DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the amendments to the claims and the new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 16-17, 19, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Publication No.: US 2023/0102616 A1 of record) in view of Chen (US Publication No.: US 2023/0004054 A1, “Chen’054”).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a liquid crystal display panel (Paragraph 0085), comprising A first base substrate comprising a display area and a peripheral area surrounding the display area (Figure 1, first base substrate 110, where a display area is the center area comprising the TFT and display elements, and the peripheral area is the area surrounding the TFT on both sides);
A common electrode line located at the peripheral area and configured to provide a common voltage (Figure 4(c), common electrode line 153; Paragraph 0100; Paragraph 0096 discloses that the common electrode line 153 transmits a common voltage);
A common electrode connected to the common electrode line (Figure 1, common electrode 180; Paragraph 0100 discloses that the common electrode 180 is connected to the common electrode line 153); and
A metal line connected to the common electrode line and connected in parallel with the common electrode, wherein a sheet resistance of the metal line is less than a sheet resistance of the common electrode (Figure 1, metal line 152; Paragraph 0100 discloses that the metal line 152 is connected in parallel with the common electrode 180, and the sheet resistance of the metal line 152 is less than that of the common electrode 180; Paragraph 0092 discloses a stacked structure of the metal line, which at least comprises silver, which is a metal material); and
A signal line, the signal line being one of a data line and a gate line (Paragraph 0089 discloses a plurality of gate lines and data lines, gate line 133, data line 137).
Chen fails to disclose that the metal line comprises a first portion located at the display area, and the signal line comprises a second portion located at the display area, wherein an orthographic projection of the first portion on the first base substrate is completely located within an orthographic projection of the second portion on the first base substrate.
However, Chen’054 discloses a similar display panel where the metal line comprises a first portion located at the display area, and the signal line comprises a second portion located at the display area, wherein an orthographic projection of the first portion on the first base substrate is completely located within an orthographic projection of the second portion on the first base substrate (Chen’054, Figure 2, second portion of data line 112, first portion of metal line 153, where Paragraph 0028 discloses that the width of the data line and the metal line may be equal to one another, resulting in a complete overlap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the data line and metal line as disclosed by Chen to completely overlap as disclosed by Chen’054. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of avoiding light leakage by providing a light shielding effect (Chen’054, Paragraph 0028).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen in view of Chen’054 discloses the liquid crystal display panel according to claim 1, wherein the liquid crystal display panel comprises a first group of metal line and a second group of metal lines crossed with the first group of metal line, and the first group of metal lines and the second group of metal lines each comprise a plurality of metal lines respectively (Figure 7(b) discloses first and second groups of metal lines; Paragraph 0107).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen in view of Chen’054 discloses the liquid crystal display panel according to claim 5, wherein: an orthographic projection of a first portion of each of the first group of metal lines located at the display area on the first base substrate is located within an orthographic projection of a second portion of a corresponding data line in the liquid crystal display panel located at the display area on the first base substrate (Figure 1 discloses an overlap between metal lines 152 and data lines 137); and an orthographic projection of the a first portion of each of the second group of metal lines located at the display area on the first base substrate is located within an orthographic projection of a second portion of a corresponding gate line in the liquid crystal display panel located at the display area on the first base substrate (Figure 4 discloses metal lines 152 that run horizontal throughout the display, which would have to overlap with gate lines which also run horizontal throughout the display).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen in view of Chen’054 discloses the liquid crystal display panel according to claim 1, wherein: the metal line is in contact with the common electrode; and/or a surface of the metal line close to the common electrode is in contact with a surface of the common electrode close to the metal line (Figures 1 and 4 and Paragraph 0099 disclose that the common electrode 180 is in contact with the metal line 152).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen in view of Chen’054 discloses the liquid crystal display panel according to claim 1, wherein one metal line and the common electrode is located between the first base substrate and the other metal line and the common electrode (Figures 1 and 4(c) disclose one metal line 152 and common electrode 180 that would be located between the first base substrate and the other metal line and the common electrode).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen in view of Chen’054 discloses the liquid crystal display panel according to claim 1.
Chen fails to explicitly disclose that the sheet resistance of the metal line is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 0.075 Ω/□; and/or a ratio of the sheet resistance of the common electrode to the sheet resistance of the metal lines is greater than or equal to 500. However, Chen discloses a general environment of having a very small sheet resistance of the metal line (Chen, Paragraph 0084; Paragraph 0099). When a limitation of a claim is a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which when modified achieves a recognized result, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges for the variable by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). In the instant claim recitation, the limitation regarding the sheet resistance is the result-effective variable, and when this resistance is optimized to the appropriate value within the specified parameters of a given display panel, the recognized results of improving brightness uniformity are realized. While Chen does not directly disclose the exact value of the sheet resistance of the metal line, Chen does disclose the general conditions recited in the instant claim, as noted above. In light of the disclosure of Chen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to discover the limitation by routine experimentation that the sheet resistance of the metal line is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 0.075 Ω/□; and/or a ratio of the sheet resistance of the common electrode to the sheet resistance of the metal lines is greater than or equal to 500 for the purpose of achieving uniform brightness and reduced power consumption of a display panel.
Regarding Claim 16, Chen in view of Chen’054 discloses the liquid crystal display panel according to claim 1, further comprising: a pixel electrode (Figure 1, pixel electrode 151), wherein a viscosity of a material of the pixel electrode is greater than 3 mPa·s and less than or equal to 5 mPa·s (Paragraph 0091 discloses a stack of ITO/Ag/ITO which is known to have a viscosity of ~4mPa·s).
Regarding Claim 17, Chen discloses a display substrate for a liquid crystal display panel (Figure 1, display substrate 110; Paragraph 0085 discloses a liquid crystal display panel), wherein the display substrate is an array substrate (Figure 1 discloses an array substrate 110), the display substrate comprising:
A first base substrate comprising a display area and a peripheral area surrounding the display area (Figure 1, first base substrate 110, where a display area is the center area comprising the TFT and display elements, and the peripheral area is the area surrounding the TFT on both sides);
A common electrode line located at the peripheral area and configured to provide a common voltage (Figure 4(c), common electrode line 153; Paragraph 0100; Paragraph 0096 discloses that the common electrode line 153 transmits a common voltage);
A common electrode connected to the common electrode line (Figure 1, common electrode 180; Paragraph 0100 discloses that the common electrode 180 is connected to the common electrode line 153); and
A metal line connected to the common electrode line and connected in parallel with the common electrode, wherein a sheet resistance of the metal line is less than a sheet resistance of the common electrode (Figure 1, metal line 152; Paragraph 0100 discloses that the metal line 152 is connected in parallel with the common electrode 180, and the sheet resistance of the metal line 152 is less than that of the common electrode 180; Paragraph 0092 discloses a stacked structure of the metal line, which at least comprises silver, which is a metal material); and
A signal line, the signal line being one of a data line and a gate line (Paragraph 0089 discloses a plurality of gate lines and data lines, gate line 133, data line 137).
Chen fails to disclose that the metal line comprises a first portion located at the display area, and the signal line comprises a second portion located at the display area, wherein an orthographic projection of the first portion on the first base substrate is completely located within an orthographic projection of the second portion on the first base substrate.
However, Chen’054 discloses a similar display panel where the metal line comprises a first portion located at the display area, and the signal line comprises a second portion located at the display area, wherein an orthographic projection of the first portion on the first base substrate is completely located within an orthographic projection of the second portion on the first base substrate (Chen’054, Figure 2, second portion of data line 112, first portion of metal line 153, where Paragraph 0028 discloses that the width of the data line and the metal line may be equal to one another, resulting in a complete overlap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the data line and metal line as disclosed by Chen to completely overlap as disclosed by Chen’054. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of avoiding light leakage by providing a light shielding effect (Chen’054, Paragraph 0028).
Regarding Claim 19, Chen in view of Chen’054 discloses the display substrate according to claim 17, wherein the display substrate comprises a first group of metal line and a second group of metal lines crossed with the first group of metal line, and the first group of metal lines and the second group of metal lines each comprise a plurality of metal lines respectively (Figure 7(b) discloses first and second groups of metal lines; Paragraph 0107), wherein: an orthographic projection of a first portion of each of the first group of metal lines located at the display area on the first base substrate is located within an orthographic projection of a second portion of a corresponding data line in the liquid crystal display panel located at the display area on the first base substrate (Figure 1 discloses an overlap between metal lines 152 and data lines 137); and an orthographic projection of the a first portion of each of the second group of metal lines located at the display area on the first base substrate is located within an orthographic projection of a second portion of a corresponding gate line in the liquid crystal display panel located at the display area on the first base substrate (Figure 4 discloses metal lines 152 that run horizontal throughout the display, which would have to overlap with gate lines which also run horizontal throughout the display).
Regarding Claim 22, Chen discloses a display device (Paragraph 0085), comprising: the liquid crystal display panel according to claim 1 (Paragraph 0085); or a display substrate for the liquid crystal display panel (Figure 1, display substrate 110; Paragraph 0085 discloses a liquid crystal display panel), wherein the display substrate is an array substrate (Figure 1 discloses an array substrate 110), the display substrate comprising:
A first base substrate comprising a display area and a peripheral area surrounding the display area (Figure 1, first base substrate 110, where a display area is the center area comprising the TFT and display elements, and the peripheral area is the area surrounding the TFT on both sides);
A common electrode line located at the peripheral area and configured to provide a common voltage (Figure 4(c), common electrode line 153; Paragraph 0100; Paragraph 0096 discloses that the common electrode line 153 transmits a common voltage);
A common electrode connected to the common electrode line (Figure 1, common electrode 180; Paragraph 0100 discloses that the common electrode 180 is connected to the common electrode line 153); and
A metal line connected to the common electrode line and connected in parallel with the common electrode, wherein a sheet resistance of the metal line is less than a sheet resistance of the common electrode (Figure 1, metal line 152; Paragraph 0100 discloses that the metal line 152 is connected in parallel with the common electrode 180, and the sheet resistance of the metal line 152 is less than that of the common electrode 180; Paragraph 0092 discloses a stacked structure of the metal line, which at least comprises silver, which is a metal material); and
A signal line, the signal line being one of a data line and a gate line (Paragraph 0089 discloses a plurality of gate lines and data lines, gate line 133, data line 137).
Chen fails to disclose that the metal line comprises a first portion located at the display area, and the signal line comprises a second portion located at the display area, wherein an orthographic projection of the first portion on the first base substrate is completely located within an orthographic projection of the second portion on the first base substrate.
However, Chen’054 discloses a similar display panel where the metal line comprises a first portion located at the display area, and the signal line comprises a second portion located at the display area, wherein an orthographic projection of the first portion on the first base substrate is completely located within an orthographic projection of the second portion on the first base substrate (Chen’054, Figure 2, second portion of data line 112, first portion of metal line 153, where Paragraph 0028 discloses that the width of the data line and the metal line may be equal to one another, resulting in a complete overlap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the data line and metal line as disclosed by Chen to completely overlap as disclosed by Chen’054. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of avoiding light leakage by providing a light shielding effect (Chen’054, Paragraph 0028).
Regarding Claim 23, Chen discloses a manufacturing method of a liquid crystal display panel (Paragraph 0085), comprising:
Providing a first base substrate, wherein the first base substrate comprises a display area and a peripheral area surrounding the display area (Figure 1, first base substrate 110, where a display area is the center area comprising the TFT and display elements, and the peripheral area is the area surrounding the TFT on both sides);
Forming a common electrode line located at the peripheral area, wherein the common electrode line is configured to provide a common voltage (Figure 4(c), common electrode line 153; Paragraph 0100; Paragraph 0096 discloses that the common electrode line 153 transmits a common voltage); and
Forming a common electrode and a metal line which are connected to the common electrode line respectively, wherein the metal line is connected in parallel with the common electrode, and a sheet resistance of the metal line is less than a sheet resistance of the common electrode (Figure 1, common electrode 180; Paragraph 0100 discloses that the common electrode 180 is connected to the common electrode line 153; Figure 1, metal line 152; Paragraph 0100 discloses that the metal line 152 is connected in parallel with the common electrode 180, and the sheet resistance of the metal line 152 is less than that of the common electrode 180; Paragraph 0092 discloses a stacked structure of the metal line, which at least comprises silver, which is a metal material); and
Forming a signal line, the signal line being one of a data line and a gate line (Paragraph 0089 discloses a plurality of gate lines and data lines, gate line 133, data line 137).
Chen fails to disclose that the metal line comprises a first portion located at the display area, and the signal line comprises a second portion located at the display area, wherein an orthographic projection of the first portion on the first base substrate is completely located within an orthographic projection of the second portion on the first base substrate.
However, Chen’054 discloses a similar display panel where the metal line comprises a first portion located at the display area, and the signal line comprises a second portion located at the display area, wherein an orthographic projection of the first portion on the first base substrate is completely located within an orthographic projection of the second portion on the first base substrate (Chen’054, Figure 2, second portion of data line 112, first portion of metal line 153, where Paragraph 0028 discloses that the width of the data line and the metal line may be equal to one another, resulting in a complete overlap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the data line and metal line as disclosed by Chen to completely overlap as disclosed by Chen’054. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of avoiding light leakage by providing a light shielding effect (Chen’054, Paragraph 0028).
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Chen’054 in further view of Shim et al (US Publication No.: US 2024/0194843 A1 of record, “Shim”).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen in view of Chen’054 discloses the liquid crystal display panel according to claim 1.
Chen fails to disclose that the metal line further comprises a third portion located at the display area and connected to the first portion, and one area where orthographic projections of one data line and one gate line in the liquid crystal display panel on the first base substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the third portion on the first base substrate.
However, Shim discloses a similar display where the metal line further comprises a third portion located at the display area and connected to the first portion, and one area where orthographic projections of one data line and one gate line in the liquid crystal display panel on the first base substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the third portion on the first base substrate (Shim, Figure 3 discloses an overlap between the gate line SL, data line DL, and the metal line AX).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the metal line as disclosed by Chen to overlap with signal lines as disclosed by Shim. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving luminance and image quality (Shim, Paragraphs 0086-0087).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen in view of Chen’054 discloses the liquid crystal display panel according to claim 6.
Chen fails to disclose that the plurality of metal lines in the first group of metal lines is in one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of data lines in the liquid crystal display panel; and the plurality of metal lines in the second group of metal lines is in one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of gate lines in the liquid crystal display panel.
However, Shim discloses a similar display where the plurality of metal lines in the first group of metal lines is in one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of data lines in the liquid crystal display panel; and the plurality of metal lines in the second group of metal lines is in one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of gate lines in the liquid crystal display panel (Shim, Figures 3 and 9 discloses a one-to-one correspondence of the metal lines AX/AL with the data lines DL and the gate lines SL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the metal line as disclosed by Chen to overlap with signal lines as disclosed by Shim. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving luminance and image quality (Shim, Paragraphs 0086-0087).
Claims 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Chen’054 in further view of Inoue et al (US Publication No.: US 2023/0287272 A1 of record, “Inoue”).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen in view of Chen’054 discloses the liquid crystal display panel according to claim 1.
Chen fails to disclose that an elastic constant of the liquid crystal in the liquid crystal display panel at 50°C is greater than or equal to 13.5 and/or an elastic constant of liquid crystal in the liquid crystal display panel at 25°C is greater than or equal to 17.
However, Inoue discloses a similar panel where an elastic constant of the liquid crystal in the liquid crystal display panel at 50°C is greater than or equal to 13.5 and/or an elastic constant of liquid crystal in the liquid crystal display panel at 25°C is greater than or equal to 17 (Inoue, Paragraph 0444 discloses an elastic constant at 25°C between 10 to 20 pN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the liquid crystal as disclosed by Chen to have a particular elastic constant as disclosed by Inoue. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of achieving a high contrast ratio and improved display quality (Inoue, Paragraph 0451).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen in view of Chen’054 discloses the liquid crystal display panel according to claim 13.
Chen fails to disclose that the elastic constant is an average value of a splay elastic constant, a bend elastic constant, and a twist elastic constant of the liquid crystal.
However, Inoue discloses a similar display where the elastic constant is an average value of a splay elastic constant, a bend elastic constant, and a twist elastic constant of the liquid crystal (Inoue, Paragraph 0444 discloses an elastic constant of a liquid crystal material, where it is commonly known in the art what an elastic constant is).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the liquid crystal as disclosed by Chen to have a particular elastic constant as disclosed by Inoue. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of achieving a high contrast ratio and improved display quality (Inoue, Paragraph 0451).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Chen’054 in further view of Hara et al (US Publication No.: US 2022/0189999 A1 of record, “Hara”) and Oikawa et al (US Publication No.: US 2011/0003429 A1 of record, “Oikawa”).
Regarding Claim 24, Chen in view of Chen’054 discloses the manufacturing method according to claim 23.
Chen fails to disclose a step of forming a first insulating layer in contact with the common electrode on one side of the common electrode away from the first base substrate, wherein a pressure applied during a process of forming the first insulating layer is greater than or equal to 1.2 torr and less than 1.5 torr; and forming a pixel electrode in contact with the first insulating layer on one side of the first insulating layer away from the first base substrate.
However, Hara discloses a similar display panel manufacturing method comprising a step of forming a first insulating layer in contact with the common electrode on one side of the common electrode away from the first base substrate and forming a pixel electrode in contact with the first insulating layer on one side of the first insulating layer away from the first base substrate (Hara, Figure 16, common electrode CE, insulating layer 17, pixel electrode PE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel as disclosed by Chen to have the elements disposed in a particular manner as disclosed by Hara. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing power consumption and display quality (Hara, Paragraphs 0261-0267).
Further, Oikawa discloses a similar manufacturing method where a pressure applied during a process of forming the first insulating layer is greater than or equal to 1.2 torr and less than 1.5 torr (Oikawa, Paragraph 0115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Chen to include a particular amount of pressure in a given step as disclosed by Oikawa. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of reducing the number of steps within the manufacturing method (Oikawa, Paragraph 0115-0117).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Chen’054 in further view of Ren (US Publication No.: US 2018/0364529 A1).
Regarding Claim 25, Chen in view of Chen’054 discloses the manufacturing method according to claim 23, further comprising: forming a pixel electrode material layer (Figure 1, pixel electrode material layer 151), wherein a viscosity of a material of the pixel electrode is greater than 3 mPa-s and less than or equal to 5 mPa-s (Paragraph 0091 discloses a stack of ITO/Ag/ITO which is known to have a viscosity of ~4mPa·s).
Chen fails to disclose a step of etching the pixel electrode material layer with an etching solution, wherein a service life of the etching solution is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 5000 mins, and a duration of the etching is greater than or equal to 160 seconds and less than or equal to 180 seconds.
Ren also fails to explicitly disclose that a service life of the etching solution is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 5000 mins, and a duration of the etching is greater than or equal to 160 seconds and less than or equal to 180 seconds. However, Ren does discloses a step of etching the pixel electrode material layer with an etching solution and characteristics of the etching solution that would optimize performance parameters for wet etching (Ren, Paragraph 0063). When a limitation of a claim is a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which when modified achieves a recognized result, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges for the variable by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). In the instant claim recitation, the limitation regarding etching solution service life and duration is the result-effective variable, and when these values are optimized to the appropriate amount within the specified parameters of a given pixel electrode layer, the recognized results of precise etching are realized. While Ren does not directly disclose the etching solution service life and the etching duration, Ren does disclose the general conditions recited in the instant claim, as noted above. In light of the disclosure of Ren, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to discover the limitation by routine experimentation that a service life of the etching solution is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 5000 mins, and a duration of the etching is greater than or equal to 160 seconds and less than or equal to 180 seconds for the purpose of etching precise patterns of the pixel electrode material layer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871