Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 8-15 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orhan et al. (US 2022/0345232 A1; hereinafter “Orhan”), in view of DUTRONC et al. (US 2017/0126460 A1; hereinafter “DUTRONC”), and further in view of “Sequence Scrambling for Non-Hollow-OAM Based Wireless Communications” in IEEE (hereinafter “IEEE”).
Regarding claim 1, Orhan teaches a method ([0055]) performed by a terminal (FIG. 3A Millimeter-wave communication circuitry 300) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises one or more of system information, channel state information (CSI)related configuration information ([0055] and [0110] disclose control channel signal blind decoding and acquisition of channel state information (CSI), including obtaining channel knowledge through feedback and estimation, thereby teaching receiving configuration information including CSI-related configuration information); and
communicating a signal based on the configuration information ([0055] and [0110] disclose physical layer processing including modulation and signal transmission functions, and further disclose that transmission parameters such as power allocation and multiplexing are determined based on channel state information (CSI) and OAM mode, thereby teaching communicating a signal based on the configuration information).
However, Orhan does not teach wherein the signal is communicated based on an orbital angular momentum (OAM) based communication, wherein a sequence generator related to generation of the signal is initialized based on an OAM state of the OAM based communication, and wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state.
In an analogous art, DUTRONC teaches wherein the signal is communicated based on an orbital angular momentum (OAM) based communication ([0106] discloses transmitting a sequence of symbols using a plurality of OAM modes, and [0186]-[0189] further disclose generating and communicating a multi-mode signal using time OAM modes, thereby teaching that the signal is communicated based on OAM-based communication),
wherein a sequence generator related to generation of the signal is initialized based on an OAM state of the OAM based communication ([0401]-[0402] disclose a generation unit configured to generate a signal from a sequence of symbols, and [0197]-[0201] disclose that the signal generation is performed using OAM-mode based phase shifts and coefficients, thereby teaching that the sequence generator is configured with OAM-dependent parameters prior to signal generation, corresponding to initialization based on an OAM state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify OAM states as taught by DUTRONC within the system of Orhan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the efficiency of the transmitting and receiving configuration, thereby enhancing RF spectrum reuse (DUTRONC [0007]).
However, the combination of Orhan and DUTRONC does not teach wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state.
In an analogous art, IEEE teaches wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state (abstract; FIG. 1; Secs. II and III-A; Equations (4)-(5) disclose generating OAM-mode signals using a Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence-based phase-scrambling scheme, wherein an OAM state is represented by an OAM-mode index l, a ZC sequence z is defined by a root index µ, and the ZC sequence is applied in generating the OAM-mode transmit signal s=diag(z)×W×x. Thus, the root index µ, which identifies the ZC base sequence used in generating the signal for the OAM-mode index l, corresponding a base sequence number determined based on the OAM state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a Zadoff-Chu as taught by IEEE within the system of Orhan and DUTRONC. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce inter-mode interference, thereby improving system performance (IEEE [Section II]).
Regarding claim 2, Orhan teaches wherein the configuration information comprises configuration information for the OAM based communication ([0135] discloses that an OAM communication system is configured to transmit data streams across different OAM modes and defines transmission structures based on OAM modes),
wherein the information related to the OAM state comprises one or more of a set of OAM states of the base station, a subset of OAM states of the base station ([0143] discloses selecting a subset of available OAM modes based on channel state, thereby teaching a subset of OAM states used for communication).
However, Orhan does not teach wherein the configuration information for the OAM based communication comprises one or more of a resource configuration for the OAM based communication or information related to the OAM state.
In an analogous art, the combination of DUTRONC and IEEE, specifically DUTRONC teaches wherein the configuration information for the OAM based communication comprises information related to the OAM state ([0497] discloses configuration parameters including frequency positions and phases associated with transmitted symbols, and [0025] discloses that these correspond to OAM modes, thereby teaching configuration information comprising information related to the OAM state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify OAM states as taught by DUTRONC within the system of Orhan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the efficiency of the transmitting and receiving configuration, thereby enhancing RF spectrum reuse (DUTRONC [0007]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Orhan, DUTRONC and IEEE, specifically Orhan teaches measuring the OAM state based on one or more resources for the OAM based communication ([0143] discloses selecting OAM modes based on channel state (e.g., LoS or non-LoS) and path loss, where channel conditions are determined using received signal characteristics and resources, thereby teaching measuring or determining an OAM state based on communication resources); and
transmitting feedback information including information related to the OAM state ([0136] discloses that a receiver feeds back demodulation quality information (e.g., BER) and recommendations regarding the number of multiplexing streams based on received OAM modes, thereby teaching transmitting feedback information including information related to the OAM state).
Regarding claim 9, Orhan teaches a terminal (FIG. 1 user device 100) operating in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising:
a transceiver (FIG. 1 radio front end module (RFEM) 115); and
one or more processors (FIG. 1 application processor 105 and baseband processor 110) connected to the transceiver, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises one or more of system information, channel state information (CSI)-related configuration information ([0055] and [0110] disclose control channel signal blind decoding and acquisition of channel state information (CSI), including obtaining channel knowledge through feedback and estimation, thereby teaching receiving configuration information including CSI-related configuration information); and
communicate a signal based on the configuration information ([0055] and [0110] disclose physical layer processing including modulation and signal transmission functions, and further disclose that transmission parameters such as power allocation and multiplexing are determined based on channel state information (CSI) and OAM mode, thereby teaching communicating a signal based on the configuration information).
However, Orhan does not teach wherein the signal is communicated based on an orbital angular momentum (OAM) based communication, wherein a sequence generator related to generation of the signal is initialized based on an OAM state of the OAM based communication, and wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state.
In an analogous art, DUTRONC teaches wherein the signal is communicated based on an orbital angular momentum (OAM) based communication ([0106] discloses transmitting a sequence of symbols using a plurality of OAM modes, and [0186]-[0189] further disclose generating and communicating a multi-mode signal using time OAM modes, thereby teaching that the signal is communicated based on OAM-based communication),
wherein a sequence generator related to generation of the signal is initialized based on an OAM state of the OAM based communication ([0401]-[0402] disclose a generation unit configured to generate a signal from a sequence of symbols, and [0197]-[0201] disclose that the signal generation is performed using OAM-mode based phase shifts and coefficients, thereby teaching that the sequence generator is configured with OAM-dependent parameters prior to signal generation, corresponding to initialization based on an OAM state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify OAM states as taught by DUTRONC within the system of Orhan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the efficiency of the transmitting and receiving configuration, thereby enhancing RF spectrum reuse (DUTRONC [0007]).
However, the combination of Orhan and DUTRONC does not teach wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state.
In an analogous art, IEEE teaches wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state (abstract; FIG. 1; Secs. II and III-A; Equations (4)-(5) disclose generating OAM-mode signals using a Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence-based phase-scrambling scheme, wherein an OAM state is represented by an OAM-mode index l, a ZC sequence z is defined by a root index µ, and the ZC sequence is applied in generating the OAM-mode transmit signal s=diag(z)×W×x. Thus, the root index µ, which identifies the ZC base sequence used in generating the signal for the OAM-mode index l, corresponding a base sequence number determined based on the OAM state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a Zadoff-Chu as taught by IEEE within the system of Orhan and DUTRONC. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce inter-mode interference, thereby improving system performance (IEEE [Section II]).
Regarding claim 10, Orhan teaches wherein the configuration information comprises configuration information for the OAM based communication ([0135] discloses that an OAM communication system is configured to transmit data streams across different OAM modes and defines transmission structures based on OAM modes),
wherein the information related to the OAM state comprises one or more of a set of OAM states of the base station, a subset of OAM states of the base station ([0143] discloses selecting a subset of available OAM modes based on channel state, thereby teaching a subset of OAM states used for communication).
However, Orhan does not teach wherein the configuration information for the OAM based communication comprises one or more of a resource configuration for the OAM based communication or information related to the OAM state.
In an analogous art, the combination of DUTRONC and IEEE, specifically DUTRONC teaches wherein the configuration information for the OAM based communication comprises information related to the OAM state ([0497] discloses configuration parameters including frequency positions and phases associated with transmitted symbols, and [0025] discloses that these correspond to OAM modes, thereby teaching configuration information comprising information related to the OAM state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify OAM states as taught by DUTRONC within the system of Orhan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the efficiency of the transmitting and receiving configuration, thereby enhancing RF spectrum reuse (DUTRONC [0007]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Orhan, DUTRONC and IEEE, specifically Orhan teaches wherein the one or more processors (FIG. 1 application processor 105, FIG. 21 processor 2102) are configured to communicate with one or more of: a mobile terminal, a network, or an autonomous vehicle other than a vehicle containing the terminal (FIG. 21; [0158]-[0159] disclose communication with FIG. 21 network 2126).
Regarding claim 12, Orhan teaches a method ([0055]) performed by a base station (FIG. 2 base station 200) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises one or more of system information, channel state information (CSI)related configuration information ([0055] and [0110] disclose control channel signal blind decoding and acquisition of channel state information (CSI), including obtaining channel knowledge through feedback and estimation, thereby teaching receiving configuration information including CSI-related configuration information); and
communicating a signal related to the configuration information ([0055] and [0110] disclose physical layer processing including modulation and signal transmission functions, and further disclose that transmission parameters such as power allocation and multiplexing are determined based on channel state information (CSI) and OAM mode, thereby teaching communicating a signal based on the configuration information).
However, Orhan does not teach wherein the signal is communicated based on an orbital angular momentum (OAM) based communication, wherein a sequence generator related to generation of the signal is initialized based on an OAM state of the OAM based communication, and wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state.
In an analogous art, DUTRONC teaches wherein the signal is communicated based on an orbital angular momentum (OAM) based communication ([0106] discloses transmitting a sequence of symbols using a plurality of OAM modes, and [0186]-[0189] further disclose generating and communicating a multi-mode signal using time OAM modes, thereby teaching that the signal is communicated based on OAM-based communication),
wherein a sequence generator related to generation of the signal is initialized based on an OAM state of the OAM based communication ([0401]-[0402] disclose a generation unit configured to generate a signal from a sequence of symbols, and [0197]-[0201] disclose that the signal generation is performed using OAM-mode based phase shifts and coefficients, thereby teaching that the sequence generator is configured with OAM-dependent parameters prior to signal generation, corresponding to initialization based on an OAM state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify OAM states as taught by DUTRONC within the system of Orhan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the efficiency of the transmitting and receiving configuration, thereby enhancing RF spectrum reuse (DUTRONC [0007]).
However, the combination of Orhan and DUTRONC does not teach wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state.
In an analogous art, IEEE teaches wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state (abstract; FIG. 1; Secs. II and III-A; Equations (4)-(5) disclose generating OAM-mode signals using a Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence-based phase-scrambling scheme, wherein an OAM state is represented by an OAM-mode index l, a ZC sequence z is defined by a root index µ, and the ZC sequence is applied in generating the OAM-mode transmit signal s=diag(z)×W×x. Thus, the root index µ, which identifies the ZC base sequence used in generating the signal for the OAM-mode index l, corresponding a base sequence number determined based on the OAM state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a Zadoff-Chu as taught by IEEE within the system of Orhan and DUTRONC. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce inter-mode interference, thereby improving system performance (IEEE [Section II]).
Regarding claim 13, Orhan teaches a base station (FIG. 2 base station 200) operating in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising:
a transceiver (FIG. 2 Radio Front End Module (RFEM) 215); and
one or more processors (FIG. 2 application processor 205 and baseband sub-system 210) connected to the transceiver, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
transmit configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises one or more of system information, channel state information (CSI)-related configuration information ([0055] and [0110] disclose control channel signal blind decoding and acquisition of channel state information (CSI), including obtaining channel knowledge through feedback and estimation, thereby teaching receiving configuration information including CSI-related configuration information); and
communicate a signal related to the configuration information ([0055] and [0110] disclose physical layer processing including modulation and signal transmission functions, and further disclose that transmission parameters such as power allocation and multiplexing are determined based on channel state information (CSI) and OAM mode, thereby teaching communicating a signal based on the configuration information).
However, Orhan does not teach wherein the signal is communicated based on an orbital angular momentum (OAM) based communication, wherein a sequence generator related to generation of the signal is initialized based on an OAM state of the OAM based communication, and wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state.
In an analogous art, DUTRONC teaches wherein the signal is communicated based on an orbital angular momentum (OAM) based communication ([0106] discloses transmitting a sequence of symbols using a plurality of OAM modes, and [0186]-[0189] further disclose generating and communicating a multi-mode signal using time OAM modes, thereby teaching that the signal is communicated based on OAM-based communication),
wherein a sequence generator related to generation of the signal is initialized based on an OAM state of the OAM based communication ([0401]-[0402] disclose a generation unit configured to generate a signal from a sequence of symbols, and [0197]-[0201] disclose that the signal generation is performed using OAM-mode based phase shifts and coefficients, thereby teaching that the sequence generator is configured with OAM-dependent parameters prior to signal generation, corresponding to initialization based on an OAM state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify OAM states as taught by DUTRONC within the system of Orhan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the efficiency of the transmitting and receiving configuration, thereby enhancing RF spectrum reuse (DUTRONC [0007]).
However, the combination of Orhan and DUTRONC does not teach wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state.
In an analogous art, IEEE teaches wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state (abstract; FIG. 1; Secs. II and III-A; Equations (4)-(5) disclose generating OAM-mode signals using a Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence-based phase-scrambling scheme, wherein an OAM state is represented by an OAM-mode index l, a ZC sequence z is defined by a root index µ, and the ZC sequence is applied in generating the OAM-mode transmit signal s=diag(z)×W×x. Thus, the root index µ, which identifies the ZC base sequence used in generating the signal for the OAM-mode index l, corresponding a base sequence number determined based on the OAM state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a Zadoff-Chu as taught by IEEE within the system of Orhan and DUTRONC. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce inter-mode interference, thereby improving system performance (IEEE [Section II]).
Regarding claim 14, Orhan teaches an apparatus (FIG. 21 Communication device 2100) operating in a wireless communication system, the apparatus comprising:
one or more processors (FIG. 21 processor 2102); and
one or more memories (FIG. 21 memory 2104, 2106 and 2107) operably connected to the one or more processors and storing one or more instructions that ([0160] stored the one or more sets of instructions), when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations ([0156] when executed by the underlying hardware of the module, causes the hardware to perform the specified operations),
wherein the operations ([0156] operation) comprise:
receiving configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises one or more of system information, channel state information (CSI)related configuration information ([0055] and [0110] disclose control channel signal blind decoding and acquisition of channel state information (CSI), including obtaining channel knowledge through feedback and estimation, thereby teaching receiving configuration information including CSI-related configuration information); and
communicating a signal based on the configuration information ([0055] and [0110] disclose physical layer processing including modulation and signal transmission functions, and further disclose that transmission parameters such as power allocation and multiplexing are determined based on channel state information (CSI) and OAM mode, thereby teaching communicating a signal based on the configuration information).
However, Orhan does not teach wherein the signal is communicated based on an orbital angular momentum (OAM) based communication, wherein a sequence generator related to generation of the signal is initialized based on an OAM state of the OAM based communication, and wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state.
In an analogous art, DUTRONC teaches wherein the signal is communicated based on an orbital angular momentum (OAM) based communication ([0106] discloses transmitting a sequence of symbols using a plurality of OAM modes, and [0186]-[0189] further disclose generating and communicating a multi-mode signal using time OAM modes, thereby teaching that the signal is communicated based on OAM-based communication),
wherein a sequence generator related to generation of the signal is initialized based on an OAM state of the OAM based communication ([0401]-[0402] disclose a generation unit configured to generate a signal from a sequence of symbols, and [0197]-[0201] disclose that the signal generation is performed using OAM-mode based phase shifts and coefficients, thereby teaching that the sequence generator is configured with OAM-dependent parameters prior to signal generation, corresponding to initialization based on an OAM state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify OAM states as taught by DUTRONC within the system of Orhan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the efficiency of the transmitting and receiving configuration, thereby enhancing RF spectrum reuse (DUTRONC [0007]).
However, the combination of Orhan and DUTRONC does not teach wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state.
In an analogous art, IEEE teaches wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state (abstract; FIG. 1; Secs. II and III-A; Equations (4)-(5) disclose generating OAM-mode signals using a Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence-based phase-scrambling scheme, wherein an OAM state is represented by an OAM-mode index l, a ZC sequence z is defined by a root index µ, and the ZC sequence is applied in generating the OAM-mode transmit signal s=diag(z)×W×x. Thus, the root index µ, which identifies the ZC base sequence used in generating the signal for the OAM-mode index l, corresponding a base sequence number determined based on the OAM state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a Zadoff-Chu as taught by IEEE within the system of Orhan and DUTRONC. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce inter-mode interference, thereby improving system performance (IEEE [Section II]).
Regarding claim 15, Orhan teaches a non-transitory processor-readable medium ([0161] non-transitory communication device-readable media) storing one or more instructions that cause one or more processors to perform operations ([0161] perform that is capable of storing data structures associated with such instructions), wherein the operations comprise:
receiving configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises one or more of system information, channel state information (CSI)related configuration information ([0055] and [0110] disclose control channel signal blind decoding and acquisition of channel state information (CSI), including obtaining channel knowledge through feedback and estimation, thereby teaching receiving configuration information including CSI-related configuration information); and
communicating a signal based on the configuration information ([0055] and [0110] disclose physical layer processing including modulation and signal transmission functions, and further disclose that transmission parameters such as power allocation and multiplexing are determined based on channel state information (CSI) and OAM mode, thereby teaching communicating a signal based on the configuration information).
However, Orhan does not teach wherein the signal is communicated based on an orbital angular momentum (OAM) based communication, wherein a sequence generator related to generation of the signal is initialized based on an OAM state of the OAM based communication, and wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state.
In an analogous art, DUTRONC teaches wherein the signal is communicated based on an orbital angular momentum (OAM) based communication ([0106] discloses transmitting a sequence of symbols using a plurality of OAM modes, and [0186]-[0189] further disclose generating and communicating a multi-mode signal using time OAM modes, thereby teaching that the signal is communicated based on OAM-based communication),
wherein a sequence generator related to generation of the signal is initialized based on an OAM state of the OAM based communication ([0401]-[0402] disclose a generation unit configured to generate a signal from a sequence of symbols, and [0197]-[0201] disclose that the signal generation is performed using OAM-mode based phase shifts and coefficients, thereby teaching that the sequence generator is configured with OAM-dependent parameters prior to signal generation, corresponding to initialization based on an OAM state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify OAM states as taught by DUTRONC within the system of Orhan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the efficiency of the transmitting and receiving configuration, thereby enhancing RF spectrum reuse (DUTRONC [0007]).
However, the combination of Orhan and DUTRONC does not teach wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state.
In an analogous art, IEEE teaches wherein, based on the sequence generator corresponding to a Zadoff Chu (ZC) sequence, one or more of a group number or a base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state (abstract; FIG. 1; Secs. II and III-A; Equations (4)-(5) disclose generating OAM-mode signals using a Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence-based phase-scrambling scheme, wherein an OAM state is represented by an OAM-mode index l, a ZC sequence z is defined by a root index µ, and the ZC sequence is applied in generating the OAM-mode transmit signal s=diag(z)×W×x. Thus, the root index µ, which identifies the ZC base sequence used in generating the signal for the OAM-mode index l, corresponding a base sequence number determined based on the OAM state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a Zadoff-Chu as taught by IEEE within the system of Orhan and DUTRONC. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce inter-mode interference, thereby improving system performance (IEEE [Section II]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orhan, in view of DUTRONC, in view of IEEE, and further in view of Ashrafi et al. (US 2023/0006719 A1; hereinafter “Ashrafi”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Orhan, DUTRONC and IEEE does not teach transmitting terminal capability information related to whether the terminal supports the OAM based communication, wherein, based on that the terminal capability information corresponds to the terminal supporting the OAM based communication, the signal is communicated based on the OAM based communication.
In an analogous art, Ashrafi teaches transmitting terminal capability information related to whether the terminal supports the OAM based communication ([0134], [0219] and [0273] disclose that a communication system includes processing circuitry and transmission structures configured to support OAM-based communication, including applying OAM to transmitted signals and mapping data streams through modulation chains, thereby indicating that capability information regarding support for OAM-based communication is conveyed within the system),
wherein, based on that the terminal capability information corresponds to the terminal supporting the OAM based communication, the signal is communicated based on the OAM based communication ([0139], [0219] and [0317] disclose that a communication system selects OAM-based communication based on system conditions and applies OAM processing to transmitted signals, where OAM states represent transmitted data, thereby indicating that when OAM-based communication is supported, the signal is communicated using OAM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify OAM states as taught by Ashrafi within the system of Orhan, DUTRONC and IEEE. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve signal to noise ratio for increasing the bandwidth throughput (Ashrafi [0005]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orhan, in view of DUTRONC, in view of IEEE, and further in view of NORRMAN et al. (US 2018/0084475 A1; hereinafter “NORRMAN”)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Orhan, DUTRONC and IEEE does not teach wherein the OAM state is indicated by 4-bit information.
In an analogous art, NORRMAN teaches wherein the OAM state is indicated by 4-bit information ([0041] discloses that state information is used for processing a packet, [0090] discloses including an identifier corresponding to such processing context, while [0051], [0056] disclose that the identifier is represented using multiple bits, thereby teaching that the state information is indicated by a plurality of bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify multiple bits as taught by MCMENAMY within the system of Orhan, DUTRONC and IEEE. One would have been motivated to do so in order to remove the packet loss and transmission delay for the user of the UE an improved experienced performance (NORRMAN [0085]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orhan, in view of DUTRONC, in view of IEEE, and further in view of MCMENAMY et al. (US 2024/0187085 A1; hereinafter “MCMENAMY”)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Orhan, DUTRONC and IEEE does not teach wherein, based on the signal being a data channel, the data channel is initialized based on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) related to transmission of the data channel, the OAM state, and a parameter that is configured by a higher layer or preconfigured.
In an analogous art, MCMENAMY teaches wherein, based on the signal being a data channel, the data channel is initialized based on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) related to transmission of the data channel, the OAM state, and a parameter that is configured by a higher layer or preconfigured ([0149] discloses that a PDCCH DCI is scrambled with an SFI-RNTI, thereby teaching that control and signal processing are performed based on an RNTI, [0213] further discloses that communication behavior is configured based on signaling including RRC, OAM, configuration, and DCI indications, thereby teaching that data channel operation is configured based on an RNTI and higher-layer/OAM parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RNTI as taught by MCMENAMY within the system of Orhan, DUTRONC and IEEE. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for efficient network optimization with reduced capability (MCMENAMY [0272]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orhan, in view of DUTRONC, in view of IEEE, and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2020/0053670 A1; hereinafter “Jung”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Orhan, DUTRONC and NI does not teach wherein, based on a value of a most significant bit (MSB) of a specific bit sequence being a specific value, one or more of the group number or base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state.
In an analogous art, Jung teaches wherein, based on a value of a most significant bit (MSB) of a specific bit sequence being a specific value, one or more of the group number or base sequence number of the ZC sequence is determined based on the OAM state ([0058] discloses that a UE determines bits of an SS/PBCH block index from a one-to-one mapping with an index of a DMRS sequence and for L=64, determines 3 MSB bits of the SS/PBCH block index from PBCH payload bits, [0072] further discloses that a UE determines an SSB transmission occasion index using a combination of a PBCH DMRS sequence index and payload bits used as MSBs of an SSB index, thereby teaching that a value of most significant bits of a bit sequence is used to determine a sequence-related index/parameter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MSBs as taught by Jung within the system of Orhan, DUTRONC and IEEE. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enable UE to identify synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block occasions with reduced decoding complexity (Jung [0002]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2017/0070968 A1 (KIM et al.) discloses a method and an apparatus which enable a terminal to transmit a signal for device-to-device (D2D) communication.
US 2020/0127795A1 (Matsumura et al.) discloses a terminal including a transmitter that transmits, in an uplink control channel, uplink control information.
US 2022/0078780 A1 (CHOI et al.) discloses a method using orbital angular momentum (OAM) and an apparatus therefor.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413