DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 29-31 and 33-36 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 21 May 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 13, 19, 21-26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abstreiter (WO 2020/099096 A1) in combination with Yamauchi et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0276474 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Abstreiter (see the entire document, in particular, page 1, lines 4-5; page 9, lines 3-13 and 26-27; page 11, line 33 to page 12, line 5; page 12, lines 19-24; page 18, lines 3-10; page 19, lines 3-18; page 25, lines 14-16 and 26-29; Figure 1) teaches a process (see page 1, lines 4-5 (method for treatment of elements obtained by an additive manufacturing process) of Abstreiter), including (i) providing a treating liquid in a chamber of an apparatus (see Figure 1; page 18, lines 3-10 (chamber 1 for receiving treating liquid 5) of Abstreiter); and (ii) providing the polymer elements to be treated (see Figure 1; page 18, lines 3-10 (chamber 1 for receiving polymer elements) and page 25, lines 14-16 (elements 4 are introduced into chamber 1) of Abstreiter), also including (b) a treatment step, wherein the polymer elements are in, or come into, contact with the treating liquid at a temperature which is below the upper threshold temperature for a predetermined period or a minimum period, under conditions in which the treating liquid is in a liquid state (see page 9, lines 7-10 (smoothing (i.e., treatment) step wherein the polymer elements are in contact with a heating liquid at a temperature below and upper threshold temperature for a predetermined time period) of Abstreiter). Abstreiter does not teach (1) wherein, during the treatment step, granular media are present in the treating liquid or are in, or are brought into, contact with the treating liquid. Yamauchi et al (see the entire document, in particular, paragraphs [0001], [0016] and [0117]; Figure 2) teaches a process (see paragraph [0001] (method of cleaning an element (e.g., a transfer mask)) of Yamaguchi et al), wherein, during the treatment step, granular media are present in the treating liquid or are in, or are brought into, contact with the treating liquid (see Figure 2, paragraph [0117] (cleaning-particle-mixing-unit 42 allows cleaning particles 40 to be mixed with cleaning liquid 20) of Yamauchi et al), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide granular media in the treating liquid in the process of Abstreiter in view of Yamauchi et al in order to inhibit generation of latent defects and removing particles from the surface (see paragraph [0016] of Yamauchi et al). Regarding the recitation of “wherein the granular media serve as separating agents to reduce sticking together of the polymer elements”, this is an additional advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art (see MPEP §2145(II); Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Regarding claim 2, see page 9, lines 26-27 (treating liquid includes water and alcohol, weight ratio of water to alcohol is from about 98:2 to about 20:80) of Abstreiter.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, see page 19, lines 10-13 (means for impelling (e.g., impeller, ultrasound)) of Abstreiter.
Regarding claim 13, see page 5, lines 26-29 (process chamber 1 can already be filled with process gas 12) of Abstreiter.
Regarding claim 19, see page 11, line 33 to page 12, line 5 (polyvalent alcohols selected from glycols) of Abstreiter.
Regarding claim 21, see page 12, lines 19-24 (polymer elements and treating liquid are in contact during heating; polymeric elements are heated separately) of Abstreiter.
Regarding claims 22-26, see page 19, lines 3-8 (functionalizing the polymer elements) of Abstreiter.
Regarding claim 28, see page 9, lines 7-10 (smoothing step) of Abstreiter.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abstreiter (WO 2020/099096 A1) in combination with Yamauchi et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0276474 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 13, 19, 21-26 and 28 above, and further in view of Perdicaro (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0206095 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Abstreiter (in combination with Yamauchi et al) does not teach (1) conveying treating agents and/or functionalizing agents and/or granular media out of a process chamber and back into it by a pump. Perdicaro (see the entire document, in particular, paragraphs [0017], [0027] and [0041]; Figures 1 and 7) teaches a process (see paragraph [0017] (method of cleaning parts made by additive manufacturing) of Perdicaro), including conveying treating agents and/or functionalizing agents and/or granular media out of a process chamber and back into it by a pump (see Figure 7, paragraph [0041] (solution 124 is pumped through external particle filter 120 to remove particles 130, and the filtered solution is returned to chamber 102) of Perdicaro), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to convey treating agents and/or functionalizing agents and/or granular media out of a process chamber and back into it by a pump in the process of Abstreiter (in combination with Yamauchi et al) in view of Perdicaro in order to remove granular media from the cleaning solution.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 13, 19, 21-26 and 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the Yamauchi et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0276474 A1) reference.
Conclusion
LEO B. TENTONI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/LEO B TENTONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742