DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/06/2024 and 11/17/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is not clear what it is meant by “material with a higher affinity”. This interpreted to mean different materials, however dependent claims 12 and 14 have identical material lists which contradict the previous assumption. Therefore it is not clear how the examiner should interpret the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edwards (EP 1938951 A2).
Regarding Claim 1, Edwards teaches a packaging enclosure for an ostomy appliance (figure 3), the enclosure comprising:
a body having a base and an upstanding sidewall integral and contiguous with the base (32) and having a peripheral edge opposite the base (figure 3), the base and sidewall defining a storage region (paragraph 25), the base and sidewall formed from a first material (paragraph 26); and
a cover element (34), the cover element formed from a second material (paragraph 26, plastic), wherein the second material has a higher affinity for the ostomy appliance than the first material affinity for the ostomy appliance (metal and plastic having different affinities).
Regarding Claim 3, Edwards teaches a packaging enclosure of claim 1. Edwards further teaches wherein the cover element is sealed to the sidewall peripheral edge (paragraph 26)(figure 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Edwards teaches a packaging enclosure of claim 1. Edwards further teaches wherein the cover element includes a grasping region extending from an edge thereof (figure 3: rim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards (EP 1938951 A2) in view of Russell (US 20160193003 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Edwards teaches a packaging enclosure of claim 1. Edwards fails to include a pedestal formed in the body extending upwardly from the base. Russell teaches a packaging for an ostomy appliance including a pedestal (56) formed in the body extending upwardly from the base [0028] (figure 3 and 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packaging of Edwards to include a pedestal formed in the body extending upwardly from the base, similar to Russell, in order to support the Ostomy Ring (as motivated by Russell, [0033]).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards (EP 1938951 A2) in view of Holden(US 20210369491 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Edwards teaches a packaging enclosure of claim 1. Edwards fails to teach wherein the sidewall is circular in cross- section. In the same field of endeavor, Holden teaches an ostomy pouch wherein the sidewall is circular in cross- section (figure 1a). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packing enclosure of Edwards, wherein the sidewall is circular in cross- section similar Holden in order to be compatible with an ostomy appliance.
Claim(s) 9-11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell (US 20160193003 A1) in view of Rea (US 20210290426 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Russell teaches an ostomy appliance and packaging enclosure, comprising:
an ostomy appliance, the ostomy appliance having first and second surfaces, the ostomy appliance formed from an adhesive material (figure 1, paragraph [15]);
a packaging enclosure comprising:
a body having a base and an upstanding sidewall integral and contiguous with the base and having a peripheral edge opposite the base, the base and sidewall defining a storage region, the base and sidewall formed from a first material (paragraph [20, 21 ]); and
a cover element (paragraph [17]), the cover element formed from a second material, wherein the ostomy appliance is positioned in the storage region with the first surface positioned on the base, wherein the cover element is positioned on the upstanding sidewall and in contact with the ostomy appliance second surface (figure 6)
Russell fails to teach wherein the second material has a higher affinity for the ostomy appliance than the first material affinity for the ostomy appliance. Rea teaches a ostomy appliance and packaging the second material (wafer) has a higher affinity for the ostomy appliance than the first material (pouch) affinity for the ostomy appliance (paragraph [0059: wafer adhesive removes ostomy appliance from pouch]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packaging of Russel to include wherein the second material has a higher affinity for the ostomy appliance than the first material affinity for the ostomy appliance, similar to Rea, in order to remove the ostomy appliance in a sterile way.
Regarding Claim 10, Russell in view of Rea teaches an ostomy appliance and packaging enclosure of claim 9. Russell fails to teach wherein the ostomy appliance remains affixed to the cover when the cover is removed from the packaging enclosure. Rea teaches wherein the ostomy appliance remains affixed to the cover when the cover is removed from the packaging enclosure (paragraph [0059: wafer adhesive removes ostomy appliance from pouch]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packaging of Russel to include wherein the ostomy appliance remains affixed to the cover when the cover is removed from the packaging enclosure, similar to Rea, in order to remove the ostomy appliance in a sterile way.
Regarding Claim 11, Russell in view of Rea teaches an ostomy appliance and packaging enclosure of claim 9. Russell further teaches wherein the cover is sealed to the upstanding side wall (paragraph [0016-0017]).
Regarding Claim 15, Russell teaches an ostomy appliance and packaging enclosure of claim 9. Russell further teaches wherein the ostomy appliance is a barrier ring (64) (paragraph [0033](fig. 4)
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards (EP 1938951 A2) in view of Seres (US 20200188161 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Edwards teaches a packaging enclosure of claim 1. Edwards fails to explicitly teach wherein the body is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof. Seres teaches an Ostomy bag wherein the body is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof (paragraph [0267]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packaging of Edwards, wherein the body is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof, similar to Seres so the container is flexible and sterile (Seres, paragraph [0267]).
Regarding Claim 7, Edwards teaches a packaging enclosure of claim 1. Edwards fails to explicitly teach wherein the cover is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof. Seres teaches an Ostomy bag wherein the body is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof (paragraph [0267]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packaging of Edwards, wherein the cover is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof, similar to Seres so the container is flexible and sterile (Seres, paragraph [0267]).
Regarding Claim 8, Edwards teaches a packaging enclosure of claim 6. Edwards fails to explicitly teach wherein the cover is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof. Seres teaches an Ostomy bag wherein the body is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof (paragraph [0267]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packaging of Edwards, wherein the cover is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof, similar to Seres so the container is flexible and sterile (Seres, paragraph [0267]).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell (US 20160193003 A1) in view of Rea (US 20210290426 A1) in view of Seres (US 20200188161 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Russell in view of Rea teaches an ostomy appliance and packaging enclosure of claim 9. The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the body is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof. Seres teaches an Ostomy bag wherein the body is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof (paragraph [0267]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packaging of Russell, wherein the body is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof, similar to Seres so the container is flexible and sterile (Seres, paragraph [0267]).
Regarding Claim 13, Russell in view of Rea teaches an ostomy appliance and packaging enclosure of claim 9. The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the cover is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof. Seres teaches an Ostomy bag wherein the bag is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof (paragraph [0267]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packaging of Russell, wherein the cover is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof, similar to Seres so the container is flexible and sterile (Seres, paragraph [0267]).
Regarding Claim 14, Russell in view of Rea and Seres teaches an ostomy appliance and packaging enclosure of claim 12. The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the cover is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof. Seres teaches an Ostomy bag wherein the bag is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof (paragraph [0267]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packaging of Russell, wherein the cover is formed of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene, polyester, polyimide, polyoxymethylene, organosiloxane, or cellulosic or paper-based materials or combinations thereof, similar to Seres so the container is flexible and sterile (Seres, paragraph [0267]).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell (US 20160193003 A1) in view of Rea (US 20210290426 A1) in view of Austin (US 20220096262 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Russell in view of Rea and Austin teaches an ostomy appliance and packaging enclosure of claim 15. Russell fails to teach wherein the barrier ring is formed from a hydrocolloid material. In the same field of endeavor, ostomy appliances, Austin teaches wherein the barrier ring is formed from a hydrocolloid material (paragraph [0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Russel teaches wherein the barrier ring is formed from a hydrocolloid material, similar to Austin, in order to last longer inside the cooler temperature of a well-ventilated pouch.
Regarding Claim 17, Russell in view of Rea and Austin teaches an ostomy appliance and packaging enclosure of claim 16. Russell fails to teach wherein the barrier ring material further includes ceramide. In the same field of endeavor, ostomy appliances, Austin teaches wherein the barrier ring material further includes ceramide (paragraph [0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Russel teaches wherein the barrier ring material further includes ceramide, similar to Austin, in order to last longer inside the cooler temperature of a well-ventilated pouch.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 11202719 B2, US 6071268 A, and US 4710182 A.
/KATE ELIZABETH STRACHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/REBECCA E EISENBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781