DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 7/2/2026.
The Examiner notes claims 1-12 & 16-23 are currently pending and have been examined; claim(s) 13-15 is/are canceled without prejudice, claim(s) 1, 7, 12, & 19 is/are currently amended, and claim(s) 21-23 is/are newly added; all other claims are original or previously presented.
Please see the Response to Amendments and Response to Arguments sections below for more details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 12, 16, 19, 21, & 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SPITZFADEN (DE 202016001218 U1) in view of Rachow (US 20200061643), hereinafter Spitzfaden & Rachow, respectively.
Regarding claim 1. (Each claim status is listed above in the Status of Claims section) Spitzfaden discloses a fluid nozzle assembly for cleaning multiple vehicle surfaces [Fig 3-4; ¶42 of the translation; Fig 3 should the assembly location for cleaning multiple vehicle surfaces and Fig 4 should details of the nozzle head] comprising:
a nozzle head for mounting in proximity to multiple vehicle surfaces [Fig 4; 25], the nozzle head comprising:
a nozzle body having a first internal surface [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 4; the two L shaped portions of 12 are the nozzle body and form a first internal surface which forms the first recessed area and part of the nozzles, see annotate figure below];
a nozzle cap attached to the nozzle body and having a second internal surface … [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 4; the horizontal portion of 12 over the two L shaped portions is the nozzle cap and has a second internal surface which forms the second recessed area and part of the nozzles, see annotated figure below]; and
a manifold defined by the nozzle body and the nozzle cap [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 4; 16a-16b & 29 comprise the manifold in other words the combination of the first and second recessed areas define a manifold], the manifold comprising an internal cleaning media passage [29] having a plurality of cleaning media passageways [Fig 4; there are 2 passageways (16a & 16b) ];
a cleaning media inlet [16] fluidly coupled to the nozzle head and through which a cleaning media is supplied to the nozzle head from a cleaning media source [Fig 3-4; 16 supplies cleaning media to the nozzle head from a fluid source (20)]; and
a plurality of nozzles carried by the nozzle head [Fig 4; 26 & 28 are nozzles], each of the plurality of nozzles fed by one of the plurality of cleaning media passageways and having at least one outlet
wherein one of the plurality of nozzles provides a different flow rate, flow type, pressure, direction, or spray pattern of cleaning media than at least one other nozzle [Fig 3-4; ¶43-¶44 of the translation; the nozzles spray in different directions and have different cross-sections which would create differences in flow rate, flow type, pressure, and/or spray pattern]; and wherein the first and second internal surfaces include recessed areas that mate to define the plurality of cleaning media passageways [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 4].
Figure 1: Annotated Fig 4 of Spitzfaden
Spitzfaden may not explicitly disclose the second internal surface mated with the first internal surface to define a fluid-tight interface.
However Rachow teaches a fluid nozzle [10] with a nozzle body having a first internal surface [Fig 2-3; 24 is the nozzle body and has an internal surface formed on its front side (32)]; a nozzle cap having a second internal surface [Fig 1-2; 22 is a nozzle cap with a second internal surface formed on is rear side which faces 24] mated with the first internal surface to define a fluid-tight interface [Fig 1-3; ¶28; the first and second internal surfaces mate to define a fluid-tight interface to direct fluid through nozzles formed in recessed areas included in the internal surfaces].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nozzle body and nozzle cap as disclosed by Spitzfaden to have the second internal surface mated with the first internal surface to define a fluid-tight interface as taught by Rachow for the purpose of forming fluid-tight passageways that direct fluid through nozzles which are also formed by the internal surfaces [Rachow: Fig 1-3; ¶28-¶29].
Regarding claim 2. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 1, wherein the cleaning media inlet is formed on the nozzle body and comprises a supply conduit extending from a first side of the nozzle body, the nozzle cap attached to a second side of the nozzle body opposite the first side [Spitzfaden: Fig 4; the media inlet is formed on the nozzle body (i.e. 16 connects to the back of the nozzle body and has a supply conduit extending from the first side of the body, Fig 3 shows that 16 extends away from the nozzle body to the fluid source; the nozzle cap attaches to the opposite side of the nozzle body].
Regarding claim 3. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 2, wherein an inner surface of the nozzle cap is disposed in opposition to an outlet of the supply conduit [Spitzfaden: Fig 4], the outlet of the supply conduit supplying cleaning media to the internal cleaning media passage [Spitzfaden: Fig 3-4].
Regarding claim 4. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 1, may not explicitly disclose wherein the manifold comprises a plurality of flow diverters dividing the internal cleaning media passage into the plurality of cleaning media passageways, optionally wherein the plurality of flow diverters are integrally formed with at least one of the nozzle body and the nozzle cap.
However Rachow further teaches that wherein the manifold comprises a plurality of flow diverters [Fig 4; the trapezoidal portions extending into the manifold (40) are flow dividers] dividing the internal cleaning media passage into the plurality of cleaning media passageways [Fig 4; each diverter divides the internal cleaning media passage into a plurality of cleaning media passageways], optionally wherein the plurality of flow diverters are integrally formed with at least one of the nozzle body and the nozzle cap [Fig 1-4].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the manifold as taught by Spitzfaden as modified to have the manifold comprises a plurality of flow diverters dividing the internal cleaning media passage into the plurality of cleaning media passageways, optionally wherein the plurality of flow diverters are integrally formed with at least one of the nozzle body and the nozzle cap as taught by Rachow for the purpose increasing the number of nozzles supplied fluid by the manifold allowing for additional control of the area which fluid is sprayed (i.e. an array of nozzles instead of a single nozzle) [Rachow: ¶24 & ¶28-¶29].
Regarding claim 5. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 4, wherein the plurality of flow diverters include a first set of flow diverters integrally formed with the nozzle body and a second set of flow diverters integrally formed the nozzle cap, wherein first set of flow diverters are connected with the second set of flow diverters [Spitzfaden: Fig 4; the nozzles are formed by integral portions formed on the nozzle cap and body with a first set being on the nozzle cap and the second set being on the nozzle body and with the internal surfaces as taught by Rachow the flow diverters are also split between the nozzle body and nozzle cap (Fig 2 of Rachow)].
Regarding claim 6. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 4, wherein at least one of the plurality of flow diverters includes a divider surface separating an entrance to a first cleaning media passageway from an entrance to a second cleaning media passageway [Rachow: Fig 3-4; each diverter has a divider surface that separates the entrance of one of the plurality of cleaning media passageways from another entrance to another one of the plurality of cleaning media passageways].
Regarding claim 7. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 4, wherein at least one of the plurality of flow diverters includes a deflector wall extending into one of the plurality of cleaning media passageways and positioned in opposing relationship to a flow direction of cleaning media through the one of the plurality of cleaning media passageways [Rachow: Fig 3-4; the diverter that is triangular is a deflector wall extending into a cleaning media passageway and is positioned opposing the flow direction of the cleaning media].
Regarding claim 12. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 1, wherein the nozzle head comprises a perimeter edge including at least a first peripheral surface and a second peripheral surface, and the plurality of nozzles comprises at least a first nozzle disposed at the first peripheral surface and a second nozzle disposed at the second peripheral surface [Spitzfaden: Fig 4; 26 & 28 are disposed on first and second peripheral surfaces]; wherein an outlet of the first nozzle is formed by an opening through the first peripheral surface [Spitzfaden: Fig 4; the nozzle is formed by an opening through the first peripheral surface], the opening defined by an aperture in at least one of the nozzle body and the nozzle cap [Rachow: 1-2; the nozzles apertures are formed in the nozzle body and/or cap].
Regarding claim 16. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of cleaning media passageways have at least one of:
unequal fluid volumes, with a first one of the plurality of nozzles supplied by a first cleaning media passageway having a first fluid volume and a second one of the plurality of nozzles supplied by a second cleaning media passageway having a second fluid volume that is greater than the first fluid volume;
unequal flow rates, with a first cleaning media passageway having a first flow rate and a second cleaning media passageway having a second flow rate that is greater than the first flow rate; and
unequal pressures, with a first cleaning media passageway having a first pressure and a second cleaning media passageway having a second pressure that is greater than the first pressure [Spitzfaden: Fig 4; ¶43 of the translation; the passageways (16a & 16b) can have different cross-sections which when supply by 16 with fluid would have different volumes, flow rates, & pressure due to fluids flowing faster and under more pressure when the cross-section they are traveling is reduced in size].
Regarding claim 19. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of nozzles comprises a spray building element, the spray building element comprising one of:
a chip inserted between the nozzle body and the nozzle cap; and
an in-mold element integrally formed with at least one of the nozzle body and the nozzle cap [Spitzfaden: Fig 4; 26 & 28 are in-mold elements integrally formed with the nozzle body and nozzle cap that are spray building elements].
Regarding claim 21. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of cleaning media passageways are defined solely by the mated recessed areas formed in the first internal surface and the second internal surface [Rachow: Fig 2-3].
Regarding claim 23. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 1, wherein nozzle head comprises at least one cleaning media passageway comprising a channel integrally formed with one of the nozzle body and the nozzle cap, wherein the channel is closed by the other one of the nozzle body and the nozzle cap [Rachow: Fig 2-4].
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spitzfaden in view of Rachow further in view of Eineren et al. (US 20150185592), hereinafter Eineren.
Regarding claim 8. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of nozzles comprises a first nozzle integrally formed with the nozzle head and defined by the nozzle body and the nozzle cap [Fig 4; 26 is integrally with the nozzle head and is defined by the nozzle cap and nozzle body]; and the nozzle head comprises a perimeter edge including at least a first peripheral surface [Fig 4], wherein an outlet of the first nozzle is formed by … an opening through the first peripheral surface, the …opening defined by the nozzle body and the nozzle cap [Fig 4; 26 is formed by the nozzle body and nozzle cap].
However Spitzfaden may not explicitly disclose wherein an outlet of the first nozzle is formed by a plurality of openings through the first peripheral surface.
However Eineren teaches a fluid nozzle assembly [Fig 2; 200] wherein an outlet of the first nozzle is formed by a plurality of openings through the first peripheral surface, the plurality of openings defined by the nozzle body and the nozzle cap [Fig 2; the outlet of 200 is formed by a plurality of openings (210a-d)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first nozzle as disclosed by Spitzfaden to have outlet of the first nozzle is formed by a plurality of openings through the first peripheral surface as taught by Eineren for the purpose of increasing the cleaning effectiveness of the nozzle over an area by multiple small openings with different spray features pointing in different directions over the area to be cleaned [Eineren: ¶108].
Regarding claim 9. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 8, wherein the plurality of openings comprise at least one of: a first opening having a first opening width and a second opening having a second opening width that is greater than the first opening width [Eineren: ¶108; the openings can have different opening widths].
Claim(s) 10-11 & 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spitzfaden in view of Rachow further in view of Zhao, Chunling et al. (WO 2015161097 A1), hereinafter Zhao.
Regarding claim 10. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of nozzles is attached to the nozzle head and is inserted into a nozzle receiver that is one of: defined between the nozzle body and the nozzle cap; and formed on the nozzle cap.
However Zhao teaches a fluid nozzle assembly wherein at least one of the plurality of nozzles is attached to the nozzle head and is inserted into a nozzle receiver that is one of: defined between the nozzle body and the nozzle cap; and formed on the nozzle cap [Fig 2-4 & 8A-8B; the nozzle assembly 120 has a nozzle (170) inserted into a nozzle receiver that is defined between the nozzle body and nozzle cap (see Fig 2-3)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of nozzles as disclosed by Spitzfaden to have one of the nozzles be attached to the nozzle head and is inserted into a nozzle receiver that is one of: defined between the nozzle body and the nozzle cap as taught by Zhao for the purpose of provide an oscillating spray of fluid droplets without having the nozzle require moving parts and so are not subject to the wear and tear which adversely affects the reliability and operation of other oscillating spray devices. [Zhao: ¶79].
Regarding claim 11. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 1, wherein the nozzle head comprises a plurality of nozzle receivers and wherein the plurality of nozzles comprise at least two of:
a static fan nozzle tip to produce a static fan spray pattern [Fig 4; 26 is a static fan nozzle tip producing a static fan spray pattern],
but may not explicitly disclose
a chip to produce an oscillating fan spray pattern, the chip received within one of the plurality of nozzle receivers.
However as taught above in claim 10, Zhao teaches a chip to produce an oscillating fan spray pattern, the chip received within one of the plurality of nozzle receivers [Fig 2-4 & 8A-8B; ¶79].
Therefore claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 10.
Regarding claim 17. (Currently Amended) Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of cleaning media passageways includes a first cleaning media passageway comprising a laminar flow passageway and a second cleaning media passageway comprising a turbulent flow passageway.
[A chip produces an oscillating fan spray pattern through the use of turbulent flow or flow instability to create the oscillating spray pattern. See ¶77 of Zhao which describes this as well as the incorporated reference in that paragraph, Gopalan et al. (US 7267290), hereinafter Gopalan. Particularly Gopalan Fig 5-6B show the turbulent flow. Therefore claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 11 as one passageway contains the chip using turbulent flow and the other passageway uses laminar flow for the static fan nozzle].
Regarding claim 18. (Currently Amended) Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of nozzles comprise at least two nozzles selected from:
an in-mold static fan nozzle to produce a static fan spray pattern [Fig 4; 26 is an in-mold static fan nozzle];
a static fan nozzle tip to produce a static fan spray pattern;
an eye ball-type nozzle tip to produce a conical spray pattern;
an oscillating fan chip to produce an oscillating fan spray pattern; and
an in-mold oscillating fan nozzle to produce an oscillating fan spray pattern.
[Claim 18 has the same or similar limitations to claim 11 and is rejected for the same or similar reasons as claim 11].
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spitzfaden in view of BADANOV et al. (US 20220306049), hereinafter Badanov.
Regarding claim 20. Spitzfaden discloses a fluid nozzle assembly for cleaning multiple vehicle surfaces comprising:
a nozzle head for mounting in proximity to a vehicle window,… a camera sensor, …, and the nozzle head comprising a first nozzle body and a second nozzle body comprising a nozzle cap attached to the first nozzle body; a cleaning media inlet fluidly coupled to the nozzle head and through which a cleaning media is supplied to the nozzle head from a cleaning media source;
a plurality of nozzles supported by or formed on the nozzle head, including at least:
a window nozzle comprising at least one outlet that is oriented to direct fluid toward the window;
…
a camera sensor nozzle comprising at least one outlet that is oriented to direct fluid toward the camera sensor; and
…
a manifold defined by the first nozzle body and the nozzle cap, the manifold comprising an internal cleaning media passage having a plurality of cleaning media passageways including at least;
a window nozzle passageway to supply cleaning media to the window nozzle ;
…
a camera sensor nozzle passageway to supply cleaning media to the camera sensor nozzle; and
…
[The claim limitations above are the same or similar to claim 1 and are similarly rejected.]
Spitzfaden may not explicitly disclose a nozzle head for mounting in proximity to a vehicle window, a CMHSL, a camera sensor, and a LIDAR sensor, a plurality of nozzles supported by or formed on the nozzle head, including at least:
a window nozzle comprising at least one outlet that is oriented to direct fluid toward the window;
a CMHSL nozzle comprising at least one outlet that is oriented to direct fluid toward the CMHSL;
a camera sensor nozzle comprising at least one outlet that is oriented to direct fluid toward the camera sensor; and
a LIDAR sensor nozzle comprising at least one outlet that is oriented to direct fluid toward the LIDAR sensor; and
a manifold defined by the first nozzle body and the nozzle cap, the manifold comprising an internal cleaning media passage having a plurality of cleaning media passageways including at least;
a window nozzle passageway to supply cleaning media to the window nozzle;
a CMHSL nozzle passageway to supply cleaning media to the CMHSL nozzle;
a camera sensor nozzle passageway to supply cleaning media to the camera sensor nozzle; and
a LIDAR sensor nozzle passageway to supply cleaning media to the LIDAR sensor nozzle."
However Badanov teaches a nozzle to spray multiple sensors; including a camera and LIDAR sensor [Fig 4; 400 is a nozzle that has a plurality of nozzles that spray both cameras (440) and LIDAR sensor (420)].
As Spitzfaden teaches a nozzle to spray components (window and camera) that are close together in location, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nozzle assembly as disclosed by Spitzfaden to have outlets and nozzles directed to a vehicle window, a CMHSL, a camera sensor, and a LIDAR sensor as taught by Badanov [Fig 4; ¶75-¶76 & ¶81-¶82] and as pursuant of MPEP 2144.04-VI-B, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance absent of new and unexpected results produced by the claimed invention as compared to the prior art, it considered to be matters of design/engineering choice which a person skilled in the art would have found obvious. In the instant case duplicating nozzles to spray other components would be obvious.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spitzfaden in view of Rachow further in view of Eineren further in view of Zhao.
Regarding claim 22. Spitzfaden as modified teaches the fluid nozzle assembly of claim 1, wherein: the nozzle head comprises a perimeter edge formed by mating surfaces of the nozzle body and the nozzle cap [Rachow: Fig 1-3], the perimeter edge including at least a first peripheral surface and a second peripheral surface [Spitzfaden: Fig 4; the nozzle has first and second peripheral surfaces on opposite sides of the nozzle], the plurality of nozzles comprises a first nozzle integrally formed with the nozzle head [Spitzfaden: Fig 4; 26 is a first nozzle], with the outlet of the first nozzle formed by a plurality of openings through the first peripheral surface [Rejected for the same reasons as claim 8 (Eineren)], the plurality of openings formed by mating surfaces of the nozzle body and the nozzle cap at the first peripheral surface [Rachow: Fig 2-3]; and the plurality of nozzles comprises a second nozzle mounted between the nozzle body and the nozzle cap at the second peripheral surface [Rejected for the same reasons as claim 10 (Zhao)].
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Applicant's amendments and arguments, see Pages 8-9, filed 7/2/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of 4/3/2026 are withdrawn.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 9-17, filed 7/2/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 1-12, 16-19 are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.It is noted that the Applicant claims that Spitzfaden does not disclose a nozzle body or a nozzle cap as the above identified pieces of Spitzfaden are not two components cooperating to form/define a manifold or internal fluid channels. However the components of Spitzfaden do form the nozzle body and cap in an integral manner and Rachow is relied upon to teach that they can be two separate components that together join to form/define a manifold and internal fluid channels.
Regarding claim 21, the Applicant claims that Spitzfaden only teaches a nozzle for spraying a camera and a window and Badanov only teaches cleaning cameras and LIDAR sensors. The Applicant claims therefore that since neither disclose specifically cleaning all the claimed sensors and having a manifold having multiple nozzles formed by a nozzle body and a nozzle cap Spitzfaden nor Badanov teach the claimed limitations of claim 21.However as stated above the claim does not have any limitations requiring the nozzle body and cap to made of separate pieces that are joined together, therefore Spitzfaden does disclose the nozzle body and the nozzle cap. Spitzfaden already discloses a nozzle with separate nozzles for cleaning different parts of a car. Badanov teaches a different nozzle with nozzles to spray a plurality of car sensors in proximity to the nozzle. Therefore applying the concept of a nozzle with multiple nozzles to clean a plurality of different car sensors in proximity to the nozzle to the existing nozzle of Spitzfaden it would be obvious to a person skilled in the art to add further nozzles to the Spitzfaden to spray other car sensors in proximity to the nozzle. Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON R MCCONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723