Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 7 should not be in frame.
Claim objections
Claim 1, “the other second connection end portion” in lines 9-10 and “the igniter side” in line 15 lack antecedent basis.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/701,042 in view of Gaudinat (US20160351363). The differences between the instant claim 1 and the reference claim 1 is the slit portion. However, Gaudinat teaches a similar electric breaker with an upper housing that comprises a slit portion 9. It would have been obvious to add a slit portion for venting purpose as taught by Gaudinat.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gaudinat (US20160351363).
Regarding claim 1, Gaudinat teaches an electric circuit breaker device comprising: a housing 1 serving as an outer shell member and enclosing an accommodating space extending in one direction; an igniter 5 provided in the housing; a projectile 4 disposed in the housing and configured to be projected from one end side of the accommodating space by energy received from the igniter, the projectile being configured to move along an extending direction of the accommodating space; and a conductor piece 2 held by the housing and forming a portion of an electric circuit, the conductor piece including a cutoff portion between one first connection end portion 21 and the other second connection end portion 23, the cutoff portion being cut off by movement of the projectile and being disposed across the accommodating space, wherein a region defined by an inner wall 31 of the housing holding the conductor piece in the accommodating space serves as a holding region, the housing includes a housing body enclosing the holding region, and the housing body includes an upper surface 1b on the igniter side, a lower surface 1a on a destination side of the projectile (paragraphs 68-75), and a slit portion 9 that is a recess provided in at least one of the upper surface or the lower surface (Figs. 1-3 and paragraph 76).
Regarding claim 4, Gaudinat teaches the electric circuit breaker device wherein the housing body includes a conductor piece holding hole, which is a hole through which the conductor piece passes, and the slit portion 9 does not intersect the conductor piece holding hole (annotated figure below).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takehisa (JP2019212612).
Regarding claim 1, Takehisa teaches an electric circuit breaker device comprising: a housing (200, 100) serving as an outer shell member and enclosing an accommodating space extending in one direction; an igniter (power source P) provided in the housing; a projectile 500 disposed in the housing and configured to be projected from one end side of the accommodating space by energy received from the igniter, the projectile being configured to move along an extending direction of the accommodating space; and a conductor piece 400 held by the housing and forming a portion of an electric circuit, the conductor piece including a cutoff portion between one first connection end portion 21 and the other second connection end portion 23, the cutoff portion being cut off by movement of the projectile and being disposed across the accommodating space, wherein a region defined by an inner wall (210, 110) of the housing holding the conductor piece in the accommodating space serves as a holding region, the housing includes a housing body enclosing the holding region, and the housing body includes an upper surface on the igniter side, a lower surface on a destination side of the projectile, and a slit portion ((X3, b3) OR (121, 231) that is a recess provided in at least one of the upper surface or the lower surface (Figs. 1-6, annotated figure below and paragraphs 22-23, 30 of the enclosed translation).
Regarding claim 2, Takehisa teaches the electric circuit breaker device wherein the slit portion (x3, b3) is a through hole extending between the upper surface and the lower surface (annotated figure below and paragraphs 22-23, 30 of the enclosed translation).
Regarding claim 3, Takehisa teaches the electric circuit breaker device wherein the slit portion (121, 231) is longer in a circumferential direction of a circle centered at a position of a center of the holding region than in a radial direction of the circle (Fig. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed breaker wherein the housing body includes a fastening through hole, which is a hole extending between the upper surface and the lower surface and through which a fastening component passes, and a distance between the slit portion and the holding region is shorter than a distance between the fastening through hole and the holding region.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AHMED M SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833