claimed range. Lamb and Heiner are analogous inventions in the field of impact resistant materials. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the intermediate layer 7 of Lamb with the spacer fabric of Heiner to provide an impact resistant material capable of having its compressive strength, and therefore its impact resistance, tailored to a desired level.Regarding claim 5 In addition, Heiner teaches the connection threads 21 (filaments of the intermediate layer) are arranged such that they do not cross or pass through a predetermined separation space (parallel to each other) (paragraph [0017]).Regarding claim 13 In addition, Heiner teaches the connection threads 21 (filaments of the intermediate layer) are arranged such that they do not cross or pass through a predetermined separation space (parallel to each other) (paragraph [0017]). Lamb also teaches the fabric construction is relatively light in weight (page 2, 2nd paragraph). Lamb also teaches the intermediate layer (intermediate layer) 7 provides the fabric with impact resistance (page 3, last paragraph). Lamb does not explicitly teach the intermediate layer has a basis weight of at most 200 g/m2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine an appropriate basis weight for the intermediate layer using nothing more than routine experimentation to achieve a desired balance between a reduction of weight of the fabric construction and sufficient impact resistance of the intermediate layer. It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art unless such a range is shown to be critical. Please see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).Regarding claim 14 In addition, Lamb teaches the PCM (functional material) acts to absorb, store and release heat (paragraph bridging pages 4-5). The combination of Lamb and Woodbridge does not explicitly teach the proportion of the PCM (functional material in the cover layer) is 20% to 60% or 30% or 40% or 50%. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine an appropriate proportion of the PCM (functional material) in the first layer (cover layer) 2, from the combination of Lamb and Woodbridge, using nothing more than routine experimentation to achieve a desired heat absorbing capacity of the first layer (cover layer) 2. It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art unless such a range is shown to be critical. Please see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Regarding the heat capacity of the PCM (functional material), although the prior art does not explicitly disclose the PCM (functional material) has a specific heat absorption of at least 50 J/g, the claimed property is deemed to naturally flow from the structure in the prior art since the combination of Lamb and Woodbridge teaches an invention with an identical and/or substantially identical structure and/or chemical composition as the claimed invention. See MPEP §2112.Regarding claim 15 In addition, Lamb teaches the fabric construction is relatively light in weight (page 2, 2nd paragraph). Lamb also teaches the intermediate layer (intermediate layer) 7 provides the fabric with impact resistance (page 3, last paragraph), the PCM in the first or inner layer (cover layer) 2 acts to absorb, store and release heat (paragraph bridging pages 4-5), and the second layer (carrier layer) 3 absorbs moisture to maintain the comfort of a user (page 4, 6th paragraph; and abstract). Lamb does not explicitly teach: the first or inner layer (cover layer) 2 has a basis weight of at most 230 g/sqm to 290 g/sqm or 250 g/sqm or 270 g/sqm; and/or the fabric (textile) has a basis weight of at most 400 g/sqm to 600 g/sqm or 485 g/sqm or 550 g/sqm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine an appropriate basis weight for each of: the intermediate layer (intermediate layer) 7; the first or inner layer (cover layer) 2; the second layer (carrier layer) 3; and the resulting overall fabric (textile) using nothing more than routine experimentation to achieve a desired balance between: a desired reduction of the weight of the fabric construction; and sufficient impact resistance, heat absorbing capacity, and/or moisture absorption of the fabric (textile). It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art unless such a range is shown to be critical. Please see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 16 In addition, Lamb teaches the fabric (textile) may be made up into (a use of the textile for the manufacture of) an item selected from the group comprising an item of apparel, footwear, insoles, fashion or clothing accoutrements, duvets, bedding, mattresses, pillows, mattress pads, sleeping bags, protective item of clothing, a shoe insole, a helmet for use in sport, a seat cover, a protective jacket, a kerchief, a pair of gloves, tights, underclothes, a pair of socks, a headband, a wrist band, and the like (page 1, 1st paragraph; and page 3, 3rd paragraph).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0255783 teaches a spacer fabric where the inclination angles, such as inclination angles ranging from 40-85°, of spacer yarns affect mechanical properties, such as an anisotropic effect, of the spacer fabric (paragraph [0017]).
US 2002/0102895 teaches a spacer fabric comprising PCM capsules 24 embedded in cross fibers 18 are used for thermal regulation (paragraphs [0009], [0014] – [0016], and [0031]; and Figure 2).
/BRIAN HANDVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783