Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/4/21 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed 4/4/24 are acceptable to the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 duplicates the word “wherein” on line 7 and on line 13. One of these instances of the word should be cancelled from the claim. The language “the shell replacement modules”, claim 12, line 4 is not consistent with the languge used to define this feature in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner’s Comments
It is noted that claim 1 uses the alternative language “and/or” on lines 19 and 24. This language provides possible alternative arrangements of the claimed invention. For art purposes, if any one of the claimed alternatives is found in the art, then the claimed alternative arrangements will be satisfied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 6, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the housing modules" in line 2. Claim 4 recites the limitation “the housing modules” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Claim 6, line 2 sets forth “the first housing module” lacking positive antecedent basis. Additionally claim 4, lines 3-4 set forth components that are brought in active contact with each other but does not make clear where these components are, i.e. in the housing modules or the housing base body. Clarification is needed. Claim 10, line 2 refers to a height “S2” lack positive antecedent basis. Also, none of the symbols f1, f2, X1, Y1, X2 and Y2 are defined to give a positive meaning to the claimed language. Claim 12, line 3 sets forth “the housing modules” lacking positive antecedent basis. Claim 13, line 3 sets forth “the housing modules” lacking positive antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-8, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bajic et al. (US 11,303,258 B1).
Re claim 1: Bajic et al. teaches an earcup for headphones that comprises a housing (combination of (4 and 5) or (4 and 10)) accommodating electroacoustic components (such as those components discussed In column 4, lines 52-57) and sound attenuation material (material used in the cushions (5 or 10)); wherein the housing includes a housing base body (4) accommodating electroacoustic components (such as those components discussed In column 4, lines 52-57) and a main shell (5 or 10) with an overall height (thickness if element (5)) that is mechanically connected to the housing base body (see figures 1A and 1B thereby provided different expansion stages for acoustic damping (due to the thickness of the cushion and materials used for each cushion); which is “modularly exchangeable” and/or “added in a modular manner” such that when using cushion (5) with a specified thickness providing an overall height that is different then when using a cushion (10) with a specified thickness smaller than that in (5), see arrangements in figures 1A and 1B. It is noted that the limitations after “b)”, lines 25-29 are not required to satisfy the claimed arrangement due to the use of the alternative language “and/or’.
Re claim 3: note in figures 1A and 1B the headband used is connected to the earcups via a mechanic connection at a top portion of each earcup thereby providing a connection that is symmetrically designed with respect to a symmetrical plane (imaginary plane not depicted by the front view of these figures, but inherently present).
Re claim 6: note the use of at least one microphone (20) that is part of housing module of the audio system (1)
Re claim 7: note components (5) and (10) satisfy the claimed main shell module and second shell module, each of which can be connected to base body (4)
Re claim 8: note cushions (5) and (10) corresponding the claimed main shell module and shell replacement module have different heights due to their different thicknesses
Re claim 10: these limitations as set forth are deemed satisfied by the arrangement used in Bajic et al. since no definite meaning can be obtained from the language as presently set forth.
Re claim 12: see figure 1A and 1B teaching earcups (one on each side of a user) with base body or modules andor replacement modules that have the same shape as set forth
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajic et al. in view of Cucuzza (WO2017/006355 A1).
Re claim 2: The teaching of Bajic is discussed above and incorporated herein. Bajic et al. does not teach a symmetry plane such that the shell module or replacement modules have symmetry with respect to this plane since a side view in Bajic et al. is not provided. Cucuzza teaches in a similar environment of headphones to include a symmetry plane (for example an imaginary plane extended through headband and earcup extending into the page as shown in figures 3A and 3B) such that at least the shell module and cushion used are symmetrical to this plane. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate such a feature into the headphone arrangement of Bajic et al. to predictably provide a headphone with symmetrically placed components of the headphone. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajic et al. in view of Dyer et al. (WO2008/122081 A1), cited by applicant.
Re claim 4: The teaching of Bajic et al. is discussed above and incorporated herein. Bajic et al. does not teach to have modules with electro-acoustic components that brought into active contact with electro-acoustic components of the base. Dyer et al. teaches such an arrangement as seen from figure 2 along with the abstract discussing elements (12, 14 and 16) which reduces a need for a physical interconnection therebetween (see abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate this teaching of Dyer et al. into the arrangement of Bajic et al. to predictably provide an arrangement which reduces a need for a physical interconnection between components of the headphone. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Re claim 5: the coupling means (16) taught by Dyer et al. is considered a plug-in contact by having the module (14) connected, i.e. plugged into the earcup (10) to make the connection.
Re claim 11: The teaching of Bajic et al. is discussed above and incorporated herein. Bajic et al. does not teach a plug socket for a connecting cable for a second ear cup. Dyer et al. teaches (figure 1, 3 and 4) a plug (21) connected into a socket on each earcup providing a connecting cable (20) between each earcup allow for the passage of power and signaling between the electronics in each earcup. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate such a feature taught by Dyer et al. into the arrangement of Bajic et al. to predictably provide a connecting cable (20) between each earcup allow for the passage of power and signaling between the electronics in each earcup. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajic et al.
Re claim 9: the teaching of Bajic et al. is discussed above and incorporated herein. Bajic et al. does not specifically teach replacement modules (cushions) providing three different overall heights as set forth. Bajic et al. does teach in column 4, line 2-21 that cushions come in different sizes each having a plushness and that a user might select one that is less plush or more plush depending one ones preference of comfort vs compactness and sound quality produced using each type. A skilled artisan, given the teaching of Bajic et al. would be able to obviously modify this two cushion arrangement to one with more than two cushions, for example three or more cushions to obtain a headphone with optimal comfort while at the same time one that is compact in size. These cushions would each have it own overall height, thickness satisfying earcup arrangements with overall heights So, S1 and S2 as set forth. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajic et al. in view of Cucuzza (WO2017/006355 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Dyer et al.
Re claim 13: The teaching of Bajic et al. in view of Cucuzza is discussed above and incorporated herein. Also note in figures 1A and 1B of Bajic et al. the headband used is connected to the earcups via a mechanic connection at a top portion of each earcup thereby providing a connection that is symmetrically designed with respect to a symmetrical plane (imaginary plane not depicted by the front view of these figures, but inherently present). This combination does not teach to have modules with electro-acoustic components that brought into active contact with electro-acoustic components of the base. Dyer et al. teaches such an arrangement as seen from figure 2 along with the abstract discussing elements (12, 14 and 16) which reduces a need for a physical interconnection therebetween (see abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate this teaching of Dyer et al. into the arrangement of Bajic et al. in view of Cucuzza as applied to predictably provide an arrangement which reduces a need for a physical interconnection between components of the headphone. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Re claim 14: the coupling means (16) taught by Dyer et al. is considered a plug-in contact by having the module (14) connected, i.e. plugged into the earcup (10) to establish an active connection. Also note the use of at least one microphone (20) in Baji et al. that is part of housing module of the audio system (1)
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajic et al. in view of Cucuzza (WO2017/006355 A1) and further in view of Dyer et al.
Re claim 15: the teaching of Bajic et al. in view of Cucuzza (WO2017/006355 A1) and further in view of Dyer et al. is discussed above and incorporated herein. This combination does not specifically teach replacement modules (cushions) providing three different overall heights as set forth by using different shell modules. Bajic et al. does teach in column 4, line 2-21 that cushions come in different sizes each having a plushness and that a user might select one that is less plush or more plush depending one ones preference of comfort vs compactness and sound quality produced using each type. A skilled artisan, given the teaching of Bajic et al. would be able to obviously modify this two cushion arrangement to one with more than two cushions, for example three or more cushions to obtain a headphone with optimal comfort while at the same time one that is compact in size. These cushions would each have its own overall height, thickness satisfying earcup arrangements with overall heights So, S1 and S2 as set forth. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Re claim 16: these limitations as set forth are deemed satisfied by the arrangement used in Bajic et al. since no definite meaning can be obtained from the language as presently set forth.
Re claim 17: note Dyer et al. teaches (figure 1, 3 and 4) a plug (21) connected into a socket on each earcup providing a connecting cable (20) between each earcup allow for the passage of power and signaling between the electronics in each earcup. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate such a feature taught by Dyer et al. into the arrangement of Bajic et al. in view of Cucuzza (WO2017/006355 A1 as applied to predictably provide a connecting cable (20) between each earcup allow for the passage of power and signaling between the electronics in each earcup. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Re claim 18: see figure 1A and 1B of Bajic et al. teaching earcups (one on each side of a user) with base body or modules and/or replacement modules that have the same shape as set forth
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users.
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANDREW SNIEZEK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/A.S./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693 1/27/26