DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to because reference number 1 is shown as an inverter 1. However, inverter 1 (se fig.1) includes other processing unit 9, drivers 8, 11, voltage supply units 14, 15, isolation interface 10, analog-to-digital converter 13, voltage converter 16, PWM modulator 17. In general, inverter is a switching circuit (2, fig.1) and needs to be separated from the voltage supply units (buck converters) 14, 15 and other control/processing units 9, 22, drivers 8, 11, PWM modulator 17 mentioned above and therefore not clear and requests correction and clarification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the electric machine (an inverter for an electric machine, see claims 11-20) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Reference potential, positive intermediate circuit potential (see claim 13), phase potential (see claims 11-20), differential mangetic field sensor (claim 15) must be shown and referenced. No new matter should be entered.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference number 1 is shown as an inverter 1. However, inverter 1 (see fig.1) shown includes other processing unit 9, drivers 8, 11, voltage supply units 14, 15, isolation interface 10, analog-to-digital converter 13, voltage converter 16, PWM modulator 17. In general, inverter is a switching circuit (H-bridge switching circuit 2, fig.1) and needs to be separated from the voltage supply units (buck converters) 14, 15 and other control/processing units 9, 22, drivers 8, 11, PWM modulator 17 mentioned above and therefore not clear with respect to the limitations of claims 11-20 (for e.g. claim 12 that state inverter is configured to feed the gate driver with the phase potential as a supply potential is not clear as gate driver is fed by a voltage supply 14 as in fig.1 and not inverter 1) and requests correction and clarification for claims 11-20.
The phrase, (see spec, page 13, lines 15-21 and fig.3), “The diagram 50 also shows a curve 55, which is shifted by a 20 voltage difference 59 relative to the curve 54 and represents the aforementioned reference potential for supplying the current sensor 5 and, in the exemplary embodiment shown in Fig. 1, for supplying the driver 8. It can be seen that the reference potential 55 is clocked 25 together with the control pulses of the PWM signal 54” is not clear as to the reference potential supplying the current sensor 5 or driver 8/11 is not clear from fig.1? clock not shown and referenced.
PWM signal 23 is send to the driver 8 shown in fig.1. How is the PWM drive signal 23 send to the semiconductor switch Half bridge 2 relative to claims 11 and 20 is not clear?
As to claim 1, the phrase, “a voltage source configured to supply power to the current sensor, the voltage source being configured to supply the current sensor with a constant supply voltage relative to a pulse-width-modulated, phase potential of the semiconductor switch half- bridge” is not clear as it is not shown and referenced. Which phase potential referring to? DC or AC from applicant’s fig.1? PWM signal 23 is send to the driver 8 shown in fig.1. How is the PWM drive signal 23 send to the semiconductor switch Half bridge 2 relative to claims 11 and 20 is not clear?
As to claim 20, (New) A method for detecting a phase current of a phase of an inverter for supplying current to an electric machine, the method comprising: detecting a phase current, using a current sensor, depending on a magnetic field generated by the phase current, wherein the current sensor is supplied from a supply voltage added to a phase potential of a phase is not clear from applicant’s fig.1? Applicant’s fig.1 shows voltage supply 12 supply voltage to current sensor 5 but not clear as to the phrase, “supply voltage added to a phase potential of a phase”?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the phrase, “a voltage source configured to supply power to the current sensor, the voltage source being configured to supply the current sensor with a constant supply voltage relative to a pulse-width-modulated, phase potential of the semiconductor switch half- bridge” is not clear as it is not shown and referenced. what phase potential referring to? DC or AC?
As to claim 12, (New) The inverter according to claim 11, further comprising: a gate driver for a high-side semiconductor switch of the semiconductor switch half-bridge, and the inverter is configured to feed the gate driver with the phase potential as a supply potential is not clear?
Applicant’s fig.1 shows a high side gate driver 8 is fed by a voltage supply 14 as in fig.1 and not inverter 1 and therefore requests correction and clarification.
As to claim 19, (New) The inverter according to claim 18, further comprising: a ceramic circuit carrier for the semiconductor switch half-bridge; and an additional circuit carrier arranged in parallel with the ceramic circuit carrier; wherein the current sensor and the gate driver are arranged on the additional circuit carrier and are integrally connected to the additional circuit carrier is not clear?
Applicant’s fig.2 (see relative spec, pages 12-13) shows and teaches a ceramic circuit carrier 42 have a current sensor 46 and driver 44 shown mounted (see fig.2) and not the semiconductor switch half-bridge (see claim 19) and therefore not clear?
an additional circuit carrier 47 arranged in parallel with the ceramic circuit carrier 42; wherein the switch 43 is shown mounted (see fig.2) and therefore current sensor and the gate driver are arranged on the additional circuit carrier 47 is not clear? Current sensor 46 and driver 44 is mounted on above said ceramic circuit carrier 42 (see fig.2). Appropriate correction and clarification requested.
As to claim 20, (New) A method for detecting a phase current of a phase of an inverter for supplying current to an electric machine, the method comprising: detecting a phase current, using a current sensor, depending on a magnetic field generated by the phase current, wherein the current sensor is supplied from a supply voltage added to a phase potential of a phase is not clear from applicant’s fig.1? Applicant’s fig.1 shows voltage supply 12 supply voltage to current sensor 5 but not clear as to the phrase, “supply voltage added to a phase potential of a phase”?
Claim 20 is also missing semiconductor switch half bridge of inverter and pulse-width-modulated control limitations that produce said phase current.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 12, 13, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by SUZUKI (Pub.No.: US 2014/0246997 A1).
LISTING OF CLAIMS:
Claims 1-10 (Canceled).
11. (New) An inverter for an electric machine, comprising:
at least one semiconductor switch half-bridge;
a current sensor configured to detect a phase current generated by the at least one semiconductor switch half-bridge, depending on a magnetic field generated by the phase current; and
a voltage source configured to supply power to the current sensor, the voltage source being configured to supply the current sensor with a constant supply voltage relative to a pulse-width-modulated, phase potential of the semiconductor switch half- bridge.
(As to claim 11, SUZUKI teaches (figs.1-20B, para. [0035]) an inverter 60 (figs.1-2) for an electric machine 80 (figs.1-2, para. [0033], [0035], [0036]), comprising:
at least one semiconductor switch half-bridge [1st bridge with switch 611-612 / 2nd bridge with switch 621-622 / 3rd bridge with switch 631-632] (of inverter 60, see fig.1, para. [0038];
a current detector 70 (see fig.1, para’s [0039]-[0040]) configured to detect a phase current Iu/Iv/Iw generated by the at least one semiconductor switch half-bridge [1st bridge with switch 611-612 / 2nd bridge with switch 621-622 / 3rd bridge with switch 631-632], depending on a magnetic field generated by the phase current Iu/Iv/Iw (see fig. 3, & relative para. [0044], [0050]); and
a voltage source [battery 51] (fig.1) configured to supply power [dc voltage V] to the current detector 70 (via current detection elements 71, 72, 73), the voltage source [battery 51] being configured to supply the current detector 70 (via current detection elements 71, 72, 73) with a constant supply voltage [dc voltage from voltage source 51 is smoothed via capacitor 53 to produce dc voltage Vc suppressing ripples and noise, see para. [0037], fig.1) relative to a pulse-width-modulated, phase potential of the semiconductor switch half- bridge [1st bridge with switch 611-612 / 2nd bridge with switch 621-622 / 3rd bridge with switch 631-632] (SUZUKI teaches “PWM drive signals outputted to gates of FET’s of inverter 60 to convert DC power/potential to AC power], see para’s [0037]-[0040]).
12. (New) The inverter according to claim 11, further comprising: a gate driver for a high-side semiconductor switch of the semiconductor switch half-bridge, and the inverter is configured to feed the gate driver with the phase potential as a supply potential.
(As to claim 12, SUZUKI teaches (figs.1-20B, para. [0035]) an inverter 60 (figs.1-2), further comprising: a gate driver [DRIVE CIRCUIT 68] for a high-side semiconductor switch 611/621/631 (FIG.1) of the semiconductor switch half-bridge bridge [1st bridge with switch 611-612 / 2nd bridge with switch 621-622 / 3rd bridge with switch 631-632], and the inverter 60 is configured to feed the gate driver [drive circuit 68] with the phase potential [Vc] (via gate drive circuit 68 connecting microcomputer 67] as a supply potential [DC voltage] (see fig.1, para. [0040]).
13. (New) The inverter according to claim 11, wherein the inverter is configured to supply the current sensor with the high-side potential to be connected from a high-side semiconductor switch of the semiconductor switch half-bridge, as a further reference potential including a positive intermediate circuit potential.
(As to claim 13, SUZUKI teaches (figs.1-20B, para. [0035]) an inverter 60 (figs.1-2), which is configured to supply the current detector 70 with the high-potential side [+ dc voltage] to be connected from a high-side semiconductor switch 611 of the semiconductor switch half-bridge [1st bridge with switch 611-612] and a reference potential [low-potential voltage] (connecting current detector 70, see fig.1, para’s [0038]-[0039]) and a positive intermediate circuit potential [Voltage Vc] (of intermediate circuit section 53], see para. [0037]).
16. (New) The inverter according to claim 11, wherein the voltage source for the current sensor is configured to generate the constant supply voltage for the current sensor.
(As to claim 16, SUZUKI teaches (figs.1-20B, para. [0035]) an inverter 60 (figs.1-2),
wherein the voltage source [battery 51] for the current detector 70 is configured to generate the constant supply voltage [dc voltage/potential or dc voltage Vc] (see fig.1, para. [0037], [0038], [0039], [0040]) for the current detector 70).
17. (New) The inverter according to claim 11, wherein the voltage source is connected on an input side to an intermediate circuit of the inverter.
(As to claim 17, SUZUKI teaches (figs.1-20B, para. [0035]) an inverter 60 (figs.1-2),
wherein the voltage source [battery 51] is connected on an input side to an intermediate circuit [capacitor circuit 53] (see fig.1) connecting input side of the inverter 60).
18. (New) The inverter according to claim 11, wherein the gate driver is arranged in a region of the current sensor.
(As to claim 18, SUZUKI teaches (figs.1-20B, para. [0035]) an inverter 60 (figs.1-2), wherein the gate driver [DRIVE CIRCUIT 68] (SEE FIG.1) is arranged in a region of the current DETECTOR 70 (current detection elements 71, 72, 73)).
20. (New) A method for detecting a phase current of a phase of an inverter for supplying current to an electric machine, the method comprising:
detecting a phase current, using a current sensor, depending on a magnetic field generated by the phase current, wherein the current sensor is supplied from a supply voltage added to a phase potential of a phase.
(As to claim 20, SUZUKI teaches (using figs.1-20B, para’s [0106]-[0107], [0112]) a method for detecting a phase current Iu/Iv/Iw (via current detector 70, see fig.1, para’s [0039]-[0040]) of a phase of an inverter 60 (figs.1, 3) for supplying current Iu/Iv/Iw to an electric machine 80 (figs.1-2, para. [0033], [0035], [0036]), the method comprising:
detecting a phase current Iu/Iv/Iw, using a current detector 70 (see fig.1, para’s [0039]-[0040]) of an inverter 60 semiconductor switch [bridge with switch 611-612 / bridge with switch 621-622 / bridge with switch 631-632], depending on a magnetic field generated by the phase current Iu/Iv/Iw (see fig. 3, & relative para. [0044], [0050]), wherein the current detector 70 (current detection elements 71, 72, 73) is supplied from a supply voltage (dc power/voltage via battery 51, see fig.1) added (via dc circuit [capacitor 53]) connecting a phase potential [high-side potential, low-side potential] (see para. [0038], [0039]), of a phase U, V, W (of an inverter 60 for conversion of DC to AC power, see fig.1, para’s [0036]-[0037]).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (Pub.No.: US 2008/0157752 A1) in view of SUZUKI (Pub.No.: US 2014/0246997 A1).
11. (New) An inverter for an electric machine, comprising:
at least one semiconductor switch half-bridge;
a current sensor configured to detect a phase current generated by the at least one semiconductor switch half-bridge, depending on a magnetic field generated by the phase current; and
a voltage source configured to supply power to the current sensor, the voltage source being configured to supply the current sensor with a constant supply voltage relative to a pulse-width-modulated, phase potential of the semiconductor switch half- bridge.
(As to claim 11, Lu teaches (figs.1-10) A current sensor unit 11/18/118 (figs.1, 4, 7) and control for an electric motor 3, comprising:
at least one semiconductor switch bridge 1-2;
a current sensor unit 1/11/18/118 (using shunt resistor 4) configured to detect a phase current generated by the at least one semiconductor switch bridge 1-2, depending on a magnetic field generated (via electric motor 3) by the phase current (see para. [0005]-[0006], [0042], [0044]); and
a voltage source VCC (or supply voltage 5 / Vbus +, Vbus-) configured to supply power to the current sensor 1/11/18/118 (via shunt resistor 4, figs.1, 4, 7), the voltage source VCC being configured to supply the current sensor 1/11/18/118 with a constant supply voltage (see fig.2) relative to a pulse-width-modulated, phase potential of the semiconductor switch bridge (see fig.2, para’s [0009] thru [0018]).
LU does not mention an inverter with semiconductor switch half-bridge.
SUZUKI teaches (figs.1-20B, para. [0035]) an inverter 60 (figs.1-2) for an electric machine 80 (figs.1-2, para. [0033], [0035], [0036]) and inverter 60 with at least one semiconductor switch half-bridge [1st bridge with switch 611-612 / 2nd bridge with switch 621-622 / 3rd bridge with switch 631-632] (of inverter 60, see fig.1, para. [0038] and also teaches current detection using a current detector 70 (see fig.1, para’s [0039]-[0040]) configured to detect a phase current Iu/Iv/Iw generated by the at least one semiconductor switch half-bridge [1st bridge with switch 611-612 / 2nd bridge with switch 621-622 / 3rd bridge with switch 631-632], depending on a magnetic field generated by the phase current Iu/Iv/Iw (see fig. 3, & relative para. [0044], [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an inverter with semiconductor switch half-bridge of SUZUKI in the system of Lu because generate steering assist torque for a vehicle and prevents generation of torque of a polarity opposite to that of a command due to an initial error of assembling each rotation position detection device with a rotary electric machine, when correction value information is abnormal (see Suzuki, para’s [0003], [0007]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUZUKI in view of prior art of record Lu (Pub.No.: US 2008/0157752 A1).
14. (New) The inverter according to claim 12, further comprising: a processing unit connected to an input of the gate driver for a control signal and configured to transmit the control signal for actuating the semiconductor switch half-bridge to the input of the gate driver; and
a low-voltage interface configured to receive the control signal from the processing unit and to transmit the control signal in an electrically isolated manner to the gate driver.
(As to claim 14, SUZUKI teaches (figs.1-20B, para. [0035]) an inverter 60 (figs.1-2),
according to claim 12, further comprising: a processing unit [MICROCOMPUTER 67] connected to an input of the gate driver [DRIVE CIRCUIT 68] (FIG.1) for a control signal [PWM DRIVE SIGNAL] and configured to transmit the control signal for actuating the semiconductor switch half-bridge [1st arm bridge with switch 611-612] to the input of the gate driver [DRIVE CIRCUIT 68] (SEE FIG.1, para. [0040]).
SUZUKI does not mention a low-voltage interface configured to receive the control signal from the processing unit and to transmit the control signal in an electrically isolated manner to the gate driver.
Lu teaches (e.g. fig.4/7) a voltage source Vcc/ supply voltage 5 to a current sensor unit 1/18/118 (figs.1-2, 4, 7), wherein a low-voltage interface [low voltage-high voltage isolation circuit ] of current sensor unit 18/118 (connecting motor control switches 1, 2, see fig.4/7) configured to receive the control signal from the processing unit [digital control & Measurement 21] and to transmit the control signal in an electrically isolated manner via said isolation circuit of unit 18/118 (see fig.4/7, para. [0005]) to the gate drive circuit 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a low-voltage interface configured to receive the control signal from the processing unit and to transmit the control signal in an electrically isolated manner to the gate driver of Lu in the system of SUZUKI because improved current sensor for motor control and to get motor phase current information accurately and instantly to the motor control unit (see Lu para’s [0002]-[0004]) and produce constant supply voltage as shown in fig.2 of LU.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUZUKI (Pub.No.: US 2014/0246997 A1) in view of DING et al. (Pub.No.: US 2022/0065900 A1 and DING hereinafter).
15. (New) The inverter according to claim 11, further comprising: a phase busbar connected to the semiconductor switch half-bridge, the phase busbar being configured to carry the phase current of the semiconductor switch half- bridge, and wherein the current sensor is a differential magnetic field sensor, which is arranged in a region of the phase busbar.
(As to claim 15, SUZUKI teaches (figs.1-20B, para. [0035]) an inverter 60 (figs.1-2) with current detector 70 connected to conductor of respective switch half-bridge bridge [bridge with switch 611-612/ bridge with switch 621-622/ bridge with switch 631-632].
SUZUKI does not mention a phase busbar connected to the semiconductor switch half-bridge, the phase busbar being configured to carry the phase current of the semiconductor switch half- bridge, and wherein the current sensor is a differential magnetic field sensor, which is arranged in a region of the phase busbar.
DING teaches (figs.1-2, 20 of figs.1-23, para’s [0030]-[0031], [0033] thru [0041]) a phase busbar 102/104 (correspond to phase busbar 2010, fig.20, see para’s [0090], [0091], [0092], [0093], [0094]) connected to the semiconductor switch half-bridge (inverter power switches 2006/FETS as half bridge, see para. [0091], fig.20), the phase busbar 102/104 (fig.1, corresponds to phase busbar 2010, fig.20) being configured to carry the phase current of the semiconductor switch half- bridge (inverter power switches 2006/FETS as half bridge, see para. [0091], fig.20), and wherein the current sensor 118/120/124/126 (fig.1, correspond to current sensor 2014, fig.20) is a differential magnetic field sensor (see fig.2, para. [0042] thru [0046]; differentiate current sensor output 204/208, see para. [0045]), which is arranged in a region of the phase busbar 102/104 (correspond to phase busbar 2010, see fig.20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a phase busbar connected to the semiconductor switch half-bridge, the phase busbar being configured to carry the phase current of the semiconductor switch half- bridge, and wherein the current sensor is a differential magnetic field sensor, which is arranged in a region of the phase busbar of DING in the system of SUZUKI because to reduce magnetic field variations in the magnetic field sensor signals and more accurate current measurements can be made for the conductive structure (see DING, para’s [0006], [0035]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUZUKI (Pub.No.: US 2014/0246997 A1) in view of PARKHIDEH et al. (Pub.No.: US 2020/0116763 A1 and PARKHIDEH hereinafter).
19. (New) The inverter according to claim 18, further comprising: a ceramic circuit carrier for the semiconductor switch half-bridge; and an additional circuit carrier arranged in parallel with the ceramic circuit carrier; wherein the current sensor and the gate driver are arranged on the additional circuit carrier and are integrally connected to the additional circuit carrier.
(As to claim 19, SUZUKI teaches (figs.1-20B, para. [0035]) an inverter 60 (figs.1-2) with current detector 70 (current detection elements 71, 72, 73) connected to respective switch half-bridge bridge [bridge with switch 611-612/ bridge with switch 621-622/ bridge with switch 631-632], controlled by gate drive circuit 68 (see fig.1).
SUZUKI does not mention a ceramic circuit carrier for the semiconductor switch half-bridge; and an additional circuit carrier arranged in parallel with the ceramic circuit carrier; wherein the current sensor and the gate driver are arranged on the additional circuit carrier and are integrally connected to the additional circuit carrier.
PARKHIDEH teaches (figs.1-2, 7, para’s [0019], [0040], claims 8, 20, col.6) a ceramic circuit carrier daugterboard 140 for the semiconductor switches 110, 120; and an additional circuit carrier [mother board 700] arranged in parallel with the ceramic circuit carrier [daugterboard 140]; wherein the current sensor 130 (via daughterboard 140) and the gate driver are arranged on the additional circuit carrier [motherboard 700] and are integrally connected to the additional circuit carrier [motherboard 700].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a ceramic circuit carrier for the semiconductor switch half-bridge of Suzuki; and an additional circuit carrier arranged in parallel with the ceramic circuit carrier; wherein the current sensor and the gate driver are arranged on the additional circuit carrier and are integrally connected to the additional circuit carrier of PARKHIDEH in the system of Suzuki because advantages of ceramic substrate include good thermal and electrical characteristics and a cost-effective production (see PARKHIDEH, para. [0019]; provide system prognostic and protection, see para. [0003]).
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
a) Lu (prior art of record, Pub.No.: US 2008/0157752 A1) shows and teaches (see figs.1-10) a voltage source Vcc (or positive supply 5) configured to supply power to the current sensor unit 11/18/118 (fig.1/4/7), the voltage source VCC being configured to supply the current sensor 11/18/118 (fig.1/4/7) to produce a constant supply voltage (fig.2) relative to a pulse-width-modulated, phase potential of the semiconductor switch half- bridge 1-2 connecting electric motor 3 (see figs.1-2) and isolation circuit isolating low voltage and high voltage as prior art (Lu, para. [0005]).
b) Mori et al. (Pub.No.: US 2019/0158007 A1) teaches (figs.1-11, par. [0028]-[0032]) a control device 100 for controlling a three-phase electric motor [M] using a bridge switching circuit 10 and perform PWM control via control unit 30 relative to current detection unit 240 using phase current detector(s) Ru/ Rv /Rw (fig.1).
c) LEE et al. (Pub.No.: US 2020/0335969 A1) teaches (figs.1-4C, para. [0034] thru [0044]) a motor control actuator 100 that controls a three-phase motor M using an inverter 1 involving current detection Rs (figs1, 3C) and relative PWM control.
d) BLANCHARD ST-JACQUES ET AL. teaches (figs.1-6, para’s [0024]methods and systems for an inverter 106 including a power module 200 with a substrate attached to a ceramic base including semiconductor MOSFET and IGBT’s and current sensor and gate drive circuit integrated into the power module 200 (see para. [0034], [0035], [0037]).
e) DUVNJAK RAJKO (prior art of record-EP3416288, figs.1-7, abstract) teaches a controller for use in a power converter includes a current sense circuit to generate a current limit signal and an overcurrent signal in response to a source signal.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2837