DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were submitted on 4/4/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Exposure of Time synchronization as a service” by Nokia et al. (hereinafter Nokia) (IDS filed 4/4/24) as evidenced by 3GPP TS 23.502 V17.2.1 “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Procedures for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 17)” (hereinafter 3GPP) (IDS filed 4/4/24) in view of WO 2021/232952 by Tao (see attached English translation document).
Regarding claim 1, Nokia teaches a method of operating a time sensitive communication time synchronization function (TSCTSF) for providing synchronization in a wireless communication system (section 5.27.1.8, discloses TSCTSF), the method comprising:
receiving a request for time synchronization from an application function (AF) (section 5.27.1.8, The AF may request to control the 5G access stratum reference as a time distribution method for targeted UE(s)…The AF request to control the (g)PTP time synchronization service is sent to the NEF or TSCTSF and may target a UE or multiple UEs… The TSCTSF uses the Time Synchronization parameters received from AF (directly or via NEF) to control the time synchronization service…; section 5.27.1.9, The AF may request to use the 5G access stratum as a time synchronization distribution method and it may include time synchronization error budget in the request. If the AF included a time synchronization error budget in the AF request, the TSCTSF derives the error budget available… The TSCTSF uses the time synchronization error budget provided by AF (directly or via NEF) in order to derive the Uu time synchronization error budget);
and transmitting access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) through a policy control function (PCF) based on the request for time synchronization (section 5.27.1.9, TSCTSF provides a time distribution indication and the Uu time synchronization error budget to NG-RAN as described in TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.15.9.4 (3GPP’s section 4.15.9.4 discloses “initiate an AM Policy Association Modification procedure initiated by the PCF for the UE may be performed as described in clause 4.16.2.2. As part of this, the time distribution indication and the Uu time synchronization error budget are provided to NG-RAN”). Based on this, NG-RAN provides the 5GS access stratum time to the UE according to the Uu interface time synchronization error budget as provided by the TSCTSF. Although not explicitly stated, RAN includes a base station (BS)).
Although Nokia teaches receiving a request for time synchronization from an application function (AF) and transmitting access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) through a policy control function (PCF) based on the request for time synchronization, Nokia does not explicitly disclose receiving a request for time synchronization associated with a non-access stratum (NAS) from an application function (AF) and transmitting access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) through a policy control function (PCF) based on the request for time synchronization associated with the NAS.
Tao in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches time synchronization associated with a NAS (page 17, “When AF requests uplink time synchronization, SMF will activate time synchronization through NAS-SM information”). By modifying Nokia’s teachings of receiving a request for time synchronization from an application function (AF) and transmitting access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) through a policy control function (PCF) based on the request for time synchronization with Tao’s teachings of time synchronization associated with a NAS, the modification results in receiving a request for time synchronization associated with a non-access stratum (NAS) from an application function (AF) and transmitting access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) through a policy control function (PCF) based on the request for time synchronization associated with the NAS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nokia’s teachings with Tao’s above teachings. The motivation is realizing flexible time configuration and management for one or
a group of UEs, and ensuring time deterministic communication (Tao page 8). Known work in one field of endeavor (Tao prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Nokia prior art) based on design incentives (realize flexible time configuration and management for one or a group of UEs, and ensure time deterministic communication) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the AS based time synchronization information comprises information about a first synchronization error budget (Nokia section 5.27.1.9, TSCTSF provides a time distribution indication and the Uu time synchronization error budget to NG-RAN as described in TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.15.9.4 (3GPP’s section 4.15.9.4 discloses “initiate an AM Policy Association Modification procedure initiated by the PCF for the UE may be performed as described in clause 4.16.2.2. As part of this, the time distribution indication and the Uu time synchronization error budget are provided to NG-RAN”). Based on this, NG-RAN provides the 5GS access stratum time to the UE according to the Uu interface time synchronization error budget as provided by the TSCTSF).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the request for time synchronization associated with the NAS comprises a request for a method of supporting synchronization based on IEEE 802.1AS or IEEE1588 (Nokia section 5.27.1.8, The AF request includes requested time synchronization distribution method (IEEE Std 1588 [126] or IEEE Std 802.1AS [104] operation (i.e. as a Boundary Clock, peer-to-peer Transparent Clock, or end-to-end Transparent Clock or as a PTP relay instance)); Tao page 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Tao’s teachings of time synchronization associated with the NAS. The motivation is realizing flexible time configuration and management for one or a group of UEs, and ensuring time deterministic communication (Tao page 8).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the request for time synchronization associated with the NAS comprises at least one of information about a second synchronization error budget, information about a data network name (DNN), information about single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a group identity (ID), information about a domain or information about a UE list (Nokia section 5.27.1.8, The AF may request to control the 5G access stratum reference as a time distribution method for targeted UE(s)…The AF request to control the (g)PTP time synchronization service is sent to the NEF or TSCTSF and may target a UE or multiple UEs. The request may be targeted to: Individual UEs identified using GPSI, Group of UEs identified using External Group Identity, or an IP address/Prefix or a MAC address, or any UE accessing the combination of DNN, S-NSSAI…The TSCTSF uses the Time Synchronization parameters received from AF (directly or via NEF) to control the time synchronization service…; section 5.27.1.9, The AF may request to use the 5G access stratum as a time synchronization distribution method and it may include time synchronization error budget in the request. If the AF included a time synchronization error budget in the AF request, the TSCTSF derives the error budget available… The TSCTSF uses the time synchronization error budget provided by AF (directly or via NEF) in order to derive the Uu time synchronization error budget; Tao page 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Tao’s teachings of time synchronization associated with the NAS. The motivation is realizing flexible time configuration and management for one or a group of UEs, and ensuring time deterministic communication (Tao page 8).
Regarding claim 6, Nokia teaches a time sensitive communication time synchronization function (TSCTSF) for providing synchronization in a wireless communication system (section 5.27.1.8, discloses TSCTSF), the TSCTSF comprising:
an entity to (section 5.27.1.8, discloses TSCTSF which comprises some sort of entity to perform functions of the TSCTSF):
receive a request for time synchronization from an application function (AF) (section 5.27.1.8, The AF may request to control the 5G access stratum reference as a time distribution method for targeted UE(s)…The AF request to control the (g)PTP time synchronization service is sent to the NEF or TSCTSF and may target a UE or multiple UEs… The TSCTSF uses the Time Synchronization parameters received from AF (directly or via NEF) to control the time synchronization service…; section 5.27.1.9, The AF may request to use the 5G access stratum as a time synchronization distribution method and it may include time synchronization error budget in the request. If the AF included a time synchronization error budget in the AF request, the TSCTSF derives the error budget available… The TSCTSF uses the time synchronization error budget provided by AF (directly or via NEF) in order to derive the Uu time synchronization error budget),
and transmit access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) through a policy control function (PCF) based on the request for time synchronization (section 5.27.1.9, TSCTSF provides a time distribution indication and the Uu time synchronization error budget to NG-RAN as described in TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.15.9.4 (3GPP’s section 4.15.9.4 discloses “initiate an AM Policy Association Modification procedure initiated by the PCF for the UE may be performed as described in clause 4.16.2.2. As part of this, the time distribution indication and the Uu time synchronization error budget are provided to NG-RAN”). Based on this, NG-RAN provides the 5GS access stratum time to the UE according to the Uu interface time synchronization error budget as provided by the TSCTSF. Although not explicitly stated, RAN includes a base station (BS)).
Although Nokia teaches the TSCTSF, to receive a request for time synchronization from an application function (AF), and transmit access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) through a policy control function (PCF) based on the request for time synchronization, Nokia does not explicitly disclose the TSCTSF comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive a request for time synchronization associated with a non-access stratum (NAS) from an application function (AF), and transmit access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) through a policy control function (PCF) based on the request for time synchronization associated with the NAS.
Tao in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a communication device comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform functions (fig. 3, shows a communication device comprising a transceiver 2302 and a processor 2301 coupled with transceiver 2302; page 24, the communication device 2300 further includes: a program that is stored in the memory 2303 and can run on the processor 2301. When the program is executed by the processor 2301, the step… the memory 2303 can store data used by the processor 2301 when performing operations) and time synchronization associated with a NAS (page 17, “When AF requests uplink time synchronization, SMF will activate time synchronization through NAS-SM information”). By modifying Nokia’s teachings of the TSCTSF, to receive a request for time synchronization from an application function (AF), and transmit access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) through a policy control function (PCF) based on the request for time synchronization with Tao’s teachings of a communication device comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform functions and time synchronization associated with a NAS, the modification results in the TSCTSF comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive a request for time synchronization associated with a non-access stratum (NAS) from an application function (AF), and transmit access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) through a policy control function (PCF) based on the request for time synchronization associated with the NAS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nokia’s teachings with Tao’s above teachings. The motivation is realizing flexible time configuration and management for one or
a group of UEs, and ensuring time deterministic communication (Tao page 8). Known work in one field of endeavor (Tao prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Nokia prior art) based on design incentives (realize flexible time configuration and management for one or a group of UEs, and ensure time deterministic communication) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 7-9 recite similar limitations of claims 2-4, respectively and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia and Tao and in further view of US 20240292348 by Luetzenkirchen.
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the method of claim 1.
Although the combination teaches transmitting information about port management to a user equipment (UE) (Nokia section 5.27.1.8, the TSCTSF uses the PMIC or BUMIC to manage the IEEE Std 1588 [126] or IEEE Std 802.1AS [104] operation in the DS-TT or NW-TT, respectively…Handling of PMIC exchange with UE(s)…the TSCTSF sends PMIC/BMIC UMIC signalling to configure the (g)PTP functionality in DS-TT(s) and NW-TT for activating or deactivating time synchronization service to the corresponding AF Session(s), and enables or disables the 5GS reference time distribution to the respective UEs (as AF requested time synchronization distribution method described in this clause)) and the PCF, the combination does not explicitly disclose transmitting information about port management to a user equipment (UE) through the PCF.
Luetzenkirchen in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches transmitting information about port management to a user equipment (UE) through a PCF (¶ 49, exchanges port management information via control plane (PCF…) with…DS-TT 106 associated with UE 108; abstract, a device side time sensitive network (TSN) translator (DS-TT) in a user equipment). By modifying the combination’s teachings of transmitting information about port management to a user equipment (UE) and the PCF with Luetzenkirchen’s teachings of transmitting information about port management to a user equipment (UE) through a PCF, the modification results in transmitting information about port management to a user equipment (UE) through the PCF.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Luetzenkirchen’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting time synchronization services in a wireless time sensitive communication (TSC) network (Luetzenkirchen abstract). Known work in one field of endeavor (Luetzenkirchen prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Nokia prior art) based on design incentives (supporting time synchronization services in a wireless time sensitive communication (TSC) network) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the TSCTSF of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit information about port management to a user equipment (UE) (Tao fig. 3 and page 24; Nokia section 5.27.1.8, the TSCTSF uses the PMIC or BUMIC to manage the IEEE Std 1588 [126] or IEEE Std 802.1AS [104] operation in the DS-TT or NW-TT, respectively…Handling of PMIC exchange with UE(s)…the TSCTSF sends PMIC/BMIC UMIC signalling to configure the (g)PTP functionality in DS-TT(s) and NW-TT for activating or deactivating time synchronization service to the corresponding AF Session(s), and enables or disables the 5GS reference time distribution to the respective UEs (as AF requested time synchronization distribution method described in this clause)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Tao’s teachings of the at least one processor is configured to perform a function. The motivation is realizing flexible time configuration and management for one or a group of UEs, and ensuring time deterministic communication (Tao page 8).
Although the combination teaches the at least one processor is configured to transmit information about port management to a user equipment (UE) and the PCF, the combination does not explicitly disclose the at least one processor is configured to transmit information about port management to a user equipment (UE) through the PCF.
Luetzenkirchen in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches transmitting information about port management to a user equipment (UE) through a PCF (¶ 49, exchanges port management information via control plane (PCF…) with…DS-TT 106 associated with UE 108; abstract, a device side time sensitive network (TSN) translator (DS-TT) in a user equipment). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the at least one processor is configured to transmit information about port management to a user equipment (UE) and the PCF with Luetzenkirchen’s teachings of transmitting information about port management to a user equipment (UE) through a PCF, the modification results in the at least one processor is configured to transmit information about port management to a user equipment (UE) through the PCF.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Luetzenkirchen’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting time synchronization services in a wireless time sensitive communication (TSC) network (Luetzenkirchen abstract). Known work in one field of endeavor (Luetzenkirchen prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Nokia prior art) based on design incentives (supporting time synchronization services in a wireless time sensitive communication (TSC) network) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Exposure of Time synchronization as a service” by Nokia et al. (hereinafter Nokia) (IDS filed 4/4/24) as evidenced by 3GPP TS 23.502 V17.2.1 “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Procedures for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 17)” (hereinafter 3GPP) (IDS filed 4/4/24) in view of WO 2021/232952 by Tao (see attached English translation document) and in further view of US 20240292348 by Luetzenkirchen.
Regarding claim 14, Nokia teaches a policy control function (PCF) for providing synchronization in a wireless communication system (section 5.27.1.8, discloses PCF), the PCF comprising:
an entity to (section 5.27.1.8, discloses PCF which comprises some sort of entity to perform functions of the PCF):
receive access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information obtained based on a request for time synchronization from a time sensitive communication time synchronization function (TSCTSF) (section 5.27.1.9, TSCTSF provides a time distribution indication and the Uu time synchronization error budget to NG-RAN as described in TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.15.9.4 (3GPP’s section 4.15.9.4 discloses “initiate an AM Policy Association Modification procedure initiated by the PCF for the UE may be performed as described in clause 4.16.2.2. As part of this, the time distribution indication and the Uu time synchronization error budget are provided to NG-RAN”). Based on this, NG-RAN provides the 5GS access stratum time to the UE according to the Uu interface time synchronization error budget as provided by the TSCTSF; section 5.27.1.8, The AF may request to control the 5G access stratum reference as a time distribution method for targeted UE(s)…The AF request to control the (g)PTP time synchronization service is sent to the NEF or TSCTSF and may target a UE or multiple UEs… The TSCTSF uses the Time Synchronization parameters received from AF (directly or via NEF) to control the time synchronization service…; section 5.27.1.9, The AF may request to use the 5G access stratum as a time synchronization distribution method and it may include time synchronization error budget in the request. If the AF included a time synchronization error budget in the AF request, the TSCTSF derives the error budget available… The TSCTSF uses the time synchronization error budget provided by AF (directly or via NEF) in order to derive the Uu time synchronization error budget),
and transmit information about a third synchronization error budget based on the AS based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) (Nokia section 5.27.1.9, TSCTSF provides a time distribution indication and the Uu time synchronization error budget to NG-RAN as described in TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.15.9.4 (3GPP’s section 4.15.9.4 discloses “initiate an AM Policy Association Modification procedure initiated by the PCF for the UE may be performed as described in clause 4.16.2.2. As part of this, the time distribution indication and the Uu time synchronization error budget are provided to NG-RAN”). Based on this, NG-RAN provides the 5GS access stratum time to the UE according to the Uu interface time synchronization error budget as provided by the TSCTSF. Although not explicitly stated, RAN includes a base station (BS)).
Although Nokia teaches the PCF, to receive access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information obtained based on a request for time synchronization from a time sensitive communication time synchronization function (TSCTSF), and transmit information about a third synchronization error budget based on the AS based time synchronization information to a base station (BS), Nokia does not explicitly disclose the PCF comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information obtained based on a request for time synchronization from a time sensitive communication time synchronization function (TSCTSF), and transmit information about a third synchronization error budget based on the AS based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) through an access and mobility management function (AMF).
Tao in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a communication device comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform functions (fig. 3, shows a communication device comprising a transceiver 2302 and a processor 2301 coupled with transceiver 2302; page 24, the communication device 2300 further includes: a program that is stored in the memory 2303 and can run on the processor 2301. When the program is executed by the processor 2301, the step… the memory 2303 can store data used by the processor 2301 when performing operations) and time synchronization associated with a NAS (page 17, “When AF requests uplink time synchronization, SMF will activate time synchronization through NAS-SM information”) and a PCF transmit information to a BS through an AMF. By modifying Nokia’s teachings of the PCF, to receive access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information obtained based on a request for time synchronization from a time sensitive communication time synchronization function (TSCTSF), and transmit information about a third synchronization error budget based on the AS based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) with Tao’s teachings of a communication device comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform functions and time synchronization associated with a NAS, the modification results in the PCF comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive access stratum (AS) based time synchronization information obtained based on a request for time synchronization from a time sensitive communication time synchronization function (TSCTSF), and transmit information about a third synchronization error budget based on the AS based time synchronization information to a base station (BS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nokia’s teachings with Tao’s above teachings. The motivation is realizing flexible time configuration and management for one or
a group of UEs, and ensuring time deterministic communication (Tao page 8). Known work in one field of endeavor (Tao prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Nokia prior art) based on design incentives (realize flexible time configuration and management for one or a group of UEs, and ensure time deterministic communication) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Although the combination teaches transmit information about a third synchronization error budget based on the AS based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) and the PCF, the combination does not explicitly disclose transmit information about a third synchronization error budget based on the AS based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) through an access and mobility management function (AMF).
Luetzenkirchen in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches transmitting information to a BS through an AMF (¶ 49, TSN AF exchanges port management information via control plane (PCF…AMF…) with…DS-TT 106 associated with UE 108; ¶ 138, UE 108 includes DS-TT 106 that interacts with the control plane (AMF, SMF, PCF) to initiate port management procedures from a TSN AF; abstract, a device side time sensitive network (TSN) translator (DS-TT) in a user equipment; fig. 1, shows a path from AF 150 to UE 108 via a control plane (e.g., via at least PCF 126 to SMF 124 to AMF 122 to (R)AN 110 via N2); ¶ 151, gNB 816 may connect with a 5G core through an NG interface, which may include an N2 interface; ¶ 152, an NG control plane (NG-C) interface, which is a signaling interface between the nodes of the NG-RAN 814 and an AMF 4544 (e.g., N2 interface); ¶ 165, AMF 844 may be a termination point of a RAN CP interface, which may include or be an N2 reference point between the RAN 804 and the AMF 844). By modifying the combination’s teachings of transmit information about a third synchronization error budget based on the AS based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) and the PCF with Luetzenkirchen’s teachings of transmitting information to a BS through an AMF, the modification results in transmit information about a third synchronization error budget based on the AS based time synchronization information to a base station (BS) through an access and mobility management function (AMF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Luetzenkirchen’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting time synchronization services in a wireless time sensitive communication (TSC) network (Luetzenkirchen abstract). Known work in one field of endeavor (Luetzenkirchen prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Nokia prior art) based on design incentives (supporting time synchronization services in a wireless time sensitive communication (TSC) network) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches the PCF of claim 14, wherein the AS based time synchronization information is obtained based on the request for time synchronization associated with the NAS (see rejection of claim 14).
Although Nokia teaches the PCF and receive information about a port management from the TSCTSF (Nokia section 5.27.1.8, the TSCTSF uses the PMIC or BUMIC to manage the IEEE Std 1588 [126] or IEEE Std 802.1AS [104] operation in the DS-TT or NW-TT, respectively…Handling of PMIC exchange with UE(s)…the TSCTSF sends PMIC/BMIC UMIC signalling to configure the (g)PTP functionality in DS-TT(s) and NW-TT for activating or deactivating time synchronization service to the corresponding AF Session(s), and enables or disables the 5GS reference time distribution to the respective UEs (as AF requested time synchronization distribution method described in this clause)) and transmit information about port management to a user equipment (UE) (Nokia section 5.27.1.8, the TSCTSF uses the PMIC or BUMIC to manage the IEEE Std 1588 [126] or IEEE Std 802.1AS [104] operation in the DS-TT or NW-TT, respectively…Handling of PMIC exchange with UE(s)…the TSCTSF sends PMIC/BMIC UMIC signalling to configure the (g)PTP functionality in DS-TT(s) and NW-TT for activating or deactivating time synchronization service to the corresponding AF Session(s), and enables or disables the 5GS reference time distribution to the respective UEs (as AF requested time synchronization distribution method described in this clause)) and Tao teaches the at least one processor is configured to, the combination does not explicitly disclose the at least one processor is configured to: receive information about a port management from the TSCTSF, and transmit information about port management to a user equipment (UE) through a session management function (SMF).
Luetzenkirchen in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a PCF receiving information about a port management from a TSCTSF and the PCF transmitting information about port management to a UE through a SMF (¶ 49, TSN AF exchanges port management information via control plane (PCF, SMF, AMF…) with…DS-TT 106 associated with UE 108; ¶ 138, UE 108 includes DS-TT 106 that interacts with the control plane (AMF, SMF, PCF) to initiate port management procedures from a TSN AF; abstract, a device side time sensitive network (TSN) translator (DS-TT) in a user equipment; fig. 1, shows a path from AF 150 to UE 108 via TSCTSF and a control plane (e.g., via at least PCF 126 to SMF 124 to AMF 122 to (R)AN 110 via N2); ¶ 32, PCF 126 is also coupled to TSCTSF 130 with network interface 127 between). By modifying Nokia’s teaching of the PCF and receive information about a port management from the TSCTSF and transmit information about port management to a user equipment (UE) and Tao’s teachings of the at least one processor is configured to with Luetzenkirchen’s teachings of a PCF receiving information about a port management from a TSCTSF and the PCF transmitting information about port management to a UE through a SMF, the modification results in the at least one processor is configured to: receive information about a port management from the TSCTSF, and transmit information about port management to a user equipment (UE) through a session management function (SMF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Luetzenkirchen’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting time synchronization services in a wireless time sensitive communication (TSC) network (Luetzenkirchen abstract). Known work in one field of endeavor (Luetzenkirchen prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Nokia prior art) based on design incentives (supporting time synchronization services in a wireless time sensitive communication (TSC) network) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 11-12 recite similar limitations of claims 14-15, respectively and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the AS based time synchronization information comprises information about a first synchronization error budget (Nokia section 5.27.1.9, TSCTSF provides a time distribution indication and the Uu time synchronization error budget to NG-RAN as described in TS 23.502 [3] clause 4.15.9.4 (3GPP’s section 4.15.9.4 discloses “initiate an AM Policy Association Modification procedure initiated by the PCF for the UE may be performed as described in clause 4.16.2.2. As part of this, the time distribution indication and the Uu time synchronization error budget are provided to NG-RAN”). Based on this, NG-RAN provides the 5GS access stratum time to the UE according to the Uu interface time synchronization error budget as provided by the TSCTSF).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20220361120 discloses time synchronization distribution method is a parameter to identify the time synchronization distribution method requested by the AF and TSCTSF;
WO 2022022691 discloses each AF can request time synchronization for one or a group of UEs to a time TSN time domain/5GS time and send the time synchronization service policy and the request information of the AF to the PCF and PCF sends time synchronization service information to SMF and (Non-Access-Stratum, NAS) configures the time synchronization service information to the UE; and
WO 2022012741 discloses request for time synchronization may originate at an application function and AF may request a synchronization service to be delivered to a UE.
/PETER P CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476