DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 02/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 13 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/24/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)/second paragraph
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a weight ratio of the polyol and polyisocyanate “components” which is vague because it is unclear if this corresponds to the weight ratio of polyol and polyisocyanate compounds or if it also encompasses other ingredients (e.g., if a solvent or other non-polyol, non-isocyanate compounds are included in one of the two “components,” are they included in the weight ratio?). It would appear remedial to recite the weight ratio in terms of the polyol and polyisocyanate (without “component”).
Claim 11 recites the content of “PE” which is vague because claim 1 recites “PE based material” such that it is unclear if “PE” in claim 11 refers to just the polyethylene content of the PE based material in the overall laminate (e.g., if the PE based material is a polyethylene maleic anhydride copolymer, the PE content would be calculated just from the polyethylene repeating units, not including the maleic anhydride repeating units) or if claim 11 is referring to the content of PE-based material in the overall laminate (e.g., if the PE based material is a polyethylene maleic anhydride copolymer, the PE content would be calculated from the total amount of polyethylene maleic anhydride copolymer because it is a PE based material).
The rest of the rejected claims not specifically addressed above are rejected because they depend from one of the claims specifically addressed above and therefore include the same indefiniteness issue(s) via their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah (U.S. 2016/0144603) in view of Susano (U.S. 2002/0143102).
Regarding claims 1-4, 7-12, Shah teaches an article (as in claim 12) comprising a blown (as in claim 9, though this is an immaterial product by process limitation, [0051]) PE laminate comprising sealant, core and skin layers (as in claim 4, [0044]), with optional antioxidants (as in claim 8, [0030]) and no fatty acid derivatives required (as claimed), that is metallized on the skin layer (as in claim 3, with metals overlapping claim 10, and an optical density overlapping claim 7, [0047]-[0048]), and then adhered with a generic urethane adhesive ([0058]) to a polyethylene ([0045]) film.
Shah does not disclose the particular urethane adhesive, however, Susano discloses a two part solvent born ([0042]) urethane adhesive suitable for bonding metal/metalized layers and PE materials ([0043]) that comprises a polyester polyol with aromatic repeating units for heat resistance (such that the amount of such aromatic units in the polyester polyol is obvious to adjust to within the claimed range as part of optimizing heat resistance, [0025]) and with an overlapping MW ([0038]) and inherently having two terminal OH groups based on the disclosed polyester polyol forming reactants (i.e., diols and dicarboxylic acids, [0024]-[0025]), as well as a polyisocyanate (e.g., TDI, as in the present application, [0016]) that is combined with the polyol at a stoichiometric ratio ([0040], which results in the claimed weight ratio, as in claim 2, because the polyol has an overlapping MW compared to the present invention and an overlapping number of OH groups per molecule, such that providing a stoichiometric equivalent of the much lower MW TDI would require a much higher weight of the polyol relative to the TDI, as in the present application), such that the urethane adhesive of Susano would be obvious to use as the urethane adhesive called for in Shah because it provides adhesion between the two substrates used in Shah and prevents spoilage ([0009]). In addition to the polyol:TDI ratio being obvious as explained above, it is further obvious based on MPEP 2144.05 II A (see below).
Regarding claim 11, Shah teaches that the metallized sealant/core/skin laminate may have a thickness of 40 microns ([0055]) and may be almost entirely PE based ([0044]), and may be laminated to a 10 micron PE based substrate ([0058]). Susano teaches that a suitable amount of the adhesive (after removal of solvent) for adhering packaging films ([0002], like in Shah) may be applied at 1-3 g/m2 ([0042]). For a 1m2 sample of film, the PE thickness would weight approximately 45.5 g (i.e., 40+10 microns of PE thickness over 1m2 would be 0.00005 m3 in volume, and the low end of PE density per m3 is about 910 kg/m3, so 0.00005 m3 * 910 kg/m3 = 0.0455kg or 45.5g). Therefore, the weight ratio of PE materials in the overall laminate (i.e., PE based sealant/core/skin + PU adhesive + PE based second substrate) would be approximately 97.8 wt% (i.e., (45.5g PE materials)/(45.5g PE materials+1g PU adhesive)), which is within the claimed ranges. Susano further discloses that much greater PE film thicknesses (up to 200 microns, [0043]) were suitable for use in packaging materials (such that the above amount of adhesive and thickness of PE films would be obvious to use in Shah because they are suitable amounts/thicknesses for forming a packaging film), which would result in an even higher wt% of PE in the overall laminate. Furthermore, the wt% of PE is prima facie obvious based on MPEP 2144.05 II A (see below).
See MPEP 2144.05 II A. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In reHoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc.v.Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)(Claimed ratios were obvious as being reached by routine procedures and producing predictable results); In reKulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(Claimed amount of wash solution was found to be unpatentable as a matter of routine optimization in the pertinent art, further supported by the prior art disclosure of the need to avoid undue amounts of wash solution); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 1997)(Claims were unpatentable because appellants failed to submit evidence of criticality to demonstrate that that the wear resistance of the protective layer in the claimed thickness range of 50-100 Angstroms was “unexpectedly good”); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent”); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) (“It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (identifying “the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.”).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah (U.S. 2016/0144603) in view of Susano (U.S. 2002/0143102), as applied to claim 1, in view of Pellingra (U.S. 2005/0238874).
Regarding claims 5-6, modified Shah teaches all of the above subject matter but does not disclose the sealant additives of claims 5-6, however, Pellingra teaches that such additives were known to be useful in PE sealant layers for slip/low friction and to prevent blocking, such that it would have been obvious to have included such additives in the sealant layer of Shah, and adjusted their relative amounts to within the claimed ranges in order to optimize slip and blocking properties, respectively, as processing aids as taught by Pellingra ([0068]).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/698,448 (the copending application) in view of Shah (U.S. 2016/0144603). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims are substantially the same except that the secondary substrate is narrower in the copending application, however, Shah (citations above) shows that PET (as recited in the copending application) was a known and obvious PE based secondary substrate material for the presently recited second substrate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787