DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Heating generating elements in claim 1 wherein the term heat generating is a functional language with the term elements being a generic placeholder for means.
Heat generating elements are interpreted as plate-shaped base/elements having hydrogen storage alloy as disclosed in para 0017-0018 of the specification, or its equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamura et al (WO 2020/122098; hereinafter Iwamura ‘098) in view of Iwamura et al (US 2020/0208885; hereinafter Iwamura ‘885).
Iwamura ‘098 discloses a heat generating device including a pair of heaters (178, 179) with an interval therebetween (see Figure 28) with a heat generating element (14) or a plurality of heat generating elements (para 0166) that is capable of occluding hydrogen and generating heat by quantum diffusion (para 0064) by the pair of heaters, but Iwamura ‘098 does not explicitly disclose for a plurality of heating generating elements that are arranged with an interval between each other and arranged between the pair of heaters.
Iwamura ‘885 discloses it is known to provide the heating generating device having a plurality of heat generating elements (5) that are arranged at intervals to face each other (para 0180) which can be effectively heated by a heater to maintain a desired temperature of the heat generating elements.
In view of Iwamura ‘885, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Iwamura ‘098 with a plurality of heat generating elements that are arranged with an interval between each other so that each of the heat generating elements can be effectively heated by the pair of heaters to predictably maintain the desired temperature of the heat generating elements.
With respect to claim 2, Iwamura ‘885 discloses for a vacuum evacuation unit (shown by a pump unit 19) that evacuates gas between the adjacent heat generating elements having an interval facing each other (para 0180) with its dimension of each of the heat generating elements facing each other and in a direction along a long side of a flow path of the vacuum evacuation direction (also, see Figures 1and 2) wherein the interval h as determined by the recited formula would have been obvious as a matter of routine operation and optimization to allow each of the heat generating element to be predictably heated at the desired temperature by the pair of heaters as each adjacent heat generating elements are arranged and provided at interval.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sogabe et al (US 6,337,146) and Kobayashi et al (US 2023/0003461) disclose for hydrogen-occluding heat generating elements.
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761