DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s arguments filed on 7/15/26. Claim 8 has been cancelled. Claim 9 has been added. Claims 1-7, 9 are pending. Claims 1, 4, 6 have been amended. Claim 5 has been withdrawn. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9 are examined herein.
The claim amendments have rendered the 112 rejection of the last Office Action moot, therefore hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with regard to the remaining rejections have been fully considered but found not persuasive, therefore maintained for reasons of record and modified below due to the claim amendments.
The following new rejection will also apply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rothwell et al (US Patent 6,891,077, of record).
Rothwell et al. teach methods of treating wounds, increasing the rate of coagulation of blood from a wound, increasing the amount of or rate of clot formation over a wound, increasing an amount or rate of clot formation over a wound, increasing blood platelet counts, and activating coagulation system by administering a wound dressing comprising fibrinogen and a procoagulant (abstract). A preferred procoagulant is lauryl gallate (col. 2, lines 49-52; col. 3, lines 34-37; and col. 5, lines 20-24). The fibrinogen bandages are useful in the treatment of wounds caused by lacerations, punctures, and surgery, for example deep thoracic surgery (col. 9, lines 15-19).
Response to Arguments
The Hadjkacem Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 7/15/26 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-4 based upon Rothwell et al (US Patent 6,891,077, of record) as set forth in the last Office action because: a 102 anticipatory rejection cannot be overcome by a declaration showing evidence of secondary consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothwell et al (US Patent 6,891,077, of record) in view of Carlsson et al. (US Patent Application 2012/0213843, of record).
The instant claims are directed to a method of arresting the flow of blood from a bleeding wound in a patient in need thereof by administering lauryl gallate and ethanol.
Rothwell et al. teach as discussed above, however, fail to disclose ethanol.
Carlsson et al. teach a method of preparing a lipid layer forming wound healing promoting composition or wound dressing comprising volatile silicone oil, polar lipid, alcohol, and a wound healing agent (abstract), wherein the alcohol is ethanol (paragraphs 0031, 0039, and claim 51).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used fibrinogen and the procoagulant, lauryl gallate, as taught by Rothwell et al., in the wound dressing comprising ethanol, as taught by Carlsson et al.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use this particular wound dressing comprising ethanol because it is functionally equivalent to the wound dressing taught by Rothwell et al. since both are known for wound healing. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating wounds by applying this wound dressing comprising fibrinogen, lauryl gallate, and ethanol.
Response to Arguments
The Hadjkacem Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 7/15/26 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 6-7 based upon Rothwell et al (US Patent 6,891,077, of record) in view of Carlsson et al. (US Patent Application 2012/0213843, of record) as set forth in the last Office action because: the 103 obviousness rejection was formulated to address the limitation regarding adding a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. The declaration does not address this limitation. Instead, the declaration addresses the limitations that have been taught by the Rothwell et al. reference in the 102 anticipatory rejection. As mentioned earlier, a showing of secondary considerations in a declaration cannot overcome a 102 anticipatory rejection.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothwell et al (US Patent 6,891,077, of record) alone or in view of Speck et al. (US Patent 5,700,634).
The instant claims are directed to a method for inducing platelet aggregation so as to arrest the flow of blood from a bleeding wound in a patient in need thereof by administering lauryl gallate.
Rothwell et al. teach as discussed above, however, fail to disclose wherein no fibrinogen is administered.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used the procoagulant, lauryl gallate, without fibrinogen in the wound dressing, as taught by Rothwell et al.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use lauryl gallate without fibrinogen in the particular wound dressing because Rothwell et al. teach that both fibrinogen and lauryl gallate are individually useful for the inducing platelet aggregation, arresting the flow of blood, and treating wounds. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by applying a wound dressing comprising lauryl gallate without fibrinogen.
Speck et al. teach that bleeding can be stopped six times faster by applying to the site a hemostatic agent comprising a hydroxy-substituted aromatic compound and a metal ion. A preferred hydroxy-substituted aromatic compound is the procoagulant, propyl gallate (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the procoagulant, lauryl gallate, as taught by Rothwell et al. for the procoagulant, propyl gallate, in the method of treating bleeding, as taught by Speck et al.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute lauryl gallate for propyl gallate because they are both known in the art as procoagulants. Furthermore, lauryl gallate and propyl gallate both have the same core structure and are considered homologs of one another having the same properties. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating bleeding by administering lauryl gallate and a metal ion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Yong S. Chong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623